April 29, 2024, 10:23:07 AM

Author Topic: ARSENAL FORWARD  (Read 901886 times)

Re: ARSENAL FOREVER
« Reply #1470 on: May 12, 2009, 07:52:48 AM »
1. Wenger put Song, Nasri and Fabregas in the center against Lampard, Essien and Mikel - I knew that was trouble from the time I see that line up. No physical presence! How can you play with five in the midfield and your midfield still looking thin! The midfield needs balance and strength. They look good going forward in the opening stages, but other than Song the entire midfield is non-existent defensively. IMO Arsenal defenders not as bad as they look, is the midfield setting them up most of the time by leaving them exposed. (Chelsea second goal was the perfect example. Watch how Nasri just escort Anelka right through the midfield.)

2. No matter what people say, IMO injuries hurting Arsenal more than anything else. Even if they can do with more depth, I don't think any of the other big teams have suffered as many injuries as Arsenal. Any team missing their "equivalent" of Van Persie, Eduardo, Rosicky, Gallas, Clichy, Fabregas etc. for as long as Arsenal missed those players this season would have a hard time. What to do about that? I don't know. (Fed up of that excuse.)

3. For next season, Arsenal needs a bush bath and a couple Mascherano type midfielders. The midfield lacking strength, aggression and defensive qualities. (Arshavin looking like he's Arsenal's hardest toughest midfielder at the moment  :-\)

arsenal not converting their chances is down to cech

Cech make them shoot off target  ??? ??? The finishing was poor. Walcott especially.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1471 on: May 12, 2009, 08:51:52 AM »
ONE positive i am seeing on the web site
is thehonesty in which the players are expressing thier concerns abou tthe season and are ready to accpet change by taking an inward  look finding our weaknesses and dealing with it

Offline trinihenry

« Reply #1472 on: May 12, 2009, 10:25:22 AM »
Until Arsenal buy some steel and a good finisher who could stay fit we ent going a place.

Almunia had a few good games near the end of the season but for the most part he let in some good filth too.

I say get a better keeper, a good center back and a bruiser in the middle with skill. Song gettin better but he ent world class.

Van Persie is wet kite paper...flimsy for so and Adebayor while decent..I cyar handle all the attidude and feel he is d shit when he strike rate tepid.

Finally bendtner...oh he young he young..give him time...steups...bendtner is shit, with a capital S and a touch like a wall.

The difference between arsenal and the top 3 is that the others have a "world class" player in all areas of the field. Also the sub is world class as well and when it comes down to injury or form each team has players to choose from.

Arsenal small men ent ready...the hard luck ting have to stop...we have to buy some men who in they prime, milk them for a 2-3 years and then sell them off.

The grooming of small men does backfire as they does leave when they get a better offer elsewhere.

Lastly...Arsenal physio is the England physio...but that man just cyar keep players fit and the injuries arsenal players have just mindboggling at times...Rosicky have a thigh injury for a season? Van persie should be called sicknote..he giving owen competition.

Also too if diarra or flamini didnt leave Arsenal woulda be in a good position. I ent mind Hleb leaving as he had no end product but he was entertaining.

Wenger hadda get some real ballers and at least about 4-5 of them. Until that we will always be hoping for something.

No steel = No trophies

Look at it this way, Even if you include a meaning less beating at the hands of chelsea over the weekend, arsenals record against Englands so called elite is second to none. If the league was based on head to head match-ups against da top four, we would be sitting ontop.

Its the stokes and Hulls of the league that we continue to stumble against, This shows that there is enough quality to win trophies, we just gotta have tht killer instinct. Killer instinct has nothing to do with physical abilities, its purely mental. Boo teams are no longer intimidated by arsenal because they have gotten success against in recent times. When you play a team like stoke they should be defeated before the enter da pitch.

All this talk about needing better players, the only position I see that could be upgraded is the defensive midfielder position. There are a lot of quality defensive midfielders out there, steel in midfield is not hard to find. When it comes to other areas we got to face reality, our defense contains two of the best wingbacks in world football, sagna and clichy, combined with two solid center halfs, toure and gallas. where can u find an upgrade, make suggestions. Top class center backs are hard to come by and clubs who have them arent willing to let them go, not for all da money in the world. To say arsenal need attacking prowess is a joke cu they always gonna create chances, always gonna score goals, any decent finisher can end up with 20 goals a season easy. They say almunia is shyt, but who you could sign out there that better than him. If you bringing in men they must upgrade your team, and frankly I only see  signing a world-class defensive midfielder as being a benefit to da team.

I know this sounding old, but with every passing season the team get more and more experience, is only a matter of time.........Cool nah man...trophies soon come

« Reply #1473 on: May 12, 2009, 10:59:32 AM »
They really just need some solid centre backs and a solid, experienced central midfielder.. Song improving but still not the finished product yet. Gallas and Toure are a good combo but not world class and also need competition for their places..

Goalscoring is not a problem for them. They have more than enough attackers in that squad to get the job done. Adebayor, Bendtner for power/holdup, Van Persie, Arshavin for 2nd striker/creativity, then any of eduardo, walcott, vela, Rosicky, Nasri that gives them depth up front and on the wings..  This team will always score goals and have more than enough nippy, skillful small men.

I know i've said this before but if they keep the squad together over the summer, I feel they will be a force to reckon with next season.. They really weren't that bad but were hurt in the last month by the lack of depth in defence that have them depending on a shitong like Silvestre.

The problem is that yuh need horses for courses..

Against Chelsea and Manchester United, it was a straight case of men against boys. For all their possesion, creativity and attractiveness, they never looked like they were in control of the game. Thats down to inexperience and a lack of steel.

If I could go so far as suggest signings that would make a difference, I would say they should target players of the calibre of Marcos Senna, Gennaro Gattuso, Mamadou Diarra for CDM.. Maybe men like Jagielka, Lucio, Phillipe Mexes, Daniel Agger for central defence.

« Reply #1474 on: May 12, 2009, 11:14:41 AM »

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1475 on: May 12, 2009, 01:08:59 PM »
yeah what dixon saying is true

arsenal do not have a "back bone" a main core of the team

old core seaman, adams, brady, smith

seaman adams viera anelka

seaman campbel viera thierry

lehman campbel viera thierry

today??

almunia toure?? song/denilson?? ade

i didnt mention the creative midfielders, i am dealing with the backbone of the side, liek dixon said viera wasn't a passing specialist but he relieved pressure on the backs and allowed the rest of mid feild and forward to link well

Hope for Arsenal: Premier League plans quota system
« Reply #1476 on: May 12, 2009, 09:48:03 PM »
Premier League plans quota system to increase number of 'home-grown' players

Link

Premier League clubs could receive financial rewards for nurturing English talent and may adopt a quota system ensuring that a minimum number of "home-grown" players feature in squads from next year.

By Paul Kelso, Chief Sports Reporter
Last Updated: 8:43PM BST 12 May 2009

The measures, intended to boost the number of domestic players featuring in Premier League first teams and ultimately further the cause of the England team, have been produced in response to pressure from culture secretary Andy Burnham.

On Monday the League announced new financial regulations in response to Burnham's concerns over the game's relationship with money, and on Tuesday chief executive Richard Scudamore unveiled further moves intended to meet his demands on youth development.

White paper: Premier League cheif executive Richard Scudamore intends to require clubs to produce local players in order to improve the chances of the national side Photo: GETTY IMAGES

The clubs will also be asked to agree to a quota system based on models used by Uefa and the Football League. The Uefa model requires eight of a squad of 25 to be 'locally produced', with at least four being trained at the club for at least three years between the ages of 16-21. The Football League model specifies that four members of each match-day squad of 16 have to be locally produced on the same terms.

Neither measure guarantees that the players make the first team, nor that clubs will produce more English players. European labour law proscribes that Arsenal's Spanish captain, Cesc Fabregas, is classed as locally produced in the same way as Islington-born team-mate Jack Wilshere.

In the past, the Premier League's view has been that quotas were little more than window dressing but a combination of pragmatism, political pressure and evidence has changed that view.

"We are not protectionist and we do not want artificial limits on who can come in. What we do want is to raise standards so that the English talent emerges and negates the need for clubs to bring in foreign talent," Scudamore said. "But I am a pragmatist, and the quotas have clearly not hurt our teams in the Champions League; in fact we have had our most successful run in the competition since they came in."

Scudamore's explanation is instructive. The free-market principles that underpin his stewardship of the League remain, but they are not inviolate in the face of changing political weather. It is an approach that has informed the League's entire response to Burnham, who wrote to the football authorities in October posing questions about competitive balance, debt, home-grown players and financial regulation.

There was a time when Scudamore's private answer would have been unprintable, but a combination of Burnham's standing in the game, a recognition of the changing public mood and a strategic eye on future battles has led to a more conciliatory, if typically dexterous response.

The League's reforms, though welcome, address Burnham's areas of concern without threatening the business model that has driven the League to its heights.

Just as telling is what the League's response does not do. Burnham's intervention was motivated by his belief that football needs to reassess its relationship with money. That is a view rejected by the Premier League and the philosophical divide over football's existential question remains. For that Scudamore is unapologetic.

"Philosophically, there is a gap between us, but I look at the evidence," he said. "I look at attendances, I look at the success of the England team… I look at the interest in English football, and I look at the quality of football that is played. It is better than it has ever been in my lifetime, so I cannot sign up to the idea that things are not better than they have ever been."

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #1477 on: May 13, 2009, 07:42:18 AM »
Alyuh read this

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/8043557.stm

Isn't that the same thing I was saying ... ? No protection from the midfield

1. Wenger put Song, Nasri and Fabregas in the center against Lampard, Essien and Mikel - I knew that was trouble from the time I see that line up. No physical presence! How can you play with five in the midfield and your midfield still looking thin! The midfield needs balance and strength. They look good going forward in the opening stages, but other than Song the entire midfield is non-existent defensively. IMO Arsenal defenders not as bad as they look, is the midfield setting them up most of the time by leaving them exposed. (Chelsea second goal was the perfect example. Watch how Nasri just escort Anelka right through the midfield.)

3. For next season, Arsenal needs a bush bath and a couple Mascherano type midfielders. The midfield lacking strength, aggression and defensive qualities. (Arshavin looking like he's Arsenal's hardest toughest midfielder at the moment  :-\)
« Last Edit: May 13, 2009, 07:45:31 AM by dwn »

« Reply #1478 on: May 13, 2009, 08:07:35 AM »

2. No matter what people say, IMO injuries hurting Arsenal more than anything else. Even if they can do with more depth, I don't think any of the other big teams have suffered as many injuries as Arsenal. Any team missing their "equivalent" of Van Persie, Eduardo, Rosicky, Gallas, Clichy, Fabregas etc. for as long as Arsenal missed those players this season would have a hard time. What to do about that? I don't know. (Fed up of that excuse.)

arsenal not converting their chances is down to cech

Cech make them shoot off target  ??? ??? The finishing was poor. Walcott especially.

As a response to #2....The problem is the strength and conditioning staff along with the medical staff/physio. The players are not strong enough and they lack the conditioning to make up for it with workrate a la Flamini. It's obvious as the one player with natural strength, Song, has been the only one to thrive throughout this season.

Not only do we need some players with more experience but we also need our players to be better prepared physically. You can't win just on skill and guile, especially given the number of competitions we enter. Chelsea is the best example. They virtually play the same starting team in all competitions, with few changes here or there. We don't have one player, like Lampard can last the entire season.

Touches, the England physio is the former Arsenal physio. Capello forced him to give up sharing duties. His replacement at Arsenal is his nephew I believe.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1479 on: May 13, 2009, 09:47:26 AM »
i think arsneal should bring in tony adams as defensive manager

Offline TRUwarrior

« Reply #1480 on: May 13, 2009, 09:57:22 AM »
This Sums Up Wenger LOL shit coach :devil:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IATpMoL-kQc

« Reply #1481 on: May 13, 2009, 10:46:58 AM »
Arsenal is mentally weak. They have players any of the lower tier clubs would kill for.
They just don't know how to win ugly and pull out the hard games a la Man U.
Iz not every game you gonna play pretty football.
You have to have the mental strength to grind it out. That starts with an effective leader on the field.

I mean I love Arshavin, but there is no way he should be the captain after such a short spell with the team. That just highlights the lack of leadership.

But Arshavin, Walcott, Ade, Van Persie, Fabregas, Nasri, Rosicky, Bendtner, Vela and Fabregas should be a best attack in the world.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1482 on: May 13, 2009, 07:26:21 PM »
see what happens in summer yes

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #1483 on: May 14, 2009, 04:20:39 PM »
Angry Arsenal manager
Arsene Wenger is fuming as dismayed fans get the knives out
By SIMON CASS Last updated at 10:40 PM on 14th May 2009

Arsene Wenger took a fresh swipe at Arsenal's negative fans after shareholders attacked him for yet another season without silverware.

The Frenchman was forced into an impassioned defence of both his record and his players during a stormy question-and-answer session in which defender Mikael Silvestre was branded a 'geriatric'.

Wenger, insisting a run of 21 games unbeaten proved his team's spirit, said: 'We have a young team and we need the supporters to be supportive.

Impassioned defence: Fuming Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger was forced to defend his barren four year trophy spell during a stormy question and answer session

It is easy to sit in the stand and say that they are not up for the fight.

'What they have done in this negative environment shows what they can do, it shows they can stand up to their responsibilities.'

Turning on the shareholder who claimed Silvestre was past it, Wenger hit back saying: 'I cannot accept what you say about our players. Are you a shareholder? I cannot accept that you speak about the players of your club like that. I don't agree with the terms you use.'

For sale: Uncertainty clouds Adebayor's Emirates future, with several clubs circling the striker

Accusations about Emmanuel Adebayor and Emmanuel Eboue's record of diving were met with rounds of applause while the prospect of the Togo striker leaving in the summer was greeted with cheers of 'hear, hear' from some.

Having said earlier in the day that he would have no problem doing business with other top clubs - including Chelsea - if they came in for Adebayor, Wenger stood up for the striker.

'Adebayor has done fantastically well for the club,' he said.

'All the big clubs wanted him last summer and it will be the same again this summer. Some players have bad periods.

'If they don't do well it is because they have lost confidence. But the only way to help a guy who has lost confidence is to support him. Slaughtering him it does not help him.

'One day you will look back at this period and say it is not disastrous. I am not pretentious enough to think I do not make mistakes. But you have to give me one credit.'

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1181836/Wengers-fuming-dismayed-Arsenal-fans-knives-out.html?ITO=1490

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1484 on: May 15, 2009, 01:47:00 PM »
come on you GOONERS

luck be on our side cus were going to need all of it tomorrow!

« Reply #1485 on: May 15, 2009, 07:30:51 PM »

Gunner..Brady was bout 10 years before Adams and crew  ;)
mid 80's i would say woulda been Lukic, Oleary, Perry Groves and Charlie Nicholas
yes I used to be an Arsenal fan until Wenger get rid of all the English players..that is why they can't win ugly now
them fellas these days just have no stomach to go play a match on a 2nd Division pitch and grind out a result on a cold rainy night

btw..allyuh try and do something special tomorrow nah  :-*

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1486 on: May 15, 2009, 07:41:21 PM »

Gunner..Brady was bout 10 years before Adams and crew  ;)
mid 80's i would say woulda been Lukic, Oleary, Perry Groves and Charlie Nicholas
yes I used to be an Arsenal fan until Wenger get rid of all the English players..that is why they can't win ugly now
them fellas these days just have no stomach to go play a match on a 2nd Division pitch and grind out a result on a cold rainy night

btw..allyuh try and do something special tomorrow nah  :-*
i suppose since we live in a free world you can change your team you support but thats still lame in my book

i do agree i miss the good ole arsenal days of boozy adams and gambling merse, but wenger whipped the old boys into shap and got more years out of them, some thing during that time must have made him decide against longer contracts to older players

as for tomorrow to ass with liverpool fans even if we do beat manchester at ole trafford they play hull and i guarantee fergie not losing that one with the title on the line

« Reply #1487 on: May 16, 2009, 01:43:48 PM »
One thing, one thing you all was asked to do and you could not do it......stueps.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1488 on: May 16, 2009, 07:25:35 PM »
One thing, one thing you all was asked to do and you could not do it......stueps.
nor could you guys lol
chokers
4-4 at home
tores on the bench and losing games early in the season yeah way to challenge for the title rafa

Offline makaveli

« Reply #1489 on: May 17, 2009, 01:25:04 AM »
Arsenal is mentally weak. They have players any of the lower tier clubs would kill for.
They just don't know how to win ugly and pull out the hard games a la Man U.
Iz not every game you gonna play pretty football.
You have to have the mental strength to grind it out. That starts with an effective leader on the field.

I mean I love Arshavin, but there is no way he should be the captain after such a short spell with the team. That just highlights the lack of leadership.

But Arshavin, Walcott, Ade, Van Persie, Fabregas, Nasri, Rosicky, Bendtner, Vela and Fabregas should be a best attack in the world.

???

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1490 on: May 17, 2009, 07:05:11 AM »
Saddis i hate the effin reporters in london

they rail arsenal all the time about buying which is true and proven because of results

THEN they go and start talk that arsenal only have 13 mil to buy WTF??

they have no proof, arsenal ONLY makes statements through their regular channels

buy printing such shit it scares possible targets further away, Wenger stated it and its true as soon as a club/manager hears arsenal is interested (any bog club) the price doubles

i'll be amazed to see what Wenger pulls out of the hat this summer

« Reply #1491 on: May 17, 2009, 07:15:59 AM »
Arsenal have quality that is for sure. After November they only lost one game and that was to ManU in the CL semi. Then it ws a matter of falling apart followed with the loss to Chelsea. Arsenal started shakey early season and everyone said they would not finish in the top 5. They went to the CL semi final & FA semifinal and all playing good football. Ok Arsenal need some depth, but more importantly they have to stay injury free. I don't think they are that far off.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1492 on: May 17, 2009, 07:06:45 PM »
if we made semi-finals the last fours years sure
but we want to be in the finals
and win it

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1493 on: May 19, 2009, 08:35:48 AM »
i see a totally young side at home on sunday against stoke

« Reply #1494 on: May 20, 2009, 06:57:12 AM »
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/football_focus/8053447.stm

BBC video:
Arsenal striker Emmanuel Adebayor says Gunners fans are wrong to vent their frustrations at him and his team-mates despite a fourth trophyless season.

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #1495 on: May 20, 2009, 03:45:34 PM »

Walcott models Arsenal's new away kit.

« Reply #1496 on: May 20, 2009, 04:57:27 PM »

Walcott models Arsenal's new away kit.

Nice..when de adult sizes go be out?  :devil:
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1497 on: May 20, 2009, 05:53:53 PM »
haha hehe hoho

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1498 on: May 22, 2009, 02:22:45 PM »
can't wait for sunday see what the babies can produce.

plus alot of other interesting games to be seen

sunday on my couch i say

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1499 on: May 24, 2009, 01:27:07 AM »
roumor mills starting

ade to city

arsenal in for alonso