June 16, 2024, 08:24:07 PM

Author Topic: ARSENAL FORWARD  (Read 922382 times)

Re: ARSENAL FOREVER
« Reply #2730 on: October 05, 2010, 08:46:59 AM »
Yuh right, a different physical profile woulda help Diaby here...

The formula vs Arsenal:
1. Rough them up (which leads to the injury problems)
2. Park the bus -make them do something spectacular to score
3. Hit them on the counter.
4. ???
5. Profit!!

Compared to the last 3 games thought, this one was different. It wasn't a case of men vs boys, but of world class finishers finishing. You have to think that Van Persie, Fabregas, Vermaelen, and Walcott would have had some influence. (we will leave Almunia out of that talk)

It used to be that Big 4 teams would match up vs Arsenal and look to win blow for blow, but now they all just play the counter. Which shows a measure of respect for what Arsenal can do if you let them. This is a formula that Arsenal has to figure out how to overcome.

I also think that moving from Highbury to the Emirates worked against them. The smaller field at Highbury meant that they would not get stretched and you would have to face relentless pressure as they pinged it around you.

« Reply #2731 on: October 05, 2010, 09:45:27 AM »

Come on nuh man bitter? That Essien tackle was a hard luck for Diaby, they both were reaching for the ball and Diaby foot reach first and get ketch under Essien. Could've easily have happened the other way around. Seems like yuh suggesting it was intentional.

The formula vs Arsenal:
4. ???
5. Profit!!

Compared to the last 3 games thought, this one was different. It wasn't a case of men vs boys, but of world class finishers finishing. You have to think that Van Persie, Fabregas, Vermaelen, and Walcott would have had some influence. (we will leave Almunia out of that talk)

It used to be that Big 4 teams would match up vs Arsenal and look to win blow for blow, but now they all just play the counter. Which shows a measure of respect for what Arsenal can do if you let them. This is a formula that Arsenal has to figure out how to overcome.

I also think that moving from Highbury to the Emirates worked against them. The smaller field at Highbury meant that they would not get stretched and you would have to face relentless pressure as they pinged it around you.

As for the counter-attacking observation, maybe there is something Wenger can learn from this. You see it as a measure of respect, i see it as teams recognizing the strengths of the opposition and adapting their game plan to suit. Wenger on the other hand want to come out and play the same pretty brand against any opposition and expect it to work. Imo, he kinda tactically inflexible and naive. Sometimes it makes sense to do the same and adapt to suit, if you know that Chelsea setting up to hit you on the counter then why would you continue to pour more men forward into the attack?

The one notable time when Wenger change his team's game to suit the opposition was against Man Utd a few years ago in the FA cup final, and it was ugly but they won.

« Reply #2732 on: October 05, 2010, 10:47:08 AM »
Not saying it was intentional, just saying that is not like them men does go down for ticky-tac fouls. Is some serious kick-down them men does get.

as for Wenger. I agree. He want to stand in the middle of the ring and fight toe-to-toe. Chelsea and Arsenal does bob, weave and counterpunch. At the end of the fight, he does say "that fella face real mash up, you ent see them skills?" and the other side does say, "yeah, but we knock you out in the 9th."

« Reply #2733 on: October 05, 2010, 11:05:33 AM »

The formula vs Arsenal:
4. ???
5. Profit!!

That make sense... Almunia definitely out of that talk lol.
In fairness though look at those two goals chelsea scored I mean really yuh simply have to give it up to chelsea but i really feel getting Vermalean back is a big plus and between me and you I think Clichy gonna be dislodged by Gibbs very soon ..... right now Walcott pace and finishing putting the fear of god in teams  and that would have restricted Coles game significantly and then of course there is Fab.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2734 on: October 16, 2010, 02:04:27 PM »
nice one

again too many chances and build up play leading to nothing

and jack wilshire stupid tackle at the end, at least the lad admitted it was stupid and i am very glad the ref saw fit to book him exactly, now if only they would do that consistently

« Reply #2735 on: October 19, 2010, 06:34:02 PM »
Hail to the Arsenal,,, we are a selling club ;D

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2736 on: October 19, 2010, 06:44:26 PM »
ah yes 6 "arsenal" goals today

bring on city

too bad jack wont be playing it was nice to see him and cesc in the middle with song holding

and nasri and rosicky free to switch up with chamakh up front

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2737 on: October 23, 2010, 02:52:52 PM »
oh shite ah fraid for tomorrow!

city have tevez ade ballotelli and silva all on form

not to mention johnson like a flicking goal seeking missile on the flanks

i feel unless we flood midfeild and check them there and leave it to the defense we will be murdered

my starting line up i hope to see is

chamakh

rosiky cesc nasri walcott

song

gibbs djrouru kosceilny sagna/eboue

fabianski

« Reply #2738 on: October 24, 2010, 09:15:22 AM »
If Fabregas going to call for man tuh geh send off then he need tuh watch his back. I say he will not finish the match! crix bones!

« Reply #2739 on: October 24, 2010, 09:26:02 AM »
Citeh must have 3 of the most out of shape players- the Toure brothers and boetang. Arse and legs for days!

« Reply #2740 on: October 24, 2010, 10:32:56 AM »
2-0 to the Arsenal

Song's golden toe

« Reply #2741 on: October 24, 2010, 10:52:51 AM »
Friggin Bendtner
3-0

« Reply #2742 on: October 24, 2010, 04:56:45 PM »
Citeh must have 3 of the most out of shape players- the Toure brothers and boetang. Arse and legs for days!

Watching the Europa that crossed my mind. I thought several of the players looked heavy.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2743 on: October 24, 2010, 05:09:32 PM »
mancini definitely went with size against arsenal

even with 11 i feel arsenal woulda had them

again wenger waits too long to make changes

walcott needs to get more sweat

cesc penalty was saveable by any keeper

fabianski confidence growing with each game

bring on the magpies! i think

bentner

walcott cesc rosicky randall

denilson

gibbs djrouo koseilny eboue

fabianski/schechzney

good win up to second, if it werent for that stupid performace to west brom sunderland and chelski we would be top

« Reply #2744 on: October 24, 2010, 06:11:54 PM »
if it werent for that stupid performace to west brom sunderland and chelski we would be top

don't know what to say about that comment nah, lol

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2745 on: October 24, 2010, 08:34:29 PM »
if it werent for that stupid performace to west brom sunderland and chelski we would be top

west brom we were a shambles

sunderland we gave away two points

and chelski well luck favoured the champions and we as usual didnt make our own luck

but yuh right enough coulda shoulda woulda

down to just get it effin done lads

« Reply #2746 on: October 25, 2010, 05:30:45 PM »
Bendtner Jet Walcott
Rosicky Diaby Landsbury
Gibbs Djourou Koschelsky Ebouie
Scznesky

« Reply #2747 on: October 26, 2010, 10:51:39 AM »

west brom we were a shambles

sunderland we gave away two points

and chelski well luck favoured the champions and we as usual didnt make our own luck

but yuh right enough coulda shoulda woulda

down to just get it effin done lads

don't get me wrong. i think the same thing yes - if only this, if only that ...
but when i first read it i just had to laugh

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #2748 on: October 26, 2010, 06:22:41 PM »
Bendtner Jet Walcott
Rosicky Diaby Landsbury
Scznesky
[/quote

you just might be right but i think vela might get th enod before JET but i could be wrong what about eastmond?

« Reply #2749 on: October 26, 2010, 07:19:59 PM »
Bendtner Jet Walcott
Rosicky Diaby Landsbury
Scznesky
[/quote

you just might be right but i think vela might get th enod before JET but i could be wrong what about eastmond?

Correct Vela will probably start but Lansbury scored vs Tottenham so I doh think Wenger would start Eastmond in front of him.

« Reply #2750 on: October 26, 2010, 07:23:45 PM »
Friggin Bendtner
3-0

everytime i see that name i does think bartender

« Reply #2751 on: October 27, 2010, 03:51:14 AM »
Bendtner Jet Walcott
Rosicky Diaby Landsbury
Scznesky

Yuh on point. Like Wenger finally wake up to the reality that a win is a win when it comes to trophies and yuh ent win none for years.

Arsène Wenger confirms Arsenal's kids-only Carling Cup policy is over

« Reply #2752 on: October 27, 2010, 07:29:52 AM »
Bendtner Jet Walcott
Rosicky Diaby Landsbury
Scznesky

Yuh on point. Like Wenger finally wake up to the reality that a win is a win when it comes to trophies and yuh ent win none for years.

The truth is with all his players fit his second team is almost as strong as his first team imagine man like Rosicky on the bench and he fit!
This team going to be something special mark my words.

« Reply #2753 on: October 27, 2010, 08:18:05 AM »
Bendtner Jet Walcott
Rosicky Diaby Landsbury
Scznesky

The truth is with all his players fit his second team is almost as strong as his first team imagine man like Rosicky on the bench and he fit!

Very good analysis! If you look at the squad list, not including injuries. You are right.

« Reply #2754 on: October 27, 2010, 08:40:57 AM »
Bendtner Jet Walcott
Rosicky Diaby Landsbury
Scznesky

Very good analysis! If you look at the squad list, not including injuries. You are right.

I don't know if the policy has changed so much. Wenger looks like he's still going to rest his main players.

When you think about it, players like JET, Vela, Gibbs, Lansbury, Sczcesny, Denilson, Wilshere, Ramsey, Eastmond, Walcott are the same "kids" that the headline is referring to. It's just that they're developing and Wenger has kept them at the club. The payoff is that the team now has a lot more depth.

Wenger told to shut mouth
« Reply #2755 on: October 27, 2010, 12:36:53 PM »
Moxey slams Wenger over double standards

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=836500&sec=england&cc=5901
By ESPNsoccernet staff
October 27, 2010

Wolverhampton Wanderers chief executive Jez Moxey has told Arsene Wenger to "keep your mouth shut" about tackling in the game.

Wenger has been a critic of tough tacking teams for years and Mick McCarthy's Wolves have developed a negative reputation this season. Newcastle's Joey Barton came in for special attention from Wolves while Karl Henry saw red after sending Wigan's Jordi Gomez flying earlier this month.

However, Moxey feels the Arsenal boss needs to look closer to home after Jack Wilshere was dismissed against Birmingham for a late challenge. And the young midfielder has been guilty of several mistimed challenges this season.

Moxey told BBC Radio 5Live: "It is an absolute nonsense. Well, I hope he hears this: keep your mouth shut. Play the game, play aggressive, let everybody play.

"Wilshere and your other players are going to make similar challenges.

"I had a big, wry smile listening to Arsene Wenger trying to defend Jack Wilshere for the challenge.

"All he said was exactly the same as every other manager has and yet he is one of the managers who goes on the front foot, moaning and complaining and bitching about it because it is unfair on his team."

« Reply #2756 on: October 27, 2010, 01:39:55 PM »
Well...Wenger could say Wilshere was on loan to Bolton...dahs why.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #2757 on: October 27, 2010, 06:13:53 PM »
i vex gibbs went off injured today...that youth have touches and pace for days...i hope he not out for long

« Reply #2758 on: October 27, 2010, 06:26:17 PM »
well like wenger pull a fast one, because only one starter, Eboue start. Average age 23

Hope Gibbs ok.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
Re: Wenger told to shut mouth
« Reply #2759 on: October 28, 2010, 09:16:08 AM »
Moxey slams Wenger over double standards

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=836500&sec=england&cc=5901
By ESPNsoccernet staff
October 27, 2010

Wolverhampton Wanderers chief executive Jez Moxey has told Arsene Wenger to "keep your mouth shut" about tackling in the game.

Wenger has been a critic of tough tacking teams for years and Mick McCarthy's Wolves have developed a negative reputation this season. Newcastle's Joey Barton came in for special attention from Wolves while Karl Henry saw red after sending Wigan's Jordi Gomez flying earlier this month.

However, Moxey feels the Arsenal boss needs to look closer to home after Jack Wilshere was dismissed against Birmingham for a late challenge. And the young midfielder has been guilty of several mistimed challenges this season.

Moxey told BBC Radio 5Live: "It is an absolute nonsense. Well, I hope he hears this: keep your mouth shut. Play the game, play aggressive, let everybody play.

"Wilshere and your other players are going to make similar challenges.

"I had a big, wry smile listening to Arsene Wenger trying to defend Jack Wilshere for the challenge.

"All he said was exactly the same as every other manager has and yet he is one of the managers who goes on the front foot, moaning and complaining and bitching about it because it is unfair on his team."

moxey is a low class british thug might have money but zero class, probably ignorant too as he failed to see wenger totally admitted wilshire sending off was right and the lad will learn from it
unlike men with way more years who play like that as part of thier game

i am sick of stupid ignorant ppl not listening to what wenger says but rather knee jerk reactions