March 29, 2024, 12:22:23 AM

Author Topic: The In Memory Of Thread  (Read 164144 times)

Re: Condolences Thread
« Reply #660 on: May 15, 2016, 01:32:22 PM »
Condolences to Patriot.

His dad passed today.

« Last Edit: January 27, 2017, 07:08:55 AM by Flex »

Offline Swima

« Reply #661 on: May 15, 2016, 03:49:24 PM »
Condolences bro.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #662 on: May 15, 2016, 05:27:03 PM »
All the best my friend......Stay Strong knowing that the SW.net family has your back.

« Reply #663 on: May 15, 2016, 06:42:37 PM »
My sympathies. His name please.

« Reply #664 on: May 15, 2016, 06:44:10 PM »
My condolences on the passing of your father. Stay well

« Reply #665 on: May 15, 2016, 08:30:50 PM »

Whose name Patriot?

« Reply #666 on: May 15, 2016, 08:41:56 PM »
My condolences Patriot stay strong bro .

« Reply #667 on: May 15, 2016, 09:35:17 PM »
Sincere condolence to you, your family, friends and everyone who dad may have touched.

RIP Patriot snr. 

« Reply #668 on: May 15, 2016, 09:41:51 PM »
Patriot, condolences from the SW family. Bless.

« Reply #669 on: May 16, 2016, 04:24:46 AM »
Deepest condolences.

« Reply #670 on: May 16, 2016, 08:38:08 AM »
Condolences Patriot, may he RIP.

« Reply #671 on: May 16, 2016, 08:45:29 AM »
Condolences Patriot.  May your old man RIP

« Reply #672 on: May 16, 2016, 10:39:29 AM »

Whose name Patriot?

his Dad. I like to make my prayers specific.

« Reply #673 on: May 16, 2016, 10:40:01 AM »
Please accept sincerest sympathies

« Reply #674 on: May 16, 2016, 10:53:28 AM »
Patriot, condolences to you and family. God Bless.

« Reply #675 on: May 16, 2016, 12:32:47 PM »
Condolences bro!!

Hope you keep strong during this trying time

« Reply #676 on: May 16, 2016, 03:10:41 PM »

Whose name Patriot?

Silbert Springer

« Reply #677 on: May 16, 2016, 03:31:45 PM »

Whose name Patriot?

Silbert Springer
Thanks weary RIP Mr Springer..my sympathies Patriot

« Reply #678 on: May 16, 2016, 07:08:16 PM »
Stay strong Patriot, God bless

« Reply #679 on: May 17, 2016, 11:16:42 AM »
A life that has made a difference in so many ways will be remembered . Like you Patriot I am sure that he gave his life in loving service to humanity May your memories bring you comfort . Memory is a special place in our hearts where we can find comfort. In the treasured thoughts of those we hold dear, may it help to know that others care deeply and are remembering you with special thoughts.
 My prayers and best wishes in this dark night of the soul.
 Prayer is the key to Heaven- Faith unlocks the door.

« Reply #680 on: May 17, 2016, 05:56:28 PM »
blessings brother...Tnt

Offline dtool

« Reply #681 on: May 17, 2016, 07:42:48 PM »

Condolences to you,family, and friends.

« Reply #682 on: May 17, 2016, 08:55:36 PM »
Hey brother my condolences. 

« Reply #683 on: May 18, 2016, 05:14:02 AM »
Condolences to the Springer family. Patriot, may God give you and your family strength during this difficult time. RIP Mr. Springer

« Reply #684 on: May 18, 2016, 06:23:15 AM »
Condolences to the family

Sent from my BLU ADVANCE 4.0 using Tapatalk

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #685 on: May 18, 2016, 06:35:57 AM »
Condolences and blessings to you and your fam Patriot.
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #686 on: May 19, 2016, 12:45:35 AM »
condolences brother....

« Reply #687 on: May 19, 2016, 09:58:16 PM »
Funeral 930 am St. Mary's Anglican Tacarigua tomorrow please God

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #688 on: May 21, 2016, 12:08:24 AM »
Condolences! Try not to focus too much on recent events, remember all the words of wisdom from the old man, the ``spranalang’’ times, the caring etc …  .

Re: The In Memory Of Thread (Foreign)
« Reply #689 on: June 01, 2016, 10:43:21 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/wIPf0HK9Els" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/wIPf0HK9Els</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/amN5bVD5nfQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/amN5bVD5nfQ</a>

South Africa mourn former coach Ted Dumitru
By Mark Gleeson, BBC Sport.

Ted Dumitru, a former national coach of four African nations and some of South Africa's top clubs, has died aged 76.

He passed away after collapsing at a Johannesburg shopping mall, with reports that he died of a heart attack.

The Romanian-born Dumitru coached Zambia, Swaziland, Namibia and South Africa as well as taking Mamelodi Sundowns to a Champions League final.

His correct surname was Dimitru, but was often incorrectly spelt Dumitru in South Africa.

He won several club honours in three decades in South Africa despite being a divisive figure.

Dumitru remained something of a mysterious figure throughout his career, with little neither known nor volunteered about his playing and coaching background.

Ted Dumitru's Honours in South Africa

1987: Top 8 Cup (Kaizer Chiefs)
1987: SA FA Cup (Kaizer Chiefs)
1998: SA FA Cup (Mamelodi Sundowns)
1997/98: League Champions (Mamelodi Sundowns)
1998/99: League Champions (Mamelodi Sundowns)
2003: SA League Cup (Kaizer Chiefs)
2003/04: League Champions (Kaizer Chiefs)
2004: SA League Cup (Kaizer Chiefs)
2004/05: League Champions (Kaizer Chiefs)

But he was a youthful coach in the old North American Professional Soccer League where he took over the Rochester Lancers in 1974 and had the Ghanaians Frank Odoi and George Lamptey among his players.

He stayed in charge for the 1975 season but they finished bottom of their conference with just six victories in 22 games.

Dimitru then resurfaced as Zambia coach in 1981 when they beat Zimbabwe over two legs in African Nations Cup qualifying but lasted just months. He went to Swaziland the same year before moving across to South Africa as Kaizer Chiefs coach in 1986.

He was an exotic figure when he first arrived in apartheid-isolated South Africa, the country's first coach of eastern European heritage, but battled initially to find his feet.

He failed to win the league title at Chiefs and was fired after two seasons, going onto work at several other clubs and take up a post as the coaching director for the South African Football Association.

One of his more successful spells was at Sundowns with whom he won two successive league titles in 1998 and 1999 and was at helm when 'The Brazilians' went to the African Champions League final in 2001.

They lost 4-1 to Al Ahly of Egypt in the final in tie where despite the one-sided score line many observers felt his side were much the better team.

A second spell with Chiefs delivered two more championships in 2004 and 2005, to equal the South African record for most titles won by a single coach, after which he retired from club coaching.

But with Bafana Bafana in crisis before the 2006 Nations Cup finals in Egypt with the departure of Stuart Baxter, Dimitru took over one month before the tournament.

He promised an exciting time to come as the South Africans beat their Egyptian hosts in Cairo in a pre-tournament friendly on the eve of the opening match.

But in the finals themselves South Africa lost all three group games, failing to even score a goal and he lost his job.

The South African media pilloried him for his bizarre range of excuses after the finals which included "my players don't know how to play in the rain".

But his squad selection included several exciting unknown youngsters who would go onto make an international impact, like Siphiwe Tshabalala, who scored the opening goal of the 2010 World Cup finals, and Tsepo Masilela who played in La Liga in Spain.

Dimitru, who also coached at Orlando Pirates, then became an advisor to Sundowns' billionaire owner Patrice Motsepe and briefly returned to bench after they fired Henri Michel in 2009, but lost all five of his games in charge.

At the time he set a record as the oldest coach in South African football, which Clive barker has since beaten.

Dumitru's team failed to score in any of his five games in charge, losing three and drawing two and his last encounter a 2-0 home loss to Ajax came at the age of 69.

As well as his coaching career he was also heavily involved in development and educating coaches, but was seen as dogmatic in his views.

He was an outspoken proponent of the establishment on a so-called ' South African style of play' with heavy emphasis on individual flair.

He had little time for coaches who played any other type of football and was often sniping from the sidelines.

Dimitru was an American citizen and had a daughter and sister based in San Diego. His death provoked an outpouring of twitter tributes in South Africa with his name quickly trending on social media.