April 25, 2024, 07:38:34 PM

Author Topic: Manchester City V Sunderland  (Read 6900 times)

Re: Manchester City V Sunderland
« Reply #30 on: March 22, 2009, 10:40:33 AM »
kenwyn jones just looks lost out there, he has no confidence right now, touch is just poor, his work rate is left to be desired. i just don't see him as a dependabe striker. i hope he gets i t together cause he is nothing special.
To be fair, he hasn't recovered from his injury yet. The manager says he doesn't train during the week. It shows. Don't know what the point is in playing him if he isn't fit or match sharp. As a Trini, I'm biased and glad he's playing, but as a Sunderland fan I'd be screaming for Cisse right now.

woww, ah man does juss showup and get to play EPL & start before ah next man too...every fete-matcher dream
My bad. Trinis are perfect and our games have no weaknesses. Thumbs up.

naahh, dat would be Brazilians or the French ...wait in this game, Malbranque, and leadbetter, and dem, dem perfect, dem doing everything right, buh d Trinis, nahh, dem not match fit, dem injured, 2 much ah dem on one team, so we just running it, and deciding who playing, shim Mats, musbe does call Saba and tell him who to start, regardless of imperfections.

« Reply #31 on: March 22, 2009, 10:48:05 AM »
kenwyn jones just looks lost out there, he has no confidence right now, touch is just poor, his work rate is left to be desired. i just don't see him as a dependabe striker. i hope he gets i t together cause he is nothing special.
To be fair, he hasn't recovered from his injury yet. The manager says he doesn't train during the week. It shows. Don't know what the point is in playing him if he isn't fit or match sharp. As a Trini, I'm biased and glad he's playing, but as a Sunderland fan I'd be screaming for Cisse right now.

woww, ah man does juss showup and get to play EPL & start before ah next man too...every fete-matcher dream

naahh, dat would be Brazilians or the French ...wait in this game, Malbranque, and leadbetter, and dem, dem perfect, dem doing everything right, buh d Trinis, nahh, dem not match fit, dem injured, 2 much ah dem on one team, so we just running it, and deciding who playing, shim Mats, musbe does call Saba and tell him who to start, regardless of imperfections.
Why would anyone on this forum discuss Malbranque or Leadbitter?

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #32 on: March 22, 2009, 10:50:44 AM »
another bad day for sunderlan....but the good news is carlos was in good form...sharin beat and putting in decent crosses

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #33 on: March 22, 2009, 10:51:20 AM »
Game Done?

« Reply #34 on: March 22, 2009, 10:54:43 AM »

ah see yuh point...my bad

« Reply #35 on: March 22, 2009, 10:56:11 AM »

« Reply #36 on: March 22, 2009, 11:05:18 AM »

ah see yuh point...my bad

one more lil ting...aaahhhmmm...why ppl on this forum talk bout ManBoo, and the Pool, Gunners, Real, Brazil, France, ...oh wait...I know...dem perfect..ok...well, like Carlos & KJ couldn't handle ManC today boy ! Mostly KJ fault doh.

« Reply #37 on: March 22, 2009, 11:14:21 AM »
steups.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #38 on: March 22, 2009, 11:15:07 AM »
Sad day for KJ but i think the international break comming in the right time for him... hopefully he come here and put on a show...

« Reply #39 on: March 22, 2009, 11:21:31 AM »
Sad day for KJ but i think the international break comming in the right time for him... hopefully he come here and put on a show...
he really need to score on saturday to boost some confidence in him.

« Reply #40 on: March 22, 2009, 11:23:26 AM »
Best game for C Edwards in 2 years.

Looking to take on the wing back, and playing with pace.
GREAT to hear :applause: :applause:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #41 on: March 22, 2009, 04:45:13 PM »
his defensive marking on heading situation is horrible.  People should reconsider using him in defensive situation just because he's tall.

« Reply #42 on: March 22, 2009, 04:56:00 PM »
his defensive marking on heading situation is horrible.  People should reconsider using him in defensive situation just because he's tall.

dat real unfair..

Kenwyne's defensive ability on set pieces is almost always an asset.

As always seems like people just couldn't wait for an excuse to bring the knives out.

It is a dip in form. Happens to all players at some time or the other.

« Reply #43 on: March 22, 2009, 05:00:21 PM »

dat real unfair..

As always seems like people just couldn't wait for an excuse to bring the knives out.

i'll give you a bligh on that one. Cuz i know he can do better 8 of 10 times

« Reply #44 on: March 22, 2009, 05:01:31 PM »
Kenwyne is de best defender of set pieces on dat team.

« Reply #45 on: March 22, 2009, 05:24:57 PM »

I've always maintained he is a good forward but a better defender. Hopefully he can regain his goalscoring form .soon...real soon

« Reply #46 on: March 22, 2009, 05:27:57 PM »
Just finish watch the game , KJ have ah real start boy ah reach kinda swell headed finish! he not pressuring the defence, he not cutting off the defence, he just walking around  sometimes tackling half hearted, not putting much effort into any thing. real disapointing poor perfomance by kenwyne.

sunderland on the other hand shoulda sub leadbitter instead of murphy, BC leadbitter is ah real dead beat player IMO, he slow , he can't challenge defenders, and he's off target all the time. oh well!!

« Reply #47 on: March 22, 2009, 08:06:48 PM »

dat real unfair..

\in addition no one is talking about how kj have to be playing like is arima united he sweatin for. he have to come back to get most good balls and for the others he have to hope he gets a good play in and after 5 shitty ones, yuh just had to run back deep to head something out and then fly back up to de front to be there to header that down for the on-coming midfielder... it's a wonder he has time to do anything else like .... score.
I think they give kj too much defensive responsibility actually.

lastly, dwight yorke had beckham, scholes, giggs even keane could make a good (heck) point blank pass.
What does kj get? (shitbitter and malbranque....we always wondered how yorke does look so good for manu and come trinidad and look shabby... well apart from coconuts and mangoes (night life) it is beckham who had yorke lookin good.  Kj has no such good fortune.

« Reply #48 on: March 23, 2009, 01:54:48 AM »

dat real unfair..

\in addition no one is talking about how kj have to be playing like is arima united he sweatin for. he have to come back to get most good balls and for the others he have to hope he gets a good play in and after 5 shitty ones, yuh just had to run back deep to head something out and then fly back up to de front to be there to header that down for the on-coming midfielder... it's a wonder he has time to do anything else like .... score.
I think they give kj too much defensive responsibility actually.

lastly, dwight yorke had beckham, scholes, giggs even keane could make a good (heck) point blank pass.
What does kj get? (shitbitter and malbranque....we always wondered how yorke does look so good for manu and come trinidad and look shabby... well apart from coconuts and mangoes (night life) it is beckham who had yorke lookin good.  Kj has no such good fortune.

Eh! be careful what yuh say about malbranque! he's the best thing in ah sunderland uniform! so yuh better know that , far better than carlos! and stead is an asset to any team , bar non!
« Last Edit: March 23, 2009, 01:56:54 AM by just cool »

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #49 on: March 23, 2009, 02:00:34 AM »
Ho hum another game gone no points.

Wasn't going to join the Kenwyne debate as I tend to get slaughtered for it, but I will again.

Firstly I don't think there is a doubt Kenwyne is carrying an injury, so get that out.  There is natural bias on here which is perfectly understandable.  No matter who is up front whether its KJ, Cisse or both they suffer from any real support (unless last 5 minutes in a match) from a midfield that doesn't get forward in sufficient numbers, often enough or quick enough (manager).  Cisse isn't really a hold up type player so its difficult to asess him as one.  

Kenwyne doesn't get regular pin point balls, its the nature of the beast you just have to live with it, but when he does more often than not his control lets him down.  Twice yesterday he was on the edge of the box / just in with the ball at his feet and both times it got away from him, there was also a mix up with Given and defender I thought he could of done much better with.  The reality is although he has scored he hasn't played well since his return.  Just time to get the season over with (hopefully surviving) and draw a line under it.  

I thought the offer for him in January was big, unfortunately at the wrong time for us couldn't sell him then as we couldn't replace him with someone who could also help out defensively.  Still think he has huge potential but whatever division personally if offered that kind of money in the summer with time to replace I would take it.  Still think he will score his fair share of goals, but don't think he will score as many as he should regularly.  

Before anybody has a go, I am not picking on Kenwyne just noone is interested in the rest of the things about Leadbetter Murphy Whitehead etc, which I have views on.  

I do think yesterday would of helped Carlos with his confidence, playing against a player that is on the wrong side and very one footed helped but it might just be the confidence booster he needed, I hope so because the lad deserves a change of luck.

« Reply #50 on: March 23, 2009, 07:07:39 AM »
buh kev that's the point exactly, how we could talk bout KJ & Carlos game, and not talk bout the rest of Sunderland ? We boys are not Sunderland, they cyah go and do they job, without the rest of the team doing theirs. So talk yuh talk. Sure KJ touch often let him down...but if he the opposing defenders had someone else to worry about, he would probably be able to recover from that failed touch... but when a man have 3 defenders keying on he alone, back to goal, nobody to even bounce it too, even with the best touch and some luck, he probably wouldn't even get off ah shot...and is not like he is the best or most experienced in the world, or the league or the Team for that matter...yet it real difficult to learn under those circumstances, yet man quick to point out all who woulda do better.... eg.. if yuh marking Eto, and Messi have the ball, yuh mind on Messi too, and oh shim he kinda bobble it, yuh think yuh go leave Eto to go get it from Messi, yet yuh throw the tackle, win it from he, and it fall on Henri.....not so with Sunderland, is kick to KJ and hope he touch doh fail him...some ppl waste down Richardson, but defenders know if yuh leave he, he blasting, so yuh better run at him, when they run at him, KJ have 1-2 less man to concentrate on he...simple tap in...the rest of Sunderland better step up or he should go we he can in the EPL (even Championship), I agree with you, it would be beneficial to both....bottom line we can't talk about a player performance, and not analyze the team....even in the best of health, it doh be easy with 10, yet ppl was lookin for the best of KJ yesterday...To see the best of a player (especially one carrying something), 95% of the time, you have to see the best from his team....neither Pele, Maradona, ZZ, Kaka nor CRonaldo coulda be as successful withOUT they teams....and KJ isn't even close to any of that
« Last Edit: March 23, 2009, 07:42:54 AM by maxg »

« Reply #51 on: March 23, 2009, 08:03:31 AM »
Thanx for the analysis Kev, musch appreciated!!

« Reply #52 on: March 23, 2009, 10:08:49 AM »
Kev maybe he should spend less time with the hairdresser, and more time practising hold and distributing the ball.

Offline kev

« Reply #53 on: March 23, 2009, 10:09:16 AM »
maxg

I agree with you and have said it myself on here that the control is made worse by the fact no one is there to pick up any pieces, if Cisse is there or thereabouts it means they are really playing too close to eachother and are far too easy to mark.  

I do not go into other players because of the lack of interest but I will give it a shot for you, I must stress this is how I see it and everybody looks sees different things, I don't tend to get favourites and have a bias and understand players can't play the same level week in week out.

The 3 main areas of the team all have problems to varying degrees although we have better players this season, we don't have that much stronger of a team because the balance/mix is just wrong.  

The 1st issue isn't with the team but the coaching, we have a poor attitude to games especially against teams near the top, we are beaten before we take the field imho with a defensive attitude which would be OK if we could really defend.  I mentioned poor coaching while Keane was manager and that was part of the reason I didn't want Sbragia.  The only thing he has done differently was what I was suggesting Keane should do is play higher up the pitch and stop chopping and changing teh team so much.  This worked for a while but he has slowly went back into the defence falling back into the penalty area and the midfield about 5/10 yards in front.  None of this helps the forwards.  On top of that he is now back to make changes, silly subs and looks exactly what he is which is a coach that is told what to do not a manager who does the telling.  

The defence has been a problem, again coaching backing off, playing narrow and just not good enough.  Far too many soft goals especially from set pieces and no one dominates in the air. Collins and McCartney in particular are error prone.  Ferninand has tbf been steady and better than I thought he would be, Bardsley is an old fashioned FB but lacks pace and is no good going forward.  

The midfield is just far too lightweight, we don't have the players to play 442 unless against a poor side or the pace to play 451.  It is constantly changed to try a find a balance that is simply not there  with teh players available.  We have been crying out for a couple of CM's but no joy.  There isn't really a proper tackler amongst them so they offer little protection to a suspect back 4.

Whitehead is what he is a 100% tryer, lacks real pace, can't really tackle and can't really pass more than 5 yards.  He has been one of the better performers this season which says it all, he is a bottom 6 / top CCC player and thats it.  Runs about a lot doesn't offer a great deal defensively little offensively.  If to progress with him would need a strong CM beside him and more talent elsewhere in midfield.

Tiaino hasn't been fit enough times to really see, he is a neat and tidy player but would need a strong CM beside him, he doesn't really have any real pace, but can tackle.

Reid can be very creative trys hard, has no pace, can't really tackle can be very hot and cold.

Richardson a good player but he again is not a true CM to play him there you really need a strong CM partner for him.  He has pace, tries and a bit of skill but is wasted where he is played should be on the left but leaves the centre woefully short of any skill or pace if moved.

Malbranque without doubt is a good footballer, but again can't tackle and doesn't have any real pace, his preferred position is behind a striker.  To really get the best out of him on the right you need a pacey attacking fullback to play with him, we don't have one.  He is hard to really fit into a system we can play.

Leadbetter is a nearly player, he can nearly tackle, pass but has no pace.  Again would need a very strong CM with him to play middle, can't play wide.  (not prem standard really)

Murphy is really a forward without the necessary bottle, can't tackle can pass people but once every 5/6 games. (not prem standard really)

In the front we have Kenwyne and Cisse

Cisse is a speed merchant who will score goals if you provide him the right service, we don't often enough.  He isn't a hold up player or target man and it is difficult seeing him work in a partnership.

Kenwyne I have said above, in addition we don't get down the sides of teams often enough to supply any crosses into the penalty area for him.  Because of his control again I struggle to see Kenwyne working in a partnership, rather a midfield getting quickly up to him to pick up teh pieces, as said above and explained in the players we simply don't have that.  

In short we have 2 strikers that have scored but not a strike partnership.

Sbragia is now finding the same problem as Keane which should of been cured at laest in part in January and wasn't, by getting 1 good CM in.  We are trying to protect a weak defence with a weak midfield by sheer numbers and leave everything else exposed, we simply don't get enough players forward enough, fast enough any number of times in a game.  

All of this doesn't help Kenwyne but by the same token doesn't excuse him either. The reality is he is not as good as some on here want / care to believe YET, whether he can be remains to be seen.  

No doubt I have bored the arse off you but you asked, so sorry.  Despite what some people think I don't pick on Kenwyne I just tell it how I see it, I do the same with the other players but not on here as there is no interest from the majority.  You don't need a coaching badge to see what has been wrong at the club all season, so I struggle to see why those whose job it is can't.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2009, 10:12:22 AM by kev »

« Reply #54 on: March 23, 2009, 10:33:26 AM »
Nice read Kev!!

I for one wasnt bored.......lol

« Reply #55 on: March 23, 2009, 11:51:20 AM »
wasn't bored, and it's good to know, what I see from my little Inet screen, is almost what someone else up close has observed. I think beside the EPL caliber CM, you need a commited and healthy 1st Stopper as well.
About the forwards, KJ and Cisse, I agree....but as you indicated, would hardly see any consistent performance/improvement without adjusting all that you mentioned...thanks again for your observations....Now on a slightly selfish note, the question remains, how can our boys improve in that setting ?...sure it's great to play in the EPL , but as a forward, and a "developing" one at that, what would be great in practice, would rarely translate on the field, cause those are the same guys he has to work with to prepare/improve...the club has to get some more pre-stars, if the issues are funds..i.e young decent quality, cheap...not necessarily big name, who looking for bucks, yet someone who has that potential...you have at least 1 already  ;)...though the league/club/spurs seemed to make an effort to change that...

Offline kev

« Reply #56 on: March 23, 2009, 04:18:00 PM »
Kenwyne seems to have gone backwards this season, but you have to take on board his injury and carrying a knock now.  He has scored more goals but not played anywhere near aswell as he did for the 1st 2/3rds of the season last season.  He bulked up during his absence, has this or his injury have something to do with his jumping, he hasn't once this season dominated any CH, whereas last he was unplayable in a more than a few games.  Maybe thats why Sbragia has changed back to 451 like last season so he is not thinking / worrying about having to flick it on to somebody else. 

Improving his touch is really down to him, improving his movement and anticipation is again him, but also coaching and the players around him.   

I have no doubt that if we survive money will be spent again on at least 3/4 better players to improve the team again, my worry is that if Sbragia is still the manager the right players won't be replaced as the club under past / present manager seems blinkered by certain players and I doubt the right players will be bought. 3 being an absolute minimum.  As I said in the previous post if the club got a big offer again I would sell and tbh it just maybe the right thing for Kenwyne aswell.  He looks anything but confident at the minute, but tbh he never really seemed the type to be ultra confident anyway.

« Reply #57 on: March 23, 2009, 04:51:47 PM »
Posted this back in October. I lived a similar experience (not at that level of course), so I had a feeling for the issue. Hope he has the time and patience to hang in

Quote from: maxg on November 05, 2008, 08:57:35 AM
as expressed previously

Quote from: maxg on October 22, 2008, 07:57:17 AM
I expect him to be a different type of player, not possible to be the same, neither physically or mentally, similar to Stern.
My guess, barring any further damage(please God). More improvements in ball control, vision and passing. Reduction in spontaniety, increase in recovery time, reduced explosiveness and ability to chase every ball.Overall a better player, with reduced agressiveness.
The raw talent that every coach previously observed, would be improved, but note it's that raw talent that made him as dangerous as he was. Let's see what the new KJ brings. Good Luck KJ. Learn this new you, dont be frustrated by this new you, master it and yuhself. Dwight and Stern did, talk to them.

He is, who he is, KJ, Not Cole, not Drogba...and he still worth to some 10-15M..that is damn good in anybody book...buh we could all go orf on IFs

« Reply #58 on: March 24, 2009, 11:47:25 AM »
McCartney's Man City red card rescinded
soccernet.com

Sunderland full-back George McCartney has had the red card he received in Sunday's defeat at Manchester City rescinded today by the Football Association.

The Northern Ireland international was sent off after just 15 minutes at Eastlands with referee Steve Tanner, after consultation with his assistant Mo Matadar, adjudging McCartney to have pulled back Shaun Wright-Phillips when the City winger burst through on goal.

Contact appeared minimal, prompting the Wearsiders to launch an appeal, which has subsequently proved successful.

Had the dismissal been upheld McCartney would have missed out on a return to his former club West Ham. But he will now be free to play at Upton Park on April 4.