March 28, 2024, 01:43:12 PM

Author Topic: T&T U-21s salvage 1-1 draw with Dominica.  (Read 4294 times)

Online Tallman

T&T U-21s salvage 1-1 draw with Dominica.
« on: March 31, 2006, 11:21:18 PM »
Makan Hislop says U-21s will turn it up.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Trinidad and Tobago Under 21 team captain Makan Hislop believes that his team can put Friday’s dismal performance behind them and put on the type of showing required in their must win affair with Haiti in Tuesday’s closing CAC Games qualifier at the Larry Gomes Stadium.
Hislop and his teammates were in the stands looking on at the late arriving Haitians comfortable go past Dominica 5-1 on a sunny Sunday evening. The losers were the same boys which Hislop and company had to wait until a last minute Judah Hernandez equalizer to salvage a point against.
“We know that Friday’s performance was not anywhere close to our best so we are expecting to come out and do a lot better,” Hislop told TTFF Media on Sunday. “This is a do or die for us.”
“Part of the problem I think though was everyone expected us to win the game and as a result we all also expected to win the game and we didn’t play good enough to get the result. We were too confident and we didn’t work hard enough,” added the Tobago born US-based player.
For the first time ever, a national team other than the senior team has included more than five overseas-based players with eight in total and Hislop explained that it was definitely a plus and he doesn’t feel it has had a negative effect on the team’s overall readiness.
“I have been very surprised because within our team we haven’t had any problems anything like a dislike between the local players and the ones from abroad. Before quite a few of the foreign-based players on this team were also based locally up to two years ago so we know each other and we can relate well with each other,” Hislop said.
“When most of us came back, there was no negative vibes and I think this can continue in the future. I think too that there shouldn’t be much problems with players who go abroad and have to have any fears of being forgotten about when it comes to the national team or local football on a whole. In the past we have had times when no one contacted them and they may have been lost to national football. But now this is changing and more are playing with the national team. It was great for us to have the camps before since December and the chance being given for players to come and be part of the training. This shows that the Federation and management is thinking about the future and that they are putting things in place for the overseas players will not be lost out there,” Hislop added.
Meantime, the Haitians upped the tempo in the second half to set up a virtual final with the hosts on Tuesday. Though the Dominicans were able to contain a jaded looking Haitian outfit in the first forty minutes, the deadlock was broken in the 41st minute when Rood Kelly drilled his effort home on the rebound from a free kick taken by Dacius Gilles. Before that Gilles; shot went inches wide as Haiti tried for the go ahead goal in the 38th minute.
Then in the 46th minute Fritzron Jean Baptiste neatly converted from inside the penalty box and Gilles added a second five minutes later to put the Haitians into a cushion position. Etienne Yveson (82nd) and Innocent Jean Junior (87th) added numbers to the final scoreline. They will now go through with even a draw while T&T must win to go through as the sole winners of the Group to July’s CAC Games in Colombia.
News from the 2nd of April 2006.

Nigel Henry signs with Swedish club Kiruna FF.
By: Flex Mohammed.

T&T defender Nigel Henry restarted his professional career when we was snapped up by Kiruna FF-BoIS. A Swedish football club located in the city of Kiruna. The club, formed 21 December 1970, is currently playing in the third highest Swedish league, Division 1. Kiruna FF is Sweden's northernmost football club. As for Henry he made a telling start to his career when he scored a goal for his new team that thrashed Skånland 7-0. Coach Hansi Björnström was definitely a happy man after the victory when he saw his new signed defender up front scoring goals. Nigel a central defender that played in the US A-Leagues for many years. He played for the Hershey Wildcats, Charleston Battery, Montreal Impact and just recently the Toronto Lynx before moving to Sweden, he made his World Cup debut under former T&T coach Bertille St Clair against Guatemala and also had appearances in the Digicel Cup.
Meanwhile, former Real Salt Lake midfielder Leslie Fitzpatrick last week headed to the Netherlands and Germany to train with several teams in anticipation of finding a roster spot in Europe next season. He is hoping his play in Europe during April will attract the attention of the T&T national team management so he will be recalled to participate in the World Cup.
Jason nets first Scotland hattrick.
Sunday Herald.

As any striker will tell you, it is all about timing and Jason Scotland could not have picked a more opportune moment to notch his first ever hat-trick in Scottish football and breathe renewed hope into St Johnstone’s championship challenge. It may also bring the striker to the attention of Trinidad and Tobago manager Leo Beenhakker as he ponders his squad for the World Cup Finals.
Before Scotland starts thinking about Germany there is the small matter of the race for promotion to the Premier League.
It was a contest which looked dead and buried a few weeks ago but St Mirren’s lead at the top has been whittled away and Owen Coyle will be hoping the Paisley side have a collapse of epic proportions come the home strait.
This win sees Saints close the gap to eight points with four games remaining and with the top two still to clash it is not all over yet.
Scotland said: “We’ve got to keep winning and hope they buckle.
“That is my first hat-trick in Scottish football although I had to ask the referee if all the goals were mine as Steven Milne was claiming the second one, but the ref said they were mine.
“It’s a good time to score a hat-trick; the Trinidad manager will be following the players and he will see what I have done.”
It took Saints just three minutes to break the deadlock. Scotland can be infuriating to watch as he can produce moments of brilliance or fall over the ball. This was one of the former as he collected a pass from Kevin Rutkiewicz and danced round a couple of challenges then produced a cool finish past Barry John Corr.
Stranraer are in danger of slipping into the play-offs but after 21 minutes they were level as Willie Aitken stole in behind the defence and unleashed a powerful shot which gave Bobby Glennon no chance.
Coyle made a double change after just 27 minutes, hauling off Goran Stanic and Steven Anderson for Steven Milne and Ryan Stevenson. It proved to be an inspired change as ten minutes later Milne looped a header from John Henry’s cross over Corr and Jason Scotland was on hand to force the ball over the line. St Johnstone wins it 3-2 and now in second place.
Ten minutes after the interval Stranraer were back level as David Hamilton glanced a header from Stephen Payne’s free-kick past Glennon.
Saints upped the pressure and with 16 minutes remaining it finally paid off as Coyle’s low cross was bundled over the line by Jason Scotland.
Coyle believes they can still catch the leaders, saying: “The result was paramount and we got all three points. Results have also gone for us and we are keeping the pressure on St Mirren. We’ll carry on the fight.”
Spann close to injury recovery.
By Shaun Fuentes.

Silvio Spann’s hopes of playing football matches over the next few weeks leading up to the 2006 World Cup is not all lost.
Spann, now unattached to any club had his chances of signing with Sheffield Wednesday snapped last month after he picked up a knee injury and had been told by the club’s management that they will now look at the option of signing him for next season. Spann on the market after leaving Japanese club Yokohama FC.
But now having gone through rehab and set to be fully fit in a week’s time, the former Perugia player is looking forward to joining an English club where he will be allowed to play in Reserve League matches.
“As far as playing first team matches, it’s not going to happen because the club didn’t want to take the chance of signing me with the injury. But they have held talks with my agent and they remain interested. I have taken good care of the injury over the last couple weeks and I expect to be ready in a week time. I’m hoping that the arrangement for me to join anther English club will come through and I should be playing Reserve team matches and also training with this club up until the World Cup,” Spann told TTFF Media.
Meantime, while defender Brent Sancho is now back in the Gillingham first team, he is looking to cement his team both on the club eleven and the T&T squad for the friendly against Peru on May 10 and subsequently the World Cup.
And while the regular overseas are eagerly awaiting their World Cup call, a former T&T youth player has returned home in hope of signing with a Pro team. Kwame Wiltshite is back in town after failing to secure an overseas contract due to what he claimed as a lack of work permit approval.
Wiltshire was invited by both Dynamo Kiev and Spartak Moscow, adding that he was at both clubs but all chances of signing with them were dampened by a turn down for his work permit application.
“I’m back home and I’m hoping to sign with a club here, maybe Joe Public because I grew up playing with them,” Wiltshire said. “I’m still hopeful too that I can get a chance to train with the national senior team,” he added. Wiltshire was also a trainee with MLS club New York/New Jersey MetroStars.
News from the 01st of April 2006.

T&T U-21s salvage 1-1 draw with Dominica.
By Kern De Freitas (Express).

Trinidad and Tobago's Under-21 team have striker Judah Hernandez to thank for helping them to save face after a disappointing performance last night saw them draw 1-1 with Dominica in their first CAC qualifying match. Hernandez spared his team's blushes literally at the last minute, with a 90th minute equaliser against their lowly-rated opponents at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar to rousing cheers prompted by relief from the 2,000 modest crowd there to support the "Young Soca Warriors".
Hernandez's teammates had failed to hit the mark the entire evening, due to either wayward shooting, or excellent goalkeeping from Glenson Prince in the Dominica goal. But with the seconds ticking away and a humiliating defeat at home looming, a desperate blast off a Kevon Neaves pass put a single blemish on Prince's sheet, and salvaged some T&T pride.
But the overall performance from this talented T&T bunch was quite disappointing, moreso as they promised so much in the build-up to the match. Predictably, it was T&T who started the brighter, former St Anthony's College striker Abiola Sandy, missing a chance from close range in the opening minutes. The Dominicans, coming forward seemed less than potent, and T&T were comfortable at the back, but they lacked a clinical final touch at the other end.
Sandy tapped over from 12 metres out, while skipper Makan Hislop's powerful freekick in the 14th was parried wide Prince, and drove another just wide of the right upright four minutes.
In the 26th, defender Yohance Marshall met a Neaves corner on the left, but his header went just over. And in the 29th, Sandy's 20m effort soared over the crossbar. Speedy ex-Malick workhorse Hayden Tinto, playing on the right wing, blasted wide in the 32nd minute, and two minutes later Marshall forced Prince to parry wide.
However, despite their dominance in midfield, and myriad chances, T&T's lack of assertion saw them go behind against the run of play in the 35th minute. Surinamese referee John Wyngaarde blew his whistle for an infringment at the left of the T&T 18-metre box, and the ensuing kick floated towards T&T custodian Hasely Holder. Holder's attempted parry, which was more like a pat, directed the ball into the path of the onrushing Roy Emmanuel and he side-footed home to the delight of the tiny, but vocal Dominican contingent.
In the second period, Dominica began shakily despite their lead. But T&T, continued to miss their chances. Attack after attack either broke down inside the Dominican penalty area, or Prince was able to maintain his team's advantage with some impressive reflex goalkeeping.
The silent T&T crowd became extremely nervous, and vociferous in the closing minutes with their side heading for defeat. But after a pressure-filled final 10 minutes in which Dominica barely had a glimpse of the ball, T&T finally found an opening. Neaves received a pass at the edge of the area and looped the ball forward for Hernandez, who, in spite of attention from two defenders, had enough composure to rifle in the equaliser to give T&T a point. T&T are next scheduled to play Haiti on Tuesday at the same venue from 4 p.m. The Haitians are due to open their qualifying campaign with a match against Dominica at the same venue from 4 p.m. Sunday.
Lincoln Phillips analysis of the T&T/Dominica U-21 game.
By: Flex Mohammed.

Hard working Technical Director of T&T football Mr. Lincoln Phillips spoke to the Soca Warriors Online and gave us his break down on the T&T U-21 game aganist Dominica. Below is a read out of his analysis.

General Analysis

The team performed far below its potential against a vastly inferior opponent. Our passing was erratic and our decisions whether to make a first time pass or not was flawed. Far too many times the players chose to make first time passes when there was no pressure at all.

Our ball control and first touch in particular was disappointing, especially in the first half. The players' body position when receiving the ball provided very few options whenever they were in possession. For example, they would usually either be facing the sideline or their own goal when they received the ball. The movement off the ball was also deficient as players were too static and remained mostly in their original positions during the game. More mobility is needed to create passing options for the player with the ball. It should be noted that these points were also raised in the Tampa Camp analysis.

The team lacked appropriate team shape especially when advancing the ball from the defensive third. Yohance Marshall, a natural central defender was asked to play a defensive mid-field role. The thought here was to have a ball winner in the midfield. This did not work and he was wisely substituted in the second half. Kevon Neaves, a natural left-sided player was asked to play in a central attacking mid-field position. With Neaves being the most skillful player on the team coupled with having a lethal long-range shot, the coach felt that he would have provided extra goal scoring from the mid-field. But, this strategy did not work.

In the second half, new players were inserted into the game (Josimar Belgrave, Akilie Edwards and Shane Calderon) and the formation was changed from 4-4-2 to 3-4-3, a system that enables a more positive approach to penetration and goal scoring. In hindsight, coach La Forest felt that he should have changed the system earlier since this was clearly the most effective formation (3-4-3) the team played in the warm up matches.

Finishing

Even with all these deficiencies, T&T penetrated the Dominican defense at will and should have had at least 4 goals for their efforts. However, poor finishing from close range kept the warriors off the boards until minutes before the final whistle. Judah Hernandez unleashed a powerful drive scoring from 15 meters to earn the Warriors a hard fought 1-1 tie.

Defense

The team lacked the intensity it showed in the Tampa games and in some of the games against our local pro teams. We never pressured the ball enough in the attacking third of the field and gave the opponents time and space to play in the midfield. In addition, our players were too far apart from the 1st defender (the defender closest to the ball) providing little or no cover at all during the game. We must pressure as a team and double-team as often as possible if we are to qualify for the CAC games.

Goalkeeping

Goalkeeper, Thorne Holder let in a soft goal from a lofted center. He was in two minds whether to catch or punch the ball over the bar. The mishandled ball dropped in front of the goal and Dominica got their first and only tally in the ensuing scrimmage. This occurrence obviously affected the game plan and the players played in an even more impatient manner.

Positives

In spite of the team's sub-par performance, they showed tremendous character and never gave up. Hayden Tinto was one of the live wires in the team constantly threatening the Dominican defenders both offensively and defensively. Judah Hernandez, although missing a few chances fought doggedly for a goal and was rewarded with the eventual equalizer.

T&T Line-Up:

Thorne Holder; Carlon Murray, Ancil Farrier, Marcelle Francois, Makan Hislop (capt), Yohance Marshall; Hayden Tinto, Kevon Neaves, Clevon George; Abiola Sandy, Judah Hernandaz.

Subs Used:

Josimar Belgrave; Akile Edwards; Shane Calderon.

Post Game Audio:

Interviews, click here.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2006, 08:16:50 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T U-21s salvage 1-1 draw with Dominica.
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2006, 06:30:16 AM »
Seeing that we're lacking a clinical finisher, maybe we should take a look at Aaron Downing after this tour ?

Bad result and I am sure Dominica didn't have as much preparations as us.

Bring back Gorien..... nah, teach him a lesson,,,, he head gone.... he need a wake up call...

Offline Jay10

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2006, 11:08:31 AM »
Aaron Downing????????

Apparently u haven't seen him play lately.............so is no scene.............buh although das meh real boy................i doh think he ready 4 da just yet..............mqybe in a yr or sumpten.............wen he gets back his confidence..................da break leg reallslow him down........he still playion a lil frighten

Offline Augi

« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2006, 05:11:48 PM »
Where was Gorian Highley?

« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2006, 07:06:27 PM »
Where was Gorian Highley?

maybe he did not make the final cut

« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2006, 08:46:31 PM »
There is no excuse to draw with Domminica, and barely so in the 90th minute.  Another underperforming team coached by a local coach who is in over his head.  When would these guys learn or do we have to find another "Beenie" to have these guys play well.  There is no doubt that we have more talented and skillful players than Dominica, but to draw?  Steeuuuuups!!!  If we keep that up, Haiti will give us 5... and only the winner of the group will move on.  I am tired of excuses every time we mess up.

« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2006, 08:48:34 PM »
There is no excuse to draw with Domminica, and barely so in the 90th minute.  Another underperforming team coached by a local coach who is in over his head.  When would these guys learn or do we have to find another "Beenie" to have these guys play well.  There is no doubt that we have more talented and skillful players than Dominica, but to draw?  Steeuuuuups!!!  If we keep that up, Haiti will give us 5... and only the winner of the group will move on.  I am tired of excuses every time we mess up.

Easy take it easy

« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2006, 08:55:56 PM »

Easy take it easy
Take it easy!  Man very time we lose game, U17, U21, Seniors, whatever, my blood does start boiling.  Ah hope a have a doctor in thhouse when we play at the WC.

« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2006, 07:59:32 AM »
By Jovan Ravello
THE Haitian Under-21 football team arrived in T&T late yesterday afternoon and will play Dominica in the second match of the local leg of the 2006 Caribbean Football Union Central American and Caribbean Games qualifiers, at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar, today.

The match will be Dominica’s second of the tournament, after they gave T&T a scare in Group 2’s opening match on Friday,drawing one-all.

Dominica drew first blood with a 35th minute Roy Emmanuel strike but Judah Hernandez saved face for the hosts with an a goal in injury time.

Haiti’s Under-21s are said to be in good form, with the ability to shake up the balance in the group, but with less than half-a-day to prepare for their match against Dominica they may not be in the best shape to pull off an upset.

The Haitians will be housed at the Motown Guest House, Picton Street, Woodbrook, opposite Pamela’s Guest House, where T&T’s team is camped for the three match tournament.

T&T will meet Haiti on Tuesday at the Larry Gomes Stadium at 4pm and coach Ron La Forest says the things that happened in the Dominica match will not happen again.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok Ron ah hope you keep your word on dat
« Last Edit: April 02, 2006, 08:02:07 AM by triniman »

« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2006, 01:06:22 PM »
By Jovan Ravello
THE Haitian Under-21 football team arrived in T&T late yesterday afternoon and will play Dominica in the second match of the local leg of the 2006 Caribbean Football Union Central American and Caribbean Games qualifiers, at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar, today.

The match will be Dominica’s second of the tournament, after they gave T&T a scare in Group 2’s opening match on Friday,drawing one-all.

Dominica drew first blood with a 35th minute Roy Emmanuel strike but Judah Hernandez saved face for the hosts with an a goal in injury time.

Haiti’s Under-21s are said to be in good form, with the ability to shake up the balance in the group, but with less than half-a-day to prepare for their match against Dominica they may not be in the best shape to pull off an upset.

The Haitians will be housed at the Motown Guest House, Picton Street, Woodbrook, opposite Pamela’s Guest House, where T&T’s team is camped for the three match tournament.

T&T will meet Haiti on Tuesday at the Larry Gomes Stadium at 4pm and coach Ron La Forest says the things that happened in the Dominica match will not happen again.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok Ron ah hope you keep your word on dat

Mr Ron La Forest, ah hope yuh prepared to walk if yuh team doh live up to your promise!  :-[