April 23, 2024, 01:09:03 AM

Author Topic: Match Reports - T&T vs. Peru  (Read 7926 times)

Match Reports - T&T vs. Peru
« on: May 10, 2006, 06:48:31 PM »

VERY DISSAPOINTING
Sub-standard performance from the T&T Squad
Throughout the match, T&T looked too predictable and slow, they take too long in the back and cant find spaces in the middle so they resort to the wings. But Peru had a 4 line defence which made it almost impossible to get through on the flanks

Taking off Latapy made sense to me, eventho he contributed some good ball control and opened up some T&T players with good through balls, he was contributing to the slow pace of our squad.
Samuel broght that speed we needed along with Jones,Spann and Scotland
We still need efficient crossers of the ball, Spann,Samuel ,Edwards,and John are all inconsistents crossers.
Samuel does alot of running but his end product is a 50/50 ball, similar to Edwards, who does a lot of fancy footwork with 50/50 cross

I am not compfortable with Lawernce in our back 4, he is too slow and clumbsy with the ball at times, Gray is a decent defender, just has to watch his temper sometimes...As for John, ah could live with him.
Sancho did a good job also

To tell you the truth, Trinidad and Tobago lost this match in my eyes...they were plain and the same throughout the match...not much possession in midfield, and they took to long to build up from the back

Jones goal with a FK,,,very well taken....but it was a goal made out of nothing...............
T&T need to play much faster and precise if they was to make a good impression in the world cup.

Lemme hear allyuh views on this match..

Re: Match Reports - T&T vs. Peru
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2006, 06:50:00 PM »
OkoK Perspective: From listening to the game it sounded like we had the better of the play and that we had good ball possession.
Now thi swas afriendly right? now it was a game where Peru rested they star boys  right; we had we full compliment right?

Now do we accept mediocracy? is anything but a win acceptable?

I thinking we star boys eh show up today: Stern two misses; aganist  top teams we cyar afford tuh play shit and stay in the game. We have to be better. Ah glad for the result; it could have been worse. Ah hop e this makes the boys realize that the dream requires a lot more than this.

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2006, 06:51:35 PM »
yuh dont know bout football dan

sorry to say but yuh clueless

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2006, 06:51:53 PM »

VERY DISSAPOINTING
Throughout the match, T&T looked too predictable and slow, they take too long in the back and cant find spaces in the middle so they resort to the wings. But Peru had a 4 line defence which made it almost impossible to get through on the flanks

Taking off Latapy made sense to me, eventho he contributed some good ball control and opened up some T&T players with good through balls, he was contributing to the slow pace of our squad.
We still need efficient crossers of the ball, Spann,Samuel ,Edwards,and John are all inconsistents crossers.
Samuel does alot of running but his end product is a 50/50 ball, similar to Edwards, who does a lot of fancy footwork with 50/50 cross

I am not compfortable with Lawernce in our back 4, he is too slow and clumbsy with the ball at times, Gray is a decent defender, just has to watch his temper sometimes...As for John, ah could live with him.

To tell you the truth, Trinidad and Tobago lost this match in my eyes...they were plain and the same throughout the match...not much possession in midfield, and they took to long to build up from the back

Jones goal with a FK,,,very well taken....but it was a goal made out of nothing...............
T&T need to play much faster and precise if they was to make a good impression in the world cup.

Sancho? A good job? Excepting the error on the first goal right?

« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2006, 06:56:32 PM »
look nah ah realize them boys just getting they legs back and the whole team thing they go be ok. leh we just celebrate the fact that the boys are back.

Offline culturevulture

• Scots/Canadian/Trinnie
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2006, 06:59:38 PM »
Have been frustrated with Samuel's lack of finishing all year as have all Dundee united fans.  Sammy does scare the life out oof defences wit that incredible pace but he iis not & never will be a consistent  crosser of the ball.  His strength & pace should not however be questioned. I srtongly believehe can b a major player fer us this summer.

Jason Scotland has the ability to be a proper poacher. He has done this fer Dundee United last year & St Johnstone this year.  Jason has a habit of scoring BIG goals fer his teams & is a great super-sub.  he scores inspired goals & we Dundee Utd fans were devastated at the SFA decision to relegate him to the llower leagues which I am sure would have been covred at the time on the messageboard here.

Stern John missed by the sounds of it 2 glorious chances.  Needs to be sharper.

At the end of the day, the players are going to be abit jet-lagged but need to be doing the business as they say. Beenhakker will put them in their place & as he also said has expectations from Saurday once they get to England.  He'll correct em & make sure that they are fit.
At thhe end of the dayy, focus & keeping it as well as the overall fitness of the squad will decide our fate in Germany & Beenhakker seems like the right kind of taskmaster to remedy any problems relating to these issues.  

They need to get their shit together though. The World Cup is the real deal & they ill get fcuced over if they don't tighten things up....
Born in Dundee
Moved To Canada (8yrs)
Left Home For B'ham England (15yrs)
Moved Back Up To Scotland (16yrs)
Back To Canada (21yrs)
Got Bored & Went To Belfast, Northern Ireland where I remain!!!!
Life interspersed w/ visits to Tannadice & San Fernando

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2006, 07:08:31 PM »
beenie man on pointalive NOW

« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2006, 07:09:36 PM »
Who take the corner when Yorke hit the woodwork or was it a cross during the run of play?

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2006, 07:11:04 PM »
Beenie is still experimenting it seems, trying out fellas and combinations. Though I don't know why, is de same players he had all along. If he doesn't know by now what will work and what won't, god help us.

But truly, I don't care if this was a friendly. To draw against the 2nd team of a nation that has not qualified for the WC is not acceptable. It does not look good. And for those who think that it was Ok, that it's good cause the other teams will continue to under estimate us, that is nonsense. We need to play hard, and commit fully from all now. To get progressively better with each game. To put some serious concern, if not fear into the minds of our opponents. Playing corbeaux now is wasting valuable time. We have less than a month.

All media, blogs and outsiders saying that we're not gonna progress. That we're not even gonna get a point for that matter. If we are not to make it beyond the opening, so be it. But we must win something and draw something. We must not go down by more than 1 - 0 if we are to lose. Anything less and we will prove the nay-sayers true.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2006, 07:11:16 PM »
latas talking right now

« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2006, 07:13:20 PM »
very nice; de man making sense; Yuh know Ah have stronger confidence that this team could look really good  as the month progress.

« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2006, 07:14:57 PM »

VERY DISSAPOINTING

Sancho? A good job? Excepting the error on the first goal right?
DAT FIRST GOAL WAS NOT SANCHO'S ERROR
IT WAS WHITLEY'S
U LISTEN TO RADIO OR WATCH IT ON TV...I SURE IS RADIO

« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2006, 07:15:55 PM »
My take on the game:

Beenie is building block by block.  This is a game that we will use and learn from.

Possession was good, but attacking with purpose and venom was missing today.  Beenhakker will work on the final third, doh worry.

Stern needs to be more proficient in front of goal.  We cannot win games with him scoring one out of six chances.  He needs to take the one or two that he gets.

Birchall was out of touch.  Clearly he hasn't played much this season.  He will find his nick as the camp gets off the ground.

Dwight played well.  He is the engine of this team.

Latas played well, but he is not a starter on this team, at least not in the left midfield position.  Let the younger legs and speed of Samuel cause problems and let's use Latas as a change of pace, wily veteran coming off the bench.  This was Russell's "benefit match" for all intents and purposes: his last match in National colours after almost 25 years of National service.  It was very classy of Beenhakker to start him and replace him prior to halftime so that the applause from the crowd would be solely for him.  His "victory lap" was beautiful.   Latas conceded after the match that it was a very emotional day for him.  Thanks #10.

Sancho's mistake was unfortunate.  He is a soild player nonetheless and we will need Brent in Germany.

Lawrence is a must start on this team.  People can say what they want.  He is tall and a bit unorthodox, but he reads the game better than any other defender we have and is a constant threat on headers.  He was given the captain's armband after Dwight left the field, doesn't that say something to you naysayers?

Carlos needs to keep it simple I believe.  Sometimes the most effective dribble is simply pushing the ball pst the player and running.  Ask Collin Samuel.

Collin Samuel is a big part of this team now.  He cemented his place tonight.  As long as he continues to worry defenders with his pace and urgency, we will upset people in the World Cup.

Keep a cool head Cyd Gray.  You have much more pychological warfare to go through on the field.  Get a reputation for being a hothead and players will target that and come after you from the time th ewhistle blows.

Avery was solid and uninspiring as usual.  A very good defender, but needs to get the confidence now to support the attack.

Can anyone now doubt that Jack is the starting keeper?  Great game by Kelvin Jack, having pulled off a couple key saves to keep the scores close.

Kenwayne Jones has certainly staked a claim as THE deadball specialist on the team.  I like the fact that he demanded the ball too.  He needs to work on his first touch and running off the ball, however.

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2006, 07:20:06 PM »
Nice analysis. Thanks.

I was depending on the web broadcast, and therefore had to depend on the broadcasters. And yuh know what trini broadcasters are like. You just leave with an impression of the game, rather than feeling you're listening to the game.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2006, 07:23:33 PM »
My take on the game:

Beenie is building block by block.  This is a game that we will use and learn from.

Possession was good, but attacking with purpose and venom was missing today.  Beenhakker will work on the final third, doh worry.

Stern needs to be more proficient in front of goal.  We cannot win games with him scoring one out of six chances.  He needs to take the one or two that he gets.

Birchall was out of touch.  Clearly he hasn't played much this season.  He will find his nick as the camp gets off the ground.

Dwight played well.  He is the engine of this team.

Latas played well, but he is not a starter on this team, at least not in the left midfield position.  Let the younger legs and speed of Samuel cause problems and let's use Latas as a change of pace, wily veteran coming off the bench.  This was Russell's "benefit match" for all intents and purposes: his last match in National colours after almost 25 years of National service.  It was very classy of Beenhakker to start him and replace him prior to halftime so that the applause from the crowd would be solely for him.  His "victory lap" was beautiful.   Latas conceded after the match that it was a very emotional day for him.  Thanks #10.

Sancho's mistake was unfortunate.  He is a soild player nonetheless and we will need Brent in Germany.

Lawrence is a must start on this team.  People can say what they want.  He is tall and a bit unorthodox, but he reads the game better than any other defender we have and is a constant threat on headers.  He was given the captain's armband after Dwight left the field, doesn't that say something to you naysayers?

Carlos needs to keep it simple I believe.  Sometimes the most effective dribble is simply pushing the ball pst the player and running.  Ask Collin Samuel.

Collin Samuel is a big part of this team now.  He cemented his place tonight.  As long as he continues to worry defenders with his pace and urgency, we will upset people in the World Cup.

Keep a cool head Cyd Gray.  You have much more pychological warfare to go through on the field.  Get a reputation for being a hothead and players will target that and come after you from the time th ewhistle blows.

Avery was solid and uninspiring as usual.  A very good defender, but needs to get the confidence now to support the attack.

Can anyone now doubt that Jack is the starting keeper?  Great game by Kelvin Jack, having pulled off a couple key saves to keep the scores close.

Kenwayne Jones has certainly staked a claim as THE deadball specialist on the team.  I like the fact that he demanded the ball too.  He needs to work on his first touch and running off the ball, however.

nice analysis
but u make a big mistake
Whitley was the one who made de mistake in the back,,,not sancho.......sancho was already going for the ball and whitley run straight into him..knocking him off position to header the ball away
Whitley was supposed to support..

« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2006, 07:30:11 PM »
This thread real short boy. I guess people weren't impressed. I just come from school. I ain't get a good feel for how the game went yet guess I will have to wait on touches.

« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2006, 07:38:14 PM »
fellas....while yuh arguing...it was cyd that head the ball that led to the peru goal.....not bad WTD......but the more you learn...then the more you can tell.....

« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2006, 07:40:55 PM »
good analysis guys but som1 said jones  needs to improve  on his running off d ball. we definitely werent watching the same game. jones and theobald had a conference in mid pitch. y? cause jones making som sweet moves off d ball and theobald holding on 2 d ball like he pump it. jones drew his attn to it and thebald gesturing that jones needs to com 2 him 4 d ball but if yorke was on d field while jones was making those runs the peruvian keeper would have had some wuk 2 do. as for samuel he quell the calls 4 evans wise in my book. he was great i really believe if we didnt have to start latas the tempo  of d game would hav been different latas made us too narrow and he left avery xposed alot of the times andi  agree our midfield looked very unimaginative outside of whitley. spann needs to b a bit mor direct as a winger but he handle himselff descent enough
« Last Edit: May 10, 2006, 07:42:29 PM by freakazoid »

« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2006, 07:43:09 PM »
the passing was good the movement wasnt good.

the attacking movements by a few of the players were well calculated and mostly followed up with sub standard shots.

we should have won. plain and simple.

Big up to meh boy Kenwyne Jones.

He hadda get some room upfront to start.

Dis one man in strike eh working.

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2006, 07:48:42 PM »
fellas....while yuh arguing...it was cyd that head the ball that led to the peru goal.....not bad WTD......but the more you learn...then the more you can tell.....

yea i was wondering what ya'll was seeing in that game... thought i was going blind or sumthing cuz i swear that was cyd

« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2006, 07:52:01 PM »
blame it on the CT105 commentators if they doh know we players. They all heap the blame on Sancho  :'(

Offline The_Ice

• RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #21 on: May 10, 2006, 07:53:53 PM »
lol.. sancho was going to header the ball upfield... the only mistake he make was not challenging the man when he get the ball b4 he knock it in the air

Offline ndookie

« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2006, 07:58:16 PM »
that shot in the first minute i find latapy should've scored... ::) ::)

but on the other hand , we have learned from this game , some good attacks , at some points though , the midfielders lacked the instict to see a space in the goal and shoot ...
Glory Glory Man Utd !

Offline The_Ice

• RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2006, 08:02:03 PM »
i think Beenie know what to do with our offense... he have that covered... but our defense  :-\... well i aint knw what to say... they need work... maybe iz just that the guys needed a lil more time to readjust their styles to suit the team... we'll find out by the end of the month... hopefully we can go thru the three friendlies without conceding if possible

« Reply #24 on: May 10, 2006, 08:16:29 PM »
what was the range of Kenwyne's FK? anybody could give me an estimate?

« Reply #25 on: May 10, 2006, 08:25:17 PM »
Cyd and sancho get dey signals crossed. Cyar really blame sancho for it. Jones freekick was bout 20 yards out buh i glad he hit it. We dont exploit dem dead ball suituations as we should. They played for possesion...mostly lateral and backward movement...wasnt seeing much of an attempt to be progressive. And that only really started to happen in the second half....and not even as much as it should have. Whitley really deserve man of the match. Avery John hadda be involved in the attack a lil more for my liking.

And warrior nation de flag look bes. I was lil sour nah...so me eh come de lime buh i was kinda close. Buh allyuh represent good. keep it up.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline K_19

« Reply #26 on: May 10, 2006, 08:27:44 PM »
what was the range of Kenwyne's FK? anybody could give me an estimate?

So I guess you didn't make it to the game eh?  Heh.  Didn't know Kenwyne took FK's, still learning tho.

Anyways, finally signed up, haha.

Oh btw, I'm the man's friend from T.O, a Korean fan here also supporting Trinidad for the upcoming WC.  ;)   Didn't see the game but I'd reckon it's a decent result since Peru has a very decent national side.  Hope you guys will keep at putting your team together into a well-organized machine in time for the WC.

Cheers.

« Reply #27 on: May 10, 2006, 08:30:36 PM »
kelvin jack- made some great saves . he had 2 deal with about three1 vs 1. overall a good .game rating 7/10

lawrence- smooth and reliable a main stay  in dis defence.  game rating 8/10

sancho- a descent gamewas agressive when he needed 2 b. had to do alot of chasing in d game. i would say  the pacy peruvian forwards showed up his weakness. he aint all that fast. 6/10

avery john- good game. made some nice overlaps but was only rewarded with the ball on few of these runs. had to extend himself while latapy was on d park. his passing and compsure has greatly improved. 7/10

cyd gray- ok game. i strongly believe he is d weak link in d defence but his recovery speed is his saving grace and he had to show it a few times today as the pervuians can come forward witth a nice flow when our plays break down.cyd has shown clearly that he is a poor passer of d ball and even though he has the speed to overlap his cross ball is way below par.6/10

latapy- skillfull for days but it is very obvious he cant start on this side due to defensive short comings and will be used as a tactial sub. he started this game because it was his farewell match.

whitley- the shinning light in the darkness of our midfield today. he had some descent shots on goal and wasnt afraid to launch our attack through the centre instead of the flanks. a great balance of offense and defence. marshalled the midfield well.9/10

birchall- a quiet game. nice tracking off d ball and closing down playas doing the things that normally go unnoticed by supporters. not xtreamly creative but that isnt his role in dis squad. 7/10

yorke- was in and out of the game 2day.he usually calls the shots in midfield so when he isnt up to scratch it reflects on the whole team. 7/10

edwards- i normally thinks he overdoes the dribbling on occasions but i think he under did it today. our midfield was flat and he needed to take on his marker a bit to make some sapce. he did get in some crosses. one can see a concerted efort in this area. nice tracking back in support of gray 7/10

john. -john was his old self not much running off d ball making him easy to mark and keeping the opposition's defence in shape. had some difficult chances .his 1st touch was a bit off. but overall an ok game 6/10

subs

interesting that ince was not used hmmmmm

samuels( latapy). ato boldon cousin. d man quick 4 days he has a kaydonna screen and was a constant threat on d flank.he inside( sorry wise)GREATGame and he did his defensive duties well. 9/10

scotland( yorke)- nice off d ball movement. played the withdrawn striker role well had a crack that went wide but again a nice off d ball run to get into the position.8/10

jones(john)- as always. the playa that embodies the warrior spirit. he fights and fights. nice runs off d ball. got the ball on few of these runs. GREAt freekick. missed a sitter but nice change to d game. is he pushing john? many might say no but he has the goods and is a handfull for defenders. 9/10

theobald(birchall)- peru were sitting deep so our midfield had time to bounce the ball around but they lacked that killer instinctand seemed to slip in2 a rehearsed mode. theobald seem to emphasise that he did eevrything by the book . which made us a bit predictable. he and jones had a discussion as he wasnt recognising jones  runs off d ball. 7/10

spann(edwards)-  descent game . believe he must be a bit direct on some occasions when he is playing on d flank. 7/10

our midfield showed compsure and kept d ball well but we were predictable as we constanly went to the flanks 4 this 2 b effective our crossballs have to improve as more often than not there is only 1 person to aim the ball to in the box.

i would like to see jones and yorke on d field at d same time

and glen and samuels combing.
 this team still has work 2 do but there is still time left to do it

« Last Edit: May 10, 2006, 08:37:01 PM by freakazoid »

Offline john_public

« Reply #28 on: May 10, 2006, 08:44:59 PM »
my take on it,

not gonna say de same things de others say except for where de goal came from, it had nothing to do with otis.

de biggest problem i had was with spann, havin seen him in the last 3 games, de fellar eh impressin again, tonight he wasn`t much help eother attack or defence, he was just most times on the midline, i was right dere so i see it good, de man had de right side open and only signallin for cyd to overlap, he wasn`t giving much support to denzil and jones, he looked good only for about 5 mins after de game,

Spann u have real ability bro, but u need to step up.

missed de warrior nation banner this time, casue i was based midfield.  but i sure u guys represented

;D ;D

« Reply #29 on: May 10, 2006, 08:49:55 PM »
Hear nah...as a man say jack had a good game .....i was worried dat wouldnt ah happen. I watching he and ince while dey warming up.....de man get string up 2 times....fumble a good bit....and ince just watching he like he saying "steups....and I on de bench??" den he tell ince go long so he coulda hit a clearance kick. De man didnt inspire confidence in me while warming up...buh i glad to see dat he didnt make no mistakes in de game.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.