April 27, 2024, 10:27:31 AM

Author Topic: Iran concerned as Bahrain happy to replace them at World Cup  (Read 5596 times)

Iran concerned as Bahrain happy to replace them at World Cup
(monstersandcritics.com)

May 12, 2006, 14:44 GMT

Tehran - Renewed worry arose Friday amongst Iranian football circles following reports that Bahrain would be ready to replace Iran in the World Cup if a renewed request by the European Parliament to disqualify the Iranian team is accepted.

'Renewed claims by some European Parliament officials have led to a situation where Bahrain is on call and could replace Iran at the World Cup,' the sports desk of Iran's leading news agency ISNA reported Friday.

According to ISNA, some deputies from the European Parliament have once again called on football's world controlling body, FIFA, to disqualify Iran from the World Cup - reportedly due to the Islamic state's insistence to continue its nuclear programmes and renewed call on eradication of Israel - and replace it with Bahrain.

Bahrain ended the qualification games of Group B in the Asian qualifying campaign third behind Japan and Iran and lost the play-off games against Trinidad and Tobago.

ISNA quoted Bahraini sports director Youssef Babsheys as saying that the move would come quite surprisingly and nobody would be happy about Iran's disqualification, 'but Bahrain would be the only alternative and therefore ready to replace Iran.'

'The Bahrainis are hallucinating - no power in the world can deprive Iran of a place at the World Cup,' said MP Jalal Yahyazadeh, who is in charge of the World Cup headquarters in the parliament.

'We will play as scheduled our first game on June 11 (against Mexico),' the MP added.

Iran also face Angola and Portugal in Group D during the June 9 - July 9 competition.

There have been several calls by European, American and Israeli officials to exclude Iran from the World Cup but both the World Cup organization committee as well as FIFA have so far ruled out such an option and declared sports separate from politics.

© 2006 dpa - Deutsche Presse-Agentur 

At least one thing I can applaud FIFA for.... no politics in sports.

Re: Iran concerned as Bahrain happy to replace them at World Cup
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2006, 09:34:45 AM »

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2006, 09:35:22 AM »

Somebody pass de message to Jack please

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2006, 09:39:36 AM »
By this happening "There have been several calls by European, American and Israeli officials to exclude Iran from the World Cup but both the World Cup organization committee as well as FIFA have so far ruled out such an option and declared sports separate from politics"

We will now have to fear even more.... Leave Iran alone... America will seperate the world and cause world war 3, not Iran.

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2006, 09:41:57 AM »
I hope that  story dont pick up more momentum

Dat is real assness....politicians eh?

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2006, 11:05:22 AM »

Alas, that is not, and has never been true. Football is the most poltical sport in the world, and FIFA has long recognised that, despite its repeated protestations to the contrary.
-be the change you wish to see-

« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2006, 11:30:44 AM »
Dat not happening.  It will take a more vile, brazen act by Iran to warrant their disqualification from participating in Germany.

« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2006, 11:39:18 AM »
that ehh have nothing to do with football...

and besides... Bahrain dont deserve to go no where for their nastiness

« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2006, 01:20:59 PM »
iran have a very good team....i know there are people that want to see them play....leave them the hell alone......and thats goes for u also BUSH-man!!!

« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2006, 01:31:06 PM »
wey bahrain cyah cum an take all we wc records we now geh

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2006, 01:42:49 PM »
Remember.. they do that for years with South Africa in cricket and rugby because of Apartheid

Offline sin

• wordspinner
« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2006, 02:38:57 PM »
Remember.. they do that for years with South Africa in cricket and rugby because of Apartheid

and football.

« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2006, 03:07:11 PM »

You can't compare South Africas's practice of apartheid to Iran allegedly pursuing nuclear weapons, espeically when these allegations are coming from the people who accused Iraq of having "weapons of mass destruction".  ::) Leh de team play!

Offline sin

• wordspinner
« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2006, 03:12:14 PM »
The issues raised aren't really about nuclear weapons. More a reaction to the Ayatollah's comments:

"[Israel] must be wiped out from the map of the world."

"And God willing, with the force of God behind it, we shall soon experience a world without the United States and Zionism"

So, those comments + nuclear weapons...

That said, I'd hate to see the football team banned from the World Cup. For a number of reasons, which I might go into when I have less of a headache.

« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2006, 03:33:42 PM »

and rightfully so

The Iran situation is different and we should not compare the two

« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2006, 03:46:20 PM »
It would be a travesty if that Bahrain side that we played against goes to the World Cup.

« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2006, 04:15:14 PM »
The Bahrain Sports Director  lie...dey want Iran to get kick out.l

Becz if they really disagreed with it, they would refuse to take their place.

Offline ndookie

« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2006, 06:09:58 PM »
steups , leave iran alone..

that will just increase friction..
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2006, 11:41:50 PM »
Bahrain jus showing another example of their lowness.

Why am I not surprised.

They force playoff with Uzbekistan.

They try to ban we riddim section.

They put we in the worse part of the stadium.

They try to break Yorke foot.

They try to beat the ref.

They pelt we players and supporters.

And they still trying to win their first game in about 3 years at international level.

Wow.

I feel is Michael Jackson behind all that nasty behaviour   :devil:

« Reply #19 on: May 13, 2006, 04:44:20 AM »
I say leave Iran to play in the world cup cause it will have man scared to play concerned about bombing and shit like that.I know is not just America behind this shit but all this government lives for is war and to tell other countries what to do and notice i said government not the people of the land cause some of them are good people.

Offline sin

• wordspinner
« Reply #20 on: May 13, 2006, 06:35:12 AM »
Source: Soccerblog.com

Can politics be far behind when the World Cup is organized? Now, many EU members are demanding that FIFA ban the Iranian soccer team from playing in the World Cup because their president Mahmoud Ahmedinejad has called for Israel's destruction. One form of exculpation of Germany's guilt in the Holocaust is to legally proceed against deniers, of whom Ahmedinejad is one of them.

But why should the Iranian players be punished for the statement of their president? They earned the right to play in the World Cup just like other teams that had to go through the qualifying rounds. No Iranian player in public statements has subscribed to the annihilation nor wished ill will against Israel.

This is different from apartheid in South Africa for which they were banned from international sports for decades. That form of discrimination was systematized and targeted the black population on measures best described by the authors of The Bell Curve.

Iran is home to millions of youth that actively oppose the fundamentalism of the elderly clerics in charge of Iran. They are the ones that bring Iran close to the rest of the world with their movies, music, and art. And their soccer. This ban will marginalize this youth movement. Angela Merkel should stay steadfast in her opposition to the demand of a ban on the Iranian team.

Soccer Blog says, "Let Soccer Be the Winner."

Offline Redbelt

• SHIFT_Redline
    • PiracyUnlimited.com, Anime & Manga
Bahrain, T&T, Iran & the World Cup
« Reply #21 on: May 14, 2006, 05:41:29 AM »
Hello guys!

I heard in the News that Iran may be Banned because of thier nuclear activities and if that happens Bahrain will take over.

How do you feel about that?

I can tell you from now that all bahraini's don't care anymore. But they are split into two: one side says we shouldn't go because thats wrong & disrespectful.
Another side says in 1992 Ygoslavia had the same happen to it & Denmark went instead. So its a good chance to gain experience.

I wanna know what you think.

And another thing, I went to an Irani forum to see what they are saying, and as usual, they are disrespecting us and insaulting us.
But this time its different!
They are insaulting your socawarriors too!
One Bahraini poster was defending the warriors saying how good Yorke was but... well...  you read the forums & tell me if you can talk to these guys because I woun't even try.

http://www.irankicks.com/ikboard/showthread.php?t=39238&page=1&pp=10

Offline sin

• wordspinner
Re: Bahrain, T&T, Iran & the World Cup
« Reply #22 on: May 14, 2006, 06:32:44 AM »
Why don't you check out this thread:

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=14980.0

You'll find most of your questions answered there.

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #23 on: May 14, 2006, 07:04:22 AM »
Although Bahrain would love to get into the WC, I don't think it shold be due to the mixing of politics and sports.

Let's see what happens four years from now. Although, I think it will be much harder for Bahrain to qualify next time due to the presence of Austrailia.

« Reply #24 on: May 14, 2006, 07:38:31 AM »
So are they going to ban the US, England, Japan and all the other nuclear powers as well?  ::)

FIFA has already said that they aren't interested in that political squabble.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2006, 07:40:58 AM by Ryan »

« Reply #25 on: May 14, 2006, 08:13:02 AM »
the Yugoslavia incident was different. the country was in the middle of a civil war and there were reports of mass genocide (or ethnic cleansing)...

Iran is not doing anything that many other countries have not done before them. I think this is a non-issue. Iran will play in the WC.

« Reply #26 on: May 14, 2006, 08:27:30 AM »
Uruguay deserves to go before Bahrain

« Reply #27 on: May 14, 2006, 08:50:34 AM »
God I hope not, Ive got tix to see Portugal/Iran....Id hate to watch the grassrollers instead  :devil: :devil:

Like the others say Redbelt, I dont think it will happen

« Reply #28 on: May 14, 2006, 08:56:23 AM »
Did FIFA ever ban Bahrain for their fans' awful behaviour in the WC playoffs?

« Reply #29 on: May 14, 2006, 09:42:08 AM »
this will never happen,usa is the one behind this.so wat if iran wants to make nukes,why should usa and israel make nukes and chemical and biological weapons,wats good for one is good for all.keep this nasty politics out of sports.