March 28, 2024, 04:36:41 AM

Author Topic: ARSENAL FORWARD  (Read 891622 times)

Re: ARSENAL FOREVER
« Reply #30 on: July 23, 2007, 01:25:41 PM »
gunners will finish 3rd

watch and see!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #31 on: July 23, 2007, 01:42:32 PM »
At the end of the day...

Arsenal need a proven goalscorer who could score 20+ a season

The supporting striker have to score 12+

and the midfield have to chip in with about 10 goals from the 4-5 men running the show.

All big teams with any sort of title ambition have the above.

I still find we need a good goalkeeper and a good central defensive midfielder with steel to cover Gilberto Silva.

We have the pretty beat and flick men.

Adebayor have to learn the art of scoring goals and Van persie have a real task ahead of him.

We need to buy a Big fwd and a Big defensive midfielder.

But once Wenger is there...we have plenty hope.

Plenty men memory short.  They forget that Arsenal youth team reach the League Cup final without the help of senior team players.

Touches, Diaby providing that steel that we lost when Viera left.

Van Persie is going to have a monster season.

Denilson (the U-23 Brazilian center midfielder) played well last year and will step up.

Hleb is now fully acclimatised to the English league so look for big things from him too.

Has Rosicky even started to show what he can do?  Watch this space.

Wenger signed the Polish keeper Lucasz Fabianski.  If anyone knows talent it is Arsegne.  Lehmann has one more good year left in him. 

With all that being said.....

We need a central defender in the worst way.  THAT is what I am concerned about.

Arsenal will challenge for honors this season as always.  Look for a top 3 league finish.

I would like to presribe a dose of reality.....

-------------------------------------
The only proven star player left on that side now is Fabregas. You need stars to win you trophies.

A good defense is always more important than a potent attack.  Central defense of Gallas and Toure are a good pairing, but the cover is poor. Senderos and Djorou hardly inspire confidence, and in a long 60+ game season, good cover is needed in these key positions.

Arsenal is making no solid investment in the team geared at pushing for the league title, whilst all other teams are strengthening their teams. Gallas and all done start griping already.

This is Lehmann fall off year since he really eh have nothing to play for this year. He old plus international career over. Look out for some howlers early in de season before Fabianski step in.

The club is in disarray. The board dont know if they selling the team. Wenger won't commit and still sour over the David Dein issue. The franchise player Henry buss out. All in all, it ent no feel-good factor around Highbury these days.

Wenger doesn't understand the value of experience in a squad, hence his 1 yr contract after 30 policy.. Looks like Ljungberg out de door next once again devoiding de side of maturity and experience..

Arsenal will be competing for 4th/5th place this year
----------------------

Now I advise to take this dose twice daily with meals to prevent recurrence of hallucinations about pushing for any titles this year. Take as advised and see me again next May.

« Reply #32 on: July 23, 2007, 01:54:11 PM »
The Appiah rumor was around before the start of last season too. And reports are claiming that Appiah has turned down other moves because he wants to move to Arsenal in particular.

I agree with Jahyouth that central defense is Arsenal's weak area.  End of last season they were even using Gilberto as a center back. IMO, Senderos and Djourou are not quality enough cover. Reports say that Sagna can play across the back line (dont know enough about him to comment), so maybe thats an option since Arsenal already has Eboue, Hoyte and Gilbert in the right back position.

« Reply #33 on: July 23, 2007, 02:09:18 PM »
Allyuh lose ljungberg for a measly 3m pounds??

Tell dem freddie, tell dem....

West Ham signs Ljungberg from Arsenal

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/7046354

LONDON (AP) - West Ham signed Fredrik Ljungberg from Arsenal on Monday, ending the Sweden captain's nine-year stay in north London.

The 30-year-old midfielder had been Arsenal's longest-serving player, scoring 72 goals in 328 games, but started just 16 Premier League matches last season because of injury.

The Hammers agreed to pay a fee that could rise to as much as 3 million pounds (US$6.2 million; €4.7 million), with Ljungberg signing a four-year contract.

Ljungberg becomes the second high-profile player to leave the Gunners since the end of last season, following Thierry Henry, and becomes West Ham's fifth acquisition since it narrowly avoided demotion from the Premier League.

"Two years ago when I signed my last contract, we talked a lot about the future," Ljungberg said. "We talked about buying top players ... but that never really happened.

"When Thierry left this summer, it felt a little bit like the end."

West Ham has signed Craig Bellamy, Scott Parker, Julien Faubert and Richard Wright for close to 20 million pounds (US$41.2 million; €29.8 million) since it beat Manchester United on the last day of the season to secure its topflight place.

Ljungberg joined Arsenal in September 1998 from Swedish club Halmstad for 3 million pounds (US$6.2 million; €4.7 million) and scored on his debut as a substitute against Manchester United.

He twice won the Premier League and won three FA Cups with the Gunners.

"I'd been there nine years, almost 10 years," Ljungberg said. "It's a big thing for me, but I want to go forward."                                                                                                                                                                                                       
« Last Edit: July 23, 2007, 02:11:04 PM by omarldinho »

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #34 on: July 23, 2007, 02:25:05 PM »
This goes out to all bandwagonistas out there in trinbago!

when arsenal win things next season doh play yuh wasn't crying us down during summer!

allez! allez! wenger!

Let me make sure and quote this post, because I am sure we will return to this thread many times during the season after another gunner loss,and i dont want nobody editing the words they will then have to swallow.

whatever yes haha migth draw or loose one or two

btw nice pic of we boys in sunderland!

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #35 on: July 23, 2007, 02:28:26 PM »
leh we see what wenger could do with this bunch + he veterans.

Ins: Bacary Sagna (Auxerre, undisclosed), Lukasz Fabianski (Legia Warsaw, £2m), Eduardo da Silva (Dinamo Zagreb, undisclosed), Havard Nordtveit (FK Haugesund, undisclosed).

Outs: Jeremie Aliadiere (Middlesbrough, £2m), Fabrice Muamba (Birmingham, undisclosed), Mart Poom (Watford, free), Arturo Lupoli (Fiorentina, free), Thierry Henry (Barcelona £16.1m).

doh forget Ljungberg jus leave to......

gunners will be lucky IF dey finish in de top 5.

anyone predicting such nonsense really doesn't know thier football and appear to be riding on the red devils coat tail.

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
« Reply #36 on: July 23, 2007, 03:04:46 PM »
Arsenal Have nuttin to win next season is only SALTTT!!!!!!

« Reply #37 on: July 23, 2007, 03:28:51 PM »
Ljungberg is one of the most underrated players around. Arsenal really losing a lot with him gone.

« Reply #38 on: July 23, 2007, 03:37:44 PM »
Ljungberg is one of the most underrated players around. Arsenal really losing a lot with him gone.

Ljungberg is past his best and is very prone to injury. Great service to Arsenal and great memories, but time to move on

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #39 on: July 23, 2007, 04:34:25 PM »
Some ah dem arsenal fans suffering from "battered wives" syndrome.  They getting planass right thru from dat team  and constantly coming back for more.  Henry leave, Viera leave, Pires, Ljunberg, Reyes....all BIG BIG PLAYERS and they still  talkin nonsense bout how wenger doin the right thing!  How old is Giggsy and Scholes? Them men is the heart ah Man U and ushered in the youths nice nice last year.  Who ushering in the youths at Arsenal? Gallas? hahaha. yuh always need veterans. always.

Allyuh husband Wenger yet to sign a new contract.  Allyuh go keep taking them hard slap and wait for him to leave, before ya'll start questioning that relationship? Ah mean, committment to yuh squad is one thing, but turning a blind eye to all that abuse is another.  At least question the decisions nah!!! Have a opinion.

Compete? compete for wha? like allyuh aint seeing what Liverpool, Man U, Chelsea and Tottenham do this off season or wha? Who allyuh counter wid? Fabianski and Da Silva? cmon fellas....stop taking licks....
« Last Edit: July 23, 2007, 04:44:37 PM by SOBRIQUET »
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #40 on: July 23, 2007, 06:31:57 PM »
stueps arsenal in a mess  :D

« Reply #41 on: July 23, 2007, 06:38:00 PM »
One a de bess tings bout dis messageboard is de ability to go back in time...leh we say when a season done and see de dotishness some people was torkin and trow it back in dem face... 8)

« Reply #42 on: July 23, 2007, 07:54:37 PM »
true eh!..back in dey blasted face  :devil: licks fuh all ah dem haters.....

« Reply #43 on: July 24, 2007, 12:55:55 AM »
gunners will finish 3rd

watch and see!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dat sounds about right.

Chelsea 1st - Manutd 2nd - Arsenal 3rd but then, there is always liverpool????  Forget I said anything..

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #44 on: July 24, 2007, 03:10:15 AM »
I have always said the sign of a true fan is to stick it out through thick and thin.

ALL big sides have had periods of a slump in form, where they didn't win anything, where they were rebuilding. Anybody who says otherwise only following de EPL since 1999.

There was a time when Man U was in disarray and they wanted Fergie head. Allyuh forget bout dat? They wasn't winning boo!

Chelsea was all but gone from de top flight in de EPL until Abrahamovic buy dem, and dey get big money to spend.

Even Liverpool, that great champions league winner has had some quiet years. More than most of the other top teams tbh.

Like allyuh forget just 2004 Arsenal won de double, and without losing ah damn game all season. Allyuh memory short.

Arsenal will rise again. They will get de big names again. They will win things again. Life is a cycle and our time will come again.

Viva la Arsenal!!!!!
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #45 on: July 24, 2007, 06:26:19 AM »
kids

please save this i want to read all the post may next year.

man u we beat allyuh in d fa cup two years ago, we beat allyuh twice last year, all for nothing but bragging rights because you won the, league, chelsea won the two cups. and liverpool reach champs league final.

no more excuses proof is in the pudding the table doesn't lie

we lacked goals last year...things are gonna change, i can feel it.

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #46 on: July 24, 2007, 10:35:38 PM »

Ljungberg is past his best and is very prone to injury. Great service to Arsenal and great memories, but time to move on

http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=478376&CPID=8&clid=3&lid=1490&title=The+decline+of+Ljungberg

Wenger knows when to fold em.

The decline of Ljungberg
By Duncan Alexander -  Created on 23 Jul 2007
PREMIERSHIP SEASON 2007-08
Arsenal are 40/1 to win the Premiership and the Carling Cup. Click for more special markets!

Fredrik Ljungberg
The news that long-serving Arsenal midfielder Freddie Ljungberg has left the club to move to West Ham United was not unexpected but it will be a sad day nonetheless for many Gunners fans.

The Swedish international had racked up nine seasons under the tutelage of Arsene Wenger but leaves just a year before he would have been due a testimonial.

But perhaps it was the perfect time for Ljungberg to depart, before his reputation at the North London club had became permanently sullied, for the past two campaigns have rarely seen him hit the heights that were once his trademark.

1998-99 1999-00* 2000-01 2001-02 2002-03 2003-04 2004-05 2005-06 2006-07
Appearances 16 26 30 25 20 30 26 25 18
Goals 1 6 6 12 6 4 10 1 0
Goals/game 0.06 0.23 0.20 0.48 0.30 0.13 0.38 0.04 0.00
Shooting Accuracy 53% 63% 55% 57% 67% 51% 70% 54% 50%
Goal Assists 0 2 6 4 1 5 8 3 0

Indeed, in his final two terms at Arsenal, Ljungberg scored only one goal, a paltry return from a player who twice racked double figures in a single season.

Interestingly, Ljungberg's shooting accuracy never fell below 50% in his time at Arsenal but the goals simply dried up in his latter years.

2006-07 also saw him fail to create a Premiership goal for the first time since his debut campaign.

Ljungberg also managed a mere 18 games last season, only one more than Thierry Henry, another Gunners deserter this summer.

And while Henry will plan to add to his glittering reputation at Barcelona, the feeling persists that Ljungberg has used his fabled sense of timing to make his move at exactly the right moment.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2007, 10:43:31 AM by takenoprisoners »

« Reply #47 on: July 24, 2007, 10:54:18 PM »
Some ah dem arsenal fans suffering from "battered wives" syndrome.  They getting planass right thru from dat team  and constantly coming back for more.  Henry leave, Viera leave, Pires, Ljunberg, Reyes....all BIG BIG PLAYERS and they still  talkin nonsense bout how wenger doin the right thing!  How old is Giggsy and Scholes? Them men is the heart ah Man U and ushered in the youths nice nice last year.  Who ushering in the youths at Arsenal? Gallas? hahaha. yuh always need veterans. always.

Allyuh husband Wenger yet to sign a new contract.  Allyuh go keep taking them hard slap and wait for him to leave, before ya'll start questioning that relationship? Ah mean, committment to yuh squad is one thing, but turning a blind eye to all that abuse is another.  At least question the decisions nah!!! Have a opinion.

Compete? compete for wha? like allyuh aint seeing what Liverpool, Man U, Chelsea and Tottenham do this off season or wha? Who allyuh counter wid? Fabianski and Da Silva? cmon fellas....stop taking licks....
After all this talk Gunners beating Chelsea right through this year.

« Reply #48 on: July 25, 2007, 10:25:33 AM »
All the Arsenal haters will hurry up and hush dey ass soon enough.

« Reply #49 on: July 25, 2007, 02:00:42 PM »
fack arsenal  :devil:

« Reply #50 on: July 25, 2007, 02:27:06 PM »
manchester will put it in alyuh "nani"  ;D

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #51 on: July 25, 2007, 02:55:43 PM »

After all this talk Gunners beating Chelsea right through this year.

that sound good. but in morinho 3 years there, how many times Arsenal beat Chelsea, whether FA cup, carling cup or League title? .....want the answer?

...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #52 on: July 25, 2007, 03:29:22 PM »
I Love Arsenal forever but my wife does beat when I show my true feelings  >:(

Is that so  :devil: ;D

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #53 on: July 25, 2007, 09:05:31 PM »

too right jefferz too right, cannot wait for august 12th, that sunday man arsenal and chelsea play thier first games of the season, time will tell and the table never lies.

its easy to back jordan every season and say the bulls will win every year. but it takes a true man to stay true to himself and keep moving forward

viva arsenal!

« Reply #54 on: July 25, 2007, 09:50:34 PM »

too right jefferz too right, cannot wait for august 12th, that sunday man arsenal and chelsea play thier first games of the season, time will tell and the table never lies.

its easy to back jordan every season and say the bulls will win every year. but it takes a true man to stay true to himself and keep moving forward

viva arsenal!

good talk... where all the Chicago Bulls fans gone?  Long time anywhere yuh turn in Trinidad men is Chicago Bulls fans.  Whey allyuh gone?

Arsenal men, doh worry.  We go still challenge for top 3 honours this year.

« Reply #55 on: July 27, 2007, 11:35:15 AM »
Imagine Trinidad in an annual Concacaf league. We beat the US both times. Draw with Mexico both times. But we go and drop a set of points against St Kitts, Barbados etc (in games that we should have won) and end up finishing 3rd in league. Half the season Stern was injured. And Kenwyne who had step up and was scoring real goals was injured for a large part of the season too. After the tournament Stern retire.

What you think would be the story? Men would be saying that once we put away the smaller sides we could win the tournament next year. We show that we have the quality when we beat the States. Yea, Stern retire but we miss him for half the season and we still showed class when he wasnt there.

But if is Arsenal you talking about in the same situation, men bawling you delusional.

I am quietly confident that Arsenal CAN challenge but I will wait and see before I start giving man talk. Cause the way I see it Arsenal fans who saying Arsenal will do this and that, eh no different from Man U and Chelsea fans who saying Arsenal will not do this and that.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #56 on: July 31, 2007, 07:13:48 AM »
i just simply saying

i cant wait fo rit to start and start seeing results on the board, man u get away quiet a few games last year, pundits will continue to speculate, and haters will always look to step on yuh hand whuile you try to tie your laces.

but hear this we are not done for we are not going to be relegated and we are not going to do worse than we did the last two years, one of which was beat manu in the fa cup and twice in the season once without thierry. so we know our porblem, we not killing off teams not bulging the old onion bag, but we working on that and thingsa re gonan change i can feel it

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #57 on: August 03, 2007, 08:01:08 AM »
right

so yesterday arsenal beat lazio 2-1

bendtner scored and eduardo scored the winner!

ajax on saturday bitches

warming up nicely bad news adebayor is out for the season opener lets hope not much longer

« Reply #58 on: August 03, 2007, 08:26:20 AM »
arsenal fans, right now in the epl standings the teams are listed in alphabetical order an arsenal are on top as a result of that. SO ENJOY IT.cause it aint going to happen once the season starts.

its a 3 horse race get with the program

Offline TRUwarrior

« Reply #59 on: August 03, 2007, 09:56:36 AM »
AssAnal fans gettin  teef head wid dis pre season
allyuh winnin nuttin dis season...matter of fact spurs takin allyuh 4th place :rotfl: