March 28, 2024, 06:14:20 AM

Author Topic: ARSENAL FORWARD  (Read 891640 times)

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
Re: ARSENAL FORWARD
« Reply #6030 on: August 28, 2014, 11:31:23 AM »
Giroud is out for 4 months but he (Wenger) is not buying a striker. I've always had a problem with my side's pinch penny spending but I agree with his focus on a central midfielder and defender, we need them.
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #6031 on: August 28, 2014, 02:19:53 PM »
Wenger like bachanal. Arsenal scrambling right from the start of the season.

ARSENAL FORWARD
« Reply #6032 on: August 31, 2014, 01:21:30 PM »
Arsene's insistence on playing Sanogo and talking up his striking options have to be a poorly veiled negotiating tactic. I want to believe that he trying to play hard ball with another club and doh really believe that he can make it to the next transfer window in a  competitive position with what on hand now.

Then again he's shown himself to be stubborn in the past.

« Reply #6033 on: September 01, 2014, 11:31:30 AM »
It's being reported that Danny Welbeck is currently undergoing a medical at Arsenal right now.

« Reply #6034 on: September 01, 2014, 11:38:14 AM »
Stueps out of all the places

« Reply #6035 on: September 01, 2014, 02:32:24 PM »
From BBC:
"Arsenal have reached an agreement with Manchester United for the permanent signing of Danny Welbeck.

"The fee is in the region of £16m and there is no expectation that there will be any complications with the 23-year-old's personal terms or medical checks."

« Reply #6036 on: September 01, 2014, 02:50:15 PM »
So Arsenal's valuation of Wellbeck is equal to Liverpool's valuation of Balotelli?  Interesting.  Brilliant piece ah business by United, if true.

« Reply #6037 on: September 01, 2014, 07:00:04 PM »
We started the transfer window with a bang and ended with a disappointing whimper. If Giroud can't fire us to the next level, doubt if Welbeck can either. BTW where de damn CB?

« Reply #6038 on: September 02, 2014, 05:58:17 AM »
We started the transfer window with a bang and ended with a disappointing whimper.
That is just perception, though. If they did start de transfer window with Chambers and Welbeck and sign Alexis Sanchez yesterday, everybody woulda be buzzing.

« Reply #6039 on: September 02, 2014, 11:26:12 AM »
So Arsenal's valuation of Wellbeck is equal to Liverpool's valuation of Balotelli?  Interesting.  Brilliant piece ah business by United, if true.

I think he being English had a part to play in the fee

« Reply #6040 on: September 02, 2014, 11:56:28 AM »

Oh I'm sure it did... but it also means that better options might have been out there beyond England.  I just have a hard time believing that Arsenal really wanted Welbeck all along, as opposed to panic buying at the close.

« Reply #6041 on: September 02, 2014, 01:44:06 PM »

Oh I'm sure it did... but it also means that better options might have been out there beyond England.  I just have a hard time believing that Arsenal really wanted Welbeck all along, as opposed to panic buying at the close.

It's the Arsenal way  :D They had some interest before, but that was only if they did not get who they really wanted. Hope it works out in the long run, I am not as disappointed as most Arsenal fans are. ManU has more pressure to succeed with the amount of money they spent for a loanee.

ARSENAL FORWARD
« Reply #6042 on: September 02, 2014, 02:38:26 PM »
We started the transfer window with a bang and ended with a disappointing whimper.
That is just perception, though. If they did start de transfer window with Chambers and Welbeck and sign Alexis Sanchez yesterday, everybody woulda be buzzing.

I am a bit disappointed in the Welbeck acquisition but prefer him to Remy. At the end of the day I realize that the striking options at this late stage were pretty limited but we've always known that Sonogo not up to snuff and Alexis will take time to adapt.

I am hoping that Welbeck seizes the opportunity just like Sturridge did after leaving Chelsea.

Biggest disappointment is the lack of activity  on the defensive end especially as Vermaelen and Miquel are gone. For CB we have Per, Kos, Chambers and Nacho. I would argue we still need an upgrade on DM, but Diaby etc and so on.

Even though I think we are stronger that last year, the competition hasn't stood still. So after a promising start to the transfer window I feel that we are where we usually end up; a very good team that's a quality player or two short of the biggest competition. Anyway I would love for the team to make me eat my words. COYG.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2014, 02:40:04 PM by grimm01 »

« Reply #6043 on: September 03, 2014, 08:55:26 AM »

And also similar to Remy's valuation as well.  Go figure

« Reply #6044 on: September 03, 2014, 09:41:34 AM »
Maths is maths, English is english.... this football management  ;D ... and may not add up...  :beermug:

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #6045 on: September 07, 2014, 08:15:13 PM »
People may compare the two prices (Balos/Welbeck) but Wenger made it clear he didn't have any interest whatsoever in Balotelli some weeks ago. It's also clear that 16M for Balotelli is a pretty cut price for a talent like that, probably due to the drama he brings. If Pool fans want to coast on Arsenal for replacing one nutcase with another that's their business. I'm not keen on Welbeck or the "English premium" but it is what it is. I don't think we needed another striker so it's neither here nor there to me. My only problem with the window is the lack of defensive signings.
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #6046 on: September 07, 2014, 08:21:13 PM »

And also similar to Remy's valuation as well.  Go figure
Remy linked to Arsenal since Thy Kingdom Come. Wenger is clearly not interested for whatever reason.

« Reply #6047 on: September 13, 2014, 09:15:28 AM »
Very good game. City threw the kitchen sink at us after Debuchy's injury (bad sprain according to Wenger). Team still weak in the air. Pity Welbeck hit the post but then City did twice late in the game. When Arsenal finally click they will be scary good. A draw was deserved.

« Reply #6048 on: September 13, 2014, 02:21:50 PM »
Very good game. City threw the kitchen sink at us after Debuchy's injury (bad sprain according to Wenger). Team still weak in the air. Pity Welbeck hit the post but then City did twice late in the game. When Arsenal finally click they will be scary good. A draw was deserved.

... dahis a conclusion excluding any analysis of defensive frailties?

« Reply #6049 on: September 13, 2014, 03:25:20 PM »
They had one of the top defences for past two seasons. Doh mind they leak goals in some important games. Overall, their defence has been one of the tightest in the prem. If the team starts clicking, I'm assuming that includes the defence clicking too.

« Reply #6050 on: September 14, 2014, 01:56:17 AM »

I mentioned the aerial weakness and City hitting the post twice didn't I?

« Reply #6051 on: September 19, 2014, 03:37:24 AM »

... didn't find that comprehensive.

« Reply #6052 on: September 20, 2014, 01:59:34 PM »

I didn't realise I needed to be comprehensive in 6 sentences...

« Reply #6053 on: September 20, 2014, 02:04:19 PM »
Good win today. Özil and Welbeck finally saying something. Very controlled performance. Hope it can continue. Spuds and Chel$ki next. COYG!

« Reply #6054 on: September 20, 2014, 09:08:53 PM »

Oh, ho! ... So no deliberate blindness?  :devil:  :beermug:

« Reply #6055 on: September 21, 2014, 02:44:25 AM »

Oh, ho! ... So no deliberate blindness?  :devil:  :beermug:

Tell you what, next time I'll write an essay detailing every single flaw in Arsenal's game and none of the positive bits. That way when I mention negative parts you'll know I'm being balanced. :beermug:

« Reply #6056 on: September 27, 2014, 12:56:18 PM »
Disappointing. We should have buried our chances. Kaboul and Lloris are too good to be playing for Sp*rs.

« Reply #6057 on: October 01, 2014, 01:46:10 PM »
Welbeck 3 goals in 4 games. Is it too early to point this out to the Liverpool fans who were coasting about us paying for Welbeck as much as they paid for Balotelli? :devil:

« Reply #6058 on: October 01, 2014, 02:07:11 PM »
4 in 4!  :wavetowel:

« Reply #6059 on: October 01, 2014, 02:24:27 PM »
Szczesny and he nonsense again yes! 4-1 and red card. Lock this game down and rest yuh stars please Wenger!