April 18, 2024, 04:32:52 PM

Author Topic: Trini Slang/Shit talk does evolve  (Read 55097 times)

Trini Slang/Shit talk does evolve
« on: May 05, 2006, 10:57:07 AM »
I find Trini shit talk and slang is real evolve/vaporize....so I starting a thread to give some examples..... ;D

(1)Back in the Fatima, we used to use a word, "Fal"...never hear dis word in years...:

verb: to Fal

definition: to hang around when not wanted, to friends up 

conjugation: I fal, You fal, He/she fals, We faling, You Faling(pl), They faling

noun: Falcon

e.g. Small man stop Faling!

(2) Lapse:

verb: to Lapse

definition: to misout on a opportunity(mostly to do with girls)

noun: lapser

e.g. Way boy dat man real lapse

Please feel free to add yuh slangs  ;D

Re: Trini Slang/Shit talk does evolve
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2006, 11:12:28 AM »
FAL definition as we used to call it was  "Fighting Ah Lime"

another ting we used to say is a man real  "cave" as in a he like a caveman..wild wild

wen i use some of our slang up here i does get some real weird looks comin my way

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2006, 11:30:21 AM »
Some words stay the same and evolve to different connotations  e,g

Circa 1985:
verb: Hardest

definition: loosely meaning The best. Generally an all around positive description

e.g. "Dat fellah is de hardest",
" dat gyirl is de hardest hard"

VS

Circa 2005
verb : Hardest

definition: loosely referring to underachievement. Generally an all around negative description

e.g. " yuh get cut from de team? yuh pullin ah Hardest or wha?"
      "you trackin she ?? ay!! dat gyirl face real hard, I sure she use to be ah man"

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2006, 11:45:14 AM »
'eat ah food' is one

d basic meaning is to make money, survive.
eg, all dem players who wanted to play for we after we qualify was  trying to eat ah food off ah we

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2006, 12:07:27 PM »
what about when 'sick" was the word

that read sick boy!  or i just bought some real sick shoes!

and "bad"....

and when people refferd yo one another as horse!
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2006, 12:12:58 PM »
wen yuh refering to everybody as 'my yute' or 'my lord'

« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2006, 12:14:25 PM »
FAL definition as we used to call it was  "Fighting Ah Lime"

another ting we used to say is a man real  "cave" as in a he like a caveman..wild wild

wen i use some of our slang up here i does get some real weird looks comin my way

:rotfl:  FAL was an acronym......well yes i learn someting new today

Offline ndookie

« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2006, 03:47:39 PM »
somebody gimme ah definition for sadist nah ..
Glory Glory Man Utd !

Offline ndookie

« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2006, 03:56:34 PM »
Hen - Noun

To describe someone as gay , or homosexual..

eg. Weey , that fellah is a hen !

;D ;D ;D
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2006, 04:26:42 PM »
yuh on ah boysin scene awa?

trans.

are you a homosexual?

Offline ndookie

« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2006, 04:31:56 PM »
if yuh askin me , the answer is NO , only woman for me..

why would you ask now ?  ??? ???
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2006, 04:40:03 PM »
if yuh askin me , the answer is NO , only woman for me..

why would you ask now ?  ??? ???

hahah nah dookie yuh dunce I was sharing ah slang wit de fellahz dat we use alot.

I sure yuh like yuh oman jus like de rest ah we here. :beermug:

Offline ndookie

« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2006, 04:41:51 PM »
yeah , smarter than me ! haha

yuh really catch meh day , and yuh didnt even try , even the trans part fit in.. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2006, 05:46:46 AM »
So would you say de word "lapse" lapsin?  ;D

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2006, 07:48:02 AM »
Who member dread dat was ine we used tuh use alot

Offline ndookie

« Reply #15 on: May 06, 2006, 08:27:32 AM »
Adjective : Dread

Description : (i)To be "mad" or "sick"
, (ii)To be cool or hip with it ..
(iii) To do something bad or unusual..

Example :
(i) Weeey , that man beatsin real dred ..
(ii) Them clothes dread ,
(iii) How yuh movin dread so boy.. (2006)

Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #16 on: May 06, 2006, 09:08:40 AM »
VERB: Stick or Sticking

DEFINITION: To waste time or take extremely long to accomplish an activity or task

IN STATEMENT: Meh boy...you know how long I waiting for you to pick me up dread.. like yuh sticking

« Reply #17 on: May 06, 2006, 09:45:48 AM »
Adjective : Dread

Description : (i)To be "mad" or "sick"
, (ii)To be cool or hip with it ..
(iii) To do something bad or unusual..

Example :
(i) Weeey , that man beatsin real dred ..
(ii) Them clothes dread ,
(iii) How yuh movin dread so boy.. (2006)

it's funny how we have real slang words for pardner....

brudda, breds, bredrin, dred, soldier, my yute(who's use dat...lol), bossman, boss, and now fadda(wtf..where dat come from  ;D)

Offline ndookie

« Reply #18 on: May 06, 2006, 10:01:02 AM »
i does only use fadda when they not hearing meh or something..if ah man calling you fadda you bound to take notice ..
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #19 on: May 06, 2006, 10:22:42 AM »
VERB: Stick or Sticking

DEFINITION: To waste time or take extremely long to accomplish an activity or task

IN STATEMENT: Meh boy...you know how long I waiting for you to pick me up dread.. like yuh sticking

I remember a man calling me Elmers and i had to clue what de ass he was talking about...and den i figured out why  ;D

Offline Tigger

« Reply #20 on: May 06, 2006, 10:28:09 AM »
name : "Country-buiky"

Defination: a person who wears clothes, talks and acts like he does not belong in the Urban City

« Reply #21 on: May 06, 2006, 11:06:22 AM »
WORD: NINJA

example: yuh geh ah bad drive,  "whey dah man nearly ninja meh on de road jess now dey."

Offline ndookie

« Reply #22 on: May 06, 2006, 11:10:16 AM »
first time i hearin that
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #23 on: May 06, 2006, 11:20:38 AM »

« Reply #24 on: May 06, 2006, 11:54:06 AM »
Ninja is a common word...the example eh so hot doe.

Ninja is to show agility, speed etc. Also stealth and theifing skill.

e.g a man ninja a piece of chicken orf meh plate.

Wha bout "Pips"

Pips hard to describe cause it can be used in various ways.

E.g he have real pips...plenty ranks

Who yuh pipsin dey?........Who yuh tracking.

I going and pips.............Going and track/Shark a ting.

Maximus create..."Order"

Not order as in request but order as in organization/behaviour

So its...Family maintain a order for meh please.

Yuh done know...made famous by Bunji is Jamaican in origin. I hate it with a passion but it real popular now.

Another shitty one....Soon Come...is also on the rise. Thats not our slang neither.

The real thing is to have a conversation with a ole person. The kinda phrases they will hit yuh. Its be more amusing than anything else.

« Reply #25 on: May 06, 2006, 12:00:44 PM »
LATAS

def: best small man in your neighbourhood

TINY

def: most skillful youthman in malick

« Reply #26 on: May 06, 2006, 12:04:25 PM »

Wha bout "Pips"

Maximus create..."Order"

Yuh done know...made famous by Bunji is Jamaican in origin. I hate it with a passion but it real popular now.

Another shitty one....Soon Come...is also on the rise. Thats not our slang neither.

The real thing is to have a conversation with a ole person. The kinda phrases they will hit yuh. Its be more amusing than anything else.

geee!! thanks ::) ;D

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #27 on: May 06, 2006, 12:12:47 PM »
given how small our islands, did you realize that the slang chnages form place to place.
e.g I from chag, went to school in north, lesson in th east and lime in the west. BUt when i did undergrad most of the trini was from south and they called their father buckman, now when i think about buck i think of obeah, but buckman seem the norm if you leaving in the south.

« Reply #28 on: May 06, 2006, 12:18:26 PM »

Wha bout "Pips"

Maximus create..."Order"

"track" and "pips" was de real words...i's still use those words  ;D....

we also used to say "throwing out takka(like fishing bait)" when we going out...

« Reply #29 on: May 06, 2006, 12:40:35 PM »
What about this one..

"pull him square"

as in

I wanted to talk to that man seriously so I pull him square...

or

I wanted to show that man a form..