March 28, 2024, 03:59:41 PM

Author Topic: ARSENAL FORWARD  (Read 891763 times)

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

Re: ARSENAL FORWARD
« Reply #5730 on: December 17, 2013, 02:40:48 PM »
Arsenal vs Bayern Munich again

We are a better side than the one that went out on away goals. Bayern is a better side than the one than went through. We will just have to see who is more betterer again.
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #5731 on: December 17, 2013, 09:07:11 PM »
Doh worry Arsenal go handle dey stories . . . dey better

« Reply #5732 on: December 21, 2013, 11:34:17 AM »
No longer at the top. First time in a few weeks. Over to you Gunners.

« Reply #5733 on: December 23, 2013, 04:32:21 PM »
Two points dropped.... no penalty, no red card... we march on!!

« Reply #5734 on: December 23, 2013, 04:40:31 PM »

Should have been a red on Mikel no doubt.  Not so clear on Theo's shout for a penalty.  He tried hard to sell what was essentially a dive.

« Reply #5735 on: December 23, 2013, 10:00:07 PM »

Should have been a red on Mikel no doubt.  Not so clear on Theo's shout for a penalty.  He tried hard to sell what was essentially a dive.

That was a clear penalty. What on earth does "essentially" a dive mean?

« Reply #5736 on: December 23, 2013, 10:02:09 PM »

I am starting to run out of reasons to defend Giroud. On the other hand, despite 3 ridiculous decisions (both Mikel AND Ramires should have been sent off) by one of the most serially incompetent referees in the league, we remain tied on points with first and they have to play at City and Chelsea next.

« Reply #5737 on: December 23, 2013, 10:48:50 PM »

It means exactly what was posted, at its essence that was a dive.  Walcott felt contact on his feet and voluntarily removed them, both of them, from under himself.  The only thing saving it from an out and out dive is the fact that there was contact.

« Reply #5738 on: December 23, 2013, 11:03:35 PM »
Red card on Mikel for what? Fellas you all must try sometimes and not be so biased. Both players went in the same way. You all defend who you want to defend and throw under the bus who alyuh want to throw under the bus. Commentators does really influence what alyuh see.

Same thing at half time they talking about Chelsea eh doing nothing, but it too Arsenal 82 minutes to get a shot on target, when Chelsea had 7 at the half.

Both went in studs up but Mikel was a bit slower than dude.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/wN-0UiCB-Gk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/wN-0UiCB-Gk</a>

« Reply #5739 on: December 23, 2013, 11:54:37 PM »

It means exactly what was posted, at its essence that was a dive.  Walcott felt contact on his feet and voluntarily removed them, both of them, from under himself.  The only thing saving it from an out and out dive is the fact that there was contact.

It's "essence" was a dive? Either he dived or he was fouled. That "essence" talk sounds like too much wiggle room to be a credible argument to me. The contact he felt was enough to bring him down. The ball was never played. That's all. Foul.

« Reply #5740 on: December 23, 2013, 11:58:07 PM »
Red card on Mikel for what? Fellas you all must try sometimes and not be so biased. Both players went in the same way. You all defend who you want to defend and throw under the bus who alyuh want to throw under the bus. Commentators does really influence what alyuh see.

Same thing at half time they talking about Chelsea eh doing nothing, but it too Arsenal 82 minutes to get a shot on target, when Chelsea had 7 at the half.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/wN-0UiCB-Gk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/wN-0UiCB-Gk</a>

Where Mikel studs hit? That is a reckless and dangerous tackle and therefore deserving of a red. Mikel should have been faster if he didn't want to foul Arteta. Or if he wasn't going to make it, pull his leg out of the challenge. His studs hit way up Arteta's leg. That is on the video YOU posted. That is not reckless and dangerous?

« Reply #5741 on: December 24, 2013, 12:56:40 AM »
It's "essence" was a dive? Either he dived or he was fouled. That "essence" talk sounds like too much wiggle room to be a credible argument to me. The contact he felt was enough to bring him down. The ball was never played. That's all. Foul.

You must like arguing so you can see your keystrokes fly across the screen.  "At it's essence it was a dive" means that he embellished the contact and went to ground unnecessarily.  Not all contact is a foul, even if there is contact without playing the ball.  It would have been a very soft penalty and the referee ruled accordingly.  Moving on.

The gist of your argument is that it was an accident, that there was no malice involved.  Both went in studs up, only one made contact... sufficient to actually break Arteta's shin pad.  "Serious foul play"... therefore a "sending off offense."

A man break another man shin pad with a tackle, deliberate or accidental... and you here arguing bias.  I doh know if to steups or laugh.

« Reply #5742 on: December 24, 2013, 08:34:46 AM »

You must like arguing so you can see your keystrokes fly across the screen.  "At it's essence it was a dive" means that he embellished the contact and went to ground unnecessarily.  Not all contact is a foul, even if there is contact without playing the ball.  It would have been a very soft penalty and the referee ruled accordingly.  Moving on.

I like arguing when I know I'm right. But if you wish to distract from it with ad hominem statements like "my keystrokes flying across the screen" then so be it. I will stick to the point of my argument. I saw Willian kick his standing leg. That's a foul. And a foul in the area is a penalty. All this talk of "essence" is just convenient muddying of the waters.

« Reply #5743 on: December 24, 2013, 08:37:54 AM »
Walcott could've stood up and kept moving. That contact didn't bring him down. He brought himself down. That is a dive. I say this as an Arsenal supporter. Man need to stop crying bout that penalty that wasn't.

« Reply #5744 on: December 24, 2013, 08:44:47 AM »
A direct free kick is awarded when a player commits any of the following in a manner considered by the referee to be careless, reckless or using excessive force:

Kicks or attempts to kick an opponent
    Trips or attempts to trip an opponent

Jumps at an opponent
    Charges an opponent
    Strikes or attempts to strike an opponent
    Pushes an opponent
    Tackles an opponent

Or commits any the following offences:

Holds an opponent
    Spits at an opponent
    Handles the ball deliberately (except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area).

In determining whether or not a player deliberately handled the ball, the referee has several considerations:

Movement of the hand towards the ball (not the ball towards the hand)
    Distance between the opponent and the ball (unexpected ball)
    Position of the hand ('natural' position versus 'unnatural' position) does not necessarily mean that there is an infringement
    Touching the ball with an object held in the hand (clothing, shinguard, etc.) counts as an infringement (considered an extension of the hand)
    Hitting the ball with a thrown object (boot, shinguard, etc.) counts as an infringement (also considered an extension of the hand)

If a player commits a direct free kick offence within his own penalty area, a penalty kick is awarded irrespective of the position of the ball, provided the ball is in play.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2013, 08:46:19 AM by Dansteel - The Iceman »

« Reply #5745 on: December 24, 2013, 09:56:00 AM »

The gist of your argument is that it was an accident, that there was no malice involved.  Both went in studs up, only one made contact... sufficient to actually break Arteta's shin pad.  "Serious foul play"... therefore a "sending off offense."

A man break another man shin pad with a tackle, deliberate or accidental... and you here arguing bias.  I doh know if to steups or laugh.

Any studs up tackle whether contact or not is a cardable offense. The ref made a very good no call. You could do whatever you want, but is only certain players does deserve cards.

« Reply #5746 on: December 24, 2013, 12:18:45 PM »
Dansteel Walcott was not tripped nor was there an attempt to trip him so that is bullshyte yuh tawkin hoss.  The referee didn't consider it careless, reckless or using excessive force therefor no call.  What so hard to understand?

« Reply #5747 on: December 24, 2013, 02:56:11 PM »
Dansteel Walcott was not tripped nor was there an attempt to trip him so that is bullshyte yuh tawkin hoss.  The referee didn't consider it careless, reckless or using excessive force therefor no call.  What so hard to understand?

The ref was wrong. And I highlighted all the possible applications of Law 12. His attempt to tackle was careless, even if it wasn't an attempt to trip. Ergo it was a foul. Not the first time a referee was wrong. I'm sure if that were Hazard and Mertesacker you would be bawling for a penalty. I remember Drogba's flop in preseason and allyuh was bawling how it was legit, and that was softer than the foul on Walcott.

« Reply #5748 on: December 26, 2013, 03:11:07 PM »
Good win today! As Ramsey and Giroud go off the boil, Walcott and Podolski step up. Theo with 4 goals in 3 games. Season setting up nice. On to the next one!

« Reply #5749 on: December 26, 2013, 04:14:07 PM »
Arsenal look shaky to me.

« Reply #5750 on: December 26, 2013, 11:13:05 PM »
Arsenal look shaky to me.

They could look shaky as long as they win.

« Reply #5751 on: December 30, 2013, 08:59:57 AM »
Another good 3 points! Giroud scoring drought is over, hopefully. Good to see how the defence sat deep and handled everything Newcastle threw at them in the last 15 minutes. I was nervous and didn't think they could do it but they handled it comfortably. Well done!

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #5752 on: January 01, 2014, 11:10:07 AM »
Nice win for the Gooners! This had draw written all over it and it was Bendtner...WTH?!?! and he pulled a calf muscle. Nice finish by Walcott for the 2nd. one as well.
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #5753 on: January 04, 2014, 01:08:46 PM »
Sweet taboo  ;D...

« Reply #5754 on: January 04, 2014, 02:28:48 PM »
Gnabry was quite impressive today

« Reply #5755 on: January 06, 2014, 12:46:14 PM »
Walcott ruptured his ACL. Out for 6 months. His season done and no World Cup for him either.  :banginghead:

« Reply #5756 on: January 06, 2014, 12:59:24 PM »
salt

« Reply #5757 on: January 19, 2014, 11:58:45 AM »
Steups! Thanks for nothing United!

« Reply #5758 on: January 19, 2014, 12:19:27 PM »
Steups! Thanks for nothing United!
w'happen yuh nervous or wah ;D

« Reply #5759 on: January 19, 2014, 12:34:08 PM »
Annoyed. A close race and I wouldn't mind a little breathing space. I still think Arsenal are a bit better than Chelsea this season.

But it had to be Chelsea to face United with no Rooney or RVP eh? I feel Chelsea sign Ferguson's buck!