March 28, 2024, 04:15:00 PM

Author Topic: Richest athlete in T and T  (Read 21103 times)

Richest athlete in T and T
« on: March 28, 2006, 05:06:36 PM »
With Stephen Ames winning almost 1.5 million US over the weekend. It brings an interesting question.

Who is the richest athlete in the twin island republic? Who has generated the most income in their respective carrers

« Last Edit: March 28, 2006, 05:32:04 PM by big dawg »

Offline R45

Re: Richest Athelithe in T and T
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2006, 05:11:45 PM »
Lara, Yorke and Ato would be up there. I'm sure they make a lot more in endorsements.

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2006, 05:14:32 PM »
With Stephen Ames winning almost 1.5 million US over the weekend. It brings an interesting question.

Who is the richest athlete in the twin island republic? Who has generated the most income in their respective carrers

Warner !

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2006, 05:18:02 PM »
Dwight Yorke by far. The winning CL teams gets about 10 million pounds .......... and ManU players get a nice piece of that.

Not to forget Yorke playing in the highest league and earning top dollar for practicularly his entire career......... and we ain't even talk bout endorsements yet.......

I'll put Lara second.

« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2006, 05:20:23 PM »
Dwight Yorke by far. The winning CL teams gets about 10 million pounds .......... and ManU players get a nice piece of that.

Not to forget Yorke playing in the highest league and earning top dollar for practicularly his entire career......... and we ain't even talk bout endorsements yet.......

I'll put Lara second.
agreed...Yorke is probably tops..Lara makes most of his money in endorsements..and the fete he throws  :devil:

« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2006, 05:23:05 PM »
nah man. respect the forum and edit that title nah horse. this is a big international forum representing T&T, so spell athlete proper nah. we all go make typos and we all go write how we speak...but i eh know what dat one is boss.

I guessing is Ato...man used to get paid some big big appearance fees to run during the European race season..and some of his endorsement contracts was still on even after he announced his retirement.

« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2006, 05:24:37 PM »
Yorke for sure...that is if you talking about atheletes from T&T, not living IN T&T

Offline legal alien

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2006, 05:26:16 PM »
if you talking about one person, i'd say dwight yorke. it's one thing to have played for the richest soccer  club(Man U-big salary) in the most watched sports league(PRIMIER LEAGUE -extra money FROM TV RIGHTS ) in the world.it's  another to have won every title with them(PRIZE MONEY).
   and we haven't mentioned his other clubs and endorsements..

« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2006, 05:26:34 PM »

I'll put Lara second.
agreed...Yorke is probably tops..Lara makes most of his money in endorsements..and the fete he throws :devil:

Agreed.
but hear this.. Ato Boldon had a contract with shoe powerhouse Addidas. He also has smaller endorsements as well as he is now he does color commentry for CBS (or abc .. Im not to sure)
He has accumulated alot in his short carrer.. and now he has a senator check to add to his "stipend"

Check it out

« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2006, 05:27:04 PM »
it have to be yorke.malta give him real money fuh dat ad. :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2006, 05:32:31 PM »
at the end of the day...dis is crap, cuz it doh ONLY matter how much money yuh make...is how much yuh spend. So men only looking at half the equation.

Plus...I feel big dawg getting kix off Yorke in the Malta Carib ad...athelithe?

« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2006, 05:34:06 PM »
Lara, Yorke and Ato would be up there. I'm sure they make a lot more in endorsements.

nope Stephen is endorsed by Nike and they pay generously... Yorke should be up their... Lara maybe... But i think Stephen takin dat category.

Re: Richest athlete in T and T
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2006, 05:34:35 PM »
at the end of the day...dis is crap, cuz it doh ONLY matter how much money yuh make...is how much yuh spend. So men only looking at half the equation.

\
 :rotfl: :rotfl: wen i see de title of de topic i say wayyyyyyyyyyyz dat is some serious typo!

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2006, 05:35:04 PM »
I'd say Stephen Ames, and that's even before his TPC win

Dwight was on big money when he was with Man Utd. but how many years was he there? not many... and also EPL stars in 1999 were earning nothing like they earn now. Stephen Ames to date has won over 10 million US$ in prize money, and add to that appearance fees and endorsements etc.
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2006, 05:37:29 PM »

Dwight was on big money when he was with Man Utd. but how many years was he there? not many... and also EPL stars in 1999 were earning nothing like they earn now. Stephen Ames to date has won over 10 million US$ in prize money, and add to that appearance fees and endorsements etc.

Ames up dey but doh forget de pound stronger den de greenback..Ah feel Yorke take it..in terms of earnings. Saving/investing might be another story doh..

« Reply #15 on: March 28, 2006, 05:38:14 PM »
Yorke was getting paid 25,000 pounds PER WEEK to play in the EPL.

How yuh go beat that ???

That is real bread and Carib :chilling:

« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2006, 05:46:42 PM »

Dem fellas does "win" a tournament and people see de prize money and assume de winner get all dat.

Golf is a real expensive game.  Most of all, yuh need SPONSORS to even play on de PGA Tour.  Stephen Ames not in de Tiger Woods category.  Up to de oddah day i.e. prior to he breakout season year before last, he was strugglin jes to make it through de tour.

Plus remember....de ting wit golf is.....if yuh miss de cut, yuh goin home wit NADAS...NUTTING...ZERO!!!!  Even if yuh eh miss de cut but miss top 15.....is petty change yuh ridin home with.  If yuh winnin regular or in top 10 regular...yuh go be ok.  But if not.....is serious salt yuh suckin.

I eh sayin de man poor or anyting, but dah prizemoney fuh a golfer like Ames does a lot of de times go back to repayin sponsors etc.  Now dat he is a Players Championship winner....he eh go have to pay to fly to no tournament, eh eh go have to pay he own accomodation and meals and ting.  He good fuh a while.  Everyting he earn FROM NOW go be lagniappe....but de road to get dey eh easy.

As for who is de wealthiest......Man make a good case fuh Yorke in trute.  Footballers generally make more than cricketers....but Yorke is Yorke....and Lara is Lara.  Lara is the best in his sport....for some years now too.  Yorke, while still makin good money, on the downslope of his career.  Lara is still the best bastman in cricket and arguably the greatest ever batsman in cricket.

I eh think it so clear cut as people makin it out to be fuh Yorke.

But imagine dat eh......We little tiny nation of 1.sumting million peeps produce a man who is arguably de greatest ever in he discipline.  GREATEST EVER eh....I does still shake meh head in amazement at dat.  Daz a serious accomplishment.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2006, 05:53:58 PM by palos »

« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2006, 05:50:29 PM »

By richest, I think he just means highest paid.......we don't know what they do with their money, so that is beyond us....

easy on Big Dawg man.........typo or not, give him a bligh

My guess is Dwight Yorke followed closely by Carlos sexy Baynes, Jimmy Farmer Joseph, Derick cornbread james and Patrick KK Joseph....
« Last Edit: March 28, 2006, 05:53:59 PM by kicker »

« Reply #18 on: March 28, 2006, 05:52:16 PM »

Dem fellas does "win" a tournament and people see de prize money and assume de winner get all dat.

Golf is a real expensive game.  Most of all, yuh need SPONSORS to even play on de PGA Tour.  Stephen Ames not in de Tiger Woods category.  Up to de oddah day i.e. prior to he breakout season year before last, he was strugglin jes to make it through de tour.

Plus remember....de ting wit golf is.....if yuh miss de cut, yuh goin home wit NADAS...NUTTING...ZERO!!!!  Even if yuh eh miss de cut but miss top 15.....is petty change yuh ridin home with.  If yuh winnin regular or in top 10 regular...yuh go be ok.  But if not.....is serious salt yuh suckin.

I eh sayin de man poor or anyting, but dah prizemoney fuh a golfer like Ames does a lot of de times go back to repayin sponsors etc.  Now dat he is a Players Championship winner....he eh go have to pay to fly to no tournament, eh eh go have to pay he own accomodation and meals and ting.  He good fuh a while.  Everyting he earn FROM NOW go be lagniappe....but de road to get dey eh easy.

As for who is de wealthiest......Man make a good case fuh Yorke in trute.  Footballers generally make more than cricketers....but Yorke is Yorke....and Lara is Lara.  Lara is the best in his sport....for some years now too.  Yorke, while still makin good money, on the downslope of his career.  Lara is still the best bastman in cricket and arguably the greatest ever batsman in cricket.

I eh think it so clear cut as people makin it out to be fuh Yorke.

But imagine dat eh......We little tiny nation of 1.sumting million peeps produce a man who is arguably de greatest ever in he discipline.  GREATEST EVER eh....I does still shake meh head in amazement at dat.  Daz a serious accomplishment.

yea true... and roby gehin 10% ah he money fuh bein caddy.

he hadda pay he coach he physical therypist... is rel expennse in truth.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2006, 05:55:01 PM by palos »

« Reply #19 on: March 28, 2006, 05:52:58 PM »
DWIGHT YORKE..remember at the time he got transfered his transfer fee broke the record for richest transfer to manchester...12 million pounds ...he got 10 percent of that plus heis weekly salary was like 25,000 pounds or some ridiculous figure..by far dwight...

« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2006, 05:59:51 PM »
Dwight Yorke was with to a porn star an all
boy when yuh have money any girl u could have
women so air headed oui...once dey see money...dey dere full speed

hoping to be rich like dat in de nex few years ;D

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #21 on: March 28, 2006, 06:04:21 PM »

Porn star...boy Yorke have underground tape dat go make paris hilton real soft..so dey say.. yorke mus be touch more ting in one night den men touch in a year...
;) :beermug:

« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2006, 06:10:38 PM »

Porn star...boy Yorke have underground tape dat go make paris hilton real soft..so dey say.. yorke mus be touch more ting in one night den men touch in a year...
;) :beermug:

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2006, 06:14:19 PM »
but anways dis thread is about the richest athelete so le we keep it to dat..yes..

MickeyRat

« Reply #24 on: March 28, 2006, 06:31:10 PM »
It have some real imps on this forum yuh know.  How all yuh go call the man ah porn star? 
The man does hit de very best of pun-nannies the world has to offer.  That doh make him a John Holmes per say, he is just a normal Tobagonian .  Them fellas jammin prime livestock anywhere they set foot.

« Reply #25 on: March 28, 2006, 06:32:02 PM »
Stephen Ames thumbs up by a WIDE margin.-$10 Million U.S. plus endorsements are already mentioned

People forget to mention his years of playing in Europe, he won a couple tournaments there as well.
In terms of the future, he has the opportunity to continue increasing his gains throughout the next 10-15 with the Senior Tour as well....

His earning power will only increase because TV rights are increasing (Tiger factor), so almost every tournament is worth at least 800,000 to 1 Mil U.S.  He rarely misses cuts and still even when he is having a bad tournament he still get a 20,000US here and there.  

« Reply #26 on: March 28, 2006, 06:38:40 PM »

By richest, I think he just means highest paid.......we don't know what they do with their money, so that is beyond us....

My guess is Dwight Yorke followed closely by Carlos sexy Baynes, Jimmy Farmer Joseph, Derick cornbread james and Patrick KK Joseph....

KK making all dat money and still missing he front teet?!

my vote is for Leslie Tiger Stewart

Offline TnTVillan

« Reply #27 on: March 28, 2006, 06:42:10 PM »
Lara

Yoke making good money but lara have money saved and invested. What was the last thing lara bought?

A brand new black mercedes sl 55 amg. retail price is $125,000 us. Brian endorsements worth 10 times wht dwight endorsements are. Dwight have a better salary but that's a given on the simple fact that lara paid by a board that battling wipa where as dwight playing for a club loaded on money.

Individual sponsorship lara have mrf,adidas shoes both have to be worth big money and he have money from old endorsements gray nicolls, rudeboy, im sure he made big money on the gray nicolls bats with his name on it, brian lara cricket from codemasters the list goes on for lara.

Yorke doh have that is he endorsed by adidas to wear their shoes??

« Reply #28 on: March 28, 2006, 07:15:00 PM »

KK making all dat money and still missing he front teet?!

my vote is for Leslie Tiger Stewart

:rotfl: :rotfl: Last time I saw Leslie Stewart, he was working in Sports and Games in Gulf City.

p.s I do that typo fuh spite..lol

« Reply #29 on: March 28, 2006, 07:17:46 PM »
nah man. respect the forum and edit that title nah horse. this is a big international forum representing T&T, so spell athlete proper nah. we all go make typos and we all go write how we speak...but i eh know what dat one is boss.

I guessing is Ato...man used to get paid some big big appearance fees to run during the European race season..and some of his endorsement contracts was still on even after he announced his retirement.
Of all the big guns Ato is the poorest. That is why he need money from Jack now. (Just kicksing) ;D

Nah it must be between Dwight and Lara. Remember Lara is one of the preeminent names in a sport followed by greater than 1billion people. India is a becoming a major power.