Kamla
2 (14.3%)
The people of Chaguanas West
5 (35.7%)
Some big pappy contractor
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 13

Voting closed: July 28, 2013, 04:18:55 AM

Author Topic: Jack Warner General Section Thread.  (Read 183274 times)

Re: Jack Warner: a case of expanding the national security portfolio?
« Reply #870 on: May 08, 2013, 07:07:03 AM »

Army official sheds more light on new unit Flying Squad was on drug exercise
Published:

Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Anika Gumbs-Sandiford

Mervyn Cordner

Former national security minister Jack Warner denied up to the last that he had any knowledge of the existence of the New Flying Squad Investigations Unit (NFSIU) but new information shows members of the unit were part of a joint air-surveillance exercise by the National Security Operations Centre (NSOC) and T&T Air Guard (TTAG)

Continued T&T Guardian investigations into the secret revival of the NFSIU revealed that NFSIU members were part of the surveillance of marijuana fields in various areas of east Trinidad on October 5, 2012, along with police and members of the T&T Regiment’s first and second battalion (infantry). The exercise was arranged after NFSIU members received a tip-off about the marijuana fields in east Trinidad, worth an estimated $1 million.

The information, T&T Guardian learned, was handed over to retired coast guard lieutenant commander and NSOC director Garvin Heerah by NFSIU head Mervyn Cordner. How members of the NFSIU ended up aboard a helicopter which falls under the auspices of the Ministry of National Security without Warner’s knowledge is unknown but a Defence Force official confirmed to the T&T Guardian that two members of the NFSIU were part of the exercise.

“We had an exercise in the hot-spot area in the east,” said one, who did not want to be named for fear of being reprimanded. “It included joint air support from the NSOC and the TTAG. It was a surveillance exercise. The exercise was on October 5, 2012, involving police and members of the army.” Asked specifically if members of the NFSIU were part of the exercise, the official first replied: “What about the NFSIU you are asking?”

Told the T&T Guardian had obtained a copy of the report that showed NFSIU members were part of the exercise, the official then said: “Yes, but you know I prefer not to comment about that.” NFSIU members were picked up at Camp Cumuto in Wallerfield for the exercise.

Afterwards a report was submitted to Warner and Heerah by retired police inspector Mervyn Cordner, who claimed he was recalled by Warner to head the NFSIU. The report recommended that surveillance equipment should be installed close to the marijuana fields, after their destruction, to keep a watch on the area.

“The NFS team has observed that when these fields are destroyed and the officers move out of the area, the fields are replanted. We can acquire technology to place cameras in the forest to photograph and record the planters,” the report pointed out. Neither NSOC director Heerah, who assisted with the rental of eight vehicles for the NFSIU, nor Warner, who has since resigned as national security minister, responded to text messages about the surveillance exercise.

And while acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams has dismissed claims by Cordner that the NFSIU helped police in fighting crime, T&T Guardian investigations continue to reveal otherwise. Commenting briefly on the exercise last week, Cordner only said: “Everything is going to come out bit by bit, no matter how Jack Warner tries to deny the existence of the NFSIU.

“We did not know when the eradication exercise took place. We were not part of that exercise. We were part of the surveillance exercise and assisted in obtaining the information about the high-grade marijuana fields in the east.” He added: “There was much more surveillance work to be done but the police acted quickly. The police were informed of everything we did.”

Cordner also reiterated that the NFSIU was instrumental in helping solve the murder of Chinese couple Yang Jiang Hua and Wu Xia Hua, who were shot dead last July at their family’s home and business place, Tiger’s Chinese Restaurant, Cunupia. Cordner’s claims are corroborated by businessman Richard Koorn, owner of Donrich Security Kennels, Factory Road, Golden Grove, Arouca, where the NFSIU operated for four months last year until being shut down because of lack of funding.

The NFSIU was reportedly secretly revived in July last year, months after Warner signalled his intention to do so. The original Flying Squad was first formed in the 1970s but was disbanded in 1980 after former police commissioner Randolph Burroughs was charged with conspiracy to murder. Warner hinted at the possibility of bringing back a “sanitised version” of the squad last year but did not give a time frame.

The Police Complaints Authority has started investigations into the revival of the NFSIU. Statements have been taken from Cordner and several other NFSIU members. Koorn is expected to meet with PCA officials to relate his involvement with the NFSIU. 

News

Previous Article
MARQUEZ: CHRISTOPHER

Re: Will Jack create history?
« Reply #871 on: May 08, 2013, 08:10:01 PM »

« Reply #872 on: May 13, 2013, 05:30:13 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8TllTzIjWgw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8TllTzIjWgw</a>
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #873 on: May 13, 2013, 07:56:03 PM »
A few observations about Jack:

Jack began campaigning same weekend he resigned .

The villain he has targeted is Suruj and some unnamed others.

He has pledged continued support for KPB and the UNC

Warner commands massive support evidenced by the crowds, motorcade and public opinion polls.

He continues to enjoy significant media attention , free of charge.

Jack is attempting to influence the date of the election and subtly exploit divisions by requesting the election to be held outside of Ramadan.

He has also continuously been hinting about certain options he has if he's isn't selected as the UNC candidate.

KPB and the UNC

She has been happy to avoid any questions on elections and Warner altogether .

Moonilal and Suruj have also been uncharacteristically reticent on Warner.

The UNC has not started campaigning at all

The EBC has declared it would be prepared to preside over both the by-election and the local government elections on the same day. The UNC could very possibly play this card as it would help their campaign.

When questioned about the possibility of Warner running as an independent KPB said there were provisions in the UNC for expulsion of members in such circumstances. It was hilarious to see the PM and political leader of the UNC have to refer to Tim Gopeesingh standing behind her like her guardian  to confirm her response to the question.

I don't think this is a straight forward election at all. Conventional wisdom in T&T dictates that party beats candidate every time. The party is pinning all its hopes on this wisdom. Jack has some factors benefitting him now though partly because he has already created history by his current action. The fact that he is first to market is attracting even further media coverage.  Conversely the widespread support he has makes it difficult to gauge how much of it is from registered voters in Chaguanas West.

« Reply #874 on: May 14, 2013, 05:47:57 AM »
... It should be a straightforward election but space has been created to expand the possibilities and make it more intriguing. It would be efficient to have both elections simultaneously ... although, it shouldn't happen.

« Reply #875 on: May 17, 2013, 09:25:46 PM »
oh gawd.....somebody help me embed this man

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

http://youtu.be/8TllTzIjWgw

« Reply #876 on: May 18, 2013, 05:33:20 AM »
Boy I nearly dead the first time I saw it......it have real idle people out there yes.....

Jack Warner gave firetruck deal before approval
« Reply #877 on: June 05, 2013, 02:01:04 AM »
Jack gave firetruck deal before approval
Anika Gumbs-Sandiford (Guardian
).

CABINET SAID NO TWICE

Cabinet twice refused to sign off on the whopping $10 million quotation originally submitted for removing the firetruck involved in an accident last November.

That original reluctance appears to have been justified, as other wrecking companies yesterday estimated the cost for such a job at $50,000 at most. T&T Guardian learned the recommendation was submitted to the Ministry of National Security on November 22 by former chief fire officer Carl Williams on the basis of a technical assessment.

The water tender from the Arima Fire Station was responding to a report in Blanchisseuse when it ran off the road, plunging over a 300-foot cliff, a T&T Guardian exclusive reported yesterday. On the basis of Williams’s recommendation, the line minister at the time, Jack Warner, took a note to Cabinet for approval. However, some ministers objected to the cost and approval was withheld at two Cabinet meetings.

Ministry officials yesterday told T&T Guardian that Cabinet eventually approved a revised price of $6.8 million for retrieving the truck. The approval, however, was granted in December—some weeks after the job had already been done. Documents obtained by the T&T Guardian yesterday showed the Rosenbauer water tender was bought in 2006 for $2,236,275.35. Contacted yesterday, Williams said: “I am on pre-retirement leave. Please call me back at 4 pm.”

However, later phone calls went directly to his voice mail. A senior government minister said yesterday: “The former minister submitted a note for cover approval. “In the first two instances, approval was not granted because concerns were raised about the price. But because the work was completed, approval was eventually granted. Concerns were raised.”

Permanent Secretary in the National Security Ministry Jennifer Boucaud-Blake, who is in the United Kingdom at present, has distanced herself from any involvement, saying she is not authorised to approve spending over $1 million. Acting Chief Fire Officer Nayar Rampersad, contacted yesterday, said a report was expected to be submitted to current line minister Emmanuel George next week, to determine if it was cost-effective to repair the water tender.

The truck is currently parked at the Chaguanas Fire Station as investigations continue.

Other estimates: $25-$50,000

Owners of other wrecking companies were yesterday shocked at the bill for retrieving the firetruck. The head of the company that retrieved the truck, Ramdath Ramsubir, of Sammy’s Multilift Services Ltd, is insisting that the cost is “justified.” Sammy’s Multilift Services is a subsidiary of Junior Sammy Contractors.

The T&T Guardian was referred to two companies that specialise in removing heavy equipment: Chiney Wrecking Services, owned by Larry Mohan, and Fyzam Garage 24hr Wrecking Service. Both are south-based and have been in business for over 20 years. Yesterday, the owners said they were at a loss as to what would have contributed to such a hefty price.

Mohan scoffed at the $6 million price tag, saying: “It could have cost nowhere near that. “We have been in the wrecking business over 25 years, and did several jobs like that in Maracas,” he said. “That job will cost no more than $50,000, and that is the maximum. “We have equipment to move heavy vehicles like that and I am sure we could have pulled it out. “In no part of the world could it ever happen...The vehicle is not even valued at that price.

“For a crane to pick it up means that it was not in such a bad area. If it was in a dangerous place, a crane could not even reach there. Two wreckers could have pulled out the water tender.” Fyzam Ali said based on his calculations, he would have charged a mere $25,000 for the job. Ali, the owner of Fyzam Garage, said after he read the report in yesterday’s T&T Guardian, he tried to calculate an estimated cost and was unable to arrive at the figure of $6.5 million.

“The most I will say is $25,000,” Ali said. Told that the water tender had plunged down 300 feet over a precipice and three cranes were used to retrieve it, Ali replied: “It was to make the work look big. “They could have bought a new water tender and leave that one there,” he said. “I am shocked. That is too much money. I have been in the business for 30 years and no job has ever cost $6 million—not even close. "I think somebody is mad.”

Breakdown of the $10 million bill:

In the recommendation he submitted to Warner, Williams gave a breakdown of the proposed $10 million bill. It listed:

Mobilisation and demobilisation fee
Excavators
Heavy-haul extended trailer-track truck
Lighting towers
Rigging equipment
Crane mats
Safety officers
Project managers
Riggers
Hygienic facilities

Re: Jack Warner gave firetruck deal before approval
« Reply #878 on: June 05, 2013, 04:25:58 AM »
More bobol & wasting of tax payers money!  :bs:

« Reply #879 on: July 01, 2013, 10:04:51 PM »
Well in case yuh didnt know from before I go give yuh some cliff notes:

Jack get blank....Khadijah Ameen named as the UNC candidate for Chaguanas West.

Jack weighing options. I hear he starting a new party...color is green...but I eh see no article to confirm.

But...from dis...de bouncing start:

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/PM-Warner-refused-to-travel-213923561.html

ack Warner refused to travel on Government business and had too many controversies hanging over his head to be selected as the UNC’s candidate to contest the Chaguanas West by-election, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said last night.

Persad-Bissessar, speaking at the party’s Monday Night Forum at the Vishnu Boys’ Hindu School, Caroni for the first time explained to the people why Warner could not be supported by her and her Government.

His imbroglio with FIFA and the “Flying Squad” were two of the issues which she named that haunted Warner.

“While he sat in the Cabinet as a Minister of National Security, he refused to travel on Government business on several occasions,” she said.

“These included matters where the Minister of National Security would have been required to attend whether it be in Washington, Toronto, New York and even Haiti,” she added.

Warner, she noted, resigned on his own volition following matters related to FIFA and which to date he has not provided evidence to refute.

“You cannot separate those matters from his position as a Minister since it has the potential to do irreparable damage to the government and the image of our country,” she said.

“No one asked him to resign. Recognising the magnitude of what was revealed in the Ethics Committee report from Panama, he offered his resignation as Minister of National Security and, I accepted, as is my right,” she said.

Warner, she said, is the subject of a police investigation into the establishment of an alleged Flying Squad at the Ministry of National Security.

Warner, she said, admitted that both he and his family are the subject of an enquiry by the Government of the US into a range of corporate white collar criminal offences under federal jurisdiction in the US.

“I have said that should he clear his name, he will be re-instated,” she said.

“Serious statements have been made about this matter by those close to it and which statements are also in the public domain,” she added.

“I am not prepared to burden you with a candidate with all these issues unresolved and in a situation where he had no reason to resign as a Member of Parliament,” said Persad-Bissessar.

“The matters involving him are clearly not limited to Chaguanas West – they involve the nation,” she added.

The UNC, she said, cannot support Warner under the current circumstances.

“Further legal challenges can embarrass the country, the government and you, the people of Chaguanas West,” she said.

Persad-Bissessar said Warner never consulted any institutions of the UNC before his resignations.

“Unilaterally, he returned one of the safest UNC seats that had been given to him on a platter by the UNC and now, he asks you to vote him back. I consider this to be disrespect for the party and for you and, who is to say whether such behaviour would not be repeated in the future,” she said.

Noting that Warner will be holding a public meeting in Felicity on Friday to announce his move, Persad-Bissessar said why did he not go to the people before.

“Where is the loyalty to the party that gave birth to his political career and more so, loyalty to you, members of the UNC and the Partnership,” she said.

“He claims that he is seeking validation.”

The Prime Minister stressed that she stands on the side of public integrity, accountability, credibility and transparency.

“The former MP abandoned you and abandoned the party,” she said.

A stone’s throw away, Warner held a cottage meeting at the Caroni Community Centre where he declared he will be contesting the by-election and come July 29 there will be change.

“Anyone who stands against the UNC stands against every single one of you and every single one of us! United we stand divided we fall,’ said Persad-Bissessar.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #880 on: July 01, 2013, 10:17:58 PM »

Right the battle lines drawn .

The only bad thing is whoever win yuh know the tiefing continuing.

« Reply #881 on: July 01, 2013, 10:46:07 PM »
If she used to read socawarriors.net, she would have known Jack was hot coals. Rowley used to read our comments and told them in parliament that Jack was damaged goods. He told them is either Jack serve the government or FIFA. Nah, they say Rowley head full of rocks. Well allyuh, take bwah!!!

« Reply #882 on: July 01, 2013, 11:11:39 PM »
The Prime Minister stressed that she stands on the side of public integrity, accountability, credibility and transparency.

This must'a been accompanied by a laugh track... hadda be.

BLOWS FOR JACK
« Reply #883 on: July 02, 2013, 02:02:01 AM »
BLOWS FOR JACK
By Newsday Staff Tuesday, July 2 2013

IN A clear parting of ways, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar last night described her former UNC colleague and one-time trusted lieutenant Jack Warner as being disrespectful and disloyal to the Government, party and people of Chaguanas West.

Warner was disloyal and disrespectful, she said, when he took a decision by himself — without consulting anyone in the party and anyone in Chaguanas West — to resign as a Cabinet member, as chairman of the UNC and as MP for Chaguanas West.

Speaking before a noisy and energised crowd at the party’s Monday Night Forum at the Vishnu Boys Hindu College, Caroni, Persad-Bissessar did not hold back any political punches as she called on supporters not to split votes but rather to remain united behind the party’s candidate for the July 29 Chaguanas West bye-election, Khadijah Ameen.

“The question has been asked, why did I accept the resignation of the former Member of Parliament for Chaguanas West.

“Let me tonight indicate that whenever it becomes necessary for me as your Prime Minister to act, so as to protect the integrity of Government or take action to ensure the principles and values which you supported in 2010 remain intact, I have acted fearlessly in the national interest,” Persad-Bissessar said.

She told the gathering that it was Warner who by his own personal choice, resigned as a member of Cabinet over allegations of financial impropriety when he was a member of world football governing body FIFA.

“His decision to resign from his seat and as chairman of the UNC was taken unilaterally. No institutions of the party, of which he was chairman, were consulted. No one asked him to resign,” Persad-Bissessar said.

“He returned one of the safest UNC seats that was given to him on a platter by the UNC and now, he asks you to vote him back! I consider this to be disrespect for the party and for you the constituents of Chaguanas West,” she declared.

“He now says that he wants to consult you on Friday, as to the direction he should take. I ask the question, why did he not consult you before he did what he did? Where is the loyalty to the party that gave birth to his political career and more so, loyalty to you, members of the UNC and the Partnership?” (See page 5)

Jack under police probe

Persad-Bissessar said Warner is the subject of a police investigation into the establishment of an alleged Flying Squad at the Ministry of National Security. “Serious statements have been made about this matter by those close to it and which statements are also in the public domain,” she said.

Persad-Bissessar said Warner had “admitted” that both he and his family are subject of an inquiry by the US Government into allegations of white collar crime. “I have said that should he clear his name, he will be reinstated. The party cannot support a candidate under the current circumstances. Further legal challenges can embarrass the country, the Government and you, the people of Chaguanas West,” she said.

Persad-Bissessar revealed that while Warner sat in Cabinet as Minister of National Security, he refused to travel overseas on Government business on several occasions. These included, she said, matters where the Minister of National Security would have been required to attend whether it be in Washington, Toronto, New York and even Haiti.

“Why didn’t he seek your validation to resign? An action which has put us in this predicament.

Here we are tonight, putting energies into a campaign rather than putting more energies into building a country. I stand on the side of public integrity, accountability, credibility and transparency,” she said.

“None of this has been easy for me to tell you tonight but you have asked for answers and I am, as I always strive to do, share the reasons behind my decision. The former MP abandoned you and abandoned the party!”

She then deviated from her prepared speech to reveal publicly for the first time that in the UNC internal elections of 2010, Ameen was on Persad-Bissessar’s Star Slate for the position of party chairman.

“But we decided to take a different tact. I felt we had to do something else to bring more people into the party’s executive. I met Khadijah and she signed a document withdrawing her name from the slate for the position of party chairman,” she disclosed.

“I share this with you because I want to show you what a totally dedicated and loyal and hard working person Khadijah is. She never spoke about this in public. She never cried out, ‘oh gosh why they do me this for?’, she never picked up her marbles and dollies and walked away.

“She never went and formed her own party or ran as an independent. She trusted our party and she remained loyal. And this is the kind of candidate who is now asking for your vote,” Persad-Bissessar said, as Ameen smiled and looked at Persad-Bissessar while she spoke.

The Prime Minister described Ameen’s elevation as acting chairman as “poetic justice”.

“And today she is the candidate for Chaguanas West and will be the next MP for this constituency!”

She hit the Opposition PNM for being hypocritical by describing the People’s Partnership as anti-worker but when it was in power, kept the minimum wage at $9 an hour from 2003 to 2010. The minimum wage is today $12.50 an hour.

She said the PNM, when in power, suppressed the trade union movement but as it is now out of government, is teaming up with the Joint Trade Union Movement to march to Port-of-Spain on July 5. She accused the joint trade union movement of, “carrying on with a clearly political agenda to try and destabilise your democratically elected government!”

She described this Friday’s march by the trade union movement as being tainted. “That march is not a labour march for the rights of workers. That march is an attack on your government. It is designed to overthrow your constitutionally elected government and threaten all of the foreign leaders who will be here for the annual Caricom Heads of Government meeting. Shame on them!” she thundered.

She called on all “right thinking” and “patriotic citizens” to not march on Friday with the PNM and joint trade union movement. Persad-Bissessar urged the crowd to reject the politics of divisiveness and come July 29, be united as one to vote for Ameen.

Cops want all my emails, texts

Persad-Bissessar warned the gathering to not be surprised, “if the agents of the PNM”, conspire to take out warrants to search her home or the homes of other Government officials, under the guise of investigating email allegations which were raised by Opposition and PNM leader Dr Keith Rowley in Parliament.

She reiterated that everyone in Government including herself is fully committed to cooperating with the police in the probe, but questioned why is it, the police are insisting on cloning every bit of information contained in her cellular phone and laptop, when the scope of the investigation is only for September of last year.

“You talk of emails in September, so why do you want my entire life story? Why do you want to see my life story? Of everybody who sent me texts or emails. That will invade not just the privacy of the Prime Minister but the privacy of every single citizen who sent messages to the Prime Minister including foreign dignitaries and heads of governments.”

“They want to copy every single thing. Why? I cannot as a responsible Prime Minister and leader breach the invasion of privacy of everyone who sent me a text or email. I want you to understand that I have nothing to hide. Which one of you here will allow somebody to clone your phone?

“Why do you want to see my husband’s text message, ‘Kamla you working too hard, come home and take a rest’. Or a text from my grandson, ‘Gramma, why you have to work every day?’

“Why do the police want to see everything in the AG’s devices which may have information on investigations involving even the police?

“I am warning you. I remain committed to cooperating with the police. I remain committed but they cannot go on a witch hunt and a wild goose chase. I have nothing to hide!”

She then had some pointed questions for the police. “When someone planted cocaine in the water tank of (former UNC Government minister) Sadiq Baksh. Where is that investigation? Who did this? Have they held anyone?

“What about Calder Hart and Sunway? The Church in the Heights of Guanapo. Nothing! Where are the investigations into these matters?”

As she closed, the Prime Minister told the crowd, “Let us rise together and say with one voice, ‘behold, how good and how pleasant it is for brethren to dwell together in unity!”

« Last Edit: July 02, 2013, 03:20:52 PM by Flex »

« Reply #884 on: July 02, 2013, 02:04:04 AM »
Warner goes ‘independent’: ‘I will show T&T good governance’
T&T Guardian Reports.

Former United National Congress (UNC) chairman and national security minister Jack Warner last evening surprised his supporters by announcing, days before time, that he would officially run as a candidate in the July 29 Chaguanas West by-election. Warner made the statement as he spoke to a group of supporters at the Caroni Community Centre,New Street, Caroni.

He said he was still undecided about how he would run as an independent or form his own party but said either way he would battle with the UNC’s Khadijah Ameen and the PNM’s Avinash Singh to represent his former constituents with a fresh mandate. “I have not decided if I would contest as an independent or form my own party,” he told the audience.

The one thing he had decided officially, he said, was that after tomorrow, he would no longer be wearing the yellow colours of the UNC. Instead, Warner will stage a walkabout through Caroni tomorrow and on Friday he will host a meeting at the Pierre Road Recreation Ground at 7 pm, when he will unveil his new colour—green. He admitted afterwards that a story in yesterday’s  T&T Guardian, in which UNC election officer Ramona Ramdial noted that he would be immediately expelled from the party if he chose to run against Ameen in the by-election, had motivated him to make his announcement early.

Warner had initially indicated he would announce his plans at Friday’s meeting.

Yesterday, he said he had decided to contest the by-election because he wanted to “show T&T what good governance was about”. Warner said he had visited the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) to review his papers and said everything was in order. He said he has chosen a symbol and the colour green and urged his supporters to replace their yellow jerseys with green for Friday. He remained secretive on the symbol. Warner also knocked his opponents, Ameen and Singh, calling them “little children in a big people race”.

« Reply #885 on: July 02, 2013, 05:46:02 AM »
Warner goes ‘independent’: ‘I will show T&T good governance’

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Hear nah, I now telling a friend we have to make a trek down Chag West sometime in the next 27 days.......I going because that level of high grade entertainment is to be enjoyed live and direct.  Taking it een on TV just wont do......Jack City here I come!!!!!......

« Reply #886 on: July 02, 2013, 06:44:24 AM »
Dis will be KICKS!!

Buh tactically now.

Assuming Jack get back his seat.
Chain up 8 other MPs to side with him.

What then?

« Reply #887 on: July 02, 2013, 09:20:16 AM »
Dis will be KICKS!!

Buh tactically now.

Assuming Jack get back his seat.
Chain up 8 other MPs to side with him.

What then?

They eatin they food so he eh go get 8 but d Mad Man from St Joseph done say he supporting him. Y they eh expel him and have a by election in d marginal set of St Joseph.

« Reply #888 on: July 02, 2013, 09:24:27 AM »
PM: Warner refused to travel
By Anna Ramdass

Jack Warner refused to travel on Government business and had too many controversies hanging over his head to be selected as the UNC’s candidate to contest the Chaguanas West by-election, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said last night.

Persad-Bissessar, speaking at the party’s Monday Night Forum at the Vishnu Boys’ Hindu School, Caroni for the first time explained to the people why Warner could not be supported by her and her Government.

His imbroglio with FIFA and the “Flying Squad” were two of the issues which she named that haunted Warner.

“While he sat in the Cabinet as a Minister of National Security, he refused to travel on Government business on several occasions,” she said.

“These included matters where the Minister of National Security would have been required to attend whether it be in Washington, Toronto, New York and even Haiti,” she added.

Warner, she noted, resigned on his own volition following matters related to FIFA and which to date he has not provided evidence to refute.

“You cannot separate those matters from his position as a Minister since it has the potential to do irreparable damage to the government and the image of our country,” she said.

“No one asked him to resign. Recognising the magnitude of what was revealed in the Ethics Committee report from Panama, he offered his resignation as Minister of National Security and, I accepted, as is my right,” she said.

Warner, she said, is the subject of a police investigation into the establishment of an alleged Flying Squad at the Ministry of National Security.

Warner, she said, admitted that both he and his family are the subject of an enquiry by the Government of the US into a range of corporate white collar criminal offences under federal jurisdiction in the US.

“I have said that should he clear his name, he will be re-instated,” she said.

“Serious statements have been made about this matter by those close to it and which statements are also in the public domain,” she added.

“I am not prepared to burden you with a candidate with all these issues unresolved and in a situation where he had no reason to resign as a Member of Parliament,” said Persad-Bissessar.

“The matters involving him are clearly not limited to Chaguanas West – they involve the nation,” she added.

The UNC, she said, cannot support Warner under the current circumstances.

“Further legal challenges can embarrass the country, the government and you, the people of Chaguanas West,” she said.

Persad-Bissessar said Warner never consulted any institutions of the UNC before his resignations.

“Unilaterally, he returned one of the safest UNC seats that had been given to him on a platter by the UNC and now, he asks you to vote him back. I consider this to be disrespect for the party and for you and, who is to say whether such behaviour would not be repeated in the future,” she said.

Noting that Warner will be holding a public meeting in Felicity on Friday to announce his move, Persad-Bissessar said why did he not go to the people before.

“Where is the loyalty to the party that gave birth to his political career and more so, loyalty to you, members of the UNC and the Partnership,” she said.

“He claims that he is seeking validation.”

“The former MP abandoned you and abandoned the party,” she said.

A stone’s throw away, Warner held a cottage meeting at the Caroni Community Centre where he declared he will be contesting the by-election and come July 29 there will be change.

“Anyone who stands against the UNC stands against every single one of you and every single one of us! United we stand divided we fall,’ said Persad-Bissessar.

« Reply #889 on: July 02, 2013, 10:06:50 AM »
Kamla should have asked Jack Horner about the info Sw.net had on he father. She should have read the comments on this forum. Now she saying he can't travel. PP did not want we advice. Pay the devil, tweet,tweet!

« Reply #890 on: July 02, 2013, 10:36:15 AM »
Kamla should have asked Jack Horner about the info Sw.net had on he father. She should have read the comments on this forum. Now she saying he can't travel. PP did not want we advice. Pay the devil, tweet,tweet!

she eh say he can't travel....she say he refuse to travel :D

« Reply #891 on: July 02, 2013, 11:25:15 AM »
but hear this, if he win his seat, it could be a good thing in the broader perspective.

The PM told her people not to vote for individuals, but vote party. That there is everything that is wrong in T&T politics.
If Jack win, maybe more people may run as individuals and not as part of a party. This way, constituents can hold there MPs responsible for what they do.

« Reply #892 on: July 02, 2013, 11:38:44 AM »

she eh say he can't travel....she say he refuse to travel :D

That just shows who was in charge because if she was d boss he would have obeyed her instruction and travel.

« Reply #893 on: July 02, 2013, 11:26:56 PM »
caption

« Reply #894 on: July 03, 2013, 01:58:43 AM »
KAMLA’S NEW SONG
As by-election draws closer, PM changes tune on Warner
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

The very things that Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar was warned about and came up with sterling defences for, with respect to former minister Jack Warner, are the same things she is now seeing “as terrible” and citing as reasons for not selecting him to carry the party’s banner in the Chaguanas West by-election.

So said Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley in an interview with the Express yesterday.

The Prime Minister, speaking at the United National Congress (UNC) Monday Night Forum at Vishnu Boys’ Hindu School, said Warner refused to travel on Government business and had too many controversies hanging over his head to be chosen as the UNC candidate.

His imbroglio with FIFA and the “Flying Squad” were two of the issues which she said haunted the former national security minister.

She said Warner admitted that both he and his family were the subject of an enquiry by the Government of the United States into a range of corporate white collar criminal offences under federal jurisdiction in the US.

“While he sat in the Cabinet as the national security minister he refused to travel on Government business on several occasions. These included matters where the minister of national security would have been required to attend, whether it be in Washington, Toronto, New York and even Haiti,” the Prime Minister noted.

“I am not prepared to burden you with a candidate with all these issues unresolved,” she added.

Rowley responded: “Nothing she (the Prime Minister) is saying to us is news about Jack Warner. It is confirmation to us about her irresponsible conduct as Prime Minister.”

Rowley said all the things which he raised about Warner, and which the Prime Minister did not see as a problem before, she was now pointing to potential embarrassment to the Government and people of this country.

“The Prime Minister is not fooling anybody in this country. Every finger she points at Jack Warner now on any of those issues, she as Prime Minister is personally responsible for having burdened the country with the stress of Jack Warner during this period because she was his biggest defender. She was the only person who could have appointed him to the Cabinet and she did not only appoint him to the Cabinet but, in the face of objections, she promoted him to National Security Minister.

“All these things she is raising about Jack Warner now, that she was vigorously defending (before), had Sir David Simmons (head of Concacaf’s integrity committee) not done FIFA’s work we would still have had Jack Warner because remember, she is telling her supporters ‘I didn’t fire him, he voluntarily left’.”

Rowley said if Warner didn’t leave voluntarily the Prime Minister would still happily have him in her Cabinet.

On the issue of Warner’s travel, Rowley recalled that he raised the issue of Warner being unable to travel at a public meeting in St James last year.

He said Warner said yes, he could travel and that he had gone to New York for a lime. Rowley said his office had contacted the President’s office to find out if Warner had left the country and the President’s office replied that it had no information about him leaving the country and there was no record of anyone being put to act for him.

“Once a minister is in post, as long as he leaves Trinidad and Tobago territorial waters, there has to be a replacement for him,” Rowley said.

Rowley said he had then asked the Prime Minister to state whether he left the country without informing her and/or without a replacement being put for him. She said the Prime Minister never responded to those matters.

“So what is she talking about now?” he said.

Rowley recalled that when there was the Caricom meeting in Haiti, held to treat with regional security issues, the Prime Minister, who was led head of security, attended without Warner “even though his job required him to be in Haiti”.

“She is now telling us why. But when we queried it, she sat there and heard him tell us that he was staying here to fight crime,” the PNM leader said, adding: “The man couldn’t even go Tobago fuss he was scared to go up in the air.

“She is now confirming to us what we know all along—that he was afraid to leave the country.

“She is now talking about his troubles at FIFA. Since when she had a problem with Jack Warner’s troubles at FIFA. ... They (the Government) were taking the position that that was FIFA’s business in the face of serious evidence and concerns. That was their mantra— ‘FIFA business was FIFA business and Government business was Government business’,” the Opposition Leader said.

“As Prime Minister it fell to her to treat with these issues as she is doing now... She chose to defend it...until he walked away voluntarily.”

Rowley said when the issue of Warner’s sons was raised, the Prime Minister said she made “polite enquiries” to find out whether the relatives of any member of her Cabinet were being investigated. “Well, she is no longer being polite now. Is water more than flour now. Is warfare!” Rowley quipped.

Notable Quotes from Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar:

The New Flying Squad Investigative Unit

(Statement made to Parliament on March 1, 2013)

“This issue has been attracting widespread public comment, including speculation and generating misleading conclusions by some.

Mr Warner has consistently denied that he was instrumental in establishing any new “flying squad”.

His report to the National Security Council reflected this.

“As chairman of The National Security Council, I wish to emphasise that this course of action was taken at the very first meeting of the NSC upon receipt of written reports from the relevant Government officials.

“Therefore I again repeat that there has been no direct or implied approval ever given by the National Security Council or by the Cabinet for the establishment of any such a unit.

“ I have no knowledge of any such alleged activity. Mr Speaker, I want to make it clear these are allegations and this is why the NSC took the decision to refer it to the Commissioner of Police for investigation.”

The issue of a Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) probe into Jack Warner and his sons following a story from Reuters News Agency

March 27, 2013

“I will not rely on published reports in the media, but will again seek to get official corroboration of the information now in the public domain before making any determination or pronouncement.

“It would be premature if not prejudicial for me to act without any official clarification or confirmation from the US Authorities on this controversial and sensitive matter. I am committed to upholding the high ethical standards which the public legitimately and rightly expects of my Government, but I am equally mindful that the commitment to the rule of law requires balance and respect for the presumption of innocence.”

Saturday, April 20, 2013:

Following the publication of the Concacaf Integrity Report which accused her then National Security Minister Jack Warner as a “white collar” crimes, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar told CNC3 NEWS she was “shocked”.

She said she would like to see the report before making any final judgment.

“Natural justice demands that I see the report first,” she was quoted as saying.

“Should these allegations be true, they tell a tale of a tragic scenario.” 

PM’s statement following Warner’s resignation

April 20, 2011

“I have today accepted the offer of resignation of the Minister of National Security, Mr Jack Warner from the Cabinet of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

“I wish to thank Mr Warner for his service to the Government and people of Trinidad and Tobago.”

« Reply #895 on: July 03, 2013, 05:49:32 AM »
caption

Jack: Only two things in life I would ever let you beat me in. A Beauty Contest and Basketball. Everything else I giving yuh hell like if yuh does play football.

« Reply #896 on: July 03, 2013, 06:00:41 AM »
but hear this, if he win his seat, it could be a good thing in the broader perspective.

The PM told her people not to vote for individuals, but vote party. That there is everything that is wrong in T&T politics.
If Jack win, maybe more people may run as individuals and not as part of a party. This way, constituents can hold there MPs responsible for what they do.

Aye, doh get tie up.  Jack is the Dudus Coke of Chaguanas West.  That he was able to spend FIFA his money to buy these people is no guarantee any other individual is going to run as an independent and win an election any time soon.  I will only buy that if some one else in another constituency runs on his own and win because he/she works hard and doesn't need money to buy votes, THEN  I will agree with your sentiments.  Until then, is crapaud in a UNC or Balisier tie in we pweffen!!!.....

« Reply #897 on: July 03, 2013, 07:16:19 AM »
I trying to figure out which way would be likely to trigger more scandal.

« Reply #898 on: July 03, 2013, 07:24:21 AM »
I do not like jack but i would like him to win, jus to see what would happen next.

« Reply #899 on: July 03, 2013, 07:34:40 AM »
I do not like jack but i would like him to win, jus to see what would happen next.

Exactly. Dat option tempting. De ting is...would UNC humble and try to make peace cause they realize that it could be a costly battle?
Would he be motivated to make a play for further power?
What if he loses? Would he try to mash up everything out of bitterness and bussing of files?
Would he ride off quietly into the sunset?

WHAT COULD HAPPEN?