April 25, 2024, 05:22:47 PM

Author Topic: Watch this argument on Yorke  (Read 2758 times)

Offline ANC2

Watch this argument on Yorke
« on: April 06, 2006, 11:45:03 AM »
While I was bigging up the Yorke Cole combination, a much more learned football man quietly said to me that I should consider the entire season and I would see a more prolific partnership in Beckham Yorke. In his words "neither has been the same since they parted company"
Hmmmm! I must admit de man have me thinking hard on this one.

Re: Watch this argument on Yorke
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2006, 11:53:45 AM »
I disagree...Becks continued to shine for ManU well after Yorke was a starter and eventually left and he was already known as a deadly crosser and free kick specialist before Yorke came to ManU. I've also seen Beckham play some of the best club football in his career in the first half of this season for RM

Offline ANC2

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2006, 05:45:13 PM »
I disagree...Becks continued to shine for ManU well after Yorke was a starter and eventually left and he was already known as a deadly crosser and free kick specialist before Yorke came to ManU. I've also seen Beckham play some of the best club football in his career in the first half of this season for RM

Sorry I disagree beckham has never reched the same heights since. check good

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2006, 09:33:15 PM »

Sorry I disagree beckham has never reched the same heights since. check good

Check what exactly?

« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2006, 12:26:48 AM »
Filho you musn't fight down man who making unsubstantiated claims.
Yuh hadda jus "check good" man.
Da not a good enuff answer? :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2006, 06:34:07 AM »

Not to take away from Beckham's performances for RM but he has changed his game a lot. After 1999 teams figured out how to stop the supply line from the right was just to stand up on Beckham and not give him thet first step. Because he cannot dribble and has no pace it worked well and he bacame less and less useful to United.

Now he has changed and he might even be a better overall player. But that ability to whip in the deadly ball from the wing, the thing that made his name and made him a feared player, has never been as prominent since 1999.

« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2006, 08:37:09 AM »
ANC2 and JDB...no scene. We will all see things differently. Nice topic.

« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2006, 10:17:46 AM »
Not to take away from Beckham's performances for RM but he has changed his game a lot. After 1999 teams figured out how to stop the supply line from the right was just to stand up on Beckham and not give him thet first step. Because he cannot dribble and has no pace it worked well and he bacame less and less useful to United.

I agree, since Yorke departed ManU they have become an average team. This can be disputed, but they have not shown any dominance since his (Yorke) departure. They got Rooney and Ronaldo who poseess great skills, but are not as effective or successful as Yorke was. I know there are other factors to consider (like Beckham's crossing), but taking Yorke out of the equation severly stunted the results at ManU. Many people do not like to give Yorke his props. The English ManU supporters around me always say that Sherringham won ManU the Treble.

Offline Arazi

« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2006, 10:49:03 AM »
^^^^ technically dey right he did score d goal that won dem the treble but the english never really gave yorke the props he truly deserved... he should have won player of the year instead of ginola, what did tottemham do that season???
the becks/yorke combination was a devious one-two punch i agree, but the yorke/cole understanding was amazing...yorke probably set up more goals for man u in dat season dat most ppl realise...
i actually think beckham has become a better playe rthis season in real in that he has become a more well rounded player, but he has never has been as effective as he was inthat yorke era...

« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2006, 11:17:25 AM »
I agree, since Yorke departed ManU they have become an average team. This can be disputed, but they have not shown any dominance since his (Yorke) departure. They got Rooney and Ronaldo who poseess great skills, but are not as effective or successful as Yorke was. I know there are other factors to consider (like Beckham's crossing), but taking Yorke out of the equation severly stunted the results at ManU. Many people do not like to give Yorke his props. The English ManU supporters around me always say that Sherringham won ManU the Treble.

You could also say that since Yorke departed United he has been an average player. And you coulc also say that United's results were on the decline even when Yorke was still there.