April 27, 2024, 01:08:02 PM

Author Topic: Which City Should I stay in  (Read 4026 times)

Offline Slade

Which City Should I stay in
« on: February 20, 2006, 04:17:44 PM »
Hey I am from Toronto, and will be going to the World Cup. I was thinking of staying in Frankfurt, and taking the trains to each game (Dortmond, Nuremberg and K-Town), is that a good idea or should i look for a another city to stay in.

I dont know Germany looking for some help and directions.

Offline blagdonred

• The World Cup in Germany.com
Re: Which City Should I stay in
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2006, 03:54:09 AM »
Frankfurt's a good choice - very central and good communications links. 148 miles to Nuremberg, only 69 to K-Town and 143 to Dortmund (train times: 2 hrs 5 mins, 1 hr 40 mins and 2 hrs 38 mins respectively). Also easy for you fly into from Canada.  If you fly into London first, consider using Ryanair for the final hop, into a little airport called 'Frankfurt-Hahn' ... it's 90 minutes out of downtown Frankfurt, but the airfares tend to be very cheap (many of the cheapest have, however, already gone for this summer!).

This page may help you: The World Cup in Germany - Frankfurt by raill

Offline Slade

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2006, 11:15:05 AM »
Thanks dude....

Offline Slade

« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2006, 11:24:16 AM »
Do trains run from Dortmund, Nuremberg and K-Town to  Frankfurt 24/7 or do they stop at a specific time. The reason i am asking is that after the game will have to take the train back to Frankfurt.

Thanks..

Offline bruce-jogl

« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2006, 01:04:41 PM »
 :P
Hey Slade,
I am German. You can stay in Frankfurt, but it is a very expensive area around. It is the metropol of money, the heatquater of the European bank.
The most of the Trinis or the other guest (England, Japanese...) the stay every time in a other city. Always, where there team is playing. The will rent a car and drive through Germany. You do not need check the train timetable, drive when you like. To rent car is not more expensive like train.

My family have a hotel near Nürnberg (Nuremberg) just 10-20 minutes to the city center. We have already a lot of guest from Trinidad & Tobago, some stay 14 days and some just 3 days around the game Trindad - England 15.06.06.
We have single rooms 51,00 - 83,00 and double rooms 102,00 - 148,00 Euro.
The rates are incl. breakfast, service charge and VAT.

Email: info@hotel-seerose.de           www.hotel-seerose.de

I have offered my guest a car rental from my town the will just charge 90,00 - 120,00 Euro per week.

Offline blagdonred

• The World Cup in Germany.com
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2006, 06:22:22 PM »
Hi Slade,

No.  German Rail trains don't run all night... however, in most cases the gap between the last and first train is only about 3-4 hours.

The German Rail journey planner is here: German Rail

You'll also find some useful info on rail links to the 3 cities here:

The World Cup in Germany - Dortmund by Rail

The World Cup in Germany - Kaiserslautern by Rail

The World Cup in Germany - Nuremberg by Rail

Hope that's helpful.

Offline naparima

• <Insert Interesting Comment Here>
    • Rishi Travelogue
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2006, 11:27:04 AM »
Hotel Adler
Niddastrasse 65
Frankfurt am Main (Hessen)
Germany

Hey just wondering how central in Frankfurt this is?
I was checking through the maps and it seems ok.... does anyone know this hotel, since this is where I booked.

German guys can you offer some advice??
<Blurb> Insert Text
</Blurb>

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2006, 12:02:18 PM »
Hotel Adler
Niddastrasse 65
Frankfurt am Main (Hessen)
Germany

Hey just wondering how central in Frankfurt this is?
I was checking through the maps and it seems ok.... does anyone know this hotel, since this is where I booked.

German guys can you offer some advice??

Can't speak for the hotel itself, don't know how good it ism but the location looks great, right by the central train station. If you're planning on taking the train to the games can't beat it.

Offline voodoofoo

« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2006, 07:26:51 AM »
The location is super central a 3 min. walk to frankfurt main station and also almost in the middle of the redlight district.... :devil:

Offline naparima

• Rishi Travelogue
« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2006, 11:42:59 AM »
hahaha!!
well in the middle of the redlight district...
well something to think about ...
but im very glad about the central location indeed, since we are indeed planning to take the trains everywhere... so being close to the train station was a very big thing indeed!

thanks guys - i feel a lot better about the location... i knew it was central, i just didnt know how central it was... the pics look ok on the site.. i just hope the hotel is safe and clean.

Since it is one thing on the net... and another when you get there!!

BTW i have a question on food... although we will be eating out, i have had quite a lot of german food while travelling and it really isnt my cup of tea, except the schnitzel and bratwurst of course..... is shopping in supermarkets a realistic option.. not to cook but for snacks etc... and should i walk with a big bottle of home made pepper sauce??

<Blurb> Insert Text
</Blurb>

« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2006, 11:55:43 AM »

BTW i have a question on food... although we will be eating out, i have had quite a lot of german food while travelling and it really isnt my cup of tea, except the schnitzel and bratwurst of course..... is shopping in supermarkets a realistic option.. not to cook but for snacks etc... and should i walk with a big bottle of home made pepper sauce??

Best yuh carry yuh pepper sauce! (See my German phrase of the day, today But for snacks they got all the same things you could find anywhere in the US. Ah eh kno 'bout Crix, doh.

Offline naparima

• Rishi Travelogue
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2006, 01:07:29 PM »
thanks man...
well i will indeed fly down with my KFC and reg pepper sauce...
no crix for me... but hey if they have everything else....
yuh think i could get a roti in germany?!!??
<Blurb> Insert Text
</Blurb>

« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2006, 03:21:10 PM »
thanks man...
well i will indeed fly down with my KFC and reg pepper sauce...
no crix for me... but hey if they have everything else....
yuh think i could get a roti in germany?!!??

No idea. Maybe. There are only a few caribbean restaurants I know about:

http://tobagobay.de
http://www.tobago.de/cascreole.html
http://www.laimin.de  (laimin = limin'  :D)
http://www.stiermanns.de
http://www.jean-luc-restaurant.de

But in the end there are a lot of other international places to eat at, of course, indian, cuban, hungarian, chinese.  No reason to be stuck with just German food.

Offline voodoofoo

« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2006, 07:09:34 PM »
I think it is even more complicated to find german food than any other nationalities food in frankfurt and other cities :beermug: