February 07, 2025, 10:24:26 PM

Author Topic: ARSENAL FORWARD  (Read 1181747 times)

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
Re: ARSENAL FOREVER
« Reply #2580 on: June 25, 2010, 08:10:00 AM »
i hope i get some nice Christmas presents

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2581 on: July 13, 2010, 05:13:47 PM »
new defender and cesc still arsenal captain

« Reply #2582 on: July 14, 2010, 07:03:01 AM »
new defender and cesc still arsenal captain
he staying or going?

« Reply #2583 on: July 14, 2010, 08:56:05 AM »
wow, looks like fairly smooth sailing from February onward.  Who Arsenal bribe to geh da schedule?!!! :devil:

Re: Interesting read concerning Barca, Ibra and Eto and Fabregas
« Reply #2584 on: July 18, 2010, 11:23:32 AM »

Who is Responsible for the Zlatan Ibrahimović Debacle?
By
Varughese Rajan
(Contributor) on July 16, 2010

367 reads

5 comments

0 likes
VILLARREAL, SPAIN - MAY 01: Zlatan Ibrahimovic of FC Barcelona sits on the bench during the La Liga match between Villarreal CF and FC Barcelona at El Madrigal stadium on May 1, 2010 in Villarreal, Spain. (Photo by Manuel Queimadelos Alonso/Getty Images) Manuel Queimadelos Alonso/Getty Images

The jury is still out on whether Zlatan Ibrahimovic was a success for Barcelona last season. Anywhere else in the world, 21 goals and 10 assists would be celebrated as a huge success.

But when you have a price tag of €70 million, the highest in club history, maybe those figures simply are not good enough.

Compared to other strikers, the stats are pretty good, but Ibra cannot in any way be called a success. Especially when Bojan Krkic—a kid previously discarded by Guardiola—manages to easily replace you at the most crucial juncture of the season.

Maybe the ridiculous price tag associated with Ibra is the same thing that's acting heavily against him, something I highlighted in an earlier post . You have to be in trouble when the club's newly appointed financial vice-president rightly questions the amount spent in acquiring the star.

Suddenly, the Barcelona-based media outlets such as Sport and El Mundo Deportivo are raising the same question. Kind of strange, ain't it? About a year ago, the same media outlets brought out crazy statistics to justify the amount the club paid for the Swede! At the time, I also clearly thought the same thing.

Then why the hell did Laporta enter into such a crazy deal, especially since it gave Inter one of the world's most successful strikers?

The answer lies in the question itself. The entire deal was done not to add an additional striker to Barca but to get rid of FC Barcelona's then present strike force—Samuel Eto'o.

If you remember just before the Ibra-Eto'o deal happened, Barca management were involved in a deal to sign David Villa. Barca were ready to fish out €40 million but Valencia were asking €10 million more and the deal broke off.

But in truth, the deal broke off because management couldn't find a possible exit route for Eto'o. I mean, if you can pay €46 million for Ibra, then why can't you add €4 million and buy Villa, who had a better chance to gel well with Iniesta and Xavi (they all play together for Spain's national team).

At that point, Inter entered the fray, and got a decent striker and €46 million in the end. With that money, they went and brought three players—Sneijder, Milito, and Lucio—all crucial to Inter's treble-achieving season.

In a nutshell, this has to be the most ridiculous deal ever done by Joan Laporta. But can we blame him alone for this? What part did Pep Guardiola play?

It was no secret that Eto'o was never part of Guardiola's plan. He remained in Barcelona, because the club couldn't find anyone willing to buy him. He then played the most important part in Barca's historic treble: No one will ever forget that early goal against Manchester United in Rome.

Still, Guardiola wanted him off the team and Inter presented the only escape route. Okay, Manchester City was interested in buying Eto'o but the chances of him leaving for a club with no chance of playing in the Champions League was slim. So the club definitely paid more for Guardiola's stubbornness than for Laporta's foolishness.

Rosell and company may argue that Laporta could have said "no." But was it possible to say no to the guy who oversaw the most brilliant season in the club's history?

Moreover, you never want to end up with a scenario in which one of the major players and the coach do not trust each other. Even though Eto'o wanted to stay, Guardiola had already made up his mind at the start of his tenure. Laporta had his hands tied and Inter Milan had the upper hand throughout deal negotiations.

It is no secret that following the Villa deal, club management is trying its best to find a suitor for Ibra. We bought him for €46 million in cash, so let's say that we take a Chygyrinskiy loss (i.e., 10 million), the price will still be €36 million.

I am not sure any club will match that at this moment. It makes more sense to keep him here. Oh, and I forgot—his salary is just below that of Messi's at Barca. Ibra may still turn out to be the player Guardiola hoped for when he was signed. But signing him saying that he offered more aerial threat was quite foolish—just watch the Man U vs Inter match to confirm that.

Are we reapeating the whole saga again with the Cesc Fabregas pursuit?

Fabregas should integrate easily into the team, but do we really need him? Especially amidst all the financial problems facing the club, as explained by both Rosell and Javier Faus.

It is becoming pretty clear that Rosell has been blowing up the financial problem for sometime. During his campaign, he has constantly stated that the club's debts are in excess of €400 million.

However, if we trust what Javier Faus has said, the real debt is €210 million (much smaller when compared to some other clubs), something which the Laporta administration has also stated previously.

I have to admit that Rosell's financial knowledge baffles me; I have no idea how he manage finances.

Last week, he said Barca had to raise €150 million in credit from banks to pay salaries. Now, his vice president says the club has €50 million for transfers.

If Barca has to take out a €150 million loan out to run the club normally, where did this money came from? The Chygrinskiy and Toure transfers would have yielded €40 million, that money should have been used, right?

Don't you think there is so much hidden behind all this? I don't have a clue. Wouldn't it be wiser to stop chasing Fabregas? Let's assume Barca manages to sign Fabregas for 40 million, the club would still need money to buy a holding midfielder and a left-sided attacking player.

They say Barca doesn't have the cash. Is Rosell attempting to do a Laporta here? At least Laporta had no choice last season!

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2585 on: July 20, 2010, 12:47:47 PM »
Cesc staying for at least this season!

but i feel eduardo gone

gallas and silvestre gone thank god

now to say hello to a good keeper and another centerback

and good bye to almunia and fabianski

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2586 on: July 21, 2010, 06:13:53 PM »
barnet 0 - 4 arsenal

sturm graz 0 - 3 arsenal

and farewell to eduardo, sorry hi sfull season back was marred with injuries and british press hounding of a man who's career was iterrupted by a bullish tackle that has no place in football, the british press should be as bullish on such players and not those subjected to it, taylor and shawcross have botth been almost protected by the british press

« Reply #2587 on: July 21, 2010, 06:21:25 PM »
Brady Admits Senior Youngsters Are Fighting For Futures

Liam Brady believes  a selection of senior professionals in the Reserves ranks still have to prove themselves if they are to have a career with Arsenal. The Irishman took charge of the 2-2 draw  with Crawley Town last night, and admitted after most are fighting for their futures.

The most important step for youngsters is to continue their development, and Arsène Wenger has taken those he believes to be ready to compete for first-team places to Austria. For those left behind, the future looks bleak. Brady admits plenty of his squad still have some impressing to do, while some are firmly in the shop window and looking to attract new employment. Speaking to Arsenal.com, the Head of Youth Development was frank;

“Most of these boys will probably go on loan again this year (especially) the older ones. They have to prove themselves and they have to prove themselves to our manager and they have to ensure that if it isn’t going to happen here at Arsenal it is going to happen somewhere else for them, and I am confident that they will all do that.”

The likes of Rhys Murphy, Sanchez Watt and Oğuzhan Özyakup all still have futures at the club, and a loan spell is seen as the final piece of the jigsaw before they’re ready to compete for a first-team place. However, for Gavin Hoyte, Mark Randall, Nacer Barazite and Jay Simpson, game time is now the priority, and Wenger has indicated it won’t be with the first-team. All four have experienced a loan spell, and all four are available for a transfer should a suitable offer arrive.

Brady, who is taking charge of the Reserve team as Neil Banfield is coaching with the first-team, will continue with the squad which beat Crawley, with a selection of interested scouts set to run the rule over the current crop.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2588 on: July 30, 2010, 07:58:27 AM »
emirates cup this weekend cant wait to see what we look like against some real opposition

« Reply #2589 on: July 30, 2010, 09:20:15 AM »
emirates cup this weekend cant wait to see what we look like against some real opposition

GunnerStunner speaking with some Arsenal fans they have a concern that Arsenal have not strengthen the squad enough. As a matter of fact they don't feel the squad has been strengthened at all, when you consider
the players that have been leaving and only two buys. What are your thoughts?

« Reply #2590 on: July 30, 2010, 09:34:33 AM »
ok observer...this was not addressed to me but i dont think the squad is any stronger...a year more experienced yes but not stronger and definitely not as deep...true youngsters like frimpong and jay emmanuel thomas showing promise but i not sure if they ready to step up yet.

« Reply #2591 on: July 30, 2010, 09:43:36 AM »

GunnerStunner speaking with some Arsenal fans they have a concern that Arsenal have not strengthen the squad enough. As a matter of fact they don't feel the squad has been strengthened at all, when you consider
I think we need a DM and one more CB to put ouselves ;D in a better position

« Reply #2592 on: July 30, 2010, 09:56:42 AM »
We need a Keeper First.

Another Central defender, a blade man in the middle and another fwd...because bendtner crocked and Van persie cant go a month before he fold up with an injury.

We need quality....

We only have a setta labourers and men who trying.

We need BIG players who produce consistently.

Under all kicks...I wouldnt mind two new wingbacks...goldilocks and clichy adequate but not special. Dey does kill play more than add to it.

« Reply #2593 on: July 30, 2010, 10:21:50 AM »
i agree with the wingback suggestion dey touches...sagna is better defensively but his crossing leaves a lot to be desired...dais meh boy though.  nordveit coming along nicely, i know is only weak pre season opposition but de yute looking steady.

clichy on the other hand in some good form but it have to have better out there than him...sometimes he does make some real mental lapses.  he will die for the shirt though, i will give him that.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2594 on: July 31, 2010, 10:19:40 PM »

after watching the game to day, same old story, we need a defensive coach, and a keeper, we have 4 keepers that we couldn't even sell if we wanted to
at least the new defender looked good, but when will arsenal learn to murder sides? too many chances and nothing to show we should have scored at least 2more than we did
but here's the catch, do we buy buy buy? we need a settled team, this season wil be trying again for the umteenth time, with cesc unsettled, and the injury jumbie will rear its head and disturpt us
also our wingers do nto do enough defensive work nor do we attack and cross with any strength and we arent making agressive runs off the ball, we need to look like a wolf pack when we attack, all moving forward and back as the game flows and ebs

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2595 on: August 05, 2010, 06:46:08 PM »
well here he is at home from summer vacation after laying the world cup on a platter for spain

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/8890486.stm

now if only those broke ass catatonians would back off

« Reply #2596 on: August 06, 2010, 10:28:35 AM »
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #2597 on: August 09, 2010, 08:14:47 AM »
Ouch!!!

Barcelona midfielder Xavi expressed his disappointment with the club's failure to land Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas , but, echoing remarks made by the Catalan club's vice president, stressed that the transfer was not dead.

"We've given up on the idea of him arriving now, but maybe he'll come in January when Arsenal are out of the Premier League title race," he was quoted as saying by Tuttomercato. "Their team are just not competitive."

"Arsenal are wrong to have forced him to remain there, they can't just hold him against his will," added the Barcelona vice captain.

« Reply #2598 on: August 09, 2010, 08:44:34 AM »
Ouch!!!

Barcelona midfielder Xavi expressed his disappointment with the club's failure to land Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas , but, echoing remarks made by the Catalan club's vice president, stressed that the transfer was not dead.

"We've given up on the idea of him arriving now, but maybe he'll come in January when Arsenal are out of the Premier League title race," he was quoted as saying by Tuttomercato. "Their team are just not competitive."

"Arsenal are wrong to have forced him to remain there, they can't just hold him against his will," added the Barcelona vice captain.

wootoop............cuff :-X

« Reply #2599 on: August 09, 2010, 08:47:59 AM »
Ouch!!!

damn!

« Reply #2600 on: August 09, 2010, 09:10:45 AM »
He eh lie! Arsenal competitive, but they just don not have the quality beyond being just competitive. I will still watch them though because I love the way they play football.

On another note: Now once again Van Persie doubtful for the opening of the season. Six years at Arsenal and he has never had a stretch of playing consistently.

« Reply #2601 on: August 09, 2010, 12:39:32 PM »
This side frustrating just like the soca warriors.

Come on Wenger...get us a keeper, another fwd, another Cb and another defensive midfielder.

Right now it looking like another trophy less season AGAIN!!!

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2602 on: August 09, 2010, 07:19:39 PM »
Ouch!!!

xavi puyol inesta are spanish c**ts

so watch this

yuh whole family linage went to and played football for QRC yuh whole neighborhood is qrc fans and past students etc
but yuh parents know that CIC is the better school and send you there
while there yuh football skills are nurtured and developed far beyond anyone's imagination (cept the CIC coach)
then yuh buss on d scene playing first team when yuh young
ppl start to notice
yuh become central to CIC squad and CIC aint win nuttin yet but coming close
then dry so everybody telling yuh to go QRC
you want to go but yuh cyar leave cus yuh signed up at CIC till a levels
BUT
because of the values and morals you learnt at CIC you are a man of your word and stick to your contract

basically he who vex lorse so xavi go cry into your world cup medal that cesc set up for spain even though he ride bench whole world cup

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2603 on: August 09, 2010, 07:20:30 PM »

that site real kicks i check it religiously

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2604 on: August 09, 2010, 07:21:54 PM »
This side frustrating just like the soca warriors.

Come on Wenger...get us a keeper, another fwd, another Cb and another defensive midfielder.

Right now it looking like another trophy less season AGAIN!!!

dunno about a striker but a..
keeper YES
defensive mid YES
Utility defender as cover YES

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2605 on: August 12, 2010, 02:18:52 PM »
CANNOT EFFNING WAIT FOR EFFNING SUNDAY!!!

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2606 on: August 13, 2010, 07:16:20 AM »
arsenal start the season with 8 players unavailable

unavailable: Denilson (abdominal), Diaby & Song (both calf), Fabregas & van Persie (both fitness)

Injured: Bendtner (groin), Djourou (hamstring), Ramsey (broken leg)

::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::)

« Reply #2607 on: August 16, 2010, 07:36:34 AM »
Phew Arsenal came back and grabbed the draw not less than they deserved ... despite having better possession offensively they didn't assert themselves enough.
Despite the goal conceded I felt they looked solid defensively although Clichy get "seductively abused"  on a few.
Diaby continues to boggle the mind ... nice touches then gives away the ball with his next pass almost methodically.
Rosicky came on and did some nice things always liked him as a player glad he is finally fit.

Walcott ... walcott, walcott lol one of these days his game will come in sync with his speed and on that fateful day it will be hell to pay against him ....Arsene will bring him along well.

The new defender Koschelsky .. (couldn't spell it)  ... I thought he looked good he was unlucky to be sent off I felt that handball was more accidental more a reflex and it end up hitting his hand but the truth be told I always measure defenders in this league when they had a dose of Drogba in they ass for 90 mins or Rooney before I grade em..... can't rate him against a half fit Torres ... inconclusive.

Nasri looked sharp!

Almunia maintains his crappy disdain for cross balls and goalkeeping in general .... hope they get Shwarzer

Lots of optimism especially since this was definitely not Arsenal's strongest team ... with the exception of Torres this Liverpool team won't get much stronger but they're battling ...pleased to see that kinda spirit.
Arsenal  still have Fabregas, RVP, Song to start and although I'm saying this tentatively I feel they will get the Fulham keeper  Shwarzer and alsooooo I feel Clichy could end up losing his place to Gibbs.

That's it in a nutshell por ahora!

« Reply #2608 on: August 16, 2010, 07:57:42 AM »
Arshavin looking poor and we still want to walk the ball in the net like is small goal.

Men hadda start piping bullet from outside.

Not convinced with Chamak, apart from looking like he have mange, I ent seeing no "specialness" bout him

« Reply #2609 on: August 16, 2010, 09:18:49 AM »
Arshavin looking poor and we still want to walk the ball in the net like is small goal.

Men hadda start piping bullet from outside.

Not convinced with Chamak, apart from looking like he have mange, I ent seeing no "specialness" bout him
I hear you but I think Chamak's value is in the goal that scored. We had nobody before that would even make that challenge on the the goalkeeper.

It was the first game and at Anfield no less, one of the toughest places to play. We definitely need a keeper and more defensive cover. The one moment that made me think Koscielny has something was when he beat Torres in a one on one situation. I've seen most defenders, Rio Ferdinand especially, lose that battle. Ok maybe Torres is not fully fit but it bodes well for Koscielny's confidence.

I'm not too upset because i'd rather our flaws be exposed now and AW's hand be forced than us starting with an emphatic victory and delusionally believing that we are good enough to win with our current squad.

All in all, I think this weekend would actually be good for our season ahead.