April 19, 2024, 02:11:09 AM

Author Topic: Jason Scotland Thread  (Read 53026 times)

Jason Scotland Thread
« on: May 20, 2005, 06:45:53 AM »
By Tom Duthie (Dundee Evening Telegraph)

Dundee United were handed a major boost in their build-up to Saturday’s crunch SPL clash at Inverness Caley Thistle, when striker Jason Scotland returned to training today.

Troubled by a knee ligament strain for the last month, Scotland missed a couple of sessions earlier this week because of a stiff neck.

This morning, though, the Trinidad international returned to work with the rest of the players and will be in the squad that leaves for the Highlands tomorrow afternoon.

“Jason was in getting more treatment when the other boys were off yesterday and he is going to be fine. That means we’ve only got Paul Ritchie and Lee Mair missing and it is good to have most of the players working together,” said interim boss Gordon Chisholm.

Jason Scotland must wait for permit
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2005, 09:39:36 AM »
Jason Scotland must wait for permit
By Tom Duthie (Dundee Evening Telegraph)

Dundee United will have to wait a while longer for confirmation that striker Jason Scotland will be getting a new work permit.

Scotland’s application for renewal was automatically turned down because he had not played enough games over the last year, but the Tangerines were confident that one would be granted when they appeared at an appeal hearing at Hampden on Thursday.

Today, however, Work Permits UK — the government body responsible for overseas workers — contacted United to say the hearing could not take place as scheduled and a new date is now being awaited.

Meanwhile, following confirmation of the signing of Lee Miller from Bristol City over the weekend, boss Gordon Chisholm’s attention is likely to turn to finding an experienced goalkeeper to compete with Tony Bullock next term.

Jason Scotland not giving up.
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2005, 05:58:53 AM »
Jason Scotland not giving up.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Expecting better news  on his work permit hearing this week before he can get on with his new three-year contract, striker Jason Scotland is banking on his desire for hard work to get him through as a professional player.
The news which reached him in Ft Lauderdale on Tuesday was not so good as he got negative on his application for renewal of work permit which means his representatives will now have to appeal that decision if he is to take up the new deal with Dundee United.
Haven’t not had as many appearances for the national team as he would have liked over the past two years, Scotland had been left crossing his fingers in hope of getting the permit. But if all doesn’t go well, he still has hopes of playing in some other overseas professional league.
“It has left me hoping for the best but I am confident that things will work out in my favour,” Scotland said. He finished the season on a high for United, guiding them to second place in the Scottish Cup which push them through to the qualifying phase of the UEFA Cup next season. “That definitely will be a big stage for me but I think so far playing in the Cup final has been the best occasion for me at the club,” he added.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2005, 06:13:21 AM by Flex »

Jason Scotland Thread
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2005, 03:33:13 PM »
What de ass is dis?  Why he not on the flight back home with the rest of the team  ???  ::)

Scotland play a full 120 minutes today.  Score was 2-2 full time.  4-4 after extra time and St. Johnstone win 8-7 in penalties.  Not sure if Scotland score a penalty but he didn't score from open play.  So Scotland flying in tomorrow evening and training on Thurs for the first time meanwhile Glen could have been down here training from all now.  Steups  :cursing:
« Last Edit: August 30, 2005, 03:34:15 PM by Tallman »

Re: What Scotland doing playing today??
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2005, 03:46:33 PM »
Really does not make sense. Is something passing over my head?  Maybe it's just a case of politics to

allow Scotland enough caps for when the going gets rough again for him. Really need to get to the

bottom of this Glen business.

« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2005, 05:43:35 AM »
Who Pays the Piper calls the tune

« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2005, 06:28:22 AM »
I guess he got his permit now so T&T is secondary for him....

« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2005, 06:42:51 AM »
on 2nd thoughts I guess Beenie decided extra match practice is what he needs most right now after being out so long. And he must already understand Beenie's system from the Gold Cup camp so missing a day of training not so bad.

« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2005, 10:25:06 AM »
HE GOT A ALTE CALL UP FOR THE MATCH THAT IS WHY HE WAS ALLOWED TO PLAY IN THAT GAME DID HE SCORE IN THAT GAME

« Reply #9 on: August 31, 2005, 11:15:47 AM »
Like Scotland real get on boy....

Source: www.stjohnstonefc.co.uk

Firhill for Thrills – rarely can this often-used catchphrase have been so appropriate as Saints and Partick Thistle shared 8 goals over 120 minutes of football followed by nail biting penalties at the end.
Saints may have scored four goals for the FIFTH successive time on a visit to Firhill but this was no 4-0 scoreline with Dick Campbell’s men pushing Saints every inch of the way.
Owen Coyle rang the changes following the three successive defeats – Kevin Cuthbert was recalled to goal, Kevin Rutkiewicz, Ryan McCann and Peter MacDonald also making their way back into the starting eleven. A flat back four was preferred with Kevin James and Rutkiewicz flanked by Steven Anderson and Goran Stanic but that formation lasted only 11 minutes because James, who appeared to be suffering from a knock as early as the 5th minute was replaced by David Hannah who moved into the right back slot with Anderson moving inside alongside Rutkiewicz. The midfield was along familiar lines while Jason Scotland sat just behind twin strikers Steven Milne and MacDonald.
Saints dominated the early stages and MacDonald, Sheerin and Scotland all fired efforts in on Kenny Arthur’s goal which were not far wide of the mark but it was Kevin Cuthbert who was called into serious action first when he brilliantly got down quickly to push away a low Sean Kilgannon drive for a corner.

In 25 minutes, the influential Sheerin swung over a great cross from the left but Milne failed to get a proper connection on his header and that was followed by McCann just failing to reach a lovely Scotland pass inside the box and then the Trinidad and Tobago man fired a great effort just wide of goal after picking up a short corner.
A neat move involving Scotland, McCann and MacDonald saw the last-named fouled and when Sheerin’s free kick was whipped in Rutkiewicz headed over the bar. At the other end Saints were fortunate that Mark Roberts failed to control a Nicholas cross in the box or the consequences could have been serious.

No goals at half-time and although Saints had dominated possession, only one keeper had had to make a serious save and that was Cuthbert.
Saints picked up where they left off and a McCann corner saw a Rutkiewicz cleared off the line by Kilgannon and then Milne tried an overhead kick which went high. The home side lost Will Snowdon who was stretchered off but in 61 minutes they opened the scoring against the run of play – the ball fell to Roberts some 25 yards from goal and he fired in a stunning dipping drive which gave Cuthbert absolutely no chance. The lead was short-lived though as just three minutes later Jason Scotland went down under a challenge from Scott McCulloch and referee Dougie McDonald immediately pointed to the spot much to the anger of home players and supporters. Peter MacDonald dispatched the spot-kick with typical aplomb to make it 1-1.
It was an absorbing game now and only a superb last-ditch tackle by McCulloch prevented Scotland from scoring after a great ball from MacDonald. Roberts flashed a header just wide of Cuthbert’s goal and then Arthur produced a superb save from a dipping Stephen Dobbie effort, the sub having replaced Steven Milne.

With 10 minutes to go Saints edged ahead. Ryan McCann was determined and tenacious at the edge of the box and his determination not to lose possession gained a free kick and when Darren Sheridan’s dead ball came into the box, Kevin Rutkiewicz got the slightest of touches to send it into the net.  That goal sent the travelling fans wild and it looked like that would be enough to win the tie but 40 seconds into injury time, Stanic made a rare error on the night allowing a cross to come in from the right and Thistle sub Jukka Santala headed powerfully into the net.

The pace in the first period of extra-time was no less frantic and former Saint Stephen McConalogue rattled the post with a shot in the opening exchanges. At the other end, Peter MacDonald produced the run of the night but spoiled his work by trying to score rather than pass to unmarked Dobbie or Scotland to his left.    Two minutes before the break in extra-time and unmarked McConalogue got his goal firing in from an angle and that gave Thistle the advantage with 15 minutes to go. And what a 15 minutes it was!  Three minutes after the restart David Hannah found Scotland and his pass to Dobbie saw the former Hibs man produce a crisp finish to make it 3-3.   It wasn’t over yet though and with just 3 minutes to go Rutkiewicz was penalised for a push in the box and Sean Kilgannon scored from the spot to make it 4-3 to the home side but back came Saints and within 60 seconds it was all-square again, Scotland finding sub Neil Janczyk and his shot taking a deflection before bouncing into an empty net.

And so to penalties with Kilgannon and Dobbie scoring, Murray scored but Janczyk sent his effort well over the bar to make it 2-1 to Thistle. Kevin Cuthbert then saved from Smyth before Scotland scored for 2-2. Roberts and MacDonald both netted for 3-3 then Andy Gibson saw his kick saved by Cuthbert and David Hannah gleefully thrashed in the penalty to take Saints through 4-3.
What a match! Saints will be pleased with a lot of their play and their domination of long spells but no doubt concerned at the lack of efforts on goal over the 90 minutes. Credit them for digging in though and making it through to the last eight.

Man of the Match: No real failures. All the recalled players more than did themselves justice as did the ever-impressive Steven Anderson but it has to go to the tireless DARREN SHERIDAN who threaded passes around the Firhill pitch for the entire 120 minutes.

Partick Thistle: Arthur, Murray, Snowdon (Andy Gibson), Brady, Smyth, McCulloch, Nicholas (Santala), Gillies (McGoldrick), McConalogue, Roberts, Kilgannon. Subs Not Used: Colin Stewart, Strachan.

St Johnstone: Cuthbert, Anderson, Stanic, McCann, Rutkiewicz, James (Hannah), Sheerin (Janczyk), Sheridan, Milne (Dobbie), Scotland, MacDonald. Subs Not Used: Paston, Stevenson.
Att: 1,465

Scotland helps silence Partick
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2005, 09:31:45 PM »
By Lasana Liburd
Trinidad Express

Angry boos and hisses rang out around Partick Thistle's Fir Hill home ground on Tuesday night as St Johnstone and Trinidad and Tobago striker Jason Scotland strolled up to take his mark in the penalty shoot out that decided the Bell's Cup second round fixture.
How the Partick fans enjoyed screaming abuse at the T&T player. And how Scotland enjoyed making them meekly return to their seats.
At the final count, there were 15 goals scored between the two Scottish lower league teams but First Division St Johnstone emerged victors against their Second Division opponents by four goals to three in the shoot-out, which followed a 2-2 regulation time and 4-4 extra time scoreline respectively.
"Scotty", who was unplayable for much of the first half and for spurts thereafter, played a pivotal role in his second fixture for his new club.
Perhaps it was the presence of Scotland's former army colleagues in the stands--six members of the Defence Force Steel Orchestra, who performed at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival--that reminded the talented striker of his days as a deadly marksman. Or maybe it was the confidence gained by his elevation to the role of St Johnstone's offensive leader as opposed to the regular rotation that marked his two-year spell at Scottish Premier League club, Dundee United. On Tuesday night, though, Scotland was swaggering again and it was just enough for St Johnstone to continue their Bell's Cup adventure.
The 27-year-old arguably suffered an identity crisis during his two-year stint in the Scottish leagues thus far. Possibly tramautised by Dundee United's rotation policy, Scotland has wavered between his own style of committing defenders and the safer, more sterile option of merely holding up the ball and retaining possession for his teammates.
There is less quality in the Scottish First Division than the Premiership but if Scotland builds on his start for St Johnstone--he scored a fine volley on his debut--his two-year deal with the club could reap long term dividends.
Employed just behind St Johnstone's two strikers in a 4-3-1-2 formation, a role similar to the one he played for Trinidad and Tobago in July's CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament, Scotland was pivotal in three of the visitors' four goals while he came close to scoring himself with a series of powerful drives.
The game was played at a frenzied pace. At every whistle, a player sprinted to take a throw or corner. At virtually every opportunity, either team chose to go forward. Put in a football dvd and hit fast forward and you would get the idea.
Neither team particularly favoured the long ball tactic but, at the game's speed, the quality of delivery from both outfits was bound to suffer. And it was to Scotland's credit that he managed to exhibit some silky touches despite the flying bodies around him.
Partick drew first blood with a dipping volley from Mark Roberts in the 62nd minute but Scotland responded, two minutes later, by wrong footing an opposing defender to win a penalty kick, which was converted by Peter McDonald.
The Partick supporters, distraught at losing their lead, reacted by screaming "cheat" at Scotland and booed him at every opportunity with the gusto usually reserved for notorious hate figures like Bolton's El-Hadji Diouf or Blackburn's Robbie Savage.
St Johnstone went ahead in the 81st minute through Kevin Rutriewicz but an injury time Jukka Santala header forced extra time.
Twice, Partick reclaimed the lead through Stephen McConalogue and Sean Kilgannon but Scotty conjured up equalisers, each time, for Stephen Dobbie and Neil Janczyk.
The former Malick schoolboy finally got his chance to beat capable opposing goalkeeper Kenny Arthur in the subsequent penalty shoot out.
Scotland casually took his mark and, as the baying intensified, he calmly rolled the ball to his left as Arthur flung himself to the wrong corner.
"Obviously (the Partick fans) thought I dived for the penalty so they booed me," said Scotland, who returned to Trinidad yesterday for international duty. "But I have played in front of bigger crowds and in bigger stadiums, so it did not bother me... I think my performance was alright. My first half was good but I faded a bit in the second half.
"Once I get fitter, I will score plenty goals."
If he continues to pull the trigger, as he did on Tuesday in front of his old Defence Force comrades, the goals will surely come.

« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2005, 09:47:56 PM »
glad to see scotland had a good game...but ah still would have liked to see glen get de call before scotland.

Offline Penfold

Jason Scotland
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2005, 12:08:39 PM »
If you want to keep up to date with how Jason is getting on try these links.......................http://www.stjohnstonefc.co.uk/
http://www.blueheaven.org.uk/home/
http://www.grange.demon.co.uk/saints/sjfc.htm

we are all hoping you guys qualify for the world cup 8)

Offline DeeTillEhDie

Re: Jason Scotland
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2005, 01:36:53 PM »
Scotlands been doing good for you guys glad he didnt stay at united lol best move of his career to get away from there!

Jason Scotland can get to World Cup Finals
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2005, 08:40:44 AM »
Jason Scotland can get to World Cup Finals
The Daily Record

JASON SCOTLAND was told he wasn't good enough to play in the SPL - now he's just 180 minutes away from starring in the greatest show on earth.

The Trinidad and Tobago striker was thrown on the scrapheap in the summer as his spell at Dundee United was ended by a Home Office in a work permit renewal row.

But he was rescued when St Johnstone made a shock move for him and won his permit fight.

Now, just over three months later, Scotland has begun the countdown to a nerve-jangling home and away World Cup play-off with Bahrain.

Scotland is hoping to join countrymen Russell Latapy of Falkirk, Rangers defender Marvin Andrews and Dundee keeper Kelvin Jack in Germany next year.

But the seasoned travellers now face the longest haul of their lives to reach the promised land.

They'll clock up around 15,000 miles next month making for the first match in Port of Spain before heading on to the Gulf state shoot-out days later. Scotland said: "The country has never reached the finals before. We came close in 1989 when all we needed was a point from the USA.But we lost and that was the end of the dream.

"We have guys in the Premiership but the World Cup is the stage every footballer wants to play on. It's the ultimate challenge.

"We're close now but no one is taking anything for granted. We allowed ourselves a celebration after beating Mexico because that was a big scalp and many fans didn't expect us to get the win we needed. But we are a confident group.

"I don't know anything about Bahrain but we'll watch tapes before playing them.

"It is going to be a tough trip but the main thing is we have given ourselves a chance."

Scotland can't believe the turnaround in his fortunes over the last few months.

He said: "People at home have been saying how crazy it is. Not long ago I was out of a job and out of the national squad.

"But I got the work permit and the move to St Johnstone. Getting to the World Cup finals would top it all off. It's amazing how things have worked out for me."

Jason Scotland wants the World
« Reply #15 on: November 09, 2005, 09:28:51 AM »
Jason Scotland wants the World
Perthshire Advertiser

JASON Scotland left the country yesterday to chase his World Cup dream.

The Perth striker is now just 180 minutes away from joining the planet’s elite in Germany next summer.

While Saints count down to a derby clash with Dundee, he will be preparing for the first leg in a home and away head to head with Bahrain. It’s winner take all in the struggle for the FIFA invitation to attend the 2006 carnival.

Scotland is hoping to celebrate a fresh chapter in a career threatened by work permit regulations over the summer, by clinching a championship with Saints and gracing the World Cup stage weeks later.

Before embarking on the first leg of a 15,000 mile trek, Scotland said: “It’s amazing to think Trinidad and Tobago are just 180 minutes away from our first ever World Cup finals.

“It is really exciting and I’m told the atmosphere is already building up back home.

“Of course I’m looking forward to the games. It’s a pity I have to miss the derby, but these are the biggest games of my whole career.

“As a kid I never thought I’d have a chance to play in the World Cup finals. Now we’re incredibly close to getting there. There so much riding on these games against Bahrain.”

Scotland, who signed-off with his third goal in as many games at the weekend, knows more about nuclear physics than Bahrain’s personnel, but he expects to be briefed fully over the next few days.

“Everyone is talking about these games back in Trinidad. We got the result we needed against Mexico to reach the play-offs and now we want to take the final step to Germany.

“The appearance fee will be doubled for these games but this isn’t about money. This is about playing in the World Cup finals. So many great players never get that chance.”

In-form Scotland is set to add to his 29 caps and if the Socca Warriors do reach Germany, St Johnstone will get an historic namecheck at the finals.

Perth boss Owen Coyle admits his delight for Scotland is tempered by the fact that Saints will be denied his services for the weekend derby at Dens Park.

“I know they will be missing keeper Kelvin Jack because he’s also away with Trinidad. But they have their number one keeper Derek Soutar back in goals. We will miss Jason more than they will miss Kelvin,” he said.

“Jason has scored in each of the last three league games so whoever comes in has to deliver.”

Among those first team men missing from training yesterday were Kevin Rutkiewicz and Kevin James after both took knocks in Saturday’s hard fought win.

Also absent were John Henry and Stephen Milne, the pair having played against Airdrie despite suffering from flu, while Darren Sheridan was ordered to rest the troublesome foot knock he picked up in the loss to Ross County.

As well as Scotland, Saints will definitely be without Simon Mensing for Saturday’s derby as he is set to start a two-game suspension.

The McDiarmid player/boss said he was delighted with the weekend response from his charges following the setback in Dingwall.

“We were in fine form prior to the County game and it was important we got a reaction from the players,” said Coyle.

“Although we can pass the ball better than we did, our attitude was first class. It was good to get our momentum going again and that’s the first time Saints have beaten Airdrie United.”

Is jason scotland world cup material or better suited for the scottish league?
« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2005, 07:17:04 AM »
How much time do you really need to prove yourself after all the hype about how good jason scotland is I still waiting to see what he have,I  have seen him played seven times now and he seems very one dimensional to me,for instance the game yesterday he come on for latas,I would of prefered glenn anytime but not my call so as the game progressed he get a breakaway pass he approaching the left back and he freeze not knowing what to do,now It's easy for me sit and criticize certain players but I not on the field so maybe  it's a mute point.

But I'll end on a positive note like I always do It's not over "until the fat lady sings"we will prevail. 

Desire to win is keen for Jason Scotland
« Reply #17 on: January 07, 2006, 09:46:09 AM »
Desire to win is keen for Jason Scotland
Dundee Courier

JASON SCOTLAND will be aiming to put one over his former Dundee United team-mates today when Saints take on second division leaders Gretna at McDiarmid Park.

The Trinidad and Tobago internationalist featured for United in last season’s 1-0 final defeat to Celtic, and he can’t wait to renew acquaintances with fellow striker James Grady, who featured in that game, and defender Chris Innes.

He said, “I know James and Chris well and it will be good to see them both on the pitch. They were good friends of mine at Tannadice but I haven’t seen James since he moved to Gretna.

“James was vying with me for a strikers’ role at United, whilst with Chris being a defender it will be an interesting battle against him.”

Gretna are on course to reach the first division and, with only one league defeat this season, Scotland acknowledged just how hard a proposition they will be.

“It will be a hard game but we need to take one game at a time. It would be great for St Johnstone to get into the last 16 of the cup.

“Getting to the final with United was great and I will never experience such a feeling again—except in the World Cup! But I do remember certain moments from the cup run including scoring against Hibs in the semi-final.

“But this is a different team with different players and hopefully we can do well for the club.

“You never know what can happen but we can beat anyone on our day, whether that be a first division or SPL side.”

Scotland—who can produce flashes of brilliance—could be the difference between the teams in the mouth-watering cup tie and he admitted he has only recently reached peak fitness.

He said, “At the start of the season I wasn’t fully match fit because I missed pre-season training. I was in Miami and then went back to Trinidad, but now I am feeling fine.

“It’s all about confidence and playing week in, week out. If you are on the bench it is harder and you can miss a few games.

“I had a foot injury that I picked up against Airdrie and didn’t perform as well as I can against Dundee on Monday, but I’ve got back the confidence to take on defenders.”

And his manager, Owen Coyle, knows just what a potent threat Scotland can be.

He said, “Jason is capable of turning games, but you need to give him plenty of quality ball.”

Coyle is relishing the tie as it provides a chance to meet up with several former team-mates.

“Gretna will be looking forward to this game and rightly so,” he said.

Jason Scotland has unfinished business at McDiarmid
« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2006, 08:27:36 AM »
Jason Scotland has unfinished business at McDiarmid
By Eric Nicolson (Dundee Courier)

THE WORLD Cup may throw up offers for Jason Scotland which could lure him away from McDiarmid Park in the summer—but the Trinidad and Tobago star would be more than happy to return to unfinished business in Perth next season and fire the club into the SPL.

A season that could barely have started with less promise for Scotland, when he was refused a work permit to re-sign for Dundee United, has ended on a personal high.

This week he received a nomination for first division player of the year, quickly following on from the news that he has been named in the provisional Trinidad and Tobago squad for the World Cup in Germany.

All that could have made the season more memorable would have been a first-division winners’ medal.

The league’s top scorer admitted, “With two games to go we’re gutted to be only playing for second place against Hamilton tomorrow, rather than for the title.

“We still need to give our all to put in a good performance for our fans.

“It hasn’t quite worked out for us this season and we have just missed out on promotion but hopefully next time we will finish top.

“If I get a game in the World Cup other clubs might be watching—but I’ll be happy to come back here and win the first division with St Johnstone.

“I haven’t won anything in Scotland and I’d be delighted to help the club into the SPL.

“I wasn’t getting a regular game last season with Dundee United and then came all the work permit stuff, but I’ve come back and scored goals.

“People might say I can only do it in the first division, but I would like to prove that I am good enough for the SPL, playing in a team where I get a good run of games from the start.

“It would be different playing with St Johnstone in the SPL to coming on as a sub with United.

“The season wasn’t looking good for me after I was refused a work permit. I didn’t know where I would end up playing football after that.

“St Johnstone showed me a light at the end of the tunnel and now I’ve been nominated for player of the year and I’ll hopefully be going to the World Cup.

“The season has ended on a high note after a bad start.”

Scotland could be excused for making avoiding injury in Saints’ last two games his priority, so that his World Cup dream isn’t shattered.

The in-form attacker pointed out however that all he can do is play his normal game without fear.

He said, “You watch Sky Sports News and see that so many players are getting injured like Michael Owen and Totti, and could possibly miss the World Cup.

“But an injury could happen at any time in training.

“I’ve got my back against defenders most of the time during games and one of them could go through me, but it’s not something you can think about during a game.

“I want to show good form in the last two games and then in the World Cup training camp so hopefully I get into the team for the first match in Germany.”

Martin Hardie is suspended for this afternoon’s match, while John Hendry and Steven Milne are doubtful.

Ryan McCann and Kevin Fotheringham have returned to training but Owen Coyle admitted it “would be a gamble to throw them in.”

Coyle will turn his mind to who is staying and going next week.

For now the priority is securing second spot in the table.

He said, “It’s very important that we finish the season off with a good performance in front of our own fans.

“Our last league defeat at home was in August and we want to go into next season on the back of a good finish to this one.”

Hamilton manager Billy Reid, meanwhile, has a number of injuries and will make a late selection.

Semi offers Jason Scotland a chance to shine
« Reply #19 on: April 12, 2007, 12:59:59 PM »
Semi offers Jason Scotland a chance to shine
Dundee Courier

ST JOHNSTONE striker Jason Scotland yesterday revealed that he thought Dundee United might have looked to resign him for a second stint at Tannadice.

As he prepares for a Scottish Cup semi-final against Celtic on Saturday with Saints, the Trinidad and Tobago internationalist explained that the fact they didnt has ultimately worked out in his favour.

Scotland, who was controversially prevented from staying in Dundee after being refused a work permit, only to be granted one to play at a lower level with the Perth side, said, Im over what happened at Dundee United.

But Ill always have reason to thank them for bringing me across from Trinidad. Not playing in the SPL and having to go into the first division was a huge disappointment at the time.

I enjoyed myself at United after coming from Trinidad. They made me feel at home. During the first year here I actually thought maybe I would go back to United.

I was disappointed having to leave. I felt I was sure to go back to Dundee United because I had a love for the club.

They brought me across here and I enjoyed being there. Collin Samuel is a good mate and I enjoyed going out with the boys there. But two years have past and its time for me to move on now.

Other clubs were interested in signing me after the work permit problems. I could have played professional football back home. But my agent said St Johnstone were interested in me. I was keeping my options open.

He added, In a sense it was good. Maybe this is a good stepping stone. I am playing every week for Saints and doing well. I have done better this season than last year.

At United I wasnt getting as much game time as Id have wanted. As a player you want to be playing every week.

The priority at St Johnstone has been winning the league, and the cup is a bonus. We are all looking forward to the game.

Scotland is out of contract with Saints in the summer and several English clubs, including Birmingham, have been name- checked as potential suitors.

He said, This is an opportunity for me. Obviously Im doing something good if clubs are looking at me. I just have to keep doing what Im doing, and scoring goals.

If youre doing that bigger clubs are going to take a look. The Celtic game is a big opportunity for me because the game is being televised worldwide.

Every player in the St Johnstone dressing room will be motivated for a big game like this. Its a chance to show what we can do. Our motivation is to play at a higher level.

Its a big game and my team-mates seem to think these bring out the best in me. Maybe its down to the atmosphere and playing against quality players.

People think Im laid back but I do get nervous sometimes if its a big game. From my point of view thats good. After I get the first touch everything seems to flow.

Scotland was part of his countrys World Cup squad in June, and even though he didnt get to play, he believes the extended summer resulted in fatigue kicking in around a month ago.

Now, however, he feels ready to give his best at his second Hampden appearance.

He continued, I told the gaffer Owen Coyle I was feeling very tired after the Motherwell game and I needed a weeks rest. I was on the bench at Airdrie and came on to score the winner.

I might not have played in Germany but I was training every day, sometimes twice. Everything was at a high intensity.

When I played for United against Hibs at Hampden in the Scottish Cup semi-final and won that was the highlight of my career in Scotland.

This will be another huge game and Im really looking forward to it.

Offline SwanseaCityWarrior

JASON SCOTTTTTLAND
« Reply #20 on: March 31, 2008, 01:52:40 PM »
I been reading some of the threads on this forum and i Been reading some right shit about what you lot think that us swansea city fans think about scotland so let me set record STRAIIIGHT. We love Scotland down here in Swansea. There is just a small minority who are bitter about losing trundle because of his showboating etc. "they dont deserve to have Scotland"  ??? ??? OKKKKKKKKKKAYYY even though the overwhelming majority of swans fans adore him and there is a minority in the paper slating him you post it on here and some of you talk a load of bollocks about us not deserving to have him :rotfl:

Re: JASON SCOTTTTTLAND
« Reply #21 on: March 31, 2008, 02:03:27 PM »
Could you quote where anyone has said that Swansea don't deserve to have him? All I've seen on this board is absolute joy, happiness and  :wavetowel: everytime he scores. And rightly so  :beermug:

What's the general Swansea viewpoint of Dennis Lawrence?

« Reply #22 on: March 31, 2008, 02:06:50 PM »

I been reading some of the threads on this forum and i Been reading some right shit about what you lot think that us swansea city fans think about scotland so let me set record STRAIIIGHT. We love Scotland down here in Swansea. There is just a small minority who are bitter about losing trundle because of his showboating etc. "they dont deserve to have Scotland" ??? ??? OKKKKKKKKKKAYYY even though the overwhelming majority of swans fans adore him and there is a minority in the paper slating him you post it on here and some of you talk a load of bollocks about us not deserving to have him :rotfl:

ENT ! :beermug:

ps: I DID see what the poster refer to, but ah think is ah minority he refering too as well...Ah guess it does have minority everywhere   :D

« Reply #23 on: March 31, 2008, 02:27:18 PM »
I been reading some of the threads on this forum and i Been reading some right shit about what you lot think that us swansea city fans think about scotland so let me set record STRAIIIGHT. We love Scotland down here in Swansea. There is just a small minority who are bitter about losing trundle because of his showboating etc. "they dont deserve to have Scotland" ??? ??? OKKKKKKKKKKAYYY even though the overwhelming majority of swans fans adore him and there is a minority in the paper slating him you post it on here and some of you talk a load of bollocks about us not deserving to have him :rotfl:

Key word there...so calm down hero, sip some chamomile or something.

« Reply #24 on: March 31, 2008, 03:57:20 PM »
I made statements that the fans don't deserve him and they they could in fact kiss my ass.

Scotland has gone through a lot of sh*t from our federation and from clubs, that have hampered his ability to play in and earn a living. Did you know that?
Are the fans behind him now? Do the majority appreciate a guy who will bring them a 30+ goal season? If so then great. End of story.

If not: Then Swansea fans can still pucker up and smooch my royal backside. 8)

« Reply #25 on: March 31, 2008, 04:13:31 PM »
Like most other forum's on the net this is a place where people are allowed to express their opinions positive or negative. Just like Swansea Fans we are allowed to express ours also. Like Bake n Shark point out the key word is some.....some of our people cheesin you off with their comments and some of your supporters comment's frustrate some of our posters. I disagree with you saying these posters are talking bollocks, they aren't just making things up, they are commenting on statements made by apparent Swansea supporters. Clearly the posters you have issue with are supporters of Jason Scotland, aren't they also allowed to express their opinion in support of him. Just like the minority Swansea supporters you talk about, and just like you have.

Offline gothic

« Reply #26 on: March 31, 2008, 05:53:37 PM »
I've read through most of swansea city message boards looking for all the threads i could find on Jason and some of the posters really don't seem to appreciate what he does, especially one idiot who pops up most of the time. On the other hand you have others saying that he's their best player. The only thing i don't like is the general consensus that he's a little lazy.

« Reply #27 on: March 31, 2008, 05:57:12 PM »
The only thing i don't like is the general consensus that he's a little lazy.
If you read through some old St Johnstone message boards, you'll see the same consensus too.

« Reply #28 on: March 31, 2008, 06:12:50 PM »
Unless dese boards are personal fan clubs of d players it bound 2  have peeps who eh go like them. It have a man rite hear sayin Shaka is a hound.

« Reply #29 on: March 31, 2008, 06:40:06 PM »
lazy bitch