April 27, 2024, 10:51:21 PM

Author Topic: at this late stage...we really need to try just about everything!  (Read 2942 times)

Offline Lil Jodie P

Ok hear the scene i tryin to organise a small protest in order to
>>>change the crime situation in TnT... Basically, i callin for a
>>>boycott of all Clubs in trinidad... we know the gov't doh listen
>>>to poor ppl so if we stop feeding the rich they'll have to do
>>>something... doh worry i nuh sayin fire fuh Great Fete and
>>>Carnival, i sayin NO CLUBS... trini ppl like to party so this
>>>would be a good way to show we eh takin the shit that they feedin
>>>us daily... they can;t survive without us ppl, open your eyes and
>>>see that....we have the power...
>>>
>>>below is a lil explanation of the reason why i callin for drastic
>>>measure such as this... you can chose to support or continue doing
>>>nothing and watch as TnT degenerates. the choice is yours.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>so as we all know the situation in Trinidad is synonymous to a big
>>>pile of horse shit.
>>>
>>>the government is doing nothing except trying to point fingers at
>>>ppl for past crimes and they refuse to address the current
>>>situation with any form of seriousness, while the people of this
>>>country continue about their lives as normal. Drinking, limin,
>>>doin what all Trinis do, and when we see another murder, we steups
>>>and turn to the comics.
>>>
>>>we are in the month of April guys, and ther have been over 100
>>>murders for the year. Including the terrible instance of one Sean
>>>Luke. now it's all nice to wear black and say that the nation is
>>>in mourning over his death but what are we doing really? i mean,
>>>what do all these gestures mean?
>>>
>>>ppl say it's the first step in a right direction. "raising
>>>awareness"...BULLSHIT
>>>what? so we doh know how f**ked up the country is? all you need to
>>>do is walk down Frederick Street and you'll see. it is depressing.
>>>how many of us can confidently say that we feel safe when we walk
>>>down town if at all we can say that we indeed walk downtown.
>>>
>>>To my QRC, Convent, Fatima, HNC, all past pupils from a school in
>>>town or near town. remember when we used to walk down to town
>>>after school and lime a lil bit before we actually go home or go
>>>to lessons?
>>>
>>>My SACC lessons crew, remember when we used to lime on the Bus
>>>Route after class til like 6 or 7 in the night and if we leave
>>>"early" we used to stop in Curepe (those who goin west or central)
>>>and buy doubles? Can you actually see that happening now?
>>>
>>>what about goin Tsunami and Base and shit, we used to lime before
>>>and after in the car park before we go inside and flex on rel gyal
>>>without even studyin bout a man ready to fight and stab or shoot
>>>yuh ass.
>>>
>>>Basically what i tryin to say is RIGHT NOW THE SITUATION IS DAMN
>>>SHIT. and rel man if they chose to read this will agree and den
>>>forget about it in approximately 15secs. why? cuz nobody cares
>>>enough. as long as Baby Cham in Zen and Tsunami still have free
>>>premiums on Fridays we cool. ENT?
>>>
>>>WAKE UP!!! how long would it take for Trinidad to come to the
>>>state where we cah even go Zen or any club for that matter? and
>>>what are we doing about it? nothing.
>>>
>>>we complain all the time and lament about the loss of this and
>>>that and we do nothing. we fail to realise WE are the ones who can
>>>make the difference. WE have the power. it is pur choice to stand
>>>up and do something or wait for someone else to do something for
>>>us....(which is exactly what we are doin)
>>>
>>>I am fed us of doing nothing. Sooner or later it's gonna hit home
>>>and i will not be responsible for my actions. It has already
>>>hitclose to home and i don't wish for it to get any closer.
>>>
>>>for me, i am making a stand. it maybe is gonna be by myself but i
>>>am not goin to sit down and wait or anything to happen cuz by that
>>>time we will be looking at the Express and seeing Februrary 26th,
>>>400murders...rel ppl will think i talkin shit but i prefer to
>>>stand up and say hey, i tried.
>>>
>>>you can choose to stand by me or keep doing nothing. the most i
>>>can do is fail, but then again u can't fail a people who are
>>>already lost.
>>>
>>>Wake up TNT, it's time to do something. Please.
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

Re: at this late stage...we really need to try just about everything!
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2006, 08:48:34 PM »
nice idea

« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2006, 07:51:21 AM »
Jodie, I like your spirit and thing but my question to you is why boycott the clubs? How effective would that be? Why not go directly...en masse...to the politicians and demand some actions be taken to resolve the situation in T&T.

These politicians should be beholding to the masses not the other way around so why not make them do what they said they were going to do when they were campaigning for your vote.

In my humble opinion, I believe that the ppl at home feel that somebody else is supposed the handle particular things that affect the community ie crime. If regular folks start taking direct responsibility for their communities and not waiting for the police them that would certainly be a start.

« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2006, 09:21:42 AM »
nice idea but it easy to say when u in florida and england

« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2006, 09:29:13 AM »

trust me trini have more ting to do than my part ah florida. yuh doh need to be clubbing in trini to enjoy yuhself

« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2006, 10:00:53 AM »

so what's the solution then?

Biff

« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2006, 01:41:10 PM »
eat the rich....  :devil:

« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2006, 06:07:05 PM »

trust me trini have more ting to do than my part ah florida. yuh doh need to be clubbing in trini to enjoy yuhself

what else it hav to do??

when yuh in foregin yuh does appreciate d trini tings real plenty but when yuh here livin yuh doh see nuttin

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2006, 08:32:49 PM »
people the point is not that we party too much or that we have nothing to do but party or what...its actually us taking a stance! trinis like to party and if we were to "strike" against partying for a while then the rich cant get richer and they will complain....
they seem to have the upper hand when it comes to getting thigs done and bills passed and laws made! so why not try it...i think its worth a shot

« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2006, 10:18:38 AM »
people the point is not that we party too much or that we have nothing to do but party or what...its actually us taking a stance! trinis like to party and if we were to "strike" against partying for a while then the rich cant get richer and they will complain....
they seem to have the upper hand when it comes to getting thigs done and bills passed and laws made! so why not try it...i think its worth a shot

Jodie Love, yuh cyar depend on the rich to do the things you wrote about before. The solution has to come from the grass roots.From the people who are most affected by the crime and poverty situation. Go DIRECTLY to the politicians and them.

Something else that must be considered as a possible deterant to crime/poverty is the building of more schools, particularly tertiary education facilities, ie The University of Trinidad and Tobago, we need more of those types of institutions. Admiitedly, it will not stop crime in the immediacy but it's a great investment in our collective future.  We need to have a more viable skilled class and to give the youths something to look forward to.

I believe we also have to control what our youths put into their minds. Trini now(and I say now because when I lived at home we didn't have these things) has access to American cable networks and the programming is not what I would want my children to watch. Entirely too much sex and violence. These things get manifested in all kinds of vile ways.

Ultimately, we Trinbagonians have to take matters into our own hands and let the leaders know what we will and will not stand for. We only have one Trinidad and Tobago let work together(home and abroad) to make it better for all of us.

Offline thane

« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2006, 10:33:37 AM »
it's a nice idea but i don't know how effective boycotting clubs will be....i understand wat u tryin to say, but i do tink that there are much effective ways of dealing wit such a situation.

« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2006, 11:21:47 AM »
it's a nice idea but i don't know how effective boycotting clubs will be....i understand wat u tryin to say, but i do tink that there are much effective ways of dealing wit such a situation.

care to elaborate?

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #12 on: April 05, 2006, 03:53:14 PM »
Pointman i get wat you saying...i was just throwing out an idea.
was just a thought....

« Reply #13 on: April 05, 2006, 04:10:59 PM »
Pointman i get wat you saying...i was just throwing out an idea.
was just a thought....

That's cool my dear, we need more ppl, particularly young ppl like you, with ideas and a desire to make things better at home. The key is to not be afraid to take charge of your own and your people's future.

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #14 on: April 06, 2006, 07:31:44 AM »
honestly i eh tink manning & dem give 2 shits about the country cuz dey done get their's & dem looking to ride out just now. + he riding wit nuff police protection so he no he family safe.

but doh worry soon is election & yuh go see all kinda schemes to quick fix crime. >:(