March 28, 2024, 10:52:40 AM

Author Topic: MLS Thread  (Read 115729 times)

Offline fivers

MLS Thread
« Reply #30 on: April 17, 2007, 04:22:15 PM »
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/sports/mls/longterm/2006/mls.salaries.html

Can't beleive Sealy only making $31,500 after all them goals he scored.

Kansas City Wizards 
F  Johnson, Eddie  $750,000  $875,000 
F  Wolff, Josh  $350,000  $420,357 
M  Zavagnin, Kerry  $140,000  $140,000 
D  Garcia, Nick  $125,000  $130,000 
M  Victorine, Sasha  $125,000  $127,500 
D  Conrad, Jimmy  $115,000  $118,750 
M  Arnaud, Davy  $75,000  $76,875 
D  Burciaga, Jose  $70,000  $72,500 
M  Hue, Jermaine  $65,000  $66,875 
D  Thomas, Shavar  $56,391  $66,391 
GK  Oshoniyi, Bo  $60,000  $60,625 
D  Zotinca, Alex  $52,000  $52,000 
F  Pore, Ryan  $35,750  $48,250 
F  Movsisyan, Yura  $30,000  $40,000 
M-F  John, Will  $31,500  $39,000 
F  Sealy, Scott  $31,500  $31,500 

Re: MLS 2006 Salaries
« Reply #31 on: April 17, 2007, 04:41:54 PM »
is that weekly or monthly??

« Reply #32 on: April 17, 2007, 04:54:26 PM »

;D boy that is YEARLY!!!  :o

« Reply #33 on: April 17, 2007, 05:01:02 PM »
I eh know what worse, that somebody ask the question or that somebody answer it.

Them men on the bottom in it for the love eh, b/c yuh could make more money pullin bull in Brooklyn (Remsen!)

I wonder what Sealy does think when is both he and Johnson starting, but Johnson making 23 times what he make to sweat.

I suppose if yuh have a good season and a good agent, you could get a nice raise.
I eh know if yuh could live on $31,500 a year nah, yuh need a side-hustle in Wal mart

« Reply #34 on: April 17, 2007, 05:12:57 PM »
I eh know what worse, that somebody ask the question or that somebody answer it.

Them men on the bottom in it for the love eh, b/c yuh could make more money pullin bull in Brooklyn (Remsen!)

I wonder what Sealy does think when is both he and Johnson starting, but Johnson making 23 times what he make to sweat.

I suppose if yuh have a good season and a good agent, you could get a nice raise.
I eh know if yuh could live on $31,500 a year nah, yuh need a side-hustle in Wal mart

lol..dais remsen ind e hood. not down town.
i would liek to see man pull bull downtown bk ond e cobble stones
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #35 on: April 17, 2007, 07:29:07 PM »
I eh know what worse, that somebody ask the question or that somebody answer it.Them men on the bottom in it for the love eh, b/c yuh could make more money pullin bull in Brooklyn (Remsen!)

:-\  Ah doh know how some body cud even ask dat question, when we all seeing Johnson making $750,000, how on earth dat cud be monthly even worse yet weekly, hello.....  If Ronaldinho, Rooney and Beckham names was dey, ah would have understood de thought behind de question. Dat $31,500 per year is really ridiculous, ah would like to believe, in his contract there is a separate allowance for housing/apartment and a car. If I'm correct, well dat money not 2 bad, when yuh around Sealy's age, ah not sure, but ah think he is  22 or 23 yrs old, wid no wife and kids, just you and your girlfriend, a car payment and yuh send some money home tuh help yuh parents (if dey need it) you should be living descent. That salary ($31,5000) is broken down into the folowing gross pay, $606.00/weekly, $1,212.00/bi- weekly and $2,424.00/monthly, he making $15.15/ hour  :o :o HIGHLY BLESSED.

Go Miami Heat.

What yuh gonna do when Miami come for u?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2007, 09:39:56 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #36 on: April 17, 2007, 07:36:11 PM »
Breds you could easily make more than that waiting tables or valeting cars and that's take home...no taxes ;D .

What kills me though is that they'll pay him that crap and then if a European clubs comes knocking they won't let him go.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2007, 07:38:08 PM by PantherX »

« Reply #37 on: April 17, 2007, 07:53:45 PM »
Breds you could easily make more than that waiting tables or valeting cars and that's take home...no taxes ;D .
What kills me though is that they'll pay him that crap and then if a European clubs comes knocking they won't let him go.

Fuh real meh boi  :beermug:. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Go Miami Heat.

What yuh gonna do when Miami come for you?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2007, 09:18:27 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #38 on: April 17, 2007, 08:04:58 PM »

that is so true.....one question how much is shalrie joseph making? didnt he get an offer from celtic for 1 million? i think...

« Reply #39 on: April 17, 2007, 08:08:50 PM »
just finish watching fox football phone in and i here De Rosario turn down ah contract extention cause he want more money.

« Reply #40 on: April 17, 2007, 08:18:51 PM »
just finish watching fox football phone in and i here De Rosario turn down ah contract extention cause he want more money.

that is someone who is capable of playing in europe. he is a very good player.

« Reply #41 on: April 17, 2007, 08:23:44 PM »
Then again it cud be ah descent check also, when yuh around Sealy's age, ah not sure, but ah think he is  22 or 23 yrs old, wid no wife and kids, just you and your girlfriend, a car payment and yuh send some money home tuh help yuh parents (if dey need it) you should be living descent.

Sealy is about 25-26 and it was reported that he has a kid.

No matter, he will definitely get a raise soon.  He probably already got a raise for this season.

« Reply #42 on: April 17, 2007, 09:36:11 PM »
Then again it cud be ah descent check also, when yuh around Sealy's age, ah not sure, but ah think he is  22 or 23 yrs old, wid no wife and kids, just you and your girlfriend, a car payment and yuh send some money home tuh help yuh parents (if dey need it) you should be living descent.

Sealy is about 25-26 and it was reported that he has a kid.

No matter, he will definitely get a raise soon.  He probably already got a raise for this season.

Thanks Peong, if your info is correct, dat sound like living from pay check tuh pay check. Sealy, meh boi so long as yuh have ah clean heart, you will be blessed and great things will eventually come your way. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Go Miami Heat.

What yuh gonna do when Miami come for you?

« Reply #43 on: April 17, 2007, 09:39:19 PM »

Big player dat.  best in the MLS in terms of versatility in the midfield.  Effective coming from deep or higher up the pitch.  Ah keep asking how come no European team ain't bid for this fella.  The Gerrard of the MLS.

« Reply #44 on: April 17, 2007, 11:45:52 PM »

he should be in europe.... but as for them salaries dat is kinda poor for his quality..  he must not have much expenses to be living good.

« Reply #45 on: April 18, 2007, 04:59:19 AM »
Yea, that is real poor for true...

But then again, there might be some other perks and bonuses that come with his specific deal (i hope) that are not listed, eg housing, car, etc...

Also, I think he have his degree from a US school right...And now he would most probably have his green card sorted out...so looking at the bigger picture...he could be playing with the long term aim of attracting more national call ups and bigger club attention, as well as consistency for a pay raise...

If all that fall thru, he could very easily just settle in the US and fall back on his degree and make 2-3 times what he making now, or even go into some kinda sports admin. The main thing is that he have a foundation in the US.
I know he wish he coulda be making some more $$ for real, but if yuh reading this Scott, hold some strain man, things will look up soon, one way or another...

Them top men who playing pro league in T&T I feel making the equiv. in terms of standard of living, so he still doing better than most if not all of them, plus the US factor...

But Eddie J salary...wheys... That woulda inspire me to play like I possessed and earn some more recognition.

Offline Papasmurf

• http://footballawayoflife.blogspot.com/
« Reply #46 on: April 18, 2007, 05:49:26 AM »
Sealy still on his first contract. So even doh he coreing it eh make no diference. But now his stock rising. So hopefully when they come to negotiation time he could command more. But they does chick feed men over there...dem foriegners doh make plenty. This is because in MLS, every team does pay piece of a players salary and then a group of investors does pay the rest...WHO IS SCOTT? WHat can he sell? Unless he become household and sellable he will get chick feed. ASk AVERY JOHN. why you think he was trying to go england so bad. HE making scott money...take a look at 2006 for all teams....
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/sports/mls/longterm/2006/mls.salaries.html

Offline fivers

« Reply #47 on: April 18, 2007, 06:21:29 AM »
Try yearly.

Offline fivers

« Reply #48 on: April 18, 2007, 06:26:33 AM »
I just hope he don't pick up some bad injury. It's good that he did finish school.  ;)

« Reply #49 on: April 18, 2007, 06:45:38 AM »
What I don't understand is why Sealy settling for medicoracy. He is one of the top strikers on the team, he starts almost every game and he is not in rookie status anymore. It hard to see what he is being paid as compared to other players who are in and around the same calibre as him. Sealy, your agent sleeping or what?

Offline sugarboy

« Reply #50 on: April 18, 2007, 07:27:06 AM »
from what i understand..sealy was actually offered a new contract (with a salary increase) which he refused to sign because it clearly was not enough.  mls knows very well what sealy is worth...but once yuh not amercian...yuh ass is grass...

« Reply #51 on: April 18, 2007, 08:03:07 AM »
Ah have to jump ene and defend meh bredrin...........From my understanding from previous conversations wid de man........Scott dont have no kinda expenses to worry bout........he rent payed, he utilities, entertainment allowance, de full works.....So a salary ranging from $30 gran to $35 gran for a 26 year old trini footballer in de US...and ah first contract not too bad....AS reported, Scott has big plans, and the right offer is already peaking at him.......So have no fear warrior fans and please dont compare de man earnings to a buffer or waiting tables.........

Yuh done know

« Reply #52 on: April 18, 2007, 08:09:05 AM »
Ah have to jump ene and defend meh bredrin...........From my understanding from previous conversations wid de man........Scott dont have no kinda expenses to worry bout........he rent payed, he utilities, entertainment allowance, de full works.....So a salary ranging from $30 gran to $35 gran for a 26 year old trini footballer in de US...and ah first contract not too bad....AS reported, Scott has big plans, and the right offer is already peaking at him.......So have no fear warrior fans and please dont compare de man earnings to a buffer or waiting tables.........

Yuh done know

Yuh clarify someting fuh we dey kiffysmooth, there was an older thread about whether or not the MLS players are provided w/various amenities to cover accomodation and incidentals, your post seems to confirm that, in which case you could easily assign some multiplier to the MLS salaries, good going Scott, keep yuh head up

« Reply #53 on: April 18, 2007, 08:11:10 AM »
But I see Glen was makin a nice change, so it looks like you hadda settle in and prove yuhself maybe ??? ???

Offline Papasmurf

• http://footballawayoflife.blogspot.com/
« Reply #54 on: April 18, 2007, 09:41:15 AM »
I just wuh make sire that my players living nice. Thats all. I know men hadda prove themselves. well they have good reason too. MLS is fast becoming a shop window. If Sealy top score again this year for he team well, he sould be in line to earn some more.

« Reply #55 on: April 18, 2007, 10:04:12 AM »

Yuh done know

Boss, thanks for helping out the thread but listen..... You feel they ain't taking care of Jimmy Conrad and Johnson and them fellas expenses too? Of course they are!!! Of course we have to compare earnings because we must not settle for medicracy. Scott has been a prolific player at Kansas since his rookie season and the club have not shown favorable appreciation for his efforts. When a club put a price on you, thats how much they think you are worth. Is Scott worth US$35,000 a year? HELL NO!!!

He might as well use his degree and start off at $40 plus thousand a year working full time. He is worth more and he deserves it. They taking advantage of him and I don't like that. Another minority have to struggle in the white man country.  Why? For nothing!! Steups!!!

Well I really hope he gets something better as you say. And I hope he really peak at the right time. Anyways, thanks!

« Last Edit: April 18, 2007, 10:12:11 AM by kingman »

« Reply #56 on: April 18, 2007, 10:17:40 AM »
Fellas calm down nah. 

I eh no the man contract situation, however, it is possible that he signed a 3 yr deal as a rookie and he in the process of negotiation.  It's the MLS it have nothing to do with race.  He was rookie when he signed his first contract and now he will get his chance.

I know for a fact that there is a rookie on the KC Wizards team that signed a three yr deal this year and he probably go end up in the same situation.

Offline Lightning

« Reply #57 on: April 18, 2007, 10:27:36 AM »

Utica! Utica!   Some players also get small endorsement deals from the shoe companies. Its not Jordan money but it helps.
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

« Reply #58 on: April 18, 2007, 10:55:44 AM »
Fellas calm down nah. 

I eh no the man contract situation, however, it is possible that he signed a 3 yr deal as a rookie and he in the process of negotiation.  It's the MLS it have nothing to do with race.  He was rookie when he signed his first contract and now he will get his chance.

I know for a fact that there is a rookie on the KC Wizards team that signed a three yr deal this year and he probably go end up in the same situation.

This is an explaination that would accept. Thanks!

« Reply #59 on: April 18, 2007, 12:31:32 PM »
If they don't want to pay him more when he renewing his contract, then I would have a big problem with that.  But remember when Stern was at Columbus scoring all them goals, the Crew preferred to sell him to the Englsh leagues than pay him.  The MLS salary structure is wack!!!