March 28, 2024, 04:05:18 PM

Author Topic: The In Memory Of Thread  (Read 164114 times)

Re: Former Naps Sportsmater Roy Jagroopsingh Pass Away
« Reply #90 on: May 04, 2009, 11:06:58 AM »
Sorry to hear.  He really liked the football too.  Wasn't he on the SSFL committee at one time?

« Reply #91 on: May 04, 2009, 11:15:54 AM »

« Reply #92 on: May 04, 2009, 12:00:48 PM »
wow. Big time administrator, and was always visible on the sidelines of games.

condolences to the Naps family.

« Reply #93 on: May 04, 2009, 06:48:38 PM »
yea man Roy...enjoy de sweat

« Reply #94 on: May 04, 2009, 06:55:44 PM »
He was a real cool soul. RIP.

NAPS pays tribute to past president
« Reply #95 on: May 04, 2009, 08:10:59 PM »
NAPS pays tribute to past president
T&T Guardian

The Naparima College Association of Past Students (NAPS), formerly known as Naparima College Old Boys’ Association, extends its condolences to the family of Roy Jagroop-singh, who passed away on May 3. Roy was an immediate past president and trustee of the association. Roy’s life was centred around the upliftment of sport and youth affairs in T&T, as was evident by his selfless commitment to national duty as seen by his membership in and appointment to numerous sporting bodies.

They include: Member of the executive and general council, T&T Football Federation; first vice president, Southern Football Association; member, T&T Cricket Board of Control; manager, National Secondary Schools Football teams to Jamaica and Antigua (1994 and 1996); president, Secondary Schools Football League; president, Secondary Schools Cricket League; manager, National Under-19 cricket teams to Guyana and Jamaica (2001-2004). He was one of two people from this country appointed by Fifa for the Under-17 World Cup Tournament in T&T, being in charge of the Tobago leg of the tournament.

Roy’s excellence as a national sporting administrator pales in comparison to the exceptional job he did for decades as an educator and sports master at Naparima College. At Naps, he was not only a teacher but a mentor and father to hundreds of individuals whose lives he has molded and influenced. We at NAPS take this opportunity to celebrate the life and achievements of Roy Jagroopsingh, personified in the college’s motto: “From Possibility to Actuality.”

Ahmed Saidwan
PRO, NAPS

« Reply #96 on: May 05, 2009, 05:19:59 AM »
Our Alma Mater dear
The school we all revere
Make us worthy
Help us ever to be
All that we ought to be
And always proud of thee
Naparima

To thee the best we owe
With which we may endow
Our island home
No matter where we roam
If near orr far from home
Let us be always one
Naparima

Thank You Mr.Jagroopsingh for all the good times and memories.
RIP and Condolences to your family and friends

« Reply #97 on: May 05, 2009, 12:38:45 PM »
Please let me know when is d funeral. Peeps feel u is d Min of Information because u does b around these parts

Offline sinned

« Reply #98 on: May 05, 2009, 01:15:57 PM »
heard the news yesterday. greatly saddened by it. roy played a big role in the life of every naps man growing up

« Reply #99 on: May 05, 2009, 01:35:54 PM »
Please let me know when is d funeral. Peeps feel u is d Min of Information because u does b around these parts

funeral is tomorrow. is at a mount something church is south.

call the school. they go know.

« Reply #100 on: May 05, 2009, 05:01:51 PM »

funeral is tomorrow. is at a mount something church is south.

call the school. they go know.

Got it via PM thxs

Offline legal alien

« Reply #101 on: May 05, 2009, 05:18:43 PM »
 RIP Mr. Roy Jagroopsing .Exactlty 10 years ago, in the SSFL 1999 season, he was,well I think  he ran sports at the school. I was amazed( for lack of a better word) at him , because this was the guy who was at the school's helm that year when Naparima beat everybody and win everything. I wish I was playing on my school team in order to have gotten a sweat against them to have seen how good they really were.I wanted to be on the team who could've given them their only loss.
      I remember one of the newspapers did an interview with him, so that's how I heard of him.It caught my attention due to the way Naparima was rolling through the season that year. I couldn't forget the name after that. I wonder how old he was because he already looked kind of old in that picture ten years ago.So respect to a man whose sports programme was perfect in its football success.

« Reply #102 on: May 06, 2009, 06:06:55 PM »
Heard was a nice send off.

German 'keeper Enke commits suicide at 32
« Reply #103 on: November 10, 2009, 02:26:33 PM »
Report: German 'keeper Enke commits suicide at 32

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/10349980/Germany-goalkeeper-Robert-Enke-dies-at-age-32

FRANKFURT (AP) - Robert Enke, the Hannover and Germany goalkeeper, has died, according to the Bundesliga club's president. He was 32.

Hannover president Martin Kind confirmed the death Tuesday evening.

No details were immediately available.

Re: German 'keeper Enke commits suicide at 32
« Reply #104 on: November 10, 2009, 02:31:23 PM »
was now going to post this...damn that sad
RIP

« Reply #105 on: November 10, 2009, 02:31:44 PM »
train 'accident' - not ruled suicide yet.

sad.

« Reply #106 on: November 10, 2009, 02:33:23 PM »
Jesus. RIP. Sad news.

« Reply #107 on: November 10, 2009, 02:37:20 PM »
Just announced on the radio here as "a likely suicide"

RIP  :(

« Reply #108 on: November 10, 2009, 02:45:22 PM »
Sad peeps neva good option

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #109 on: November 10, 2009, 05:29:33 PM »
WTF! the #1 for the team i've been backing every WC. hopefully its just an accident so that it doesnt mar ppl's perception of him. RIP...

« Reply #110 on: November 10, 2009, 06:33:00 PM »
tragedy fall on meh 2nd best team.that hard.

« Reply #111 on: November 11, 2009, 01:24:44 AM »
RIP dread!

« Reply #112 on: November 11, 2009, 07:05:38 AM »
WTF! the #1 for the team i've been backing every WC. hopefully its just an accident so that it doesnt mar ppl's perception of him. RIP...

U know I hated Germany since d 82 WC semi wit d keeper Schumacher. He play d man they eh give a penalty he move b4 d man in d penalty shoot out.

But since I went 2 d WC. I backin dem after Brazil/France/Dutch/Germany

German goalkeeper Enke tried to hide depression
« Reply #113 on: November 11, 2009, 07:13:04 AM »
German goalkeeper Enke tried to hide depression
earthtimes.org

German goalkeeper Robert Enke, who killed himself Tuesday, was suffering from acute depression and feared he could lose both his playing career and his adoptive daughter if his illness became known, his widow said Tuesday. Teresa Enke told a news conference in Hanover Wednesday her husband did not want his depression to become public knowledge "out of fear of losing his sport and private life."

"He feared it would come out and we would lose Leila when you have a depressive father... the fear of what people think when you have an adoptive daughter and the papa is suffering from depression," she said.

Enke, 32, who was hit by train near his home on Tuesday evening, left a suicide note in which he apologized to his family and those treating him for deliberately misleading them about his suicidal feelings, said Valentin Markser, a Cologne-based doctor who had been treating Enke for depression since 2003.

Markser said Enke had on the day of his death turned down being admitted to hospital for treatment.

Enke and his wife lost their daughter Lara who died in 2006 of a rare heart condition when she was just two. They have an eight-month- old daughter Leila whom they adopted in May.

Teresa Enke said football meant everything to her husband but he feared he would lose both football and his adoptive daughter if his acute depression became public.

"We had a time after Istanbul and Barcelona (where Enke played) when we overcame it and took so much hope from what we could achieve," she said.

"It brought us together after Lara's death and we thought we could achieve everything, with love it would work ... but you can't achieve everything always."

« Reply #114 on: November 11, 2009, 07:16:03 AM »
RIP...
Condolences to the family....

Offline HEARNAR

« Reply #115 on: November 11, 2009, 08:01:00 AM »
Its a sad day for Germany Football Fraternity. My deepest condolences.

« Reply #116 on: November 11, 2009, 09:10:14 AM »
blessings

« Reply #117 on: November 11, 2009, 09:12:36 AM »
It sad when people choose to commit suicide because they gave up hope.  RIP Enke.

« Reply #118 on: November 11, 2009, 09:20:24 AM »
TGfSM,that he had the wherewithall not to take nobody with him, as seem to be norm in the North America these days.

« Reply #119 on: November 11, 2009, 09:24:07 AM »
TGfSM,that he had the wherewithall not to take nobody with him, as seem to be norm in the North America these days.

Agreed/Cosign/entttttttttt