April 24, 2024, 02:21:51 PM

Author Topic: Sports psychologist: the missing piece?  (Read 13635 times)

Sports psychologist: the missing piece?
« on: August 10, 2005, 10:01:52 AM »
Ent i've been saying dis fuh the football team as well?

BY KWAME WILLIAMS  (Guardian)

I think we need to look into why these things are happening. We need to look over their training programmes, because it seems as though most of the athletes peaked for the National Championships and made the qualifying standards for the meet (World Championships), but now, when its time for them to deliver those types of performances, they are not  doing it,Serette said.

[Sports nowadays is very psychological. It is all in the mind, so we need to get a sports psychologist to sit down with our athletes.” [/b]
I have alluded to this in many of my previous postings that our players have too many additional pressures to cope with besides the game; to be 100% mentally attuned to  the game when yuh think that they have : club obligations, injury to worry about,  some do not have job contracts, some are playing under duress or  threats from managers;  some managers  playing God with players' lifeline; travel challenging for some ;  fitness; adjustments to weather conditions, to team, to new coach, to teammates; new system of play, playing in unfamiliar position, unfamiliar role on team etc...etc....etc...

WHO eh go need  a psychologist to  deal with the pressures and demands of each WCQ game? Flick even some of the fans needs one. I will freely offer my help tuh the team; ah ticket and a rental car is all ah want and ah dey!!!!!!
« Last Edit: July 20, 2007, 11:13:15 AM by AB.Trini »

Re: sports psychologist: the missing piece?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2005, 10:43:42 AM »
Dey need ah Bush bath and if dah doh wok then some extra strength piss

Soak dey foot in it

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2005, 11:42:58 AM »
a shot of babash before each half!!

But serioulsy whatever the team needs should be provided for them and someone to help them with the mental game cant hurt,
also a priest, a chaplin, an obeah man, ah dougla ting, a indian and a reds too..

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2005, 11:49:08 AM »
no tun tun 48 hrs prior tuh game.

« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2005, 01:40:48 PM »
no tun tun.. you mard or wha.. lol.. tun tun RIGHT UP TO KICK OFF>!!!

« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2005, 10:35:26 PM »
Jack, Beenie, Phillips: order one fuh the team nah!!!!!

UNLOCK THE HIDDEN POWERS OF YOUR MIND AND GAIN A WINNING EDGE

Consistently play at your best. Learn the skills that let you enter the Zone at will. A unique system of Personalized Psychological Training now gives you the winning edge.

Dr. Beale's "Virtual Private Practice" gives every athlete the opportunity to master the mental skills that were previously only available to the elite amateur or professional player who was fortunate enough to have access to a Sport Psychologist.

Dr. Beale's proven, practical and economical system is guaranteed to significantly improve your play.

Through the use of CD's and unlimited electronic consultation with Dr. Beale, this system teaches players, over a four-week period, how to enter the ideal psychological state sometimes referred to as "The Zone". As a result of the training and consultation players quickly learn how to apply the three basic skills of:

I.
 VOLUNTARY RELAXATION
II.
 VISUALIZATION
III.
 ATTITUDE ENHANCEMENT

VOLUNTARY RELAXATION
To teach you to achieve the ideal balance of energy and relaxation associated with being in "The Zone".

VISUALIZATION
To create more positive expectations, master technique and tactics and improve confidence.

ATTITUDE ENHANCEMENT
To mold positive thoughts, feelings and emotions into an unshakable winning mind-set. Thoughts, feeling and emotions have an instantaneous and involuntary effect on the muscles and organs of the body. (The Ideomotor Effect)

Order your Basic Mental Training Program today and start your journey down the path to even greater   success and pleasure on the playing field.

Enter our drawing for a free Personalized Subliminal CD

« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2005, 12:52:03 PM »

« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2005, 02:00:38 PM »
Alberta does our team even have someone like that?  Ah mean that is a basic with every team, i think.

Psychological preparedness......
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2005, 10:00:30 AM »
I know we have covered the fitness aspect and skill of all the T&T players on many different occasions,but this is an area of serious concern the emotional state of our players. once the tournament starts do you think we will rise to the occasion or fold under extreme pressure. 

Re: Sports psychologist: the missing piece?
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2005, 10:31:55 AM »
i think what alberta trying to say is HE WANT THE JOB!!!! TTFF alyuh hire the man nah

« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2005, 10:33:32 AM »
 Motivation is good place to start...We also need a nutritionist.... :beermug:

MickeyRat

« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2005, 10:47:51 AM »
Call de Baptist woman from the moaning ground.

« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2005, 06:03:13 PM »
In this era more than a Sports Psychologist is needed. A Human Resource

Development Specialist. This person will have the expertise to develop

the players in all aspects.

Offline real-warrior

« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2005, 06:33:56 PM »
In this era more than a Sports Psychologist is needed. A Human Resource

Development Specialist. This person will have the expertise to develop

the players in all aspects.

Not ALL aspects

Offline dutchman

« Reply #14 on: December 09, 2005, 09:04:19 AM »
I agree
very important.
If you have someone that can make the players visualize they are better & can win, then that is a real plus. Especially right before the match.
Only if you ever had a trainer that was able to do this you really see the value of this
This time (we Holland) our staff have a former field hokey coach added who is very very good at that.
But you have Beenie he is also very good in the psyco part.

Hope we draw Brazil, better now then in the knock out fase.  ;D
Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

« Reply #15 on: December 09, 2005, 09:12:39 AM »
no tun tun.. you mard or wha.. lol.. tun tun RIGHT UP TO KICK OFF>!!!

Yuh see why ah love dis site, man dus have yuh rolling all time ah de day, leh meh go an do meh wuk eh.  :rotfl:

Sports psychologists for the Warriors
« Reply #16 on: March 27, 2006, 11:12:54 AM »
Any body know if the soca warriors have hired sports psychologists?

Just reading a stephen ames transcript in the other forum..and ames say he talk to his before the game, which leads me to believe these psychologists seem to be a very important requirement for elite athletes
TTFF spend some money and hire anybody fuh da wukk?..or jus equipment men and regular doctors goin germany?

Moreover, do top flight European teams use them, or is it primarily an American thing?

Re: Sports psychologists for the Warriors
« Reply #17 on: March 27, 2006, 11:15:00 AM »
I have been wondering this.. this is needed... It is definitely something to suggest to the TTFF, if they have not thought of it already ..  :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #18 on: March 27, 2006, 11:15:40 AM »
very good question breds, it is always good 2 b mentally prepared for the world cup, psychologiaclly the players must b ready and strong enough, dis will only help them prepare, 80 % of football is mental

Offline Augi

« Reply #19 on: March 27, 2006, 11:18:28 AM »
80% ? I thought it was 78.92% ;D

« Reply #20 on: March 27, 2006, 11:19:28 AM »
alberta saying this years now

go and read one ah he threads and dem

« Reply #21 on: March 27, 2006, 11:23:15 AM »
Remember that the Strike Squad had one during their campaign.  Therefore this is not an alien concept to TTFF.

Strangely enough though, she was removed from her position in the run-up to the November 19th game as the TTFF top brass were of the opinion that the team was becoming "too dependant" on her!  A few team members thought that her removal was one of the less talked about reasons for the uninspiring performance on the field that day.

« Reply #22 on: March 27, 2006, 12:30:36 PM »
Does Beenie function in this role as well? I read somewhere that he usually has one on one sessions with players on and before match day to mentally prepare them.

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
« Reply #23 on: March 27, 2006, 12:46:45 PM »
I thinK the SP is needed but sometimes a manager may want to function in the post. A great coach always traind for life.

Remember that the Strike Squad had one during their campaign.  Therefore this is not an alien concept to TTFF.

Strangely enough though, she was removed from her position in the run-up to the November 19th game as the TTFF top brass were of the opinion that the team was becoming "too dependant" on her!  A few team members thought that her removal was one of the less talked about reasons for the uninspiring performance on the field that day.

This is news to me ... probably because i was a likkle pickney when de strike squad was running

But it is needed though

« Reply #24 on: March 27, 2006, 01:50:44 PM »
If a sport psychologist will be needed ,I can think of a better time than the day before and the morning before the warriors first game in the world cup.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2006, 01:52:44 PM by Compre »

« Reply #25 on: March 27, 2006, 01:52:58 PM »
Klinsmann has introduced sports pyschologists to the German team and people are critisizing because it's not something common in European sports. They think some of his ideas are too radical and American.

« Reply #26 on: March 27, 2006, 02:01:21 PM »
You serious man
what is wrong wid dem in de TTFF ???
day stuck in de 18th century

Yeah.  Her name is Shirley Rudd-Ottley (if I am not mistaken).  She was with the Strike Squad for a long time before she was relieved of her duties.

« Reply #27 on: March 27, 2006, 02:30:21 PM »
we dont want nothing to spoil the team's equliberium

Offline Aymir

• JABLOTEH FOREVER
    • Jabloteh
« Reply #28 on: March 27, 2006, 02:52:58 PM »
some good psychologists can make a big difference to players nerves and confidence before a big game.

« Reply #29 on: March 27, 2006, 03:14:34 PM »
You serious man
what is wrong wid dem in de TTFF ???
day stuck in de 18th century

Yeah.  Her name is Shirley Rudd-Ottley (if I am not mistaken).  She was with the Strike Squad for a long time before she was relieved of her duties.

Her daughter took over now I believe. Shian L Ottley
I will confirm this ok ?
doh start to lash meh yet
« Last Edit: March 27, 2006, 03:17:17 PM by TriniCana »