April 26, 2024, 09:05:14 PM

In your opinion, which Warrior(s) should step up to take freekicks on de Big Stage?

Stern
Latas
Spann
Birchall
Yorke
Whitley
Edwards
other

Author Topic: Free kicks and corners  (Read 7540 times)

Who is we freekick specialist?
« Reply #30 on: November 29, 2005, 07:01:56 PM »
I'm not sure if this topic was posted already but anyway.... Well is no big secret we cyar take good freekicks at goal. I've been looking at some of de qualifying games and I know every player should aim for de stars, but dwight and stern does take that literally whenever dey take a freekick. :rotfl: Man cyar bend de ball for nuttin.

I thought Latas would have been de man but he an all aimin' too high at times. I have heard forumites say Spann could take freekicks and I want to believe he could, but ah still waiting to see him shine in ah dead ball situation.
So from all de men on de squad who do u think should be primed to take we freekicks in Germany?

From my observations of Hex matches Birchall to me shows some promise. Waz your take?

Re: Who is we freekick specialist?
« Reply #31 on: November 29, 2005, 07:04:10 PM »
birchall should be taking all the corners and he should interchange with latas on the freekicks. As i've said before he strikes the ball very well from both the dead ball position and while moving.....

Re: Who is we freekick specialist?
« Reply #32 on: November 29, 2005, 07:08:20 PM »
we have men who could blast it but we eh have men who could whip it in
and that is we problem

I mean nothing wrong with running up and blasting it but sometimes we need ah man to whip it in

Something Carlos Edwards need to learn desperatly.

Re: Free kicks
« Reply #33 on: November 29, 2005, 07:24:53 PM »
 Spann used to take good free-kicks but i don't know what happen...To be fair to him, he hasn't had that much chances but i would like to see him start back again...Go T&T

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
Re: Free kicks
« Reply #34 on: November 29, 2005, 08:00:00 PM »
In this day and age when practically every self-respecting team have a solid crosser and free kick taker, why it is Trinidad doh have that. Everybody learning to bend ball and whip een low hard crosses, why men from T&T still flioating corners and cross-balls, and bending free-kicks way overbar? For bullet free-kicks, Spann should be called upon as he could really kick that ball, but for some reason, they seem reluctant to give him the responsibility.
Ketch footballitis

Re: Free kicks and corners
« Reply #35 on: December 02, 2005, 11:35:45 AM »
Yeah man,

I think we need to get better at freekicks. I doh like how we does lay lay and try a set a chip when sometimes a bullet or a good curler is the best thing.

Is like we doh have or understand how to take proper free kicks. Yow I like Yorkie, but he was never a freekick taker. I think Latas is the best we have right now, but he might not get a full 90 minutes so we have to get a back up...........

We really need to get freekicks and set pieces under control for WC.

Bless

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #36 on: December 02, 2005, 12:38:16 PM »
    Sigh after all this discussion I still don't think anyone knows who should take our direct free kicks to goal. I would say Birchall to hit one hard and low, or between a gap through the wall. I not sure how good Birch is at hitting it with the outside of his boot for outswingers and them them but he have a mean and wicked straight shot and volley.

Yorke showed for SURE that he and Stern are NO free kick takers and I think Yorkie has to improve on his curling ability in terms of free kicks, against Bahrain in Bahrain Yorko just try a curl and kick it twice the height of the goal and the ball was later found in UAE somewhere in Dubai or something.  ::) 

I think maybe Spann could learn the curlers, we definitely have no Becks or Roberto Carlos but we should definitey be practicing this.

I know Anton Pierre had some wicked low blasts that scored more than once, but that was then. I say groom Whitley and maybe Theobald (although Theobald may not play or start as much) to learn how to curl the kicks along with Spann and use Birchie for the blasts in the "V" or low in a corner.

J.
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

« Reply #37 on: December 02, 2005, 07:01:50 PM »

is either spann or birchall i feel.

Re: We need a midfielder who can cross and take corners!
« Reply #38 on: December 02, 2005, 07:16:47 PM »
When people spoke about eve, dey were justified in saying so, we need a mid 2 provide good crosses and corners, if carlos doesnt develop dis aspect of he game, we need a mid who will give us dis service in de world cup, i cant think of any other mids who have dis ability, eve is good, but who else?

yea boy i would have da man takin every free kick... buh if we doh have him put in chris birhcal and shotta talking major shit if he sayin it jus cuz he english... i feel some raciness er awa? stewpsssss doh pull donw da man atol

Free Kicks............
« Reply #39 on: January 04, 2006, 01:35:49 PM »
I know each country have there ace in the hole for e.g.france have zidane,brazil have ronaldinho,england have beckham,etc.Now tell me who qualifies on our team to be part of that distinguished league.

Re: Free Kicks............
« Reply #40 on: January 04, 2006, 01:38:24 PM »
Brazil have Juninho dred, Ronaldinho is second to he.

For T&T I would pick Latas.  :beermug:

« Reply #41 on: January 04, 2006, 02:02:50 PM »
Juninho eh starting

« Reply #42 on: January 04, 2006, 02:32:58 PM »
i would say "me mum" is our free kick specialist but then again who would belt it into de goal.

WARRIORS free kick specialist
« Reply #43 on: March 08, 2006, 07:23:02 PM »
morvant an i was talkin bout how far we could reach in d world cup without a free kick specialist

when last has trinidad and tobago scored from a direct free kick i think it was angus eve in the digicel cup against barbados

since den i hav seen an uncountable amount of blasts over bar and waywardness from attempted kickers

yorke an stern hav taken alot to no avail

WARRIORS IF YOU CAN KICK COME FOWRAD

silvio spann after d crossbar challenge is my choice

Re: WARRIORS free kick specialist
« Reply #44 on: March 08, 2006, 07:26:01 PM »
Anton Pierre scored one against Haiti in the warm up before the US aquifer.   

Offline R45

« Reply #45 on: March 08, 2006, 07:27:39 PM »
I think Spann is the best on the roster right now at deadballs. Seen Yorke waste too many, even with Spann on the pitch.

« Reply #46 on: March 08, 2006, 07:36:40 PM »
morvant an i was talkin bout how far we could reach in d world cup without a free kick specialist

when last has trinidad and tobago scored from a direct free kick i think it was angus eve in the digicel cup against barbados

since den i hav seen an uncountable amount of blasts over bar and waywardness from attempted kickers

I see that too. In our qualifying games I saw Spann take a few by the penalty area but they hit the wall...I don't know how good he is at curling the ball.
Yuh would think Yorke, Stern or Latas would be de choice since they have some of the best aerial passing ability on the team....crossbar challenge aside I would like to see Me mum give it a try (roberto carlos - style maybe)  ;D

« Reply #47 on: March 08, 2006, 07:42:06 PM »

I see that too. In our qualifying games I saw Spann take a few by the penalty area but they hit the wall...I don't know how good he is at curling the ball.
Yuh would think Yorke, Stern or Latas would be de choice since they have some of the best aerial passing ability on the team....crossbar challenge aside I would like to see Me mum give it a try (roberto carlos - style maybe) ;D

i think birchall was takin them in the goldcup but i aint know why he stop

« Reply #48 on: March 08, 2006, 07:54:40 PM »
yeah i wud like to see birchall at least get to take some....if he jus driving it in a lil deflection is all yuh need to tie up a keeper
Spann also supposed to be good but i eh really see him kick much of dem

« Reply #49 on: March 09, 2006, 12:29:37 AM »
all we need iz ah rolling ball to me mum and we all know what happends

Who should kick the dead balls and free kicks for our team?
« Reply #50 on: April 17, 2006, 12:00:50 PM »
My first instinct is Birchall because he seems to have decent technique.
I know that Dwight definitely not able as I have seen him waste many an opportunity.
Interested in hearing who you guys think should be delivering

Re: Who should kick the dead balls and free kicks for our team?
« Reply #51 on: April 17, 2006, 12:02:32 PM »
Free Kicks:  Spann, Birchall, Latapy

Corners: Dwight Yorke, Latapy

Penalties: Dwight Yorke

« Reply #52 on: April 17, 2006, 12:16:58 PM »
JASON SCOTLAND or SAMUEL
should be our FK Takers

« Reply #53 on: April 17, 2006, 02:44:38 PM »
You know the reason for trinidad and tobago not producing outstanding free kick takers??? How you feel Beckham during he prime was so deadly?? Since he bout 14 he practicing for hours a day taking free kicks.....putting up planks to simulate a wall....putting a tyre in the V......making it a art. You feel Juninho wake up and have that?  Is hours and hours of practice.....and that not in we mental. When we fix that problem....real plenty of our deficiencies go get fix...then we go start to realise our potential.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #54 on: April 17, 2006, 03:00:39 PM »
This shows that we are not technically sound. S.A.I.D. Principle we don't posses it. This is where Phillips should be concentrating most of his energy with the youth teams. Teaching proper shooting techniques as oppose to just hitting the ball hard.