April 28, 2024, 04:07:18 AM

Author Topic: Hector Sam  (Read 2349 times)

Offline kidsgrove_valiant

Hector Sam
« on: April 07, 2006, 05:53:07 PM »
Don't know whether you have all been following Hector's progress since he broke his leg 8 months ago.  In case you haven't I am pleased to say he is now back in full training and is very close to participating in a competitive game for Port Vale.  We didn't get to see much of him before he got injured but I could see the potential there. 

Do you reckon he will be in the World Cup squad if he proves his fitness????

Re: Hector Sam
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2006, 06:38:55 PM »
we've been hearing he was close to full fitness for sometime now. Glad to hear hes inching closer. Once hes fit he'll get going again. However, there is no chance he'll be playing in germany this summer.

Offline kidsgrove_valiant

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2006, 07:02:23 AM »
As this injury ruined it for him then or would he not have been travelling to Germany anyway.  We really need him back because we lack strikers with pace and that is something he definitely as.

« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2006, 07:08:40 AM »
He still not ready, but he plays for Vale reserve team, scored some goals last week for them... but he coming to come.

« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2006, 07:23:37 AM »
As this injury ruined it for him then or would he not have been travelling to Germany anyway.  We really need him back because we lack strikers with pace and that is something he definitely as.

difficult to say...apparently a lot of people got a chace to show what they have, and if he stepped up his game then.....but if you mean just based on past professional performances, then he wouldn't make this squad.

« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2006, 08:21:44 AM »
No chance!!

« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2006, 11:01:35 AM »
I don't think Hector will make it in time.

Tough luck so, becz I think barring injury, he would have been a cert on the squad.

« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2006, 01:41:47 PM »
A surprise call up against Peru and an amazing game against them would change all that!!.......Never say never!!

Remember Collin Samuel against Iceland.  he booked his place with that one game.

« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2006, 02:36:52 PM »
PPl getting excited about Colin Samuel. And they might be right.

but you have to understand that against Iceland, we played agaisnst  a mediocre team, and Samuel came up against a young right back making his international debut.

Remember how shitty Cyd Grey looked vs. Costa Rica in 2001 under Porters.

I'd like to see Samuel again (vs Peru?).

Peace,

Offline trinidre

« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2006, 02:48:58 PM »
injury or not......I dont think sam would make that squad for Germany.....no offence hector

« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2006, 02:56:20 PM »
PPl getting excited about Colin Samuel. And they might be right.

but you have to understand that against Iceland, we played agaisnst  a mediocre team, and Samuel came up against a young right back making his international debut.

Remember how shitty Cyd Grey looked vs. Costa Rica in 2001 under Porters.

I'd like to see Samuel again (vs Peru?).

Peace,

i could understand that argument if yuh say Samuel had come up against an old right back
but that run he burst up the left flank would leave a lot of experienced players on their backside

« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2006, 05:43:07 PM »
A surprise call up against Peru and an amazing game against them would change all that!!.......Never say never!!

Remember Collin Samuel against Iceland.  he booked his place with that one game.

samuel may have secured his trip to germany with his iceland performance but he was well in the picture since the gold cup. He booked his place by continuously getting better when he was called upon, especially playing left  wing.