February 13, 2025, 12:46:03 PM

Author Topic: ARSENAL FORWARD  (Read 1183846 times)

Re: ARSENAL FOREVER
« Reply #1710 on: August 15, 2009, 04:56:29 PM »
Looks as if the Arsenal mode of over-playing the game, and sometimes over complicating the approach play

Does the 4-3-3 encourage a more direct game? Instead of overplaying the lateral passes in a 4-5-1 or 4-4-2 that extra forward in a 4-3-3 perhaps presents the midfielder with more direct passing  options. Just a theory.

I would not say so. Arsenal first goal was typical Arsenal full of passes and then a long range bullet. Then two set play gaosl (unlike Arsenal). Then Everton had no choice but to come forward and got caught on the counter. For me today Van Persie was not effective and looked uncomfortable, then again he will need time in this new role. All in all I did not see any evidence of direct play from Arsenal.  Overall their counter attack looked more effective (speed wise).

« Reply #1711 on: August 15, 2009, 05:59:56 PM »
There is no way TIM HOWARD was in the goal for everton. No way any keeper that is as good as Casillas could get 6.

« Reply #1712 on: August 15, 2009, 09:37:52 PM »

I would not say so. Arsenal first goal was typical Arsenal full of passes and then a long range bullet. Then two set play gaosl (unlike Arsenal). Then Everton had no choice but to come forward and got caught on the counter. For me today Van Persie was not effective and looked uncomfortable, then again he will need time in this new role. All in all I did not see any evidence of direct play from Arsenal.  Overall their counter attack looked more effective (speed wise).

Don't think their play was direct per se...after all it's Arsenal- the patient passing game is their thing.... but I think there was alot less over-passing than they've been notorious for over the years....
« Last Edit: August 16, 2009, 09:20:03 AM by kicker »

« Reply #1713 on: August 15, 2009, 10:11:12 PM »

quietly confident about this season...will feel better when we buy a defensive mid and another fwd

I say a DM and a CB.
After Vermaelen and Gallas in CB is ..... Djourou/Silvestre/Senderos  :-\
Likewise with DM appears we have no options other than Song and Denilson

We have decent depth in the fwd dept. With this formation players like Nasri, Rosicky and Walcott could be used in the front three rather than in midfield. Add Vela and Wilshere to who played today and that's 9 options.

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #1714 on: August 16, 2009, 08:32:42 AM »
Glad for the great start but was not expecting 6.  Passes and run off de ball looked crisp.  Hope we can play like dis against the likes of Hull, Burney and Wolves as well!!
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1715 on: August 17, 2009, 11:02:18 AM »
ra ready for celtic tomorrow, then bring on the pompey, start the season at home!

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1716 on: August 19, 2009, 07:12:48 AM »
2-0 to the arsenal

a gallas "back" on form

and underpressure own goal

take the lead and go to emirates an catch them on the counter attack

up next portsmouth i believe

also, diaby grew hair, and a goatee, like he commit some crime and change he identity

« Reply #1717 on: August 19, 2009, 07:20:00 AM »
2-0 to the arsenal

a gallas "back" on form

also, diaby grew hair, and a goatee, like he commit some crime and change he identity

That game was real stale...Neither team created any real good opportunities on goal.

Arsenal was clearly the better team but in the end just wore down the opposition to win...

At least that what's my impression was up until a little after the 2nd goal pretty deep in the 2nd half- put the DVR on fast forward after that. 

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1718 on: August 19, 2009, 11:46:41 AM »
2-0 to the arsenal

a gallas "back" on form

That game was real stale...Neither team created any real good opportunities on goal.

Arsenal was clearly the better team but in the end just wore down the opposition to win...

At least that what's my impression was up until a little after the 2nd goal pretty deep in the 2nd half- put the DVR on fast forward after that. 
quite true but it was arsneals first time in a competitive game at celtic, still they didnt look to nervous but very focused on getting the job done

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1719 on: August 21, 2009, 01:25:28 PM »
ah yes relaxing from after work till that game
cyar wait

Offline onlikecorn

• vibes it up
« Reply #1720 on: August 23, 2009, 04:34:33 AM »
arsenal lookin good . .but it early still . . . cyah wait fuh saturday when they travel to old trafford. ..

also arsenal are rumoured to be in the market for rafael van der vaart who i feel go fit in with their style of play well . .although i was hopin that they bought a proven striker and more so another centre back . .they kinda lackin in the centre back area in terms of depth. . .

but i always backed them so i backin them again this year . . .
allyuh should try this in de us, uk and canada. . .actually works. . . use it instead of google. . and get free ting. . i get real free ting already....

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1721 on: August 24, 2009, 07:56:34 AM »
celtic home then up the road to manu both teams finally get a real test to see what thier "weakened" sides looking like

« Reply #1722 on: August 24, 2009, 10:16:14 AM »
So Van Persie's pass to the English youth to score, was that genius or was the defense shittin down theyself?
Van Persie had 3 defenders around him.

He eh score yet but has 3 assists for the season.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1723 on: August 24, 2009, 03:47:41 PM »
fyi ramsey is welsh, that makes him british not english

anyway teams are very aware of van p threat and have to close him down which opens up fo rthe likes of eduardo and arshavin and mid field

« Reply #1724 on: August 24, 2009, 03:55:41 PM »
So Van Persie's pass to the English youth to score, was that genius or was the defense shittin down theyself?

Good pass- well weighted, but the marking/tracking was non-existent...so a bit of both I suppose....At the end of the day, you'd have to praise the pass more than anything else (and the well timed run)...most through passes are intended at a player that beats an offside trap or was able to escape a marker/achieve isolation be that as it may, it still takes vision & techniqe to execute...

« Reply #1725 on: August 24, 2009, 04:15:22 PM »

It's Van Persie ... so it's genius  ;D

Carlton Cole pass to Defoe ... was that genius?
« Last Edit: August 24, 2009, 04:20:26 PM by dwn »

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1726 on: August 24, 2009, 04:38:48 PM »
carlton need ah cuff in he mout

effin give spurs impetus to go top of table

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1727 on: August 25, 2009, 07:57:46 AM »
Someone is going to get the chance to stake a claim for the first team tomorrow. The captain will not be risked, rightly so, despite the "reassuring" results of his hamstring scan. Happily there is no strain to the muscle and there is a chance that Cesc will be fit for Saturday evening's game. Though on a personal level, I feel disappointed that Celtic's roughing up of the captain has been rewarded with his withdrawal from the second leg, I would also say that if a midfield three of Denilson, Alex Song and Abou Diaby / Aaron Ramsey aren't strong enough to see Arsenal home when they are two goals up, then we're in real trouble. But I have no doubts that whoever replaces Cesc will do so admirably.

Having not been able to get tickets for either the Portsmouth or Celtic games, due to personal circumstances - "personal"? surely you mean financial? - yes, quite right. Anyway, the thought of paying £43+ to see Wigan doesn't really appeal either. On the other hand, I love Blackburn Rovers. Yes, a strange admission to make, I know. But hear me out, before you start shouting at me to start a blog entitled "Tales From Paul Robinson Road" or some such thing. I love Blackburn Rovers because they never seem to take a full allocation of tickets. I guess the fact that the game is a 1.30 PM kick-off, and on a Sunday too, might have had something to do with it, but I've been able to get hold of two £32.50 tickets for the bottom corner of the soon to be named something else "Green" quadrant. I just need to remember not to intimate that Blackburn fans are jumping around like monkeys - long story - and I'm sure my first visit of the new season will be an enjoyable one.

Perhaps the renaming of the quadrants will not happen any time in the immediate future, but it is a relatively small thing that Ivan Gazidis on his radar. I don't think an Arsenal fan alive understood at the time why the board were happy to have fans join in the process of naming bars they'll likely never even drink in, whilst the areas of the ground that you can't avoid were given, if you'll pardon the expression, such colourless titles. It's good to know, though, that this will be rectified and also that the Clock will be returning to a position inside the stadium. It doesn't sound like much, but I think whilst the board, Fiszman, Friar et al did a great job of delivering this huge project on time and on budget, it's the small things that the supporter picks up on.

It's nice to see that Mr Gazidis recognises that the stadium is "our fans' house". It seems to me that this is is something that has escaped the club, even the manager, from time to time. After all, if you didn't like what someone was doing in your house, you wouldn't be slow to tell him so, would you?

Just a small piece of transfer goss to pass on today, or repeat if you've already seen it. My favourite paper as a kid, the Ealing Gazette, reckons that QPR are about to sign Jay Simpson on a season long loan. I've been waiting to see whether Everton selling Lescott will see Senderos much mooted move to Goodison happen, but is it me or has that one died a death?

More tomorrow.

« Reply #1728 on: August 25, 2009, 09:12:18 AM »
We need more depth.  I am never worried about Arsenal in August, September and October.  I am worried about them in February, March and April.

Injuries/fatigue due to lack of squad size.

We need to buy another center back and another striker.  Another center midfielder would also be nice. Miguel Veloso from Sporting is a great buy.

« Reply #1729 on: August 25, 2009, 09:35:05 AM »
We need more depth.  I am never worried about Arsenal in August, September and October.  I am worried about them in February, March and April.

Injuries/fatigue due to lack of squad size.

We need to buy another center back and another striker.  Another center midfielder would also be nice. Miguel Veloso from Sporting is a great buy.

Rumour is Wenger is back in for Matuidi. I think Arsenal needs a midfielder w/ defensive qualities more than they need another forward.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1730 on: August 25, 2009, 01:49:31 PM »
d man saying no no no

he will never admit anything unles sa deal almost complete or will just turn up and shwo a new dude

but rigth now the dynamic is great and he probably doesnt want to unsettle that with a new player not yet gelled with the side

Offline MarylandTrini

« Reply #1731 on: August 25, 2009, 02:16:12 PM »
At least he comfirms that he wants to buy before the window closes. He has one more week.
Wenger likes to leave it late. Which is frustrating.
Still hoping for a CB and a CDM. An experienced CDM for Song/Denilson to learn from. Plus Song and Eboue will be off to the ACN.
We have enough going forward, but would love to see Wenger sign Van Der Vaart. He is a steal at 6-7 Mil.

This thread is very quiet and peaceful when Arsenal winning some games yes. Everybody hiding.

« Reply #1732 on: August 25, 2009, 06:11:33 PM »
At least he comfirms that he wants to buy before the window closes. He has one more week.
Wenger likes to leave it late. Which is frustrating.
Still hoping for a CB and a CDM. An experienced CDM for Song/Denilson to learn from. Plus Song and Eboue will be off to the ACN.
We have enough going forward, but would love to see Wenger sign Van Der Vaart. He is a steal at 6-7 Mil.

This thread is very quiet and peaceful when Arsenal winning some games yes. Everybody hiding.

I think they waiting to secure champions league qualification before making any transfers. As CL qualification = more money for the club and will appeal to the ambition of their transfer targets.

« Reply #1733 on: August 26, 2009, 01:16:09 PM »
eduardo, eduardo, eduardo... yuh duttiness!!

« Reply #1734 on: August 26, 2009, 02:36:16 PM »
Bendtner as a striker is the weakest link. Out wide his touch can be forgiven and he does do some decent work. Up front????? Today he gave away so many balls and slowed the attack.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1735 on: August 27, 2009, 04:25:45 AM »
drogba drogba drogba rock so with yuh two facedness

« Reply #1736 on: August 27, 2009, 08:25:36 AM »

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/27082009/58/champions-league-eduardo-faces-ban-dive.html

Champions League - Eduardo faces ban over 'dive'
Eurosport - Thu, 27 Aug 13:16:00 2009

Arsenal striker Eduardo could face a two-match Champions League ban if UEFA decide to charge him with diving.

UEFA disciplinary officials are reviewing the incident when the Croatia striker won a penalty against Celtic on Wednesday night before deciding whether he will be charged.

A UEFA spokesman said: "We are reviewing the match to see whether a disciplinary investigation should be launched."

Under UEFA rules, if charged and found guilty Eduardo could face sanctions up to a two-match ban in European competition.

Scottish Football Association chief executive Gordon Smith has called for Eduardo to face action and UEFA president Michel Platini confirmed he could be suspended.

Platini, speaking in Monaco, said: "There are disciplinary procedures at UEFA and the procedure could be taken to suspend the player.

"Scotland often start such procedures, last time it was a Lithuania player who was sanctioned."

Platini said his plan of having two additional assistant referees, one behind each goal-line, would cut down on diving. The scheme is being trialled in this season's Europa League.

He added: "One day players will give up simulating because referees will see them. For years players have cheated because the referees were not of a good enough quality.

"I am convinced if you have referees close by that will prevent players from simulating and players will take the right decision. I have always said better to have more referees than a multiplication of disciplinary procedures."

SFA chief Smith wants UEFA to act retrospectively to punish Eduardo in the same way they dealt with Lithuania striker Saulius Mikoliunas, who cheated to earn a spot-kick against Scotland at Hampden Park in September 2007.

Video evidence was used to sanction Mikoliunas, who was banned for two matches. Smith said: "Eduardo is a terrific player who has battled back from a serious injury to resume playing at the highest level.

"However, last night he showed disrespect to the game by his actions in winning a penalty against Celtic.

"Since I came into this post, I have raised the issue of simulation time and time again - both here in Scotland and with FIFA and UEFA.

"I don't think that I have received enough support in my efforts to eradicate what I believe to be one of the most serious threats to the integrity of football. Last night showed exactly why we must take this issue seriously.

"We have shown the courage to use retrospective punishment when it comes to simulation and I would urge UEFA to do so in this instance. Everything that can be done to stamp it out must be done - starting right now."

PA Sport

... and now for a case of Alex Fergusonitis

Champions League - Wenger: Eduardo is no cheat
Eurosport - Thu, 27 Aug 15:06:00 2009

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger refused to admit Eduardo dived to win a penalty against Celtic in their 3-1 Champions League play-off second leg victory at the Emirates.

Eduardo went to ground when Celtic goalkeeper Artur Boruc rushed out on the half-hour mark, but replays showed there was no contact between the players.

Eduardo dusted himself off to score from the spot and send Arsenal on their way to a comfortable win that gave Wenger's team a 5-1 aggregate victory and a place in the Champions League group stage.

But Wenger stopped short of branding his player a cheat.

"Eduardo might be a bit cautious because of the injury that he had. He might have jumped out of the way," Wenger said.

"I've never asked a guy to dive to get a penalty but sometimes a player goes down because there is no way to escape a keeper.

"I would not go as far as to say that he dived but I don't think he would have complained if the penalty had not been given."

Celtic manager Tony Mowbray said: "I haven't seen the reruns but all the boys felt there wasn't any contact for the penalty. But we can't say Arsenal didn't deserve to go through."

Follow LIVE coverage of the Champions League group stage draw from 17:00 UK time!

Eurosport
« Last Edit: August 27, 2009, 08:28:04 AM by acb »

« Reply #1737 on: August 27, 2009, 08:41:29 AM »
This trend of penalizing players after game is over will spoil football. The man dive, so what the ref get take, that is the natuer of the game deception.
Using footage for a Zidane type incident is one thing, but for things like diving, goals, offside, fouls etc, should be left up o refs. Why not add other referees at the four corners of the pitch including the mobile center and two linesmen.

I really don't want all this set of replays after the game and then players being penalize post game. If this is the case then replay the entire game and clean it up see what happens. Every call or no call is a potential goal. So, if they are using tv replays for dives and other fouls, then after the game check to see if goals scored were offside or if they crossed the line.

« Reply #1738 on: August 27, 2009, 08:47:50 AM »
This trend of penalizing players after game is over will spoil football. The man dive, so what the ref get take, that is the natuer of the game deception.
Using footage for a Zidane type incident is one thing, but for things like diving, goals, offside, fouls etc, should be left up o refs. Why not add other referees at the four corners of the pitch including the mobile center and two linesmen.

I really don't want all this set of replays after the game and then players being penalize post game. If this is the case then replay the entire game and clean it up see what happens. Every call or no call is a potential goal. So, if they are using tv replays for dives and other fouls, then after the game check to see if goals scored were offside or if they crossed the line.

You eh bet yuh does talk some shit sometimes nah!!  Why not penalize them?  If is a 1-0 win on a cheat goal then I could see reason in replaying the match but a 3-0/ 3-1 win should be replayed because of a player conning the ref?  They should ban them for an optional 3rd match with the 3rd being the final should the team reach there.  Bet they will stop wid dat assness!!

« Reply #1739 on: August 27, 2009, 10:06:14 AM »

You eh bet yuh does talk some shit sometimes nah!!  Why not penalize them?  If is a 1-0 win on a cheat goal then I could see reason in replaying the match but a 3-0/ 3-1 win should be replayed because of a player conning the ref?  They should ban them for an optional 3rd match with the 3rd being the final should the team reach there.  Bet they will stop wid dat assness!!

Time to bring in the robots to ref games I say!