March 28, 2024, 07:01:25 PM

Author Topic: What are the odds...  (Read 9479 times)

Offline Blue

• Hero Warrior
    • View Profile
What are the odds...
« on: May 05, 2006, 02:59:33 PM »
If yuh dont like maths leave dis thread now!  ;D

I am a mathematician by trade and I came across dis question at work today...hadnt seen it since my university days. Anyone know the right answer? 

Suppose you're on a game show, and you're given the choice of three doors:

Behind one door is a car; behind the others, goats.

You pick a door, say No. 1, and the host, who knows what's behind the other doors, opens another door, say No. 3, which has a goat.

He then says to you, 'Do you want to pick door No. 2?'

Is it to your advantage to take the switch?   :thinking:

Offline trinindian

• Hero Warrior
  • Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
    • View Profile
Re: What are the odds...
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2006, 03:10:01 PM »
Yes you switch because it increases the probability that you chose the correct door

Offline JayTheWrecker

• Hero Warrior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2006, 04:03:42 PM »
well, purely on the odds it makes no difference. There is a 50/50 chance that the car is behind Door 1 and 50/50 it's behind door 2

the thing is, there is a human element in this question, namely the game show host who knows which door has the car. If the car is behind Door 2, perhaps the game show host is trying to persuade the contestant to switch to Door 2 because he wants the contestant to win the big prize. However, there's also the chance that the host might be a sadistic shitbag and he trying to make the contestant pick the wrong door

if it was i, i would switch because the majority of game show host want the contestants to win
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

Offline ndookie

• Hero Warrior
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2006, 04:12:14 PM »