March 28, 2024, 08:20:14 AM

Author Topic: Your Top 5 T&T World Cup Memories (good or bad)  (Read 7855 times)

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
Your Top 5 T&T World Cup Memories (good or bad)
« on: March 30, 2006, 06:50:34 AM »
Hi all

Some of you know that I blog for the T&T World Cup Blog. I'd like to do a post on the top T&T World Cup memories. Feedback would be welcome. I'd attribute anything that I use on the blog to this thread/forum.

To kick things off, a couple of mine are (in no particular order)

- Kelvin Jack's last second save against Bahrain
- Dennis Lawrence's goal
- Being five years old and crying because we'd lost to the USA in 1989. And having no idea why I was crying except that everyone else around me was too.
-be the change you wish to see-

Re: Your Top 5 T&T World Cup Memories (good or bad)
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2006, 08:43:06 AM »
in no particular order

- Lawrence Goal
- Kerry Jamerson bullet vs guatemala 1989
- Jack Save + de moment when we wasn't sure if de goal dey kick out he hands was good + de final whistle vs bahrain
- hutson charles last minute leveller versus usa in 1989
- latapy last minute winner vs mexico in de oval

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2006, 08:59:12 AM »
Omarldinho leme pull up yuh socks and refresh yuh memory lil bit

Breds that game was in the Stadium......fix the memory, Nice!

Caliguri fluke that "I were blinded" didnt save. I sit down stunned with the thousands of others in the stadium that day.

The fluke bullet that Tyrone Marshall hit Shaka from the top of the box vs JA. We was running JA right tru and well sadly we never recover after that loss.

Stern throw away penalty vs Mexico.......I never hear one man get cuss so from a whole nation in Unison. YES STern I cuss yuh too!.... It was amazing. He get a............ what the MC wrong with this Fkin man boy..this damn $h!thong. Watch meh if he did get a dollar for each cuss he collect he woulda win the thread as the richest sportsman in T&T.

When the Quatemalan rest it on we to make the score 2-1 with 18 minutes to go.After we in control of things.... I watch the clock, andre Samuel and Cowen and bend down meh head and cry. That was meh lowest point of the campaign........good thing it only last about 10 min.

The Latapy Bullet vs Mexico in the STADIUM

Dennis Lawrence header vs Bahrain. Also I blaming Latapy for giving us so much heartache...he shoulda score. If he did do that all the talk bout Jack save and the chupidness Jack put down after woulda be inconsequential.......But Nov 16, 2005. Have to be the happiest day of my life on this earth thus far.

Watch meh this WC thing do so much for this country eh and we ent realise...........even this message board.  New posters, You know how much insults and put down and bad talk we used to have to defend here from everybody in Concacaf. Everybody used to say all the Yorke and Latapy alyuh never make a WC...................and they used to hit yuh that line as the trump card and discredit every little football achievement we ever do.
When I tell yuh we used to get fightdown here right tru.

Alyuh wouldnt know this but Sam, was we Hero and Champion of the message board in them days. This I think is one reason why all the older posters have a sense of brotherhood that doe exist now.........it used to be 30 of we Against the World here, and we used to battle it out with the limited resources and sporting achievements the warriors had at that point in time. Imagine we cussing out Canadians and telling them they side is shit because we win we first two games ever against them....while they jest win Gold Cup and make a WC already. Doe talk about the Jamaicans and RF.....that come like the battle for middle earth and we squad is a band of Hobbits minus Frodo and the ring and Gandaulf.

Thanks you warriors for quieting the haters
« Last Edit: March 30, 2006, 09:19:04 AM by Touches »

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2006, 09:47:22 AM »
Ah know yuh say 5 but that too hard to choose, so here is mine
GOOD:

-: Dennis Lawrence Goal to send us to our first WC!!!! (2005)
-: Stern winning goal vs Mexico in the stadium (2005)
-:Latas tying goal on his return debut against Guatemala (2005)
-:Jack last gap save in the dying moments vs. Bahrain (2005)
-: Me mum rocket goal vs Bahrain in the stadium (2005)
-: Goal by Kerry with a layoff from Latas (1989)

Bad:

-: Jack getting the ball kicked out his hands vs Bahrain(2005)
-: Jack completely missing the ball vs Bahrain(2005)
-: Stern missed penalty vs Mexico in the stadium (2005)
-: Paul Calgiuri goal in the stadium to deny us our 1st WC app (1989)
-: Philbert Jones not staying down for a penalty when fouled (1989)

« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2006, 10:15:36 AM »
Omarldinho leme pull up yuh socks and refresh yuh memory lil bit

Breds that game was in the Stadium......fix the memory, Nice!

OH yeah yeah yuh right, hard luck there... I get tie up.. is really de stadium.. I remember de day good now.. first time they ban bottle beers and coolers in de stadium so we real men had to run down by de quick shoppe and buy out dey can beers and then pack it in knapsack to go in...

anyhow.. honourable mention for worst moments..

- dog falling down against the USA and gifting a goal
- losing 5-1 to guatemala
- seeing jamaica become first english speaking caribbean team to make world cup
-  taking 7 goals up in de azteca
- maurice alibey's highlight reel of misses.. de one man who have to wait for a generation to die off before his name clear.

« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2006, 10:23:33 AM »
1. Kerry Jamerson's winner in the Stadium against Guatemala- '89
2. Losing to the U.S. 0-1 -Nov 19 '89
3. Beating Mexico 2-1 in the final hex game in this last campaign
4. De big lime in continental restaurant- Brooklyn, for the Guatemala home game- this last campaign
5. Beating Bahrain in Bahrain to qualify for WC 2006.

« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2006, 10:31:32 AM »
Top 5:
1. Stern Winner against Meh-hico
2. Stern equalizer against Meh-hico. We all thought it was over, don't front.
3. Dennis header in Bahrain
4. Birchie Goalaso to equalize against Bahrain. Everybody head was dong before dat, doh forget.
5. The entire Guatemala game in Continental Cafe esp when the feed cutoff and we didn't know if we had scored the winner or   not...drama for days that yuh just cyah script.

Bottom 5:
1. Final whistle Nov 19, 1989. Cuz before d whistle we always thought that we woulda come back.
2. Mexico goin one up in our cruciall last group match.
3. Guatemala takin a 2-1 lead. Men was askin why and how. Trinidad playin the best we have played in yrs with both legends in the lineup but still losin.
4. Bahraini kickin d ball outta Jack hands and scorin. Honestly, I eh care wha d rule is, daz good goal. If we had do dat and it get call back we woulda be cussin and Jack woulda be callin dem fellas in FIFA.
5. Latas gettin chop down by a friggin' costa rican in d oval in d first WCQ for d 98 cup. Everybody thought qualification was a surety after beatin Norway in a friendly and having a squad boasting Latas, Wise, Nakhid, Dwarikah, and other gifted players. Latas get tack on his foot and gone off injured in the first half. I eh go lie, I wanted to cry. I hope ppl remember dat game. I still think that was our strongest squad. Vranes was the coach. If Beenie had coach dat ppl woulda be sayin we gonna win the cup
« Last Edit: March 30, 2006, 10:33:52 AM by Marcos »

« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2006, 10:56:32 AM »

4. Bahraini kickin d ball outta Jack hands and scorin. Honestly, I eh care wha d rule is, daz good goal.

How does that make sense ?

by the way, I watching the game on Sat at home.......come through if yuh could

« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2006, 11:00:49 AM »

4. Bahraini kickin d ball outta Jack hands and scorin. Honestly, I eh care wha d rule is, daz good goal.

How does that make sense ?

by the way, I watching the game on Sat at home.......come through if yuh could

it all somehow makes complete sense to me now ;D

« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2006, 11:22:13 AM »
What I meant was, in my opinion, it shouldn't be considered a foul despite what the official rule is. I think any sensible football fan could see that Jack was in no danger (hence NO FOUL) and the fact that it was called a foul was merely a technicality which many would consider harsh.

ANyway doh distract from the thread. It goin dece. I gonna try to roll through to see dat game

« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2006, 11:24:58 AM »
What I meant was, in my opinion, it shouldn't be considered a foul despite what the official rule is. I think any sensible football fan could see that Jack was in no danger (hence NO FOUL) and the fact that it was called a foul was merely a technicality which many would consider harsh.

ANyway doh distract from the thread. It goin dece. I gonna try to roll through to see dat game

Lemmeh just say meh piece and ah go let de thread continue in peace... if that is not ah foul.... then it would encourage players to do it regularly which would put keepers in danger of injury...

AND Jack was in danger there... he never followed through... imagine if he did what would have happened... he coulda break he foot and de bahraini might dead!!  :o

ok carry on

« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2006, 11:28:53 AM »
Good Only

no order

1)Stern 2 goals against guatemala

2) Stern 2 goals against mexico

3) Return of yorke and latapy

4) Getting to Germany thanks to the Soca Warriors and dennis lawrence goal

5)LEO BEENHAKKER

« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2006, 11:35:10 AM »
In no particular order:

1. November 19th

2. Final Whistle in Bahrain

3. Latapy rocket vs Mexico in the Stadium, 2002 campaign (1-0 TnT)

4. TnT - 6 Panama - 0 in the Oval, 2002 campaign

5. TnT - 0 Honduras - 0 (1988, my first game :) TnT wore blue shirts in the first half, because d real kit didnt arrive until half time)

« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2006, 11:43:17 AM »
For me, it is a tie between

1. Stern JOhn's two goals in the last 10 minutes against guatemala,

2. Stern John's second goal against Mexico for us to win 2-1, and

3. Latapy bullet in de STadium that send we crazy against mexico in 2000.

My worst moments were

1. De goal dat Bahrain score

2. Paul Caluguri goal

3. Stern Miss penalty against mexico

Ps: Touches, when ah read yuh post, ah remember de exact feeling we had in dat game!!

Whey sah, dat was real emotion!!

Offline Augi

« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2006, 12:03:18 PM »
My best

1) Must be Dennis Lawrence's goal against Bahrain!

2) Nov 19. the scoreboard read "TNT we love you still" (whose ever idea it was give him the trinity cross

3) 2 goals from Kerry Jameson, setup by latas "DE KERRY" in the 89 campaign

4) Latas goal against Guatemala in 2005

5) Earl "spiderman" Carter's recovery after he made a save in the first game in the 1989 campaign against the US.He use do this lil flip up.

« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2006, 12:11:28 PM »
For me, it is a tie between

3. Latapy bullet in de STadium that send we crazy against mexico in 2000.

Laaard !!!! That was a great moment.....Coulda made my top 5.......lost my voice in da game....

Touches remember de waggonist who try and hug us up and tief my flag when Latas score ? I almost sure he's post on dis forum.......

« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2006, 12:16:20 PM »
Beenie becomin coach really shoulda be in the top 5 for real dred.

Like nobody remember dat off the ball foul dat latas had collect in the CR game boy. Dat was a heartbreaker.

Offline R45

« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2006, 12:19:37 PM »
Good

Latapy goal versus Mexico in the Stadium, 2000

Walking all over Canada 4-0 in the Oval, 2000. I really thought that was our year to qualify and maybe even top CONCACAF

Stern John last goal versus Guatemala in 2005

Trotman extra time goal versus Costa Rica in the 2001 Gold Cup quarters

Kelvin Jack last minute save in Bahrain

Bad

Marvin Andrews passing the ball STRAIGHT to a Mexican player in the first minute of the semifinal round qualifier versus Mexico in the HCS, which they scored

Goal scored in Jamaica in the 2002 WCQ, when we DOMINATED them to lose 0-1

Angus Eve being sent off early in the Mexico game in the Oval (2002 WCQ) when we were 1-0 up and poised to score more (1-1 draw in the end)

Stern John miss penalty versus Mexico, 2005

Seeing Birchall limp off the field in Bahrain in the first half

« Reply #18 on: March 30, 2006, 12:48:07 PM »
germany 2006.ah forgettin de past.we movin on.de next ting ah lookin forward too is beatin usa 3 nil to reach south africa 2010.(puttin them outta contention by de way) :)

Offline TTFAn

« Reply #19 on: March 30, 2006, 12:59:24 PM »
Best............ the drive to the Stadium on November 19, 1989
Worst......... the drive home from the Stadium on November 19, 1989

« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2006, 01:51:05 PM »

Alyuh wouldnt know this but Sam, was we Hero and Champion of the message board in them days. This I think is one reason why all the older posters have a sense of brotherhood that doe exist now.........it used to be 30 of we Against the World here, and we used to battle it out with the limited resources and sporting achievements the warriors had at that point in time. Imagine we cussing out Canadians and telling them they side is shit because we win we first two games ever against them....while they jest win Gold Cup and make a WC already. Doe talk about the Jamaicans and RF.....that come like the battle for middle earth and we squad is a band of Hobbits minus Frodo and the ring and Gandaulf.

Thanks you warriors for quieting the haters

Oh ho,,Sam is de Rottweiler from LONG time eh?

Well ah now understand how some men geh bite up so bad recently
Yuh cyah fight ah man nature oui

Hol it dong

« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2006, 02:44:31 PM »
NOV 19th 1989  >:( :( ??? :-[ :'( :o :cursing: :frustrated: :thumbsdown: :banginghead:

NOV 16TH 2005  ;D :applause: :cheers: :party: :peace: :thumbsup: :wavetowel: :whew:
« Last Edit: March 30, 2006, 03:17:45 PM by che »

Offline Latent

« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2006, 04:41:11 PM »
Top 5

- Dennis Lawrence's Goal vs Bahrain (TO THE WORLD CUP WE GO!!!!) :) :) :) :) :) :)
- Stern John's Two Goals vs Guatemala (SAVE WE WORLD CUP CAMPAIGN!!!!)
- Latapy Bullet vs Mexico in the Stadium in 2000 in World Cup Qualifier Semi-Final Stage.
-Angus Eve Goal shot from the outside vs Canada in Canada in 2000.
-Birchall's Torpedo vs Bahrain in our Home Leg.

Worst Moments-

-1989 vs USA when Paul Caligari scored(BOSS A CRY, CRY, CRY!!!!!) :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
-When the Costa Rica made a top class saveto deny us our three points (Bertille's last match as coach of our National Team.
-When Guatemala was leading 2-1 against us in 2005.
-When Bahrain took the lead against us even though we were home.
-In 1992, just a few days after beating JAMAICA in the Shell Cup, we come and loss to them in a World Cup Qualifier at home(they knocked perhaps the best and most talented T&T team of all time)

« Reply #23 on: March 30, 2006, 05:28:39 PM »

-In 1992, just a few days after beating JAMAICA in the Shell Cup, we come and loss to them in a World Cup Qualifier at home(they knocked perhaps the best and most talented T&T team of all time)

Agreed !!
I honestly believe that under the right coaches, that team could have earned alotta respect on the world stage.....

« Reply #24 on: March 30, 2006, 06:42:29 PM »
In NO Particular Order

1. Paul Caligari  goal on 19th 1989  :'(

2. Dennis Lawerence Goal in Bahrain  ;D

3. Kerry Jamerson Goal againt Guatamela 1989  ;D

4. Losing to Haiti in the 70's

5. When Latapy said in Ato's Documentry.." You making me cry boy.. you making meh f-cking cry boy"

nice thread smi

« Reply #25 on: March 30, 2006, 06:42:54 PM »
-Latapy Goal against Mexico in de stadium... has to be my greatest memory.

-Final whistle when Canada knocked us out of the Gold Cup... I still remember watching Dwarika trudge off the pitch looking down at his feet

-To the later half of our 2002 world cup qualifing I remember the Match against Jamaica in de Oval... we geh into ah big fight with the Mascot cause he pelt ah bottle at one of meh cousin's patnas.

-That same match one of the JA players scoring a header towards the end... I remember looking up and realizing that imps geh score on...

-Looking at Neil as im bombarded by a frenzy of people when Stern scores the second gaol against Mexico.

-Nealing on de floor crying when de final whistle blew at the second leg of the bahrain match.

das 6... oh well.

Offline 1989

« Reply #26 on: March 30, 2006, 07:04:24 PM »
1 - Trinidad 5 England 1 (Germany 2006)  ;D
2 - World Cup Qualification
3 - Leo Benhakker
4 - Stern vs. Mexico: 2 1/2 goals (one offside)
5 - Jamaica going world cup before us.  >:(
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #27 on: March 30, 2006, 07:13:10 PM »
Big Dawg, I know what ya sayin
BUT that was NOT a lorse
DAT WAS PLAIN TIEF
de gnikcuf linesman and ref get BAN for LIFE
and we still ent get to advance
DAT harder to take than a REAL lorse

meh pops does complain about that allllll de time... dat haitain mafia man threaten all de officials so i almost dont blame them...

just really unfontunate for us...

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
« Reply #28 on: March 31, 2006, 05:08:47 AM »
In NO Particular Order

1. Paul Caligari  goal on 19th 1989  :'(

2. Dennis Lawerence Goal in Bahrain  ;D

3. Kerry Jamerson Goal againt Guatamela 1989  ;D

5. When Latapy said in Ato's Documentry.." You making me cry boy.. you making meh f-cking cry boy"

nice thread smi

My pleasure. I'll be posting the top responses either over the weekend or on Monday.

Question: there are many, many Trini fans out there like me - people too young to remember the details of 1989 (and definitely having no idea about anything in the 70s). What resources, if any, are available to people who want to see these goals for themselves? Experience the games and the places? Do archives exist?
-be the change you wish to see-

« Reply #29 on: March 31, 2006, 05:30:24 AM »
1 The final whistle against against Bahrain (man I cant describe the emotion I felt, I could nt talk for  minutes, felt like runnning in the street like a madman)
2 Birchall scoring against Bahrain
3 1989 and watching big hardback men crying and feeling so sh!t I didnt even go for the $1 Carib that they had on special for the day (you all remember that !)
4 Stern goal against Mexico
5 getting my tickets for 2006 Germany