April 19, 2024, 04:12:10 PM

Author Topic: Languages  (Read 4792 times)

Languages
« on: April 27, 2006, 12:36:38 PM »
Any forumites fluent in 2 or more languages

Thought about it when fishs say he had to calm dong de chef in Georgian..and ah figure man who livin France and Japan hadda handle dey stories correct to get troo dey

How about de res?...iz we linguists? or does we butcher de people an dem language  ;)

Offline Lil Jodie P

Re: Languages
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2006, 12:51:01 PM »
it have a couple of us with languages under we belt...i am sure!
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2006, 02:55:56 PM »
Pointman is a rell cunning linguist ;D

On the real...besides English I speak Spanish fluently and Portugese semi-fluently. :chilling:

There are a few other languages that I can carry on a semi decent conversation ie French and believe it or not Amharic. I also know a bit of iSizulu(ie Zulu) and other southern African languages.

Languages are my thing, I just have a knack for it somehow. I can pick them up easily. :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2006, 03:08:18 PM »
interesting question.   i have a master's degree in spanish, and i currently teach in a small university here in south cack.

my french was good at one point, as was my portuguese.  lack of practice tho, and i lost a good deal of it. similar to pointman i have a knack for languages, and a love for other cultures.

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2006, 03:27:36 PM »
i know spanish...did it in school...up to A levels...so ah know enough to carry on a conversation. hated french tho! spanish was meh thing!!!

« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2006, 06:38:02 AM »
Oh ho...is ah setta parang singers in here so far eh

well except for pointman...breds even if yuh learn yuh spanish trackin some butter peacan ricans in brooklyn...and yuh learn yuh french from watchin too much porn

whey de hell ah man go pick up AMHARIC???...it even have a free night class fuh dat?

If ah make it to de ATL dis year ah hope yuh eh go start talking Xhosa and clickin with yuh tongue an ting eh :D

« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2006, 07:11:48 AM »
Pointman is a rell cunning linguist ;D

On the real...besides English I speak Spanish fluently and Portugese semi-fluently. :chilling:

There are a few other languages that I can carry on a semi decent conversation ie French and believe it or not Amharic. I also know a bit of iSizulu(ie Zulu) and other southern African languages.

Languages are my thing, I just have a knack for it somehow. I can pick them up easily. :beermug:

Yuh would do well here. Georgian is only spoken by Georgians and it is very difficult to learn phonetically (ah spell dat right?).

Two languages that would be usefull to learn is Russian and Arabic.
All of the old soviet states speak Russian and in this part of the world speaking Arabic is a difinite plus because you could understand Turkish and Azeri and at the same time converse anywhere in the middle east.

« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2006, 08:18:03 AM »
Right now I'm doing conversational Spanish. I did it up to form 3 in school and I watch so much football that I can understand almost everything a spanish commentator says.

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2006, 08:20:35 AM »
yea watching de football and TNT movies have me able wit meh spnaish still too...if not for that i wud have lost it all!

« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2006, 10:02:42 AM »
Well, my first language is German, but, man, without practive it really gets knocked out of you. I also studied the Spanish. I'm working on Trini.

« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2006, 10:11:41 AM »
Study in Spain for 4 months in 2001...

but lack of practice have meh rusty rusty

« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2006, 01:29:32 PM »

well except for pointman...breds even if yuh learn yuh spanish trackin some butter peacan ricans in brooklyn...and yuh learn yuh french from watchin too much porn

whey de hell ah man go pick up AMHARIC???...it even have a free night class fuh dat?

If ah make it to de ATL dis year ah hope yuh eh go start talking Xhosa and clickin with yuh tongue an ting eh :D

Well I learned Spanish in the following countries:Ecuador where I spent an entire summer(1980) and in Mexico where I used to go every summer from '81 to '85. Leh me tell allyuh someting, no lie, except for the language difference, Mexicans jess like Trinis...dey love ah ole talk. Some of the nicest people yu'll ever meet.

Portugese I studied at Howard U...very close to Spanish so I was able to make an easy transition. Also here in Atlanta there is a large Brazilian community as well as a HUGE Mexican community. I took one summer school session of French...just for something to do.

IsiZulu: Well at Howard I used to roll with South Africans and I picked up some of the language. I also took a semester of Zulu as an elective at HU. I used to date a South African as well :P  BTW Dutty I can click ;)

Xhosa and Zulu are in the same language(Bantu) family like Spanish and Portugese(Romance). So most Zulu speakers can understand Xhosas and vice versa. The clicks are actually represented in the language as the letters Q, X and C and there are different types of clicks,meaning different sounds. An interesting thing about South Africans, most of them spoke at least three language, my closest pardnah spoke about seven fluently. Also the smallies from SA that ah was dating, she grandfather was, of all things, TRINI ;D . Trini really everywhere in trute oui.

Amharic is the official language of Ethiopia and the largest ex-patriot Ethiopian community lives in the DC metro area where I went to school. I was just interested to learn a language that had a totally different script...kinda like a self challenge. It's a very ancient language and it also has some sounds akin to clicks...in a different way. It's related to Hebrew and Arabic.  A semitic language.

So that my language history. Chinese would be a useful one to know right about now. ;D

Peace

« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2006, 01:44:05 PM »
I'm interested in diplomacy so I'm making French and Spanish a priority. After that Chinese.

« Reply #13 on: April 28, 2006, 01:51:34 PM »

Well I learned Spanish in the following countries:Ecuador where I spent an entire summer(1980) and in Mexico where I used to go every summer from '81 to '85. Leh me tell allyuh someting, no lie, except for the language difference, Mexicans jess like Trinis...dey love ah ole talk. Some of the nicest people yu'll ever meet.

Portugese I studied at Howard U...very close to Spanish so I was able to make an easy transition. Also here in Atlanta there is a large Brazilian community as well as a HUGE Mexican community. I took one summer school session of French...just for something to do.

IsiZulu: Well at Howard I used to roll with South Africans and I picked up some of the language. I also took a semester of Zulu as an elective at HU. I used to date a South African as well :P  BTW Dutty I can click ;)

Xhosa and Zulu are in the same language(Bantu) family like Spanish and Portugese(Romance). So most Zulu speakers can understand Xhosas and vice versa. The clicks are actually represented in the language as the letters Q, X and C and there are different types of clicks,meaning different sounds. An interesting thing about South Africans, most of them spoke at least three language, my closest pardnah spoke about seven fluently. Also the smallies from SA that ah was dating, she grandfather was, of all things, TRINI ;D . Trini really everywhere in trute oui.

Amharic is the official language of Ethiopia and the largest ex-patriot Ethiopian community lives in the DC metro area where I went to school. I was just interested to learn a language that had a totally different script...kinda like a self challenge. It's a very ancient language and it also has some sounds akin to clicks...in a different way. It's related to Hebrew and Arabic.  A semitic language.

So that my language history. Chinese would be a useful one to know right about now. ;D

Peace

I noticed something about Brazilian players. When Ronaldinho in particular signed for Barca he  spoke what seemed to be fluent Spanish to the the media. Now obviously he had done some work with it. But I was watching ESPN and Kaka who has never lived in a Spanish speaking country was giving an interview spitting Spanish. I did some research into it an from what I understand there are some linguists who say Portuguese is actually a dialect of Spanish. In that case Pointman, has it been your experience that Portuguese speaking people understand Spanish at least to some degree ?

« Last Edit: April 28, 2006, 02:05:16 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2006, 01:55:54 PM »

Agreed, I have real Chinese friends so I pick up words here and there. In the interests of diplomacy and communication it is a good  language to learn esp when yuh living in a place like Toronto. I asking dem to teach me, I might go to China when ah done school.

Always wanted to learn a language out of Africa as well. I know enough Gikuyu (Kenya) to get me by. Either Xhosa or Zulu I would like to pursue.

Meh Spanish real rusty though
and thanks to e-man's boss website I learning a little German phrase here and there  :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: April 28, 2006, 02:11:53 PM »

Peace

I noticed something about Brazilian players. When Ronaldinho in particular signed for Barca he was spoke what seemed to be fluent Spanish to the the media. Now obviously he had done some work with it. But I was watching ESPN and Kaka who has never lived in a Spanish speaking country was giving an interview spitting Spanish. I did some research into it an from what I understand there are some linguists who say Portuguese is actually a dialect of Spanish. In that case Pointman, has it been your experience that Portuguese speaking people understand Spanish at least to some degree ?

As far as Portugese being a dialect of Spanish, well it all depends on who you ask and how nationalistic they are ;D.  Yes I have heard that. Both mother countries of these languages occupy the same geographical peninsula hense the similarities in the languages. For the most part they can understand each other, but there are some grammartical as well  as some vocabulary differences. When we examin Brazilian Portugese then that a horse of ah different color. It is quite different(grammartically) from the other Portugese( Europe and Africa) as there are the same imfluences in the language just like in the Caribbean with the way we speak English, Spanish and French. In the Brazilian, as in the Haitian case, the "new" language has now been legitimized.

« Reply #16 on: April 28, 2006, 02:17:35 PM »

Peace

Oh so yuh does click too...ah might bring done ah pair ah tap shoes to communicate better wit yuh

Actually thats all quite impressive..no actual formal language schooling..good for you man

and when yuh want to learn chinese ,,mek sure and learn the mandarin dialect eh...de way tings goin wit china...man go hadda know dat to get ah decent wukk in 20, 30 years from now

« Reply #17 on: April 28, 2006, 02:17:53 PM »

Agreed, I have real Chinese friends so I pick up words here and there. In the interests of diplomacy and communication it is a good  language to learn esp when yuh living in a place like Toronto. I asking dem to teach me, I might go to China when ah done school.

Always wanted to learn a language out of Africa as well. I know enough Gikuyu (Kenya) to get me by. Either Xhosa or Zulu I would like to pursue.

and thanks to e-man's boss website I learning a little German phrase here and there  :beermug:

TO actually has the largest Chinatown in North America. Yuh cyar go wrong with Chinese today...dey gettin ready to do some big things globally. They in Africa big time.
How did you learn Gikuyu? another one ah meh ex spoke that. ;)

If it's a choice between Xhosa and Zulu pick Zulu, much less clicks. It takes ah while to really get the clicks down. There is a website where you can here it being spoken...dat ting is no joke :P

« Reply #18 on: April 28, 2006, 02:18:45 PM »
ah know alittle Portugese.

« Reply #19 on: April 28, 2006, 02:20:41 PM »

Me too...she name was Tina Da Silva,,,man ,if you see de bumper on DAT  :o

« Reply #20 on: April 28, 2006, 02:23:27 PM »

Me too...she name was Tina Da Silva,,,man ,if you see de bumper on DAT  :o

:rotfl: :rotfl: we could always count on you for some levity :rotfl:

ah owe yuh some ah dis  :beermug: when yuh in my area :rotfl:

« Reply #21 on: April 28, 2006, 02:27:38 PM »

TO actually has the largest Chinatown in North America. Yuh cyar go wrong with Chinese today...dey gettin ready to do some big things globally. They in Africa big time.

If it's a choice between Xhosa and Zulu pick Zulu, much less clicks. It takes ah while to really get the clicks down. There is a website where you can here it being spoken...dat ting is no joke :P

Pointman link meh to the website nah
like yuh have a thing for women from the motherland oui  ;D

I learnt Gikuyu through an African Literature course I look here in university. Since then I've been very interested in sub-saharan African literature, notably Ngugi, who writes in Gikuyu.

I wasn't aware that Africa had a large Chinese population, I mean I know Chinese are almost everywhere these days but I didn't think Africa had a substantial population ....that is interesting.

PS - Dutty, yuh had meh amost rollin with that one  :rotfl:

« Reply #22 on: April 28, 2006, 03:02:18 PM »

Pointman link meh to the website nah
like yuh have a thing for women from the motherland oui  ;D

I learnt Gikuyu through an African Literature course I look here in university. Since then I've been very interested in sub-saharan African literature, notably Ngugi, who writes in Gikuyu.

I wasn't aware that Africa had a large Chinese population, I mean I know Chinese are almost everywhere these days but I didn't think Africa had a substantial population ....that is interesting.

Grande ah go hadda hit yuh off with de website later. Ah hadda search for it again.
In college African tings was meh speciality ;D very nice indeed.

Also Grande what I meant about the Chinese being in Africa Big Time was Chinese Businesses/ investments. So much so that the US is worried that they(Chinese) would undermine US foreign policy in the region. I know I didn't make that clear.

I read "Petals of Blood" by Ngugi wa Thiong'o a long time ago. Ah cyar really remember much now but I remembered enjoying it quite a bit.

« Reply #23 on: April 28, 2006, 04:32:07 PM »
in this day and age and to prepare for the future..the language to learn has to be Chinese

« Reply #24 on: April 29, 2006, 12:25:27 AM »
Actually the mother language of Spain, Portugal, France and Italy is Romance.
Celtic is the mother language foe UK ,Norway Sweden, Ireland and I think Iceland.
Germanic is Dutch, Germany, Austria etc.

So you guys are rigth when you say some native languages are just dialects of a common one.

« Reply #25 on: April 29, 2006, 12:54:11 PM »
i does talk shyt, morvant, trini, brooklyn, and a little arabic

spanish and french dont count if yuh went ah good school in trini

« Reply #26 on: April 30, 2006, 01:33:45 PM »

Pointman link meh to the website nahlike yuh have a thing for women from the motherland oui  ;D

GrandeMan I ahve a website for you if you wish to hear spoken IsiZulu

It's  www.ukhozifm.co.za

enjoy