April 18, 2024, 06:21:14 PM

Author Topic: Zen Carpark...ALERT!!..ESPECIALLY LADIES!!  (Read 5288 times)

Offline #8

Zen Carpark...ALERT!!..ESPECIALLY LADIES!!
« on: May 16, 2006, 09:17:04 AM »
This thread is for de females especially...even in de mix of all de excitement to go and party...PLEASE be aware of yuh surroundings...not only when going Zen..but everywhere for that matter.. :beermug:

I just wanted to share a nightmarish experience that happened to my
  bestfriend and I, in Zen's carpark the day T&T played Peru (10th May)
 Please pass this to all your female friends who go to Zen or any nightclub
 for that matter. I don't want to invoke fear by sending this email, but I
 don't want this to happen to anyone else either. Be careful!!
 On Wednesday night, Zen had a big football party so my friend and I  decided to go.
 We got there at about 11:20pm and pulled into the Carpark. This is the
 Carpark on Keith Street which gives way to the public tennis court. This
  carpark is not very well-lit but we thought nothing of it as we know that
  Zen has 'Security' who used to do patrols and there were lots of ppl there
  that night. Anyway, we pulled into a parking spot and we sat in the car
  putting on lipstick and our shoes. We noticed a car parked next to ours
  with a guy leaning on the trunk and another guy in the car speaking on his
  mobile but, unfortunately for us, we didn't make anything of it.
  As we opened the door to get out, 1 guy jumped in on the driver's side,
  another on the passenger side and one in the backseat. They not only
  wanted to steal the car but they wanted to ensure that we could not
  escape. We started to scream and fight back and scream some more, but I
  tell ya... they have mastered a technique where they shove their palm up
  under your nostrils whilst pressing against your mouth and simultaneously
  jamming the other hand against yr throat.. yes it's as effective and scary
  as it sounds... not a breath of air!!! They're saying to each other ' doh
  let them get out... try to get them in the backseat' while trying to find
  the car keys which, in retrospect lucky for us, fell onto the car floor
  during the commotion.
  Anyway, so we're still trying to scream and struggle which is difficult,
  to say the least, whilst not breathing. They managed to pin my friend
  between the driver's and passenger seat where the handbrake is located. I
  get 2 feet out the door and the guy in the driver's seat grabs me by my
  hair literally and drags me back in. I have 1 word to summarize that..
  EXCRUCIATING!!  As they are trying to stifle our screams, I was able to
  free my hand and I started to honk the horn. When they tried to stop that,
  I would scream again.
  At this point you might be asking where was the Security?? Who knows?
  Finally a guy in a Hilux van (our rescuer) who happened to pass thru the
  back by the tennis court, heard the honking and noticed the commotion. He
  stopped his vehicle and was trying to assess the situation. All the while
  our assaulters were trying push us to the ground and appear normal. I
  started to bang on the windscreen at this point and the guy realized sthg
  was definitely wrong. He also started to honk his horn at which time the
  Security finally realized sthg was wrong. They came running towards us and
  the assailants jumped out of the car and started to run towards the
  Savannah, not to be found.
  So boys and girls, the moral of this story is to please please please be
  careful. I can't help but think of my numerous female friends who take the
  occasional lime here and there; which is what I still plan to do. But I
  still can't stop myself from occasionally thinking about the "what-ifs".
  So again, look at your surroundings; if you go to Zen, drive up to the
  security before parking and have them park with you; note that when the
  driver opens his/her door all the other door locks automatically open
  (this is how they got into the back seat), finally go with God and be
  safe!

Best Regards

Microsoft Account Executive
  Tel: (868) 628 8538
  Fax: (868) 628 9597
  MiCro Computers Caribbean
  #9A Weekes Street
  St James
  Trinidad
>

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
Re: Zen Carpark...ALERT!!..ESPECIALLY LADIES!!
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2006, 10:49:21 AM »
Sorry to hear you had such a harrowing experience. Hope you and your friend are doing much better

« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2006, 11:12:19 AM »
I am very disturbed by your experience and saddened by your ordeal.   However, why would 2 women be out so late at night alone in a carpark when u are VERY aware of the crimes taking place at the moment.   That is very irresponsible on your part. Although I applaud your great effort in creating awareness of the situation, I cannot help but notice you have also listed all your contact information below.  Is that standard protocol??  Are you assuming that one of us might know who the perpetrator is or is this naivity too ??? 
« Last Edit: May 16, 2006, 12:09:07 PM by rotatopoti3 »

« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2006, 12:26:26 PM »

#8 did not write this email.

The girl write it and forward it and he end up with it.

She must be send it from her work email and it automatically put that signature....the number probably just the main number for the office but still.

These kinda reminders good for dem gyal to see and remember.

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2006, 03:00:22 PM »

#8 did not write this email.

The girl write it and forward it and he end up with it.

She must be send it from her work email and it automatically put that signature....the number probably just the main number for the office but still.

These kinda reminders good for dem gyal to see and remember.

i also got another version of this email from my security department....probably an account from the best freind..
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2006, 03:15:36 PM »
well post it minus the personal info.

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2006, 03:58:42 PM »
here u go  ;D ;D

This week, we had a report of two women being attacked in the car-park of a popular Port-of-Spain night club. Briefly the facts are that they pulled into the car-park, which was not very well lit and sat in their car for a while putting on make-up. They noticed that there was a man sitting inside the car parked next to theirs speaking on his mobile phone and another man leaning on the trunk. As they opened the doors to get out, one of the men jumped in on the driver's side, another on the passenger side and a third in the backseat.

The men wanted to abduct the women and steal the car. The women put up tremendous resistance by kicking, screaming and honking the car horn. The commotion attracted a motorist who was passing near the car-park and who also started to honk his horn. This in turn attracted the night club’s security officers who responded. The assailants then fled. The women were unharmed.

To avoid a situation like this you need to be alert and aware; look around at your surroundings. Drive up to the security officers before parking and ask them to look out for you. Try to park in the busier areas and do not park next to vans if possible as you can be easily dragged into one without anyone noticing.

Even one man loitering in a remote area of the car-park should arouse your suspicion. Instead of assuming that he is innocently waiting on someone, assume that he is a threat and his friends may be hiding. They often pretend to use their phones but are really looking for an opportunity. You should look for another park.

In many cars whenever the driver’s door is opened all the other doors are unlocked simultaneously. This allowed the third man to jump into the back seat. Again alertness is your only defense. If you feel unsafe as you are about to open your door, simply drive off. It is better to over react than to be a victim. Also remember that attackers may pass their victim and then attack them from behind, so if someone walks past your car from the front as you are parking, keep your eye on him and ensure that he goes away before you open your door.

Normally victims are advised to cooperate with their assailants as resisting can lead to violence, however, particularly for women, if the attacker is attempting to take you to some other location, it is better to resist because most rapes and murders take place at the second location. Shout  “FIRE,” "POLICE," MURDER” or anything to create a disturbance.

« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2006, 04:13:49 PM »
I glad dem women didn't go quietly into the night. It's good that they put up some serious resistance. That is the one thing that these bandits don't want, is for a potential victim who will right back. They have meh rile up now. >:(

Offline nobody_s angel

« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2006, 06:02:42 PM »
Wow this is really scary, it might not be naivety but the fact that sometimes a group of girls go out together and before you go into a club you almost always check your makeup or put on shoes. I have been in cars full of girls in many carparks going to fetes, clubs, and parties where we have done this.

Never really thought about someone doing that, seriously that was a  serious reality slap. It real sad though.   :-\

Thanks for making me aware of this and I will do my best to make my friends aware also.

« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2006, 06:25:04 PM »
two words...pepper spray

Offline ndookie

« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2006, 06:36:45 PM »
this sad ,

the fact that it was perpetrated on women too  :(

where were the security guards...does zen have camera installed in their car parks .. where are the lights ?

But like the bandits really plan that good.
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2006, 06:46:15 PM »
this sad ,

the fact that it was perpetrated on women too  :(

where were the security guards...does zen have camera installed in their car parks .. where are the lights ?

But like the bandits really plan that good.

There will always be somewhere that not monitored and if yuh go in dem areas late yuh need to pay attention.

If more of this get reported the night clubs would probably beef up security to protect business.
Skools out!

« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2006, 08:02:55 PM »
Thanks for this information.
I've sent it to all meh peeps on my contact list.   :-\

sad tho.

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2006, 08:12:54 PM »
two words...pepper spray

it illegal here in trini...so ah cyah find it...(hint hint)...

but yuh know...there use to be a device available fuh yuh key chain, when activated...made and very high pitched noise that would attract a lot of attention.....anyone know wha i talking about??

« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2006, 09:27:37 PM »
that is real flicking shit...I can not stand when i see things like this...

kandi:  those devices are called personal attack alarms/rape alarms....it's proven to be more ineffective than effective though....screaming is actually more effective....pepper spray is de real deal though....

« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2006, 10:07:19 PM »
you know this not only killing tourism but it also detracting locals from going home.

Offline #8

« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2006, 11:59:11 PM »
I am very disturbed by your experience and saddened by your ordeal.   However, why would 2 women be out so late at night alone in a carpark when u are VERY aware of the crimes taking place at the moment.   That is very irresponsible on your part. Although I applaud your great effort in creating awareness of the situation, I cannot help but notice you have also listed all your contact information below.  Is that standard protocol??  Are you assuming that one of us might know who the perpetrator is or is this naivity too ??? 
bredda man..de car park in de back dey USUAULLY have security..fellars in yellow jerseys patrolling (sometimes with dogs)...read the thread again and see how everything went down...de fellars wasn't in all black with mask over dey face...dey were in club attire chilling in de carpark...i doh understand how de gyal and dem irresponsible...stuuuppps!!

« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2006, 03:53:25 AM »
Alright #8 my wrong...I assumed the post was directly from the person and the address at the bottom was theres.I guess the term irresponsible is not a term for everyone.  As for me, I still think whether Zen have security or not especially when allyuh is woman..why you out so late when you know this is not POS of the past..not tis rounds brudder...
« Last Edit: May 17, 2006, 04:09:32 AM by rotatopoti3 »

Offline Johpants

« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2006, 12:28:49 PM »
I've been to Zen several times and parked at all of the various carparks, on Frederick Street, at Atlantic LNG car park, next to the hockey field, in front of the netball courts and next to the tennis courts. Fortunately, there have always been other patrons parking in these areas so that safety has never been an issue and most times there have been guards with dogs around.  There is such a thing as evil luck and that is what probably happened with those ladies. Thank God they had the presence of mind to fight back and to try to attract attention.

My advice in general would be to try to arrive not too late, this way one does not run the risk of having to park in a really lonely area as well as one would most likely have company while parking as other patrons would be arriving then.

Next would be to, make sure that one is properly well made up and attired before leaving home thus avoiding having to linger in the car and provide opportunities for someone with less than honourable intentions more time to approach the vehicle. It is better to reach in the place looking a little oily than to be roughed-up or worse while one is making sure that one is properly well dollsed-up.