April 29, 2024, 11:28:16 AM

Author Topic: Whitley looks like he is headed to Portmouth still  (Read 6810 times)

Whitley looks like he is headed to Portmouth still
« on: May 15, 2006, 05:37:26 AM »

Portsmouth to snap up T&T star Whitley
tribalfootball.com - May 15, 2006

Portsmouth boss Harry Redknapp is lining up Trinidad & Tobago star Aurtis Whitley.
The News of the World says Redknapp is ready to sign the midfielder from local T&T outfit San Juan Jabloteh after the World Cup.

tribalfootball.com ;D

Offline Pompey

Re: Whitley looks like he is headed to Portmouth still
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2006, 05:52:37 AM »
If Tribal Football says we are going to sign him, then I would gaurantee we are not.

The guy would need to be good to get into our midfield at the moment, but good luck to him.

Offline stillmatic

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2006, 06:03:50 AM »
http://www.tribalfootball.com/may/englsnews7150506.html

Some of the news on Tribalfotball is true....whitley is good enough to make portsmouth...he has alot of potential!

Offline Pompey

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2006, 07:06:05 AM »
http://www.tribalfootball.com/may/englsnews7150506.html

Some of the news on Tribalfotball is true....whitley is good enough to make portsmouth...he has alot of potential!

I wouldn't doubt his potential and if he can get into the team then it can only be agood thing.

At the moment though, we are looking at a midfield next season of O'Niel, Mendes, Davis and D'Alessandro, which I think is probably the best midfield outside of the big four. We are also hopeful of signing Routledge and there is talk of Sorin coming as well.

We do need cover for a holding midfield role, so he may be in with a chance.

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2006, 07:38:35 AM »
Sorry but D''Alessandron not staying in Portsmouth...especially if he involved int he World Cup with Argentina

« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2006, 07:46:33 AM »
Sorry but D''Alessandron not staying in Portsmouth...especially if he involved int he World Cup with Argentina
hmm yuh neva kno pompey gonna be a big team jus now
but whitley go catch he ass for real doh

Offline Pompey

« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2006, 07:48:57 AM »

As part of the loan agreement, we have first option to buy him. He wants to stay and the only thing that needs sorting out is his agent who it seems is making ridiculous demands.

http://home.skysports.com/list.asp?hlid=384589&CPID=8&CLID=47&lid=&title=Andres+eyes+Pompey+stay&channel=
« Last Edit: May 15, 2006, 07:57:52 AM by Pompey »

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2006, 08:19:54 AM »
Whitley should wait until after the world cup and he might attract a much better club.

Offline thane

« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2006, 08:54:48 AM »
whitley good enuff to make da shit team..doh disrespect...he shudnt waste his time doe...better clubs ah come knocking...

Offline Pompey

« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2006, 09:01:12 AM »
whitley good enuff to make da shit team..doh disrespect...he shudnt waste his time doe...better clubs ah come knocking...

Who?

better get down to Starbucks and smell the coffee.

« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2006, 09:07:27 AM »
Whitley should wait until after the world cup and he might attract a much better club.

:rotfl:  Come on man he would be fortunate to go to Portsouth.  He should be thanking the Lord that they still interested. 

I would not want him to go to Pompey and bench, if he could get into a Championship side and start that would be better.

« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2006, 09:54:55 AM »

If Whitley was between 19-24 I would say that but at his age this is a pretty decent prospect. What better clubs you had in mind though. Spurs, Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal  ???

« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2006, 09:59:28 AM »
like jones at southhampton

harry gives u ur chance

if whitley goes to the side as midfeild cover then hopefully he can light up the reserves

if and when he deserves it harry will give him a chance

i think many of our footballer would beneifit from the world cup with the promoted teams looking to plug gaps

big name teams look mostly for standouts so i aint gettin my hed filled with anything bout d big 4

or european teams ...anything else fair game

Offline Pompey

« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2006, 10:16:11 AM »
like jones at southhampton

harry gives u ur chance

if whitley goes to the side as midfeild cover then hopefully he can light up the reserves

if and when he deserves it harry will give him a chance

i think many of our footballer would beneifit from the world cup with the promoted teams looking to plug gaps

big name teams look mostly for standouts so i aint gettin my hed filled with anything bout d big 4

or european teams ...anything else fair game

except there is ten years difference between Jones and Whitley.

I've been reading up on Aurtis and he has a reputation for being a very good player, but I would be surprised if any English premier team is going to take a chance on an untried 29 year old.

« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2006, 10:24:17 AM »
awwwwww pompey

u httin the harsh realtites hard today

it feeling like u aint even wa whitley come there

as trinis we always have hope in our players..................WARRIOR SPIRIT.

« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2006, 10:25:58 AM »
I think Whitley is the best - consistently good - midfielder we have, and is capable of cracking any team..it is unfortunate his age is not condusive for a club to be taking the chance, as a younger player would have time to prove his worth...however if he is fortunate to have the World cup games he is capable of, he will be snapped up still.....I am surprised he surprised he wasn't picked up before....shows yuh how much I know bout recruiting done by big clubs....even Latapy took theobald before, and tho Theo is good, I thought Whitley better...maxg cyar get ah scout work either...damn

Offline Pompey

« Reply #16 on: May 15, 2006, 10:39:15 AM »
awwwwww pompey

If he is good enough then I would love him to come here. One thing is certain, if he sweets blood for the club, he will be the hero of the best fans in the premiership.

We as a club are going places, our new joint owner wants success and he is willing to pay for it. We are not in teh Chelsea league, but I think we will spend a lot of money this summer.

but then, I think that every summer and the club always let me down ::)

« Reply #17 on: May 15, 2006, 11:48:55 AM »
BES.

good to hear now i wanna hear about the fee.

I dont want any free ting.

« Reply #18 on: May 15, 2006, 12:05:17 PM »
what pompey doin is good for english party dey need a new club to come and challenge
in a few years champions league wud be right around de corner

« Reply #19 on: May 15, 2006, 12:05:58 PM »
awwwwww pompey

If he is good enough then I would love him to come here. One thing is certain, if he sweets blood for the club, he will be the hero of the best fans in the premiership.

We as a club are going places, our new joint owner wants success and he is willing to pay for it. We are not in teh Chelsea league, but I think we will spend a lot of money this summer.

If Whitely signs with Pompey, baring injuries, he will give you guys 110%. He's that kind of player. Whatever Pompey spends for him would be money well spent.

« Reply #20 on: May 15, 2006, 12:10:48 PM »
awwwwww pompey

If Whitely signs with Pompey, baring injuries, he will give you guys 110%. He's that kind of player. Whatever Pompey spends for him would be money well spent.

Stewps pompey you seem alright and ting... buh you on dis site so long... you never see Whitely play!?

Portsmouth will be lucky if they can snap him up while they can!!

no offense buh yuh cyah take that man lightly. He have rl heart and drive the eptome of what a real WARRIOR is.

« Reply #21 on: May 15, 2006, 01:40:32 PM »
At the moment though, we are looking at a midfield next season of O'Niel, Mendes, Davis and D'Alessandro, which I think is probably the best midfield outside of the big four.

Thats the funniest thing I've heard all day  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Pompey will be playing Championship football soon enough son.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2006, 02:02:34 PM by PantherX »

Offline Aymir

• JABLOTEH FOREVER
    • Jabloteh
« Reply #22 on: May 15, 2006, 01:42:51 PM »
thought i read somewhere that he said he is not thinking of any club until after world cup.

pompey much be up  to something - hoping to sign him on the cheap.

good chap whitley. he will perform for whoever he plays for.

« Reply #23 on: May 15, 2006, 01:53:04 PM »

getting a little carried away are we.........

« Reply #24 on: May 15, 2006, 02:05:00 PM »

This is such a stupid comment!!

better clubs? lol

i am a die hard, but i am a very realsitic person!!

i hope he gets in at least the championship level and starts off well there!!

« Reply #25 on: May 15, 2006, 04:40:36 PM »
I'm glad to hear that Whitley will be sign to portmouth after the world cup...nice going Whitley you play to earned your keep...knowing you are one of the local

« Reply #26 on: May 15, 2006, 07:04:40 PM »
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Nice to see your faith in the local boys an ting but keep your head out the clouds and ur feet on the ground.

Portsmouth is descent club for anyone ah we boys an dem. As pompey say smell de Starbucks ah lil ;D .

Whitley denies Portsmouth deal
« Reply #27 on: May 16, 2006, 05:10:33 AM »
Whitley denies Portsmouth deal
(Guardian)

5/16/2006

While the media in Manchester has been constantly trying to get hold of the UK-based players like Dennis Lawrence, Carlos Edwards and Yorke, T&T-based midfielder Aurtis Whitley was reported in the “News of the World” on Sunday to be heading to English Premiership club Portsmouth, who narrowly escaped relegation at the end of the season.

This was all news to Whitley though, as he confirmed that neither he, nor his agent, Ricky Hill ,had received any offer from the club at which he spent a few weeks on trial earlier this year.

This was news to me. As far as I am concerned, I remain a Jabloteh player and my agent has had no word from Portsmouth about me making a move there” said Whitley, who had a two -week trial stint with the club during the Christman break.

Reflecting on the recent 1-1 draw with Peru and his first days on the Europe-leg of T&T’s build up to Germany, the rock solid Whitley added:

“I think the run against Peru came at the right time and the coach knows what he has planned for us to get ready for the first three games at the World Cup. I am up for whatever position he wants to use me in and time will tell where I really play when the real action starts.

“I have had a taste of what the training is like up here with the weather, but obviously it’s a bit different with the national team and under the coach we have. We are getting ready for a World Cup, so I don’t expect anything to be a walk through.

“At the same time I am enjoying it, so I don’t think you can expect me to complain,” Whitley added, after he and a few of the players enjoyed a round of table-tennis in the hall just outside their rooms.

Whitley said he is concentrating on representing T&T at the World Cup, and that all offers will be dealt with after the finals.

« Reply #28 on: May 16, 2006, 12:29:51 PM »
and the rumour is shattered.