Sports > Football

Local coach vs foreign coach.

(1/16) > >>

AB.Trini:
Is this a fact?

Our local coaches cannot compete consistently against any successful coach that comes from a country with a professional league. There may be an exception here or there, but basically I haven't really seen a coach come out of a third world country/ no professional league country and compete consistently against even the mediocre of the foriegn professional coaches. Bottom line on this is when a coach has a certain level of accountability for winning and losing and it impacts not only his bottom line but the existence of the club then this cauldron of competition produces a superior coach.

The coach at Joe Public or Harbor View may all be great guys with great football knowledge but they are still playing in a puppy league,. I believe it is imperative that the best young coaches from Trinidad and Ja have to go out and get some experience in say even a Mexican league, English 1st division, MLS and be successful at the helm for a period of time, then theese guys can qualify to coach a national team.

The same is true for our ballas, every yardman (Jakan) believes that for every UB40 on the team, that the local bred players are superior, not even the actual performnace on the field ever changes that perception, we see time and again that the main force in Jamaica wins are the foreign based players who bring a whole different attitude to ball,m it is not about no star, as Ja has no star balla, I haven't seen one yet, but what I have seen are good players who know thier role and fit into the system well. We in Ja still have yet to see a player of the quality of Yorke and what he has done on a club level.

This is why it does burn me and others on this board that we failed to make the hex as this was our best side, the most professional and the best orgainzed side with a superior coach who taught them consistently about keeping the shape of the defence and a style of play that made them very competitive, and its importance in defending and letting the opposing team do the work to win the game vs giving the game away via mistakes which Trinidad seems to do so often, I just cannot understand how Trin gives up so many home goals vs US and Mexico, it must be a lack of discipline and organization overall. The main reason the Jakan team won the Digi cup in my mind was the application of what Laza was preaching and Downwell has taken up from the defensive end and the inclusion of the MLS players on the side, without that we would have probably lost every game in my opinion and in truth we really didn't win convincingly from all the reports.

That is why I think it is critical that Ja field their best side at the Gold cup and we continue to develop the style and form of play which we developed prior to the Hex, it is probably the most crucial thing to get the continuity from the Laza era, the team must do it's best and the style must be established now with this team and continued to the next Gold Cup in 2007, if we can do that then we can filter in the youth movement 2006-2008 and carve out our place in the 2010 Cup.

Forward

Rastaman:
Lets open a discussion on the local coaches
OK so everybody is talking about the foreign vs the local coaches and who has been overlooked and so on. .
OK so we have Bertille at Coaching school in the Tobago Football League.. What about Gally, Edgar Vidall and Alvin Corneal of years gone bye. Where are they what are they doing. And well of course there are the 10 coaching the PFL but what about the rest? Who are we to look to as future national coaches ?

1. Who are the local coaches that are supposed to be the most qialified. the better coaches?

2. Where are they and what are they doing? 
Are they coaching or just doing what we are doing being armchair or keyboard coaches?
Are they coaching full time or just weekend coachimg like a coaching school ?

We talking about database for players but what about one for coaches.

Socapro:

--- Quote from: AB.Trini on March 05, 2005, 01:42:03 PM ---Our local coaches cannot compete consistently against any successful coach that comes from a country with a professional league. There may be an exception here or there, but basically I haven't really seen a coach come out of a third world country/ no professional league country and compete consistently against even the mediocre of the foriegn professional coaches. Bottom line on this is when a coach has a certain level of accountability for winning and losing and it impacts not only his bottom line but the existence of the club then this cauldron of competition produces a superior coach.

The coach at Joe Public or Harbor View may all be great guys with great football knowledge but they are still playing in a puppy league,. I believe it is imperative that the best young coaches from Trinidad and Ja have to go out and get some experience in say even a Mexican league, English 1st division, MLS and be successful at the helm for a period of time, then theese guys can qualify to coach a national team.

The same is true for our ballas, every yardman (Jakan) believes that for every UB40 on the team, that the local bred players are superior, not even the actual performnace on the field ever changes that perception, we see time and again that the main force in Jamaica wins are the foreign based players who bring a whole different attitude to ball,m it is not about no star, as Ja has no star balla, I haven't seen one yet, but what I have seen are good players who know thier role and fit into the system well. We in Ja still have yet to see a player of the quality of Yorke and what he has done on a club level.

This is why it does burn me and others on this board that we failed to make the hex as this was our best side, the most professional and the best orgainzed side with a superior coach who taught them consistently about keeping the shape of the defence and a style of play that made them very competitive, and its importance in defending and letting the opposing team do the work to win the game vs giving the game away via mistakes which Trinidad seems to do so often, I just cannot understand how Trin gives up so many home goals vs US and Mexico, it must be a lack of discipline and organization overall. The main reason the Jakan team won the Digi cup in my mind was the application of what Laza was preaching and Downwell has taken up from the defensive end and the inclusion of the MLS players on the side, without that we would have probably lost every game in my opinion and in truth we really didn't win convincingly from all the reports.

That is why I think it is critical that Ja field their best side at the Gold cup and we continue to develop the style and form of play which we developed prior to the Hex, it is probably the most crucial thing to get the continuity from the Laza era, the team must do it's best and the style must be established now with this team and continued to the next Gold Cup in 2007, if we can do that then we can filter in the youth movement 2006-2008 and carve out our place in the 2010 Cup.

Forward

--- End quote ---

Hey A.B.Trini, you obvious copied above post from the Yardy board.

Do you remember who was the poster? It makes a lot of sense still!

Sam:
I am disappointed in Terry Fenwick, he was out coach by shitsnake Angus Eve more times this season and they have about de same class of players, Central might have de edge on talented players though. Terry brings two things to the league, he gets the players to be organise and discipline, but his technical game is to defensive and relies to much on counter attack defend for your life football. So he is good and bad. Having him as a coach is good to help defensive players and team system, but he needs help going forward. The players are more afraid of him than his game.

Stuart Charles seem to have lost it but coming to de end of de season he seem to have got it right, I hope he do good in the CCL. W Connection plays the best football in T&T. They  should bring back a few Brazilian players to T&T because they bring passion to the league. Players from the Caribbean is basically stale but Colombians and Brazilians will make people want to see them.

Ross Russell is the worst coach in the league. I saw a few games this season and Defence Force plays a very stagnant type of football and only fitness, muscles and a few decent individual players does really help them play. They play a kick and hope type of football like we national team play, de defenders just kicking out to the one forward who always looses the ball. De strange thing is, anyone who got train by the TTFF (Corneal) coach the same way. Kick up the ball with no sense and organization and eliminate de midfielders. Ross have the best team (not the best coach team) because they are soldiers, they are fully paid and back by de T&T government and they are always fit and strong, so he have an advantage, I would like to see him coach a team like Caledonia or Rangers and you will see his flaws. He was beated like a bandit with we under 20 team and got eliminated from in de Caribbean Cup with Defence Force in Guyana too.

Jerry Moe is doing good for Caledonia since Shabazz left him incharge and move to TD, Caledonia play decent but still lacking simply common sense passing and defending. They will not go far in the CCL if they qualify.

Angus Eve is doing a decent job, he leart a lot from coaching T&T. Once he fixes his McComie attitude he will do better. De problem with local coaches is, they want everything and feel they know everything, like they reach, they not willing to learn or elevate themselves.

De rest of them coaches is just doing they thing, the players play the way they are being coach, doh care, slow and with no urgency.

We need men like Yorke, Latapy, Lawrence, Haynes, Hart, etc... to come back to T&T and coach pro league teams, it would help a lot. This is a good place for them to start and it will also attract better players to the league.

The local coaches dont push they self to be better coaches, they to stagnant in T&T. De culture of our coaches and players must be changed for our football to grow, we cannot have stagnant people incharge because it will stun the growth of our football.

Lets see if Sheldon Phillips can get Liverpool and Tottenham to visit T&T for preseason.

And what is Hutson Charles doing on the days when we have no football, shouldn't these guys use this long time off to improve themselves as coaches or is Shabazz coaching clinic good enough. What a good job to have, T&T have a game every two months and one month if we lucky and these men just bathing in Maracas on they off days like indians in cora.

Football supporter:

--- Quote from: Sam on May 16, 2013, 05:12:09 AM ---I am disappointed in Terry Fenwick, he was out coach by shitsnake Angus Eve more times this season and they have about de same class of players, Central might have de edge on talented players though. Terry brings two things to the league, he gets the players to be organise and discipline, but his technical game is to defensive and relies to much on counter attack defend for your life football. So he is good and bad. Having him as a coach is good to help defensive players and team system, but he needs help going forward. The players are more afraid of him than his game.

Stuart Charles seem to have lost it but coming to de end of de season he seem to have got it right, I hope he do good in the CCL. W Connection plays the best football in T&T. They  should bring back a few Brazilian players to T&T because they bring passion to the league. Players from the Caribbean is basically stale but Colombians and Brazilians will make people want to see them.

Ross Russell is the worst coach in the league. I saw a few games this season and Defence Force plays a very stagnant type of football and only fitness, muscles and a few decent individual players does really help them play. They play a kick and hope type of football like we national team play, de defenders just kicking out to the one forward who always looses the ball. De strange thing is, anyone who got train by the TTFF (Corneal) coach the same way. Kick up the ball with no sense and organization and eliminate de midfielders. Ross have the best team (not the best coach team) because they are soldiers, they are fully paid and back by de T&T government and they are always fit and strong, so he have an advantage, I would like to see him coach a team like Caledonia or Rangers and you will see his flaws. He was beated like a bandit with we under 20 team and got eliminated from in de Caribbean Cup with Defence Force in Guyana too.

Jerry Moe is doing good for Caledonia since Shabazz left him incharge and move to TD, Caledonia play decent but still lacking simply common sense passing and defending. They will not go far in the CCL if they qualify.

Angus Eve is doing a decent job, he leart a lot from coaching T&T. Once he fixes his McComie attitude he will do better. De problem with local coaches is, they want everything and feel they know everything, like they reach, they not willing to learn or elevate themselves.

De rest of them coaches is just doing they thing, the players play the way they are being coach, doh care, slow and with no urgency.

We need men like Yorke, Latapy, Lawrence, Haynes, Hart, etc... to come back to T&T and coach pro league teams, it would help a lot. This is a good place for them to start and it will also attract better players to the league.

The local coaches dont push they self to be better coaches, they to stagnant in T&T. De culture of our coaches and players must be changed for our football to grow, we cannot have stagnant people incharge because it will stun the growth of our football.

Lets see if Sheldon Phillips can get Liverpool and Tottenham to visit T&T for preseason.

And what is Hutson Charles doing on the days when we have no football, shouldn't these guys use this long time off to improve themselves as coaches or is Shabazz coaching clinic good enough. What a good job to have, T&T have a game every two months and one month if we lucky and these men just bathing in Maracas on they off days like indians in cora.

--- End quote ---

Hmmm...not sure about that Sam. On paper, North East have the best squad in the league, player for player.
In the two games that North East beat Central 1-0, Central simply failed to score while enjoying massive possession, dominating the second halves.
I wouldn't consider this great coaching by Angus, more like poor finishing by Central's players.

Regarding Spurs and Liverpool, any body could bring them to T&T. All you need to do is pay them millions of £'s and build some decent pitches and training surfaces (our stadium fields generally MAY pass for training fields for these clubs)

We really need clubs who would realistically get our players into UK football.

I have been putting together a pre season tournament with several British clubs interested. Pro League are supporting it, Corneal is supporting it, but still need to find 50% of the funding. 

Also been looking at bringing over a Nottm Forest youth coach to do some sessions with our youths and our coaches.

We have the links......as usual, it's the funding that's the problem!!

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

Go to full version