April 29, 2024, 10:52:35 AM

Author Topic: Beenhakker releases Rougier from World Cup squad.  (Read 25576 times)

Re: So Rougier get cut
« Reply #30 on: May 11, 2006, 01:46:08 PM »
of couse wise still has a chance. i remember romario gettinng injured just before brazil left for france '98. i  dont  remember the replacement though.....
Edmundo

« Reply #31 on: May 11, 2006, 01:48:21 PM »
Didn't Rougier give up a deal with a Professional Club to train for the World Cup?  And As I recall it, Beenhakker had something to do with it. He got a raw deal.  
But with the way that Beenhakker is behaving now, I think that Glen could recover and still not make the team - especially now that England's team features such fast strikers.
How "England team featurin such fast strikers" have anyting to do wit Glen, a forward, not making the team?

Offline trinidre

« Reply #32 on: May 11, 2006, 01:49:10 PM »
IS THIS FOR REAL

MAN I HAVE BEEN REALLY PUSHING FOR WISE..... NOW DROP PULL STONES THEOBALD AND MAKE WISE PART OF THE 23 INCLUDING GLENN BUT LET THEO STILL GO TO THE WORLD CUB AND JOIN THE SUPPORTERS FROM THE BENCH UNOFFICALLY (AS A MEDIC OR SOME THING ) HE DESERVES THAT BUT NOT TO BE ON THE TEAM

WISE DECISION BEAN

I agree that both glenn and wise should be on the team and beenie should cut someone else.....ah hear real men calling for theobald to get the axe

« Reply #33 on: May 11, 2006, 01:56:50 PM »
wow that was abrupt
didnt expect it atall
especially not so soon

« Reply #34 on: May 11, 2006, 02:03:27 PM »
IS THIS FOR REAL

MAN I HAVE BEEN REALLY PUSHING FOR WISE..... NOW DROP PULL STONES THEOBALD AND MAKE WISE PART OF THE 23 INCLUDING GLENN BUT LET THEO STILL GO TO THE WORLD CUB AND JOIN THE SUPPORTERS FROM THE BENCH UNOFFICALLY (AS A MEDIC OR SOME THING ) HE DESERVES THAT BUT NOT TO BE ON THE TEAM

WISE DECISION BEAN

I agree that both glenn and wise should be on the team and beenie should cut someone else.....ah hear real men calling for theobald to get the axe
theobald geh cut neva!
he is more likely to cut wolfe or atiba charles
both of which didnt even play yestaday

« Reply #35 on: May 11, 2006, 02:13:11 PM »
after allyuh fight meh down

this topic come back

stupesssssssssss

« Reply #36 on: May 11, 2006, 02:15:48 PM »
I think you can change injured players up to 24 hrs before the 1st game.

Or is that only if the player gets injured AFTER being named in the 23?

you can change injured players up to 24 hours before yuh first game but the second part of what yuh saying is redundant and means the same thing because if yuh changing an injured player before yuh first game that means he had to have been named in the 23 man squad.......

Trinidre I talkin about the timing of the injury, whether it occurred before or after they name the 23.
But somebody cleared it up.   :beermug:

« Reply #37 on: May 11, 2006, 02:26:34 PM »

it would be good to get wise into the mix cuz we do need some attacking wingers to put some bes crosses in the box for the strikers. kenwyne and stern..

« Reply #38 on: May 11, 2006, 02:28:46 PM »
god bless tony....now i dont like to talk too much ting bout players but....sombody please tell me...." what is wolfe role within the set up ??"....notice i did not say anything bout shithong or anyting....just tell me why he on the team and why we have to be thinking bout wise and others

« Reply #39 on: May 11, 2006, 02:35:47 PM »
well de reason we thinking bout wise is because he has shown that he can make a difference abeit against weak opposition.
as for wolfe he didnt to THAT much against the same opposition and hasn't made much of an impact

« Reply #40 on: May 11, 2006, 02:40:51 PM »
god bless tony....now i dont like to talk too much ting bout players but....sombody please tell me...." what is wolfe role within the set up ??"....notice i did not say anything bout shithong or anyting....just tell me why he on the team and why we have to be thinking bout wise and others

well BM the thing is that you don't pick a squad by lining up the best men 1 - 24 and dropping the last one.  You have to look at positions.  If Glenn is injured and Wise may be his replacement, then you are bringing in a midfielder (Wise) for a striker (Glenn) which then means that you would not want to drop another striker (Wolfe) from the team but rather a midfielder/defender such as Rougier.

« Reply #41 on: May 11, 2006, 02:42:05 PM »
This is the first read for me too.  Should we hope that Glenn stays injured (i know it sounding bad) so that Wise can be on the team.  I think we're OK up front, but could use some of Wise's guile on the flank. What do you guys think?

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

wayyy... how men jumping on wise back so, cuz ah 2 good performances against greneda... however i do agree he should be there if glenn injured... but u cyah drop a fella who stick wit d team and in good health... even wise admit that he din follow-up with ttff to let them know he was playing good and ready to play during the WC qualifying campaign... so once healthy u gots on principle to give d nod to those who announced their availability and kept hounding ttff with dey individual match reports while playing for dey clubs.

i won't worry too much about the rule, as i sure beenie well versed and aware of the situation and fifa rules... if not, then it might just be one ah d major oversights by a futbol coach ever (given dat wise could prob chain up plenty men and solidify we left side).

I'm looking at it from the perspective that we have a ton of forwards, all of whom will not play in Germany, and a limited assortment of wing options.  Lets be realistic, we have a glut of forwards.  From the match reports, men was quarelling about the quality of service from the flanks, as well as the lack of creativity in general.  It may have been against a Grenadian U23, but we know that Wise has that sort of creativity and slickness that few guys on the side have.  I believe that our key to success in Germany could be to take on Neville and Cole on the flanks.  Stretch the field and use our speed and creativity on the flanks to exploit the opposition.

« Reply #42 on: May 11, 2006, 02:44:04 PM »

He like Theo Walcott

Maybe he is the X factor...every team need one. He MIGHT be the one.

He been on fire in the PFL (yeah ah know is the PFL) but like Theo (Championship division) being given the chance. Maybe Beenie feel he might bring the UNKNOWN :-\

« Reply #43 on: May 11, 2006, 02:49:14 PM »
not a deal -a" try out"

« Reply #44 on: May 11, 2006, 02:49:29 PM »
ah know ah type dat last post funny...shit....i mean...i think wise should be in the 23...full stop....what is wolfe doing there....i would like to know......x-factor????..

« Reply #45 on: May 11, 2006, 02:54:25 PM »
....if cornell fit who alyuh think wise should replace instead......just wondering ???

I think Cornell will be replaced by Wise, sorry to Cornell.
It relly depends on the extent of the tear, from all reports it sounds pretty bad...as a result I don't think he can be get match fit, and in team/match form in a month....and to be honest, on his best day, he was not head and shoulders above the present guys...he is quite good, when in shape and tuned in..yet to be doing rehab and being prepared to just fall into a team  undergoing stuctural and intense training for the next couple weeks, would be difficult for anybody...and if he himself returns too early to play at the level required, I fear long term damage....I am not sure he should even take the chance at this point, yet the final decision will be left to the concerned parties, especially Glen.....Wish him all the best still, and I will still be one of his many fans, as I am of any of our players, including those that gave their all but did not quite make it..

« Reply #46 on: May 11, 2006, 03:05:59 PM »
ah know ah type dat last post funny...shit....i mean...i think wise should be in the 23...full stop....what is wolfe doing there....i would like to know......x-factor????..

You trust Coach Beenhakker right?  He's taken us this far correct?  Well have some faith in de man judge of football talent.  He does get Kelvin Jack to perform near miracles fuh T&T.  He does somehow get Cyd Gray to play a full game without gettin a red card.  He bring out de best in Whitley.  He had faith in Stern John when everybody else (includin me) was bawlin fuh he to get drop & look who goals it was end up takin we to Germany.

Beenie is Boss....so jes trust in de man and know dat he will make de right decisions for THE TEAM!

Re: Beenhakker releases Rougier from World Cup squad.
« Reply #47 on: May 11, 2006, 03:29:13 PM »
First of all thank you Tony Rougier for years of GREAT service.

Thanks for always giving your all for your country and conducting yourself with the utmost of class...even when certain administrators of the TTFF weren't.

Since his debut vs. the US, I'm not aware of Theobald doing anything amzing.

Let cornell and Wise go. If two of them on at the same time..it go be pace like fire.

And if Corell cyah make (injury)...tough luck breds....

« Reply #48 on: May 11, 2006, 03:31:33 PM »

Theo and Atiba Charles in my opinion are the weakest link but LEO have fate in his players and maybe that can motivate them to perform when the friendly game come around for the world cup these guys will warm bench think about it theo can only play in the middle so he not replacing Yorke, Bicthill  or Latapy Atiba can replace Sancho or Cyd on the right but we can use Wise on the left this why I think its so  important too have Carlos on the right and Wise on the left last night the Peruvians was read us like a book they realize in the first half we only going down the right so they was shouting that down second half something on they left now if we have winger on both side true wingers not latapy or theo we will be a treat  also we have to work on our defense we all know how deadly our England and Sweden can be so those simple mistakes have to be cut out

« Reply #49 on: May 11, 2006, 03:31:49 PM »
People remember that after May 15th, the only people who will go to the WC are those on the list of 23. After that and injured player may be removed before the first game.

My point here is that, if Cornell and the rest of the squad are fit, i.e. no medical documentation of an injury, Wise ent going nowhere. Right now he is still a long shot to make the team. Regardless of the amount of tata they are showing in practice, As long as Wolfe, Theobald, Charles etc are fit, they in Deutschland.

« Reply #50 on: May 11, 2006, 03:50:09 PM »
People remember that after May 15th, the only people who will go to the WC are those on the list of 23. After that and injured player may be removed before the first game.

My point here is that, if Cornell and the rest of the squad are fit, i.e. no medical documentation of an injury, Wise ent going nowhere. Right now he is still a long shot to make the team. Regardless of the amount of tata they are showing in practice, As long as Wolfe, Theobald, Charles etc are fit, they in Deutschland.

That I believe is exactly right.

« Reply #51 on: May 11, 2006, 03:58:14 PM »
Almost sure it is. Found this quote in article about US player John OBrien who is in a similar situation to Glen.

"Arena has until Monday to replace O'Brien with no questions asked. After that, only a documented injury to the former Ajax player will allow him to be replaced."

Offline skillful

« Reply #52 on: May 11, 2006, 04:23:12 PM »
Wise, and Rougier brings an intensity (of mainly hope) to the practices, and were invaluable. Wise no longer has break-away speed, or C.Edwards would be the odd man out. The L.A. Galaxy does not play at a level where you can get back from an injury into aworld cup squad........we really dont have 23 world class players.

« Reply #53 on: May 11, 2006, 04:52:00 PM »
Didn't Rougier give up a deal with a Professional Club to train for the World Cup?  And As I recall it, Beenhakker had something to do with it. He got a raw deal.  
But with the way that Beenhakker is behaving now, I think that Glen could recover and still not make the team - especially now that England's team features such fast strikers.

Rougier ain't give up nothing.That was just a spin by ah over zealous reporter.

« Reply #54 on: May 11, 2006, 05:34:36 PM »
Wise, and Rougier brings an intensity (of mainly hope) to the practices, and were invaluable. Wise no longer has break-away speed, or C.Edwards would be the odd man out. The L.A. Galaxy does not play at a level where you can get back from an injury into aworld cup squad........we really dont have 23 world class players.

Carlos Edwards?  No disrespeck but u might need to see a rehab specialist if daz de kinda comment you go make.

De only way Carlos Edwards not startin in every single T&T game is if he injured.

« Reply #55 on: May 11, 2006, 05:38:46 PM »

Like you does practise with dem ah wah

« Reply #56 on: May 11, 2006, 05:44:13 PM »
http://eur.i1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/i/eu/fifa/regen.pdf

Check this link out and go to page 34. It tells about the final roster and how the changing of a player is to be carried out.

« Reply #57 on: May 11, 2006, 06:24:29 PM »
offtopic: just curious how old is wise?

« Reply #58 on: May 11, 2006, 06:41:11 PM »
http://eur.i1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/i/eu/fifa/regen.pdf

Check this link out and go to page 34. It tells about the final roster and how the changing of a player is to be carried out.

Paragraph 3 is de kicker.  Dat explain it in full right dey.

Basically, Beenie have till Monday May 15th to make a change to he announced side.  If no change is forthcoming on Monday....then BOTH Cornel & Wolfe goin and Wise eh goin nowhere, or if he do, he will not be afforded accreditation.

However....if Cornel does not recover from his injury (or a nex player get injured) and TTFF submit a request to make a change due to that injury AND it accepted by de FIFA Medical committee PRIOR TO June 9....den Wise or whoever have a chance to be included in de team.  After de 9th...no matter how much injuries yuh get....man could bruk dem leg....hard lucks....no changes allowed.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2006, 06:45:13 PM by palos »

« Reply #59 on: May 11, 2006, 07:09:41 PM »
of couse wise still has a chance. i remember romario gettinng injured just before brazil left for france '98. i  dont  remember the replacement though.....
Edmundo

Wrong...when Romario got dropped, Zagallo did not call up another forward at all. He called up Emerson. Edmundo was already on the side.