April 30, 2024, 07:06:23 AM

Author Topic: Gerrard: We'll have 6pts by the time we play Sweden  (Read 4796 times)

Gerrard: We'll have 6pts by the time we play Sweden
« on: April 25, 2006, 12:09:08 PM »
On channel 60 now, gerrard just made this statement when he was asked about the importance of the final game against sweden.

Steven is meh player, but oh Gosh man, have ah lil more respect!!

ah cyar love dat!!

Re: Gerrard: We'll have 6pts by the time we play Sweden
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2006, 12:16:58 PM »
Gerrard yuh is meh player too, so since I respect you I will be honest with you and tell you to haul your ass

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2006, 12:19:02 PM »
He could haul he arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrse

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2006, 12:21:40 PM »
Gerrard...HYMC

« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2006, 12:50:11 PM »
nice...I hope he spread the word to the rest of the team, so they could underestimate properly.

« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2006, 12:55:36 PM »
It is my hope that England go into the game a little slack so we catch them off guard, our natural skill and speed will make this a game to remember. Our defense have to be on point every time we cannot affordmisjudge and misread Owen, Gerrard or Rooney.
We have to play a tight man to man marking game

Offline 1989

« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2006, 01:00:01 PM »
nice...I hope he spread the word to the rest of the team, so they could underestimate properly.

My sentiments exactly.
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2006, 01:03:40 PM »
Doh study Gerrard .....

The man eyes was looking blood shot like is ah 10 piece he just come off smoking. Obviously the man was high. He probably get some of BSC high grade

« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2006, 01:22:51 PM »
let he keep that overconfidence.....go make the win against them that much sweeter

« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2006, 01:28:04 PM »
 :chilling:  6 points huh???

« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2006, 01:36:19 PM »
don't blame him for thinking so.............we just have to do the unthinkable to prove him wrong and make him shove his liverpile foot up his own mouth.....

« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2006, 02:45:26 PM »
hymc

hymc

hymc

hymc

new favorite england player is rooney

Offline ndookie

« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2006, 03:25:26 PM »
lard , HYMC , he could say what he want , remember when all the bahraini's was getting on like king when the first one draw 1-1 ,  what happen then ?? lick upp

nigel
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2006, 03:49:49 PM »
What so good about England. I know we are new to this World Cup and they could probably expect 3pts from us but what makes them feel that they so much better than Paraguay?

« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2006, 03:55:15 PM »
English over confidence (for our match) is one of the best things we can hope for, if Gerrard's comments are refelective of the entire team that is wonderful, may the "ghosts" of Senegal-France, Cameroun-Argentina, and W.Germany vs Algeria come alive!!

« Reply #15 on: April 25, 2006, 04:03:35 PM »
What so good about England. I know we are new to this World Cup and they could probably expect 3pts from us but what makes them feel that they so much better than Paraguay?

They just confident.....that's all. Nutten wrong with that.

Paraguay is a decent but not a feared team.

It have men on this forum booking 3 points for T&T against Paraguay.......and you see something wrong with England booking points against them ? Think about wha yuh sayin.....

England considers themselves a "big team" (arguably they are a big team).....so let them talk.....

As the underdog, we hadda do our talking on the field...simple as that.....
« Last Edit: April 25, 2006, 04:05:46 PM by kicker »

« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2006, 06:42:05 PM »
I think that fall under the psycology of winning.
Remember, this is a man went into the Champions League final hearing talk about how much lick they will get, and was in the lockerroom halftime down 0-3.

Quite frankly, if you go into any match thinking you going to lose, then you already starting behind. They are the seeded team, playing against a side that barely qualify, a side they does beat on the regular, and a wildcard from South America, but not a powerhouse by any means.

Of course, these days is only in boxing you could say in public before a match that you go beat down the next man/team.

Under all the old talk. Everybody hoping we do well. in fact, I done bet a case of beers that T&T beating England (4-0!) but deep down inside... yeah, it go soak in...

Offline ndookie

« Reply #17 on: April 25, 2006, 06:45:23 PM »
aye , england en beat sweden in a loooooooong time...
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #18 on: April 25, 2006, 06:49:10 PM »
Gerrard you can kiss my a..  :shameonyou:

Offline rodigan

« Reply #19 on: April 25, 2006, 07:10:30 PM »
best news around - let england focus on the other matches and forget about us for now...

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #20 on: April 25, 2006, 07:14:11 PM »
england getting on my nerves these days... that win they get over argentina real get to their heads

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #21 on: April 25, 2006, 07:27:19 PM »
I hope we make him eat his words yes :devil: :devil:....but realistically what yuh expect him to say ??doh forget dis suppose to be england year- with all de hype etc..he as a player just keeping the hype alive for them

Offline rodigan

« Reply #22 on: April 25, 2006, 07:31:02 PM »
it was hardly a win worth getting excited about - a friendly with goals in the last eight minutes when it was argentina b playing england b...

however, they have to tlak up their chances - every major tournament, they choke for some reason or the other - they are desperate to convince themselves and their supporters that things are different this time round...

Offline kevinAckin

« Reply #23 on: April 25, 2006, 09:36:53 PM »
actually to give d man some credit he did not say we will have 6 pts by that time....he said HOPEFULLY we'd have 6 pts.....

« Reply #24 on: April 25, 2006, 10:20:21 PM »
Gerrard yuh is meh player too, so since I respect you I will be honest with you and tell you to haul your ass

well said

Offline 1989

England WILL WIN the World Cup
« Reply #25 on: April 26, 2006, 06:45:52 PM »
In 2010, that is. ;D

Source: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/4949118.stm

FA offers England job to Scolari
Luiz Felipe Scolari has been offered the job of England manager and is discussing terms with the Football Assocation, the BBC has been told.

FA chief executive Brian Barwick is in Lisbon to thrash out a deal with the Portugal manager who is Brazilian.

Scolari, 57, who guided Brazil to victory in the 2002 World Cup, is out of contract after the 2006 finals.

If he accepts the post, he will take over from Sven-Goran Eriksson after this summer's tournament in Germany.

Scolari is thought to have a gentleman's agreement with the Portuguese FA not to commit himself to another job until his current deal runs out in July.

It is understood part of the FA's talks in Lisbon are about waiving this arrangement.

The FA board are due to meet again next Thursday and had hoped to be in a position to finalise their selection by then.

Scolari's case has been championed at the highest level within the FA by Arsenal vice-chairman David Dein.

News that he has been offered the England job will come as a blow to fans who favour a British appointment.

The FA has also held talks with Middlesbrough boss Steve McClaren, Bolton's Sam Allardyce, Charlton manager Alan Curbishley and former Celtic boss Martin O'Neill.

Last week the FA claimed it had completed its interview process, and McClaren - part of Eriksson's current England coaching team - was seen as favourite.

But Barwick's trip to Portugal seems to support claims that the FA board were unable to reach a decision.

Agreeing personal terms with Scolari should not be an issue as he is believed to earn less than the estimated £3m that the FA is expected to offer.

But the FA's approach raises the prospect of him facing England in Germany this summer as manager-elect, possibly in the quarter-finals.

He has helped to knock England out of their past two major tournaments - with Brazil in the 2002 World Cup quarter-finals, and with Portugal at the same stage in Euro 2004.

Scolari is a double winner of the Libertadores - the South American championship - and took hosts Portugal to the final of Euro 2004, where they lost to Greece.

Offline 1989

« Reply #26 on: April 27, 2006, 09:22:19 AM »
Source: http://worldcup.uk.msn.com/LuizFelipeScolari/

9 Reasons for Scolari

1. The best way to inspire the next generation of English players is for England to win tournaments – Scolari is a proven winner.

2. Scolari does not have any sacred cows. If a player is not performing well he drops them – something Sven Goran Eriksson has failed to do with his team.

3. Big Phil is a motivator. He can deal with players’ egos and get the best out of them.

4. He has great tactical nous. His teams outwitted England twice in major tournaments: his Brazilian team beat Eriksson’s England with just ten men (Ronaldinho was sent off) in 2002, and Portugal outplayed England in Euro 2004 by pressing the opposition into mistakes and then keeping possession for long periods. An exhausted England barely made it to the penalty shoot-out and then flopped.

5. Big Phil’s teams are more likely to practise penalties than Eriksson’s. Scolari understands that many matches at the knock-out stages of tournaments go to penalties so he ensures his teams practise them. Sven appears to take a more relaxed approach to this issue, hoping for the best in a penalty shoot-out but not preparing properly for it (a crime also perpetrated by previous England managers).

6. The Football Association is showing how progressive it is by picking Big Phil: many other teams have foreign coaches and nationality simply is not an issue for them.

7. Many of the top club teams in England’s Premiership – Chelsea, Manchester United, Arsenal, Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur, for example – have managers who are not English. Few people, including fans of those teams, raise this matter as some kind of problem for those clubs. Why should the national team be any different?

8. Most of the players in the current England squad have said that nationality is not a problem for them – they would just like the best man for the job.

9. No English manager has the right experience for the role. Who in their right mind would want Steve McClaren coaching the England team?

9 Reasons Against Scolari

1. How can he get the players to do what we wants when he can’t speak their language well enough?

2. By appointing another foreigner the Football Association is limiting the ambitions of the best English coaches. What can people such as Steve McClaren, Alan Curbishley, Stuart Pearce, Alan Pardew and Sam Allardyce aspire to if their own association will not appoint them?

3. If the idea behind the appointment is that to win the World Cup a team must be managed by someone who has already won it, what was the point of interviewing anyone else? This approach also suggests that England cannot win the 2006 World Cup as Sven Goran Eriksson has never coached a country to victory. Indeed, taking the argument to its logical conclusion would mean that only Portugal (Scolari’s current team) can win the World Cup this year – no other team is led by a coach who has previously won the tournament.

4. Scolari has coached teams that have very different players from England’s and play in a very different way. Can he adapt his approach to the English way of playing?

5. Big Phil tends to be rather outspoken – can he really cope with the English tabloids’ reaction to every word he utters?

6. An England coach needs to get on well with English club managers. He needs to be able to get the right players released by clubs for friendlies and needs to ensure players are not tired at the send of a long season just as a big tournament begins. Eriksson managed to get the English domestic season shortened by a week to give his players more time to rest before this year’s World Cup. Is Big Phil diplomatic enough to be able to achieve the same?

7. He cannot be trusted. Just a few days ago Scolari had claimed that he had not even been interviewed by the Football Association and that he had a gentleman’s agreement with the Portuguese authorities to not accept a new role until after the World Cup. Now it appears that he has been interviewed and is considering going back on his gentleman’s agreement.

8. If he is so good as a coach how come Portugal (the home team) lost to Greece (a bunch of journeymen) in the final of Euro 2004?

9. How hard can it be to win the World Cup when you are managing Brazil?

« Reply #27 on: April 27, 2006, 09:41:10 AM »

They just confident.....that's all. Nutten wrong with that.

Paraguay is a decent but not a feared team.

It have men on this forum booking 3 points for T&T against Paraguay.......and you see something wrong with England booking points against them ? Think about wha yuh sayin.....

England considers themselves a "big team" (arguably they are a big team).....so let them talk.....

As the underdog, we hadda do our talking on the field...simple as that.....

Talk done right dey.... as a matter of fact yuh aint talk, yuh preach... ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)

Offline real-warrior

« Reply #28 on: April 27, 2006, 10:15:35 AM »
ok den! he cud go and tell de pope :-\

« Reply #29 on: April 27, 2006, 11:21:03 AM »
Source: http://worldcup.uk.msn.com/LuizFelipeScolari/

9 Reasons for Scolari

6. The Football Association is showing how progressive it is by picking Big Phil: many other teams have foreign coaches and nationality simply is not an issue for them.

7. Many of the top club teams in England’s Premiership – Chelsea, Manchester United, Arsenal, Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur, for example – have managers who are not English. Few people, including fans of those teams, raise this matter as some kind of problem for those clubs. Why should the national team be any different?

9 Reasons Against Scolari

3. no other team is led by a coach who has previously won the tournament.

8. If he is so good as a coach how come Portugal (the home team) lost to Greece (a bunch of journeymen) in the final of Euro 2004?

9. How hard can it be to win the World Cup when you are managing Brazil?

6) Compare Apples with apples and Oranges with Oranges

Brazil - Parreira
Argentina - Pekerman
France - Domenech
Germany - Klinsmann
Italy - Lippi
England - SGE/ Scolari

Which one of these things is not like the other?
Neither Spain, nor Mexico (the other 2 WC seeds) have ever won a World Cup

7: Of these 'top clubs' what are the percentage of non English players on each team (take Arsenal for example). BTW, since when did club football resemble NT football?
__

3: Umm, Parreira won with Brazil in 1994

8: Easy, Greece wanted it more, end of story

9: Ask Mario Zagallo, Tele Santana, Darth Lazar etc