April 26, 2024, 10:28:27 AM

Author Topic: Rooney Injured  (Read 19271 times)

Re: Rooney Injured
« Reply #60 on: April 29, 2006, 05:07:49 PM »
I am very very sad, I was looking forward to Rooney against our boys.
Hope the yute make a swift recovery, although it looking real doubtful right now.
Stay strong Rooney!

« Reply #61 on: April 29, 2006, 05:14:36 PM »
Allow me to go on record, I backing everybody against England...ah eh wish bad on nobody, except everybody liks dem...who love dem up, sorry...nuthen personal...register also, I backin all Concacaf teams, and anybody outside ah dat, is France...Teams ah not against, unless dey play Concacaf of course - Brazil....no cuss, no fight, no argument....Dah is what it is.....
who doh care bout my backings, already know how I feel bout your backins...let the games begin....oh is still ah while still...ok...alrite...ah waitin

« Reply #62 on: April 29, 2006, 05:26:11 PM »
true, but you know what, rooney is that good that putting up with that distraction might be worth it.

No footballer (in England at least) has come back from a metatarsal injury in 6 weeks. And last time Rooney broke his foot at Euro 2004 he was out for 8 weeks.

But I agree - if England want to win WC dey ent really hav no choice but 2 include Rooney and hope for d best.

« Reply #63 on: April 29, 2006, 05:43:32 PM »
Bad for England, good for us.  Rooney have plenty WCs in him, if he miss this one no big ting.

It happens.

Offline 1989

« Reply #64 on: April 29, 2006, 06:17:42 PM »
I want Rooney to recovery quickly.  That way when England still pick up a 3-0 from us they would have no excuse like " :'(...but if Rooney was here we woulda :'(...".
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #65 on: April 29, 2006, 06:23:59 PM »
the revised hengland striker list?

- harewood
- crouch
- bent
- defoe

« Reply #66 on: April 29, 2006, 06:59:28 PM »

- harewood
- crouch
- bent
- defoe

boy i say call up Fowler, Beattie or ashton before Harewood yes

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #67 on: April 29, 2006, 07:26:45 PM »
Allow me to go on record, I backing everybody against England...ah eh wish bad on nobody, except everybody liks dem...who love dem up, sorry...nuthen personal...register also, I backin all Concacaf teams, and anybody outside ah dat, is France...Teams ah not against, unless dey play Concacaf of course - Brazil....no cuss, no fight, no argument....Dah is what it is.....
who doh care bout my backings, already know how I feel bout your backins...let the games begin....oh is still ah while still...ok...alrite...ah waitin

Man that is my sentiments EXACTLY, yes! Boo for England, Go France, Go CONCACAF. One lil ting though, Brazil after ONLY TNT.
Ketch footballitis

« Reply #68 on: April 29, 2006, 08:28:09 PM »
The fitness of the strikers will be England and manager Sven-Goran Eriksson's prime concern over the next few weeks, but there are other doubts too

Is this good news for marlon harewood?

as in marlon harewood d bajan?  ::)

And your point is?? he neva played for barbados

« Reply #69 on: April 29, 2006, 08:31:34 PM »

- harewood
- crouch
- bent
- defoe

boy i say call up Fowler, Beattie or ashton before Harewood yes

why would u call up Fowler or ashton  before harwood explain that logic!!! beattie  probably.

« Reply #70 on: April 29, 2006, 08:43:54 PM »
true, but you know what, rooney is that good that putting up with that distraction might be worth it.

No footballer (in England at least) has come back from a metatarsal injury in 6 weeks. And last time Rooney broke his foot at Euro 2004 he was out for 8 weeks.

But I agree - if England want to win WC dey ent really hav no choice but 2 include Rooney and hope for d best.

so wham only England players have metatarsal injuries or wha!....

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #71 on: April 29, 2006, 08:46:52 PM »
tsk tsk tsk..... hard luck dey Rooney Roons. You shudda listen to Fergie and STAY IN THE GOAL like he was telling yuh to in the commercial. Now look what happen... :devil: :devil: :devil:
« Last Edit: April 29, 2006, 08:49:43 PM by SOBRIQUET »
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #72 on: April 29, 2006, 09:15:53 PM »
Rooney only have heself to blame for not only injuring heself but also John Terry..dem reckless tackle just before World Cup..steups...Allyuh see d Bullet Gerrard score? :o

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #73 on: April 29, 2006, 10:35:40 PM »
Rooney only have heself to blame for not only injuring heself but also John Terry..dem reckless tackle just before World Cup..steups...Allyuh see d Bullet Gerrard score? :o

Ah hate the pool, but Gerrard does score some ah the most "smashingist" goals in the world
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #74 on: April 29, 2006, 10:44:54 PM »
I don't wish no bad on anybody but fact is the man injured and it benefit us. I cayh say I sorry. Cause I not. Tough break but that is how the cookie crumbles.

Men would say this is not a big thing but he was the inspiration for that team. This definitely going to hit them hard. I think it would make a difference in their play. The man was turning out the best defenders in the world. 

Frankly I didn't want to see England do good any way. England and USA is two team I doh want to win the cup. I supporting all the third world countries.

Here's to an injury free Warriors  :beermug:
« Last Edit: April 29, 2006, 10:47:21 PM by rippin »

« Reply #75 on: April 29, 2006, 11:05:31 PM »
it is a good thing....    because he is a very special player an i will be in germany so i want to see him

agree 100%
let dey best play our best....that is sport

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #76 on: April 30, 2006, 01:28:49 AM »

yep, once again I am in total agreement with you. I'm now convinced that Rooney is out of the World Cup. If the club is saying 6 weeks then you can be sure it's going to be more like 8 weeks just like last time he had same injury. Also, Rooney is very big for his age, big built players tend to need more training to maintain their general fitness and condition. There is no way Sven is going to play Rooney if he has spent the last 6-8 weeks on the treatment table.

Rooney is out of the World Cup. If Ladbrokes were betting on it I would be down there with a wad of cash. This is very bad for England, bad for WC in general, but good news for us because without Rooney England are half the force they are.
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #77 on: April 30, 2006, 08:21:36 AM »
Quote from BBC Website:

"Sports injury expert Roger Roberton said Rooney can forget about playing in England's first two matches at the World Cup.

"I'd doubt very much if he makes the first game or even the second game," Roberton told BBC Radio Five Live.

"I would say seven weeks. From five weeks onwards just build up the exercise and see how it goes. "

Good luck against Sweden, Rooney  ;D

« Reply #78 on: April 30, 2006, 08:36:46 AM »
On a personal player level this is 'tough luck' that  noone wishes on anyone's dreams. From a nation perspective, England has the resources to replace this player with equal or of comparable quality. Not all countries have this luxury; TNT does not have en endless pit of player resources  to replace our top  six quality players.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2006, 08:44:47 AM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #79 on: April 30, 2006, 09:06:19 AM »
Eriksson must decide whether to take Rooney
Associated Press

LONDON (AP) - England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson has to decide whether to risk naming an injured Wayne Rooney in England's World Cup squad.

The Manchester United striker broke a bone in his right foot during United's 3-0 loss at Chelsea on Saturday and club officials say he will be out of action for six weeks.

England's first World Cup game is against Paraguay on June 10, exactly six weeks after Rooney got injured. The 20-year-old forward may not be fit for that or other first-round group games against Trinidad & Tobago and Sweden, but Eriksson may take him to Germany in the hope England makes it to the next phase.

However, Eriksson did get some good news Sunday.

An X-ray revealed Rooney's regular striking partner Michael Owen did not aggravate his own foot injury playing for Newcastle on Saturday.

Owen had been in discomfort after a 30-minute appearance against Birmingham, his first game since breaking a foot bone Dec. 31. But Newcastle said a scan had shown no damage.

The Magpies issued a statement citing a specialist saying it was normal for a player to feel pain in the first couple of games back after an injury of this type.

Eriksson, who was at Saturday's Chelsea-Manchester United game, has yet to comment on Rooney's injury. The Swede is due to name a provisional 26-man squad May 8 and trim it to 23 for FIFA's May 15 deadline. Coaches can replace players injured after that but not those hurt before.

Bobby Robson, who led England to the World Cup semifinal in 1990, said Sunday that Rooney's absence would turn England from one of the favorites to an outsider.

"The news about Wayne is depressingly sad," Robson told BBC Radio 5. "You cannot replace Rooney. I don't think there's another player like him in the country or in Europe. He's a very special player and without him our chances are dim.

"People who win World Cups are top individuals. Who won the World Cup for Argentina in 1986? I'll tell you - it was Diego Maradona."

With Owen, Ledley King, John Terry, Sol Campbell, Ashley Cole and Wayne Bridge either injured or trying to come back from long-term absences from the game, England is having similar problems to those it had before the last World Cup.

Steven Gerrard, Gary Neville and Danny Murphy were all ruled out of the 2002 edition in South Korea and Japan after collecting injuries during the buildup, while captain David Beckham was evidently unfit even though he made the squad.

Like Rooney on Saturday, Beckham, Owen and Neville also damaged metatarsal bones. Rooney broke a metatarsal at the 2004 European Championship, while Gerrard has had the injury in the past, leading to speculation that modern boots don't give enough protection.

England in shock over Rooney injury
By Dominik Lauck (Monsters & Critics)

Apr 30, 2006, 12:35 GMT

London - England was in shock Sunday over a fractured foot injury of star striker Wayne Rooney which heavily endangers his participation at the World Cup and with it all possible title dreams.

'England holds its breath as talismanic Rooney joins World Cup casualty list,' said the front page headline of The Observer.

The Manchester United marksman Rooney has been ruled out for six weeks, this period ending on June 10 when England play their first match at the World Cup in Germany against Paraguay, with games against Sweden and Trinidad and Tobago to follow.

Rooney, 20, fractured the fourth metatarsal bone in his right foot during United's 3-0 defeat at Chelsea on Saturday.

The entire stadium held its breath when Rooney was taken off on a stretcher, with Chelsea's England player Joe Cole revealing later he thought 'Please, not Wayne' when the incident occurred.

England coach Sven Goran Eriksson now faces the difficult decision whether to nominate Rooney into his 23-player squad on May 15. Players who are injured by the time of the nomination cannot be replaced on the squad if they don't regain their fitness.

'Roo's out' said the Sunday Mirror headline while the News of the World simply asked football fans to 'Pray.'

The Observer summed up how big Rooney's loss will be.

'If Rooney cannot play in Germany, his absence will seriously diminish England's chances of capturing the World Cup for the first time in 40 years.

'Bookmakers have made them second favourites behind holders Brazil, but without the talismanic Rooney they would lack much of their creativity, attacking prowess and capacity to surprise opponents,' The Observer said.

Former England coach Bobby Robson, in an interview with the BBC, agreed.

'The news about Wayne is depressingly sad. You cannot replace Rooney. I don't think there's another player like him in the country or in Europe. He's a very special player and without him our chances are dim,' Robson said.

'People who win World Cups are top individuals. Who won the World Cup for Argentina in 1986? I'll tell you - it was Diego Maradona.'

Rooney fractured another metatarsal bone in the same foot at Euro 2004.

His fate now reminds many of that of team captain David Beckham ahead of the 2002 World Cup. Beckham broke his fifth metatarsal bone two months ahead of the tournament and later admitted he was not fit at all during the World Cup even though he could play.

The only good news for Eriksson on Sunday was that his other key striker, Michael Owen, has not re-aggravated a similar injury in his comeback match Saturday.

The Newcastle forward complained about pain after the game, but medical examinations revealed no damage and doctors said that some pain was quite possible in the first games.

Rooney injury leaves England fearing the worst
By Rex Gowar

Sun Apr 30, 2006 2:28 PM BST

LONDON, April 30 (Reuters) - England striker Wayne Rooney could miss England's first two World Cup matches with a foot fracture, a sports injury specialist said on Sunday.

However, fears that Rooney's striker partner Michael Owen might also be a serious doubt for the tournament starting in 40 days' time on June 9 were allayed.

"I'd doubt very much if Rooney makes the first game or even the second game," expert Roger Robertson told BBC Radio Five Live.

"I would say seven weeks. From five weeks onwards just build up the exercise and see how it goes."

Rooney broke a bone in his right foot late in Manchester United's 3-0 defeat at Chelsea and the club said he would be out for six weeks.

England face Paraguay on June 10, Trinidad & Tobago on June 15 and Sweden on June 20 in Group B at the World Cup in Germany.

Owen, 26, underwent tests on Sunday morning on the foot injury he suffered four months ago and they showed there was no damage after an uncomfortable comeback for Newcastle United on Saturday.

Media commentators said England defender John Terry would be out for 10 days after the Chelsea captain also suffered a foot injury in Saturday's title-decider at Stamford Bridge where his club were crowned champions for the second year in a row.

DIMINSHED CHANCES

The general consensus among pundits speaking to the British media on Sunday was that without Rooney, England's chances of World Cup victory were greatly reduced.

"It's depressingly sad. Without Rooney, I think we have gone from possible World Cup winners to outsiders," former England manager Bobby Robson told BBC radio.

"We can't replace Rooney, I don't think there's another player like him in the country... there's hardly another player like him in Europe," added Robson, who steered England to the 1990 World Cup semi-finals in Italy.

"The people who win World Cups are individuals, your top individuals."

Robson believes England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson has a tough decision to make whether to include Rooney when he names his 23-man squad on May 15, FIFA's deadline.

"We have enough quality, I would hope, to beat the teams that we have to face in the group matches. What you need then is your top players for the quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final, that's when Rooney becomes crucial."

The anguish Rooney must be experiencing was revealed in a remark he made in an interview he gave The Observer last week which was published on Sunday.

"To see any player get injured and miss the World Cup...that would be horrible," Rooney said.

'NO ALTERNATIVE'

Last month, Eriksson was quoted as saying he would take Rooney even if he had fitness doubts.

"If Rooney has a small problem, would you still take him?" the Swede was asked.

"What alternative do you have?... If you have a centre-half who might not be ready you can take another one but can you find another Rooney?"

Rooney, who has a fracture in the fourth metatarsal of his right foot, suffered a crack in the fifth metatarsal in England's Euro 2004 quarter-final against Portugal when England were eliminated.

Owen broke the fifth metatarsal on New Year's Eve and required surgery. He said after coming on as a substitute against Birmingham City that he was not entirely comfortable.

England were missing injured midfielders Steven Gerrard and Danny Murphy and defender Gary Neville at the 2002 World Cup in Japan and South Korea, where they reached the quarter-finals.

Neville and Murphy had both suffered metatarsal injuries while captain David Beckham travelled to Asia while recovering from a similar injury and admitted after England's elimination that he had not been fully fit.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2006, 09:14:41 AM by e-man »

« Reply #80 on: April 30, 2006, 09:27:57 AM »
Rooney going and be in dat squad!!

The going and take him there injured, cause he is just too good!

i hope they chance him against us, cause i want to see Rooney play live!!

« Reply #81 on: April 30, 2006, 09:33:44 AM »
Rooney going and be in dat squad!!

The going and take him there injured, cause he is just too good!

i hope they chance him against us, cause i want to see Rooney play live!!

I feel people forgetting that the man is only 20 years old.

Even if the foot heals completely in 6 weeks, there is still the issue of match fitness. And then it is world cup intensity matches yuh talking about.

The man has a whole career of WC to look forward to. If Sven bring him back and he get injured again who suffers the cost, not Sven cause he gone in July.

« Reply #82 on: April 30, 2006, 09:47:02 AM »
From  B[l]og Off

The Horror, The Horror

The nation mourns the possible/ likely loss of Wayne Rooney for England at this summer's World Cup, with a broken metatarsal in his right foot (the same injury that scuppered his - and therefore our - chances in the Euro 2004 tournament). Kinda typical this injury occurred while playing against the much loathed Chelsea. Mind you, the Chelsea fans looked as horrified as the rest of us on TV as the seriousness of Rooney's problem unfolded on the pitch before them. Similarly, Chelsea (and England's) Lampard and Terry looked on in equal horror and disbelief, all caught live by the TV cameras. It felt like one of those defining moments when there was a collective realisation that our World Cup hopes had just died in front of us. Melodramatic stuff for sure, but that's just the way it happened.

On the other hand, sod melodrama! Now England stand no chance whatsover against the mighty Soca Warriors on June 15th ... and Tom's agreed to pay my entire World Cup expenses if Trinidad & Tobago beat England that day!

Rooooooooooooooooooooooooney! Get fit quickly for all our sakes ... pleeeeeeease!

Offline ndookie

« Reply #83 on: April 30, 2006, 10:12:01 AM »
 :(

england in a real state right now , owen , terry , now rooney , poor eriksson , i wish him luck in getting the team ready to lose against the warriors..
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #84 on: April 30, 2006, 10:51:55 AM »
Surely he will be in the squad. The question of when will he play is the the focus now. That injury takes 8 weeks to heal, England's first game is 6 weeks from now. Even if Rooney pulls of the miracle of healing in 6 weeks how effective will he be on the pitch ? Unassisted by some powerful drugs Rooney is not supposed to play until the Sweden match.

Offline 1989

« Reply #85 on: April 30, 2006, 11:19:46 AM »
I think that Rooney will be named for the World Cup Squad, but he would not be playing.

The reason:

Paraguay vs. England ---> Paraguay 3points
England vs. T&T ---> T&T 3 points
England vs. Sweden --> Sweden 3 Points.

Talk done.
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #86 on: April 30, 2006, 11:27:00 AM »
Yeh apparently dey planning to save him for de second round games  ::)
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #87 on: April 30, 2006, 11:27:45 AM »
steups..... so england not making it out?  allyuh some rell cocks for real dred

I sure Wayne will probably make his comeback against us

England vs Paraguay------> England wins 3pts

England vs. TnT---------> Draw 1 pt

England vs Sweden -------> England win 3pts

« Reply #88 on: April 30, 2006, 11:35:09 AM »
So how effective he go be?? Even if he do tings like cycling and ting to maintain cardio fitness....for a player that calibre.....6 weeks without serious ball work is a long time. I feelin it fuh de man dread....injuries is real hard luck and from wha i hear....he real want to play in world cup....buh.......life unpredictable...yuh hadda live with it. You cant tell me a player go be out for six weeks and still be as sharp as he was before he was injured or be anywhere near his peak as soon as he come back. Even attempting to rush de healing might just aggravate it and dent his confidence.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #89 on: April 30, 2006, 11:54:24 AM »
but here nah....

All dese injuries hitting England.... and dey still have to play de Reggae BoyZ on June 3rd!!!  :o :o

WHO ENT DEAD... BADLY WOUNDED!!!!