April 24, 2024, 06:01:29 PM

Author Topic: Latas last game on home turf May 10.  (Read 11438 times)

Latas last game on home turf May 10.
« on: April 13, 2006, 05:06:09 PM »
Latas last game on home turf  May 10.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

National Senior Team midfielder Russell Latapy, as a way of keeping it real, has expressed his thrill over being officially listed on the squad of 24 players selected by Leo Beenhakker to subsequently represent this country at the upcoming 2006 World Cup. And the “Little Magician” has also declared that his appearance, once selected, in T&T’s friendly international against Peru on May 10 will be his final in national colours on home soil.
Latapy, a past national team captain, made the disclosure on Thursday as he made his feelings known on the announcement of the squad a day earlier by Beenhakker.
In his final statements during Thursday’s interview, Latapy stated: “This one against Peru will definitely be the last game for me in front of the Trinidad and Tobago public. It will be a very emotional appearance for me because I have had a fantastic time playing for the people of the country and apart from this being a warm up for us ahead of the World Cup, I will also want it to be my way of showing my appreciation for all the support I have received over the years from the locals. This is going to be a special one,” Latapy told TTFF Media.
The Falkirk player went on to add that he has made his mind up on calling it a day  as a player on the international stage following T&T’s appearance in Germany.
“Obviously it was a big step to come back and play for the national team at 37 but I will say I am delighted that I made that decision because it turned out well for all of us and I achieved something that I always dreamt of as kid which was to make a contribution to getting my country to the World Cup. After the World Cup as far as my international career goes it could definitely be the end of it in a playing capacity. I might add though that I would want to contribute in another form to Trinidad and Tobago’s football and if the opportunity (to coach the national team) became available to me I would definitely put myself forward,” Latapy added.
In giving his take on the squad announced on Wednesday, the former FC Porto player felt the timing was right and those making Beenhakker’s selection can now start putting things into perspective regarding the World Cup.
“It’s a fantastic opportunity for everyone involved and especially the country at large to have the opportunity to go to our first World Cup ever, This is what the boys and the other people involved have all worked for over the years. It’s a big opportunity really for all of us.”
He mentioned that regardless of what, as a player he was still anxious up to the late stages over the squad naming.
“At this stage you don’t take anything for granted so any other player who is involved is obviously anxious to know who he (Beenhakker) was going to take to Germany. Generally speaking it’s a dream come true because I have played in five qualifying campaigns now and now that we have qualified, you want to make sure that you are in fact going to be there,” Latapy added.
And on a bit of advice for those who may have been left disappointed with not getting the final call, Latapy said he knows all too well that it’s never too late to make it to a World Cup.
“That’s sport for you. There will still be some who may be disappointed when the starting eleven is named because 23 players are going to the World Cup, That’s the way it goes and you have got to be able to take the bitter with the sweet. But looking at the bigger picture, it’s definitely a chance to showcase ourselves to the world and hopefully this is not going to be our last appearance at a World Cup. For those who are not going this time, they can now work harder and be around for the next time and if it’s anyone who can say you’re never too old to go to the World Cup it’s me at this stage,” he said on a lighter note.
He will reassemble with the rest of the team on May 7 in Port of Spain for the farewell friendly against the South Americans scheduled for  a 6:30 pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Before that, the home-based pros will have a fine tuner against Grenada at the Larry Gomes Stadium on April 25 and Manny Ramjohn Stadium on April 27 with both games kicking off at 7pm.

Re: Latas last game on home turf May 10.
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2006, 05:07:36 PM »
The whole WN and myself will be there to witness it!

Can we organize a special banner for this sake...

I would be nice if we could get ah real artist to draw latahz onto a big board or flag or bedspread or something!

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2006, 05:10:52 PM »
God bless you Lata. It has been a long road.  We with you and TT all the way

Offline 1989

« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2006, 05:11:10 PM »
 :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2006, 05:12:13 PM »
yeh a big latapy 10 shirt

i will see him play his last game in real life for TnT in germany!

hopefully in berlin on the 9th of july lol

« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2006, 05:13:23 PM »
I am looking forward to see Latas light up the second half in this game...Thanx little magician for the last 20+ years of football you gave to this country :beermug:

So the Grenada game still on...ah cyah wait to see who the "locals" would be on that team..go TnT

« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2006, 05:14:17 PM »
TTFF is working.

Reminding the public that this is Latas last game at home will be a big draw. They should be pushing that Yorke is probably going to retire too.

« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2006, 05:15:19 PM »
TTFF is working.

Reminding the public that this is Latas last game at home will be a big draw. They should be pushing that Yorke is probably going to retire too.

well Yorke is fit... and it doesnt look like he'll be falling of that chart anytime soon... you never know... we might see Yorke again very well after Germany...

« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2006, 05:15:28 PM »
second half >:(    

Latas hadda start    ............... my opinion........ wen he started we scored 3 at home and den 2 agenst mexico from his brilliance    latas is dat extra spark behind stern

« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2006, 05:17:02 PM »
second half >:(    

Latas hadda start    ............... my opinion........ wen he started we scored 3 at home and den 2 agenst mexico from his brilliance    latas is dat extra spark behind stern

alittle inelequant but still a potent point... Latas doens seem to play better when he starts I think he has to get to touch the ball alot first off to get into a rythmn quickly...

« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2006, 05:20:32 PM »
yeh he takes a while to settle in wen he comes on   he not accustom to benching

spann comes in a settles within 2 mins   its unbelievable   wat a weapon he is eh

« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2006, 05:25:57 PM »
YEAH LATAS  :beermug:

but allyuh tink about it...it will be YORKE last game on home soil also!

« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2006, 05:35:33 PM »
yeh he takes a while to settle in wen he comes on   he not accustom to benching

spann comes in a settles within 2 mins   its unbelievable   wat a weapon he is eh

yeah defensive weapon lol

« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2006, 06:11:28 PM »
The whole WN and myself will be there to witness it!
Can we organize a special banner for this sake...
I would be nice if we could get ah real artist to draw latahz onto a big board or flag or bedspread or something!
:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

ah want some ideas... I want some confirmed arrangements too though I really cyar organize like Gilbert can... dat man oui... he is a no play worker for real.

« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2006, 06:22:09 PM »
Ah wulda like to make dat turn, all yuh please send out de little magician in style for dis his last game on home turf in de red, white, and black, bless

« Reply #15 on: April 13, 2006, 06:23:21 PM »
yeh jeff and WN dat has to be organized

we hadda do something special

« Reply #16 on: April 13, 2006, 06:31:17 PM »
yeh jeff and WN dat has to be organized

we hadda do something special

Yeah... It really doesnt have to be too elaborate... Just a Large sign with "Thank you Latahz on it..."

It would be Nice if we could geh a scetch of a Person crying with a #10 Jersey on that also has Warrior Nation written across it..

« Reply #17 on: April 13, 2006, 06:33:01 PM »
nah use d pik of him in d line up against bahrain and people bowing infront of him

and d message is       " thank you little magician"
                                      from the WN

« Reply #18 on: April 13, 2006, 06:34:18 PM »
nah use d pik of him in d line up against bahrain and people bowing infront of him

and d message is       " thank you little magician"
                                      from the WN

Yea that sounds nice... it doh hadda be Bahrain people though... I suppose so... I like the idea though.

That sounds like a keeper.

So who drawin Pinaple Head??

« Reply #19 on: April 13, 2006, 06:36:52 PM »
well we cud forget the ppl bowing  ........... but  that pik of latas is d bess and we use a black background with red writing

« Reply #20 on: April 13, 2006, 07:05:29 PM »
well we cud forget the ppl bowing  ........... but  that pik of latas is d bess and we use a black background with red writing

nah i liked de idea of people bowing and him lookin god like wit he hands on he hips and ah smirk on he face... we hadda make the sign stand out.

some bright colours.

« Reply #21 on: April 13, 2006, 07:16:31 PM »
YORKE WILL BE RETIRING ALSO

i have a good theme idea

Putting them side to side  on the banner
i draw it out
it lookin bess
i will forward it to my cousin a graphics designer

« Reply #22 on: April 13, 2006, 07:40:03 PM »
YORKE WILL BE RETIRING ALSO

i have a good theme idea

Putting them side to side  on the banner
i draw it out
it lookin bess
i will forward it to my cousin a graphics designer

GOOD JOB WTD.

DO THAT.

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

doh let we down eh we countin on yuh... we go talk on msn as to what the exact design is...

« Reply #23 on: April 14, 2006, 09:50:20 AM »
Cyah believe Latas last game in T&T as a national Team player is May 10.  Thanks latas for all the hard work, joy, thrills, and yes, even the baccanal.

YOU ARE A TRUE WARRIOR

:applause:

« Reply #24 on: April 14, 2006, 11:08:42 AM »
i saw latas last game already allyuh late

he had bout 3 ah dem

i remember one against jamaica in de oval when i beat-up de jamaican feller fuh hitting meh gal ah bottle

« Reply #25 on: April 14, 2006, 08:09:48 PM »

LATAPY

THANK YOU JOAN