April 29, 2024, 05:01:15 AM

Author Topic: Post ah Recipe!!  (Read 19716 times)

Post ah Recipe!!
« on: April 30, 2006, 06:33:44 PM »
alright people as the subject say "Post ah Recipe"
we might make a book someday  :)

Rules:

1. Put the name of yuh recipe in the subject line.
2. Post anything once it edible.(eg.Crix and condense milk).
3. Try and make it as clear as possible.
4. Has to be something yuh have eaten or made before.
5. No copy and paste from cook books.
6. If yuh want to make a comment on a recipe, yuh must add a recipe of yuh own first. (this is for people who like to drop 'smileys' or 'one liners' to boost they post count lol).
7. We can put the ole talk in another thread if allyuh want, just to keep this one clear.

Enjoy  :beermug:

Offline Lil Jodie P

Sliced Baked Potatoes
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2006, 06:53:27 PM »
for this you will need
some medium evenly shaped potatoes
1 tsp of salt
3 tbsp of melted butter
some chopped fresh herbs/seasoning(parsley, thyme, chives, etc)
dried herbs of your choice(oregano or stuff like that)
some grated cheese...plenty if yuh like cheese!

preparation:
1-peel potatoes
2-cut the potatoes into thin slices but not all the way through. (you can use a wooden spoon handle to be you guide. just place the potatoe along side the spoon handle and cut as far down the potatoe as the spoon handle)
3-put the potatoes into a baking dish and fan/open out the slices slightly
4-sprinkle with salt and drizzle the butter over then. sprinkle on the herbs
5-bake the potatoes at 4500 for about 50 minutes
6-remove from theoven and sprinkle on the cheese
7-bake fpr another 10 to 1 minutes until lighty browned, cheese is melted and potatoes are sofe inside.(check with a fork)

now your potatoes are ready and they are good served with any meat or fish. can be used as a main dish with a salad. hope you guys enjoy it!
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

Trinidad Spaghetti
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2006, 06:55:33 PM »
Servings: 1  ;D

Main ingredients:

1 pack of spaghetti
1 can of sweet corn
1 chopped onion
1 chopped sweet pepper
2 cups of chopped celery
3 cups of grated carrots
2 cups of chopped bacon or favorite sausage

Seasoning:

a few dashes of Sesame Oil
a pinch or 2 of Chinese seasoinng
a piece of grated ginger
couple squirts of ketchup
some oil
salt to taste

Directions:

Cook the pasta accordingly to achieve an almost done state then drain and set aside.
In a big skillet or wok on high heat, add some oil to coat the pan, add the bacon.
Stir and cook for bout 3 minutes.
Add the drained corn and chooped onion.
Stir and cook for another 2 minutes.
Drop heat to medium or low.
While stirring add the ginger and some Chinese seasoning.
Add the celery and sweet pepper.Stir some more to coat all the ingredients.
Add half the pasta and incorporate the mixture.
Distribute the carrots evenly over the top and take out lumps etc.
Spread some ketchup over the mixture, Sprinkle some salt, Sesame oil and more Chinese seasoning to taste.
After combining the ingredients, you can add more ketchup if u want for more color.I try to achieve  slight orange color.
Add the rest of the pasta.
Season some more if you want.

Notes:

Goes well with BBQ meat or Baked Chicken.
For vegetarians, leave out the bacon obviously.
For a more asian taste, leave out the bacon again lol..add more seasame oil and Chinese salt.

Offline ndookie

Re: Post ah Recipe!!
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2006, 08:13:08 PM »
Hard Milo - Good to suck on

Servings : Alot

Ingredients :
1 TIN (can only be in tin) of Milo

Instructions :
Remove lid .. allow air to get to it..
Sprinkle a few drops of water into it ..
Leave it out for another few minutes ..
Close , and leave for a couple days

When you open it , it shall be hard and ready to suck , can be used as a treat for snack time ..
To get your teeth brown ..

Leaves a nice Milo-ish flavour in your mouth !

Copyright ndookie
Glory Glory Man Utd !

Offline kandi_tt

Re: Post ah Recipe!! - Dhalpurie....
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2006, 08:08:42 AM »
Dhalpurie Roti
1lb flour
3 tsp baking powder
Pinch of salt
Water
1/2 tsp saffron
1/2 lb split peas
3 cloves garlic
2-3 tsp ground geera

Boil the split peas with saffron, salt and garlic until tender but not too soft. Drain and grind to a breadcumb like consistency in a food processor. Add geera and salt to taste and leave to cool.
Knead flour with baking powder to a soft dough. Rub the dough with oil and leave to rest for 30 mins. Cut the dough into 6 to 8 pieces and shape into round balls. Open each ball and in the centre, put about 3-4 tsbp of of the pea mixture, close and seal the ball.
Heat a baking stone, flat griddle pan or large pancake pan. Roll a ball of dough very thinly, spread a thin layer of oil or ghee over the baking stone and put on the rolled out dough.
Cook on one side for one or two minutes, turn the dough over and spread with oil or melted ghee. After two minutes, turn over and spread oil or ghee over the dough. Do not let the roti get too brown. Repeat with the remaining dough balls.
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2006, 08:17:47 AM »
Hard Milo - Good to suck on

Servings : Alot

Ingredients :
1 TIN (can only be in tin) of Milo

Instructions :
Remove lid .. allow air to get to it..
Sprinkle a few drops of water into it ..
Leave it out for another few minutes ..
Close , and leave for a couple days

When you open it , it shall be hard and ready to suck , can be used as a treat for snack time ..
To get your teeth brown ..

Leaves a nice Milo-ish flavour in your mouth !

Copyright ndookie

condense milk

Offline Lil Jodie P

Corn Flakes and Milo
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2006, 09:09:12 AM »
1 bowl
1 box of corn flakes
2 tbsp of milo
3 tbsp of powdered milk
1 cup of  cold water
2 tbsp of suger

combine the milo, powdered milk and sugar in a cup.
add the water and mix well. (till all lumps are gone)
the milo mixture is now completed
pour the corn flakes from the box into the bowl. (do not fill to the brim as the milo  mixture has to be added)
pour the milo mixture over the corn flakes making sure to wet every inch of the flakes on the top.
you can use as much of the mixture as desired!!!

this is great for breakfast or as a snack when food not done yet...or just whenever! ;D

« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2006, 09:18:26 AM »
2 guinness
2 eggs
some penuts
mix it up in de blender.. and I gurantee another Bwoy child!!!!!!!!!
warmonga...

Cocunut Bake
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2006, 09:23:42 AM »
Ingredients:
2 cups flour
2 tsps baking powder
3/4 cup grated coconut
2 tbsps sugar
1 oz margarine or butter
3/4 tsp salt
2/3 cup water

Instructions:

1. Sift flour, salt and baking powder into a bowl
2. Rub in the margarine/butter, then stir in sugar and grated coconut
3. Add water, and mix into a firm dough
4. Turn out onto floured board, knead lightly, shape into a ball and leave covered for 15-20 minutes
5. Press into the center and using a rolling pin, roll into a circular shape about ¾" thick
6. Heat oven to 350°
7. Stab dough with fork or knife marks, so it look pretty  ;D
8. Put onto a flat, greased baking sheet and bake till brown for about 20-30 minutes
9. Remove from oven
10. Cut into desired shape 2-3 inches wide
11. Serve hot

Taste real good with Anchor Cheddar cheese....mmmmmmmm

Source: http://www.everythingtrini.com/trinifood/recipes.aspx

I tief it from dis website..and made it a couple times....it came out decent  ;D

Offline kandi_tt

Re: De Belly Wukker
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2006, 09:43:32 AM »
Take a h bake an shark

Add ah dash ah pineapple

Fill with the accepted ingredients if
pepper
shadow benny
ketchup

add some coleslaw cause it dey and yuh feel well ah might as well take it

add some more pineapple cause that is de latest style

add a smidgen of the shavings of governor plums

just before the mostrosity is too packed to be closed properly
Add one thin slice of pineapple just to show everyone that you in de latest ting too

Close with great difficulty and masticate slowly

Let sit and marinate with stomach juices for 45 minutes

Upon entering home sit and ponder why yuh belly huttin yuh and conclude
you probaly drank de seedrink too fast

Serve to porcelain

fuh help with d ingredients yuh could check d pics available by richards....

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=14102.0

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2006, 02:33:47 PM »
Poor-kid chilli bibbi (hope i spell that right)

1)         crumbs at the bottom of a bag of crix, or if you can't wait mash up some crix,
            add white sugar to taste

enjoy

2)          for those days when your mom tell you the condense milk is for tea and to feed the parrot
            and next time she catch you stealing condense milk is licks.
            powder milk ( personally frico was the bess)

white sugar (according to taste)

mix sugar and milk together

add cold water sparingly wilk mixing until a consistency similar to condense milk

sit in front your mother and eat making sure to lick the spoon
« Last Edit: May 01, 2006, 02:42:26 PM by trinindian »

Offline ndookie

« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2006, 05:21:47 PM »
hmm , ah never eat condense milk before , the condense milk and milo does lash , actually , milo alone does lash..

i givin alyuh meh specialty now..

Bread and Cheese (trini style)

Ingredients :
Bread
Cheese
Pineapple , for the trini flavour (and the brave)
Tums (For use if pineapple reacts violently)

Method :
Put one slice of bread , facing bottom on plate ..
Cut cheese (preferably one handed , cause it does look bad)
Place approximately 2 slices of cheese on top of bread ..
Throw in the pineapple if yuh feelin so
Put piece of bread , bottom first..
Heat in microwave .. or on taawaa if yuh cyah manage a microwave or toaster (Caution : Watch yuhself if yuh putting the pineapple in heat)

EAT

Copyright Ndookie

Glory Glory Man Utd !

Offline Lil Jodie P

Tuna Casserole
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2006, 01:43:41 PM »
for 4 to 6 servings you will need:
2 cans of chunck style tuna
3 cups of egg noodles (a pack of macaroni!)
1/2 cup of chopped celery
1/3 cup of sliced green onions
1/2 cup of dairy sour cream
2 tsps of mustard
1/2 cup of mayonnaise
1/2 tsp pf dried thyme
1/2 tsp od salt
1 cup of grated cheese
1 medium tomato chopped

prepartion:
1-drain and flake the tuna and st aside
2-cook noodles according to package directions
3-combine noodles with the tuna, celery and green onions
4-blend in the sour cream, mayonnaise, thyme and salt
5-spoon the mixture into a buttered 2-quart dish
6-top with cheese
bake at 350 degress for 30 minutes
sprinkle with chopped tomato

tips:
you may substitute canned, draind and flaked salmon for the tuna.

Guys this is a great dish...my sister (who hates tuna) ate this and had seconds before she knew she had tuna!
hope you enjoy!!!

Offline ndookie

« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2006, 09:34:46 PM »
We allowed to post drinks here ?

Lime Drink Thingi

Ingredients :
Lime Juice (any kind)
Club Soda
Angostura Bitters
Ice
Pineapple
Salt

Method :
Pour 1/4 lime juice in glass
Pour 3/4 club soda in glass
Throw in your preference of bitters
Throw in a couple blocks of ice
Add some salt
Put a pineapple in it (or on it) if yuh into that kinda thing lol

Copyright Ndookie
Glory Glory Man Utd !

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2006, 06:48:43 PM »
We really Reach in truth This is actaully showing right now(06/06/06 8:48) on Food TV

« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2006, 07:11:04 PM »
Prawn and Plantain with Coconut Sauce

i like this one cause it have coconut and bitters in it. u can use shrimp instead of prawns. it does taste real ital.
 3 Ripe plantains
500 g Large uncooked prawns
200 ml Coconut milk
50 g Butter
25 g Creamed coconut
4 ts Tomato puree
2 ts Angostura
1 Clove garlic; crushed
1/2 ts Ground black pepper
Salt
Cumin
Ground coriander
Paprika
Fresh coriander

First wash and trim ends off plantains. Cut in two and steam for 20 minutes.

Melt the butter in a large frying pan, add prawns, garlic, tomato puree, coriander, cumin, black pepper, salt, Angostura and creamed coconut. Fry gently for 3 minutes stirring all the time. Add coconut milk and continue frying and stirring for a further 3 minutes.

To serve peel plantains and slice each half into four strips, arrange on a plate and top with the prawn mixture. Garnish with paprika and a sprig of fresh coriander
 you can do with out much creamed coconut. or not at all. just use coconut milk. and dohs tudy de time cook until it done.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #16 on: July 07, 2006, 09:18:55 AM »
A bess Corned Beef and rice

Rice...Jamine if available.

Tin of corned beef..(Libbys have the least fat)

Garlic
Onion
Pimento
Ketchup
Black Pepper
tip of oil for frying

Get yuh frying pan hot....throw in a lil oil.

Fry up the garlic onion and pimento till yuh get a nice smell

Throw in yuh Corned beef and kinda slice him up with yuh spatula...turn him up and fry him down good.

Grind up yuh black pepper, add yuh ketchup...turn town the fire and turn him up some more.

Spread over a bed of Rice and Enjoy!.

« Reply #17 on: July 07, 2006, 10:01:55 AM »
2 guinness
2 eggs
some penuts
mix it up in de blender.. and I gurantee another Bwoy child!!!!!!!!!
warmonga...

yuh forget the condensed milk and some cinnamon

MickeyRat

« Reply #18 on: July 07, 2006, 03:00:21 PM »
Recipe for Love

1. De Rat (after he work out)

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #19 on: July 07, 2006, 06:28:13 PM »
allyuh wha drinks....here we go...

LIQUID PROZAC

Gin 3 oz.
Dr. Pepper 6 oz.
Grenadine 1 splash
Ice 1/2 glass
Glass to UseOld Fashioned glass 

Mixing Instructions
Pour Gin over ice, add Dr. Pepper, and splash Grenadine.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________

ANNIHALATOR

Vodka, cherry (Three Olive) 1/3 oz.
Triple Sec 1/3 oz.
Lime Juice 1/3 oz.
Red Bull 1/2 can
Glass to Use
Pint glass

Mixing Instructions
Shake triple sec, lime juice and cherry vodka in a cocktail shaker and strain into a shot glass. Drop it into a pint glass half-full of Red Bull
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ABORTION SHOT

Ingredient 
Vodka 1 oz.
Tabasco Sauce 1 dash

Mixing Instructions
Add tobasco sauce to shot glass enough to fill bottom, also line the lip of the glass. Pour Vodka in. Do not smell the shot, just drink and enjoy.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

AFTERBIRTH

Ingredient
Irish Cream (Bailey's) 1 part
Liqueur, raspberry 1 part
Grenadine 1 part

Mixing Instructions
For the strong-willed. Put the schnapps and grenadine into the shot glass first, then add Irish cream. Wait until the cream curdles, then shoot it!

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
and we have my personal favorite...

JELL-O MARGARITA

Ingredient 
Tequila, gold (Jose Cuervo Especial) 1/2 Cup
Margarita Mix (Finest Call) 1/2 Cup
Lime 1 slice
Salt if desired
Jello 1
Glass to Use

Mixing Instructions
Combine 1 cup boiling water and contents of box in medium sized saucepan. Stir until completely dissolved. Instead of using 1 cup cold water use 1/2 cup Jose Ceurvo and 1/2 cup Margarita Mix. Pour into a margarita glass. Garnish with a piece of lime set inside mixture. Chill until set.

Note: if salt is desired, make sure to rim the glass before pouring mixture

« Reply #20 on: July 07, 2006, 07:23:48 PM »
umm Kandi luv...numbers 2 and 3 have meh ah bit worried eh

what meh mudda go say gyul....see me trying to explain " ma, is ah drink ma"

memories of dat cell phone call....i in achnourage having ah sex on dey beach ....lawd :beermug:

« Reply #21 on: July 08, 2006, 07:34:16 AM »
ABORTION SHOT
.hmmmmmmmm who sure are u that it works..i ahve padnas does still want womanuse hot guniess....mabye this better..lol..i go hadda tell dem ;D
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #22 on: July 08, 2006, 11:38:54 AM »
one cup ah farine
add brown sugar

mix
enjoy ;D

Offline Makm

« Reply #23 on: February 28, 2007, 06:21:23 AM »
Can anyone give me a classic T&T rum cocktail? I want an alternative to Mojitos for summer (when we actually get some sun in the UK) barbecues  :beermug: ;D

« Reply #24 on: February 28, 2007, 06:25:49 AM »
Can anyone give me a classic T&T rum cocktail? I want an alternative to Mojitos for summer (when we actually get some sun in the UK) barbecues  :beermug: ;D
Rum Punch is
1 sour (Lime Juice)
2 sweet (Sugar)
3 Strong ( Rum)  http://www.angostura.com/06_home.htm
4 Weak (Water)
« Last Edit: February 28, 2007, 06:27:25 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Makm

« Reply #25 on: February 28, 2007, 06:42:24 AM »
Rum Punch is
1 sour (Lime Juice)
2 sweet (Sugar)
3 Strong ( Rum)  http://www.angostura.com/06_home.htm
4 Weak (Water)

Cheers WestCoast, I'll try that out. I always buy Havana Club rum, I don't think we get  many Angostura products in the UK, I've only seen Angostura Bitters (which I always have a bottle of). Do you usually use white or golden rum?

« Reply #26 on: February 28, 2007, 06:47:22 AM »
my Rum was White Star, an amber

check here also
http://www.chookooloonks.com/chookooloonks/2006/02/trinidadian_rum.html

says not to use white rum
« Last Edit: February 28, 2007, 06:51:57 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Makm

« Reply #27 on: February 28, 2007, 07:11:13 AM »
my Rum was White Star, an amber

check here also
http://www.chookooloonks.com/chookooloonks/2006/02/trinidadian_rum.html

says not to use white rum

It doesn't look like I can get any genuine T&T rum in the UK and not many varieties of golden/amber rum so I might have to stick with my Havana Club 7 year golden.

Most of the rum here is white Jamaican, white/gold Cuban or the Navy style dark rum (like the British Navy keep on ships).

« Reply #28 on: February 28, 2007, 07:51:05 AM »
do you get Captain Morgan Dark

if so that'll do

« Reply #29 on: February 28, 2007, 07:55:30 AM »
To add to WC
There is a an old saying that trinis like to use when making rum punch ....
"One of sour, two of sweet, three of strong and four of weak"

Ingredients:
  # 3 measures rum (TDL Puncheon Rum, Oak Oak, Crystal or Vat 19 White Rum)
  # 1 measure lime juice ( 1 oz)
  # 2 measures syrup ( made of equal parts of sugar and water , boiled for 5 mins)
  # 4 measures of water and ice combined or ginger ale
  # dash of Angostura bitters
  # dust of nutmeg

Method:
    Mix all ingredients, except for bitters and nutmeg and serve over ice, then add a dash of Angostura and sprinkle with nutmeg (garnish glass with slice of lime or orange and a cherry)

or try this

Rum Chiller

Ingredients:
  # 4 ozs pineapple juice
  # 2 ozs dark rum (any Trinidad rum)
  # 11/2 tsp banana liqueur
  # 1 tsp lime juice

Method:
    Place ingredients together with one cup crushed ice into a blender and blend until smooth. Pour into chilled stemmed glasses and serve.