March 29, 2024, 08:10:10 AM

Author Topic: best non english player to play in the premiership  (Read 7437 times)

Offline dotless007

best non english player to play in the premiership
« on: April 09, 2006, 08:14:07 PM »
Who for you is the best foreign (non-British) player to play in the Premier League?

Ruud van Nistelrooy - Thierry Henry - Eric Cantona - Gianfranco Zola - Dennis Bergkamp - Peter Schmeichel

add your own

Re: best non english player to play in the premiership
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2006, 08:19:00 PM »
??

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2006, 08:56:30 PM »
Dwight Yorke

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2006, 10:50:49 PM »
Dwight Yorke

Godamn you for getting their first.  :beermug: :devil:

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2006, 10:56:26 PM »
ian rush,ardilles,giggs

« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2006, 11:36:45 PM »
viera

« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2006, 12:21:04 AM »
Di Canio

Zola...

Stern John...?

« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2006, 12:22:14 AM »
Titi Henry

« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2006, 03:20:08 AM »
Yorkie in the top 10

My Top 5

Henry
Klinsmann
Giggs
Zola
Hyypia

« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2006, 05:40:12 AM »
Henry is in a class by himself in that league

« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2006, 06:22:32 AM »
It have big players like sand.

Yorke,Henry, Zola, Cantona,Klinsman,Weah,Vialli, Gullit,Schmichael,Giggs....the whole of chelsea current side minus cole and lampard, Okocha, Bergkamp, Pires, Viera, Keane,Lungberg,Hassailbaink,Davids,Niemi,Van der sar

to be continued as I remember

« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2006, 07:13:58 AM »
RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUDDDDDDDDDD VAN NISTELROOY..........TRA LA LA LA LA ............. RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUDDDDDDDDDD VAN NISTELROY....TRA LA LA LA LA  LA LA.......

only him  ;)

« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2006, 07:19:49 AM »
Yorkie up there among the best...I think he probably win more silverware than any other foreigner in the league cause remember that none of them other ManU men win the League CUP !!! Andy Cole was sayign tha''s the one piece of silverware missing from his cupboard.

Cantona, Henry, Zola, Schmeicel, Klinnsman, Gullit (because them was the first big names to really come over when they were still big), Keane and Giggs (if we counting brits) and Viera.

Beat that top 10. Van Nisterooy in 2 more years...

« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2006, 07:36:41 AM »
Yorkie up there among the best...I think he probably win more silverware than any other foreigner in the league cause remember that none of them other ManU men win the League CUP !!!

Giggs won the League Cup long before Yorke but I understand what yuh saying.

In terms of silverware for foreigners Cantona and Henry probably have more than Yorke.

Also my vote would go to Cantona only because of the trememndous impact he had on the league when he was the first foreigner to come in and be THE BEST in the league, head and shoulders above everybody else at a formative time for the league.

Cantona drove United's success at the beginning of the premiership. The only man I would put on the same level in terms of captivating everyone, friend and foe alike would be Henry.

Offline TnTVillan

« Reply #14 on: April 10, 2006, 07:41:15 AM »
David Ginola, Steve Staunton was a boss defender for villa and liverpool

« Reply #15 on: April 10, 2006, 08:08:57 AM »
well i know yorke is the only foreigner in the top ten in goals in england...so he could be the best striker....

« Reply #16 on: April 10, 2006, 08:24:38 AM »
you all leaving out the late great George Best !!!

« Reply #17 on: April 10, 2006, 08:41:40 AM »
you all leaving out the late great George Best !!!

Premiership

« Reply #18 on: April 10, 2006, 09:17:45 AM »
Premeirship is just the new name for division 1 (but I guess you might want to set a specific time period)- off subject but I really dont know why people talk abot the premiership like if its different from the old division 1 and talk about titles they win in the premiership, like if somehow division one titles dont count ?
« Last Edit: April 10, 2006, 09:28:42 AM by superoli »

Offline ANC2

« Reply #19 on: April 10, 2006, 09:23:40 AM »
Premeirship is just the new name for division 1 (but I guess you might to set a specific time period)- off subject but I really dont know why people talk abot the premiership like if its different from the old division 1 and talk about titles they win in the premiership, like if somehow division one titles dont count ?

Good point

If they saying since Premiership is formed, then it is a different matter. Then if they saying best players or who played the best. If its simply best players then names like Guillet, Zola, Weah must be named

« Reply #20 on: April 10, 2006, 09:26:28 AM »
RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUDDDDDDDDDD VAN NISTELROOY..........TRA LA LA LA LA ............. RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUDDDDDDDDDD VAN NISTELROY....TRA LA LA LA LA  LA LA.......

only him  ;)

yuh faithful tuh yuh man like TI.

« Reply #21 on: April 10, 2006, 09:30:29 AM »
Who for you is the best foreign (non-British) player to play in the Premier League?

Ruud van Nistelrooy - Thierry Henry - Eric Cantona - Gianfranco Zola - Dennis Bergkamp - Peter Schmeichel

add your own

I will have to say Eric Cantona.

« Reply #22 on: April 10, 2006, 11:10:49 AM »
Eric Cantona.

Yorke will be in my top ten!!

« Reply #23 on: April 10, 2006, 02:36:34 PM »
Yorkie in the top 10

My Top 5

Henry
Klinsmann
Giggs
Zola
Hyypia

no Cantona in the top 5, even though he was voted overseas player of the decade?

« Reply #24 on: April 10, 2006, 03:09:59 PM »
Yorkie in the top 10

My Top 5

Henry
Klinsmann
Giggs
Zola
Hyypia

no Cantona in the top 5, even though he was voted overseas player of the decade?

Hyppia was better, years from now people will be singing his praises and Cantona will be just a footnote.

« Reply #25 on: April 10, 2006, 03:16:33 PM »
Yorkie in the top 10

My Top 5

Henry
Klinsmann
Giggs
Zola
Hyypia

Hyppia was better, years from now people will be singing his praises and Cantona will be just a footnote.

yeah Hyppia was a surprise in that top 5........to each his own I guess. 

My favorites (not necessarily the best) would be Henry, Zola, Bergkamp, V.Nistelrooy & Okocha

« Last Edit: April 10, 2006, 03:21:36 PM by kicker »

« Reply #26 on: April 10, 2006, 04:00:56 PM »
well i know yorke is the only foreigner in the top ten in goals in england...so he could be the best striker....

Nah...Henry in the top 10 now.

Offline Benjie

« Reply #27 on: April 10, 2006, 07:19:59 PM »
I would go further and not select any British Players only because its easie for them to join the league and their citizenship always in flux until they play for one team. Anyhow

Cantona
Yorke
Henry
Hyppia
Okocha

Makalele gets a close outside vote.

« Reply #28 on: April 10, 2006, 08:18:52 PM »
Yorkie in the top 10

My Top 5

Henry
Klinsmann
Giggs
Zola
Hyypia

Cantona was never that great to me. He was definitely better than his peers at a time when English football realized they were technically behind the curve compared to its European counterparts. But since then ther have been better players. He also benefitted from the unbelievable ManU hype /marketing machine of the 90s that made ManU the richest most famous club in the world even when htey couldn't win crap. Cantona had timing on his side...he played football like a continental European and had better technical ability than most of his counterparts at the time..so he is remembered in this iconic way..but since then, better, but less celebrated players have invaded the Premiership. The Premiership is miles tougher now than it was in Cantona's day......

Hyppia has to go down as one of the greatest defenders in the Premiership..all time. The man is pure class week in week out for ages now. When people talk best footballers they always duck the defenders..so I gave one vote to a position I knew would have gotten overlooked. I can think of dozens of top class foreign players in the Premiership and not really be able to separate them...to be honest my top 5 done chaneg 100 times as I read every body else answers  ;D But Hyppia is definitely a class act.

How could I leave out MAKALELE  ???

« Reply #29 on: April 10, 2006, 08:19:59 PM »
ZICO