0 (0%)
Vince Carter
0 (0%)
Kobe Bryant
3 (25%)
Other
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 12

Author Topic: NBA MVP  (Read 4865 times)

NBA MVP
« on: April 13, 2006, 01:23:04 PM »
This one is for the NBA fans:

With the season almost done, the MVP race is as tight as can be. Who do you think is worthy of the 2005-6 MVP award this season..

GO Warriors!!

Re: NBA MVP
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2006, 07:55:20 PM »
Steve Nash is MVP.  Lebron is a close second.  Kobe is having a great season but he does make his team mates better.

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2006, 09:05:32 PM »
I could not have said it better myself...

Offline sinned

« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2006, 09:54:09 PM »
steve nash is horrible defensively although he is the best pure point man in the game but lebron is a much more athletic player, better defensively and scores more.. my vote goes to dirk though..7 feet and can shoot 3's and fadeaways like nobody's business in addition to being able to drive and post-up..has improved on his post-up play and defensive game this year.. he has carried the mavs single-handedly when they were plagued by injuries..no dirk and the mavs wouldnt even be a top 12 team..as it stands they're top 5.. my mvp

« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2006, 11:49:19 PM »
watch AI play tonite and he hold the whole team down single handedly

« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2006, 11:04:03 AM »
i would give it to dirk,de man is an absolute menace to de other teams.

« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2006, 11:09:59 AM »
I think is a toss up between Lebron, Steve Nash and Dirk..

I leaning toward Nash.. for some reason

« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2006, 12:19:24 PM »

once kobe eh get it,i real happy.

« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2006, 03:33:16 PM »

once kobe eh get it,i real happy.

well kobe is exactly the man that should get it.  Best player in the league, and most important to his team.  that cover both interpretations of the phrase "Most Valuable Player". 
As for kobe not making his teammates better, it eh have nobody else in the league that coulda lead kwame brown, chris mihm, smush parker, devean george and lamar odom (the biggest underachiever in the NBA) into the playoffs.
but anyhow, all this MVP voting is rubbish anyway so they could give it to whoever they want.  I backing Chauncey for the NBA finals MVP.

« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2006, 04:31:32 AM »
steve nash's team won 52 games this season, without his three best teammates(Q.Richardson, amare stodoumire, joe johnson) from last year. explain that.

« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2006, 07:08:32 AM »
steve nash's team won 52 games this season, without his three best teammates(Q.Richardson, amare stodoumire, joe johnson) from last year. explain that.

that statement is a little bit disingenuous.  First of all Steve Nash's best teammate is Shawn Marion.

Secondly, of the three that you called Amare is the only one that the suns didn't let go of voluntarily.   Q. Richardson's role was as a 1-dimimensional outside shooter in Phoenix (the man attempted 8 3s a game last season) and he got traded for Kurt Thomas who was a big contributor for them this year.  The Suns chose not to match Atlanta's offer to Joe Johnson, primarily because they felt Raja Bell and Boris Diaw could do the job.  The suns organization were even talking about making a title run after Richardson and Johnson left but before they knew Amare wouldn't be able to play.

Not saying Richardson and Johnson aren't good players, but the management chose not to bring them back for some very good reasons: Raja Bell, Boris Diaw and Kurt Thomas.  We shouldn't act as if their whole team fell apart, they lost one of the 3 superstars on a championship contender.  52 games sounds about right to me.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2006, 07:16:01 AM by daryn »

« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2006, 08:07:07 AM »
true, but anytime you lose three starters its gonna be a big adjustment the following season. And winning 52 games with a group of guys that arguably not nearly as good as the set departed, in a tough conference, well that says something about their leader.

« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2006, 11:02:05 AM »
true, but anytime you lose three starters its gonna be a big adjustment the following season. And winning 52 games with a group of guys that arguably not nearly as good as the set departed, in a tough conference, well that says something about their leader.
here.here,steve nash.no problem.

« Reply #13 on: April 18, 2006, 03:49:23 PM »
I was listening the other day to a half time show and I heard Bill Walton and Steve "Snapper" Jones admit that they were unsure as to what is the criteria for choosing an MVP.

The thing is, if it’s the one who scores the most points. Then you got to give it to Kobe.
If is the one with the most assists. Then you got to giving it to the reigning MVP.
It’s probably not the one with most rebounds or blocked shots because then we'll see Kevin Garnett (who is on a bad team) and Andrei Kirilenko (also on a bad team) receiving the honors.

If you look at all the MVP recipients in recent years Steve Nash is probably the only one who didn’t dominate the league per say. He made his team better (at least that’s what the people who give it to him based it on) Now thats all were hearing now….The one who is making their team better..Now if this is the basis...then Steve and Chauncey will be easy choices. But think about this, if Kobe wins, then there will be no argument with me.  But if Kobe scored 81 points in every game and his team had a record like the Knicks then we'll very well have to go with the man who betters his team.

With that having been said.. I like Steve Nash and Lebron is my dark horse.
I like Chauncey for finals MVP. (Meaning that the Pistons will win it all)

Just my view folks.. Don’t bit meh head off

Go warriors

« Reply #14 on: April 20, 2006, 08:14:40 AM »
Kobe lead a weak team to the playoffs but they finished 7th in the regular season..that is no big achievement. 
The Lakers finished ahead of Utah, New Orleans,Seattle,Golden State,Portland..... (all weak teams),
Houston (injury problems with TMAC and Yao) and Minnesota.
So true Lakers made the playoffs but they did what was expected.

As for Nash, he led a team without 3 of their top 5 scorers (Quentin, Amare,Joe Johnson) and played with new players and histeam finished with a 54-28 record.  His defensive game is poor but how many players in the NBA have the total package.  Not even Lebron has it as yet.

As for Lebron, his game is amazing but he has one weakness..his defensive game is weak...i am sure he will rectify that problem in a few years..once he does that...he will be closest thing to Jordan...

I would not be surprised if lebron wins the MVP instead of Nash..either one has done enough to win...Dirk is the dark horse and Kobe had a great season but not enough to win.

Offline Tigger

« Reply #15 on: April 27, 2006, 05:25:47 AM »
Its Official ... STEVE NASH wins the MVP award according to the associated press...

I'm not surprised...

« Reply #16 on: May 03, 2006, 09:30:15 PM »
Well deserved...Steve..

He deserved it.. I think

« Reply #17 on: May 06, 2006, 10:39:51 AM »
Steve Nash is MVP.  Lebron is a close second.  Kobe is having a great season but he does make his team mates better.

Agreed!

« Reply #18 on: May 09, 2006, 02:14:20 PM »
For the basketball (and God) fans out there....

"Christian Throwback Jerseys - proud sponsors of Jesus Christ"   :heehee:

« Reply #19 on: May 09, 2006, 02:33:11 PM »
For the basketball (and God) fans out there....

"Christian Throwback Jerseys - proud sponsors of Jesus Christ"   :heehee:

Well YES.. dey throwing back Bible passageson sports now..

Capitalism is really a bitch