April 19, 2024, 08:06:15 PM

Author Topic: The In Memory Of Thread  (Read 165288 times)

Re: Ian Poterfield Dies at 61
« Reply #30 on: September 11, 2007, 03:56:54 PM »
I was not a big Porters fan, but he did have some measure of success with the team. Someone on the forum mentioned that his downfall was that he did not know how to handle the starboys(Dwight and Latas). Maybe true, I don't know. But I pay my respects to his family. Condelences to the former TT coach. God(Jah) bless!!!!!

« Reply #31 on: September 11, 2007, 04:38:58 PM »
Condolences to his family.
Very sad news indeed.

« Reply #32 on: September 11, 2007, 04:49:03 PM »
I was not a big Porters fan, but he did have some measure of success with the team.

Actually, he has the best record of any of our coaches.

Offline Swima

« Reply #33 on: September 11, 2007, 04:55:07 PM »
RIP Porters
Success will never take you by surprise.

Re: Ian Porterfield Dies at 61
« Reply #34 on: September 11, 2007, 04:59:54 PM »
RIP Coach
condolences to All of your Family
« Last Edit: September 12, 2007, 07:51:10 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #35 on: September 11, 2007, 05:02:01 PM »
I was not a big Porters fan, but he did have some measure of success with the team.

Those stats include 35 games

Here it shows 43 What's the difference? friendlies?

Offline black chinee

« Reply #36 on: September 11, 2007, 05:12:23 PM »
I just heard it on sky sports.... RIP sir.... I am firmly of the beleif that he was the man that started the turn around of Trinidad Football :applause: :applause: :notworthy: :notworthy: 

Thanks

« Reply #37 on: September 11, 2007, 05:23:06 PM »
my condolences

« Reply #38 on: September 11, 2007, 05:23:33 PM »

Those stats include 35 games

Here it shows 43 What's the difference? friendlies?

Those 43 games are including matches against clubs (Fluminense, Botafogo, America FC, Charlton Athletic, Millwall, Stevenage Boro, Plaza Amador, and W-Connection). The 35 games are strictly Internationals.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2007, 07:48:05 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #39 on: September 11, 2007, 05:43:31 PM »
Very, very sad news.

I really liked Porterfield as a manager and as a person.

RIP.

« Reply #40 on: September 11, 2007, 05:49:16 PM »
Never knew that Porterfield made such an impression as a player...

RIP Porters....

« Reply #41 on: September 11, 2007, 06:00:56 PM »
What a pity it too several more years before Yorke and Latapy could accept the responsibility of stardom.    Our best years were wasted.  Thanks Ian, you did your best!  Rest in peace

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #42 on: September 11, 2007, 06:01:37 PM »
Never knew that Porterfield made such an impression as a player...

RIP Porters....

Nice article on his career.
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/article2435251.ece

« Reply #43 on: September 11, 2007, 06:18:23 PM »
RIP IAN

« Reply #44 on: September 11, 2007, 06:19:27 PM »
RIP.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #45 on: September 11, 2007, 06:39:15 PM »
RIP Sir. I feal rell sad to hear this man ..
war..

« Reply #46 on: September 11, 2007, 06:49:52 PM »
Condolences to his family and God speed I.P.   :salute:

« Reply #47 on: September 11, 2007, 06:51:42 PM »
I don't know the guy personally but know of him and judging from the results we have had under him he have to be given some credit as a Coach,to do the things he did with T&T players we really have to take our hats off to him,as always it's sad to see guys like him go and i want to say RIP Ian you served us well.

« Reply #48 on: September 11, 2007, 08:02:50 PM »
He was one of our better managers.

Condolences to his family & friends

« Reply #49 on: September 11, 2007, 08:11:20 PM »
RIP  :applause: :praying: :salute: :beermug: :beermug:

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #50 on: September 11, 2007, 08:49:51 PM »
RIP Coach.
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #51 on: September 12, 2007, 02:18:45 AM »
Condolences to his family, and everyone at Sunderland football club. He will be missed.

Re: Ian Porterfield Dies at 61
« Reply #52 on: September 12, 2007, 02:22:31 AM »
« Last Edit: September 12, 2007, 07:50:36 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Consultant

« Reply #53 on: September 12, 2007, 02:51:55 AM »
RIP  :'(

« Reply #54 on: September 12, 2007, 03:00:40 AM »
Wasn't a fan of him as a Coach.

But I understand that he was a very amiable individual.

RIP Ian.

Offline kingdavid

« Reply #55 on: September 12, 2007, 06:50:10 AM »
R.I.P

« Reply #56 on: September 12, 2007, 06:52:03 AM »
IMHO porters did a good job with the soca warriors of 00-01.

thanks for leading us to memorable victories vs. canada, panama and mexico (allyuh remember that latapy rocket in de 2nd half after mexico dominate the game in the 1st...we was a different team in de 2nd half).

RIP.

condolences to glenda & the family.

« Reply #57 on: September 12, 2007, 07:40:38 AM »
Foot in mouth Porters will live on forever.

i commend him for his travels bring football knowledge to teams all over the world.

I real servant of the game.

God Bless

« Reply #58 on: September 12, 2007, 07:46:26 AM »
RIP

(plz fix the man name in the thread title).

« Reply #59 on: September 12, 2007, 08:08:10 AM »
RIP MR PORTERFIELD AND THANKS FOR YOUR SERVICE!

It seems as though destiny has led us back to Sunderland hmmm

I hope JACK and Co. find some time to extend their condolences if they have any decency left
« Last Edit: September 12, 2007, 08:38:20 AM by grskywalker »