April 28, 2024, 01:43:25 AM

Author Topic: L.A.'s Glen named Player of the Week.  (Read 5278 times)

L.A.'s Glen named Player of the Week.
« on: April 17, 2006, 05:06:51 PM »
L.A.'s Glen named Player of the Week.
Major League Soccer Communications.

NEW YORK -- Cornell Glen, the newly acquired striker of the Los Angeles Galaxy, is beginning his Green-and-Gold career with a bang by taking home MLS Player of the Week honors for Week 3 of the 2006 MLS season. Glen made his first start for the Galaxy on April 17, after having arrived on the through a trade with the Colorado Rapids, and he promptly converted two excellent passes from teammate Landon Donovan to give his team a 2-1 win over rivals Chivas USA.
Playing in front of a packed house at The Home Depot Center, Glen was the beneficiary of a superb individual action by Donovan. Streaking by multiple defenders, Donovan chipped the ball back across the box to a wide-open Glen, who coolly slotted home the winner in the third minute of injury time. It was Glen's second goal in nine minutes, after having driven home the tying goal off a knock-down header by Donovan in the 84th minute.
The dramatic come-from-behind-victory gave the Galaxy bragging rights in the first game of four between Chivas USA and the Los Angeles Galaxy, both of whom share The Home Depot Center. The Major League Soccer Player of the Week is selected every week throughout the MLS regular season by a panel of journalists from the Professional Soccer Reporters Association (PSRA).

2006 Player of the Week Winners
Week 1: Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo)
Week 2: Jaime Moreno (D.C. United)
Week 3: Cornell Glen (Los Angeles Galaxy)
« Last Edit: April 18, 2006, 03:21:41 AM by Flex »

Re: L.A.'s Glen named Player of the Week
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2006, 05:19:29 PM »
i surprise is not DONOVAN

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2006, 05:25:45 PM »
Hell of a start  :beermug:

I guess he enjoyin the LA sunshine

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2006, 05:28:05 PM »
Congrats Glen!  :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2006, 05:28:33 PM »

« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2006, 05:38:56 PM »
Well that is Justice eh

ESPN commentators were all over Donovan and he didn't even score....that wasn't right.  Yes he create the goals but goals win matches and Glen won the match fuh dem plain and simple.

If Glen score 20 Goals and Donovan have 20 assists, Glen gettin the advantage in points. That is how they calculate and that is how it should be :chilling:

« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2006, 05:40:21 PM »
fuh real eh
Yeah, dey tief him. all Glen had to do was let Donovan perfect passes bounce off him into the net.

MickeyRat

« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2006, 05:51:07 PM »
Congrats Glenn.  I for one glad the "great white" hope of US soccer eh win. 

Offline john_public

« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2006, 05:54:31 PM »
well done glen keep dem commin. mabe de coach job a hard one fellars

« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2006, 05:55:40 PM »
fuh real eh
Yeah, dey tief him. all Glen had to do was let Donovan perfect passes bounce off him into the net.

Or he coulda miss both ah dem and Donovan wouldn't even have ah assist.

He eh get thief...he get more points from that game than Donovan.....goals win matches.

Nothing wrong with playin ah Rudd Van move....let everybody do the hard work and then just tap it in :chilling:

Offline #8

« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2006, 05:56:16 PM »
fuh real eh
bitter...are you SERIOUS??..'let Donovan perfect passes bounce off him into the net'  :o

1st goal....long throw for LA...donovan challenges for de ball,gets enough on it to direct in glen's path/direction..glen one time it.
2nd goal...donovan intercepts and wins de ball off chivas player,brings it up de field where he is surrounded by three chivas players..glen switches his run from right to left,opening space..donovan floats a ball across de penalty area..glen connects and puts it bottom right corner one time.were you watching de same game i was??? ???

#8..President Of De Glen For Goals Committee

« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2006, 05:58:25 PM »
buh a-a..whey da racial ting come from?

I eh tink de US have a great black hope...donovan is just de great hope period

He really need to do someting about that half-fro though

MickeyRat

« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2006, 06:00:58 PM »

Are you a bamsee?  Wha racial ting you trying to instigate?

I said what I said.

« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2006, 06:11:44 PM »

Are you a bamsee?  Wha racial ting you trying to instigate?

I said what I said.

Oh ho.. well since you put parentheses around great white I was chupid enough to assume you was referring to he colour

Since donovan is obviously ah Japanese fellah,clearly yuh wasnt makin reference to dat at all

My mistake

« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2006, 06:27:53 PM »
Vice President of the Glen for Goals Committee would like to thank the President of the G.F.G.C. and all his faithful supporters.

« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2006, 06:34:15 PM »

Glen is better than Donovan......THIS WEEK    :rotfl:

Offline #8

« Reply #16 on: April 17, 2006, 06:59:37 PM »
Vice President of the Glen for Goals Committee would like to thank the President of the G.F.G.C. and all his faithful supporters.

bless up Jefferz...also let it be known that this Committee was founded long before  saturday's goals(check de dates)(it was actually founded since his red boots days at Mucurapo ;))(responding to comments made by Small Magician) ;D

« Reply #17 on: April 17, 2006, 07:04:18 PM »
Now thats What I'm talking about...

:beermug: Have a Stag Cornel

« Reply #18 on: April 17, 2006, 07:05:02 PM »

bless up Jefferz...also let it be known that this Committee was founded long before  saturday's goals(check de dates)(it was actually founded since his red boots days at Mucurapo ;))(responding to comments made by Small Magician) ;D

yep.

SM like myself is still young... he shall be forgiven.

« Reply #19 on: April 17, 2006, 07:55:27 PM »
CONGRATULATIONS CORNELL

hope d men in yuh comitte could cheer as much as d men in mine

« Reply #20 on: April 17, 2006, 08:00:37 PM »
Congrats Glenn... Looking for more Player of the Week Awards

« Reply #21 on: April 17, 2006, 08:33:41 PM »
Prime Minister of  Glenn for Goals Commitee
« Last Edit: April 17, 2006, 08:37:43 PM by Warrior till death »

« Reply #22 on: April 17, 2006, 08:37:16 PM »
fuh real eh

You surprise, I shock!!!   Maybe de judges biased or maybe Jack Warner pulling strings as usual because Cornell Glen  cya get no award and Donavon around... madness... somebody go loss dey wok.

« Reply #23 on: April 17, 2006, 08:41:35 PM »

Oh ho.. well since you put parentheses around great white I was chupid enough to assume you was referring to he colour

Since donovan is obviously ah Japanese fellah,clearly yuh wasnt makin reference to dat at all

My mistake

Im sure you have heard the figure of speech before so yuh really startin ting..and Donavan aint white either.I believe he is hispanic, so maybe he is de great Latino hope. I'll call him Rocky from now on. Yeh Rocky Balboa.

Offline #8

« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2006, 08:47:44 PM »
CONGRATULATIONS CORNELL

hope d men in yuh comitte could cheer as much as d men in mine
shotta horse..de cheering now start ;D..de man say 'EVERYBODY go feel it'. ESPECIALLY he past teams...when he hold them is... FIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIRE 8)..so colombus better go and buy dey heat suits quick..cause this weekend is  :flamethrower:.

« Last Edit: April 17, 2006, 08:50:47 PM by #8 a.k.a Speedy »

« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2006, 08:54:01 PM »
if yuh need any advice on how to run yuh committee feel free to ask

but yuh scroll have to be in caps

Offline #8

« Reply #26 on: April 17, 2006, 08:58:41 PM »
Quote from: morvant ..link=topic=13771.msg139011#msg139011 date=1145328841
if yuh need any advice on how to run yuh committee feel free to ask

but yuh scroll have to be in caps
right now we hiring for de chief marketing/advertising director position...send in yuh resume nah ;D

« Reply #27 on: April 17, 2006, 09:05:01 PM »
#8..PRESIDENT OF DE GLEN FOR GOALS COMMITTEE
Whoever take that PR wuk need to fix the Prez scroll ting   ;D

use dis:
[ move]#8..PRESIDENT OF DE GLEN FOR GOALS COMMITTEE[/move ]
« Last Edit: April 17, 2006, 09:15:22 PM by dcs »

« Reply #28 on: April 17, 2006, 09:08:21 PM »

My mistake

Im sure you have heard the figure of speech before so yuh really startin ting..and Donavan aint white either.I believe he is hispanic, so maybe he is de great Latino hope. I'll call him Rocky from now on. Yeh Rocky Balboa.

He's a payol??...well look ting me eh know dat

Yeah ah know de figure of speech,,, but me eh know which angle de rat was commin from
Say wah,, ah tilt mih hat to de man.. eat mih crow with some ketchup and move on

btw, selassie...I goin and check yuh know  ;)...cause I never see no latino with ah half-fro

Clip of Glenn's 2 Goals
« Reply #29 on: April 17, 2006, 10:37:11 PM »
listen to the damn ass commentators after he score the 2nd.

http://www.mlsnet.com/MLS/sights/