April 28, 2024, 05:48:53 PM

Author Topic: Bahrain youth footballers are the best...  (Read 1465 times)

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
Bahrain youth footballers are the best...
« on: May 21, 2006, 09:49:26 AM »
I have been following the Pepsi football challenge competition on TV here, you know, where they take two youths from different countries, they tour the world facing different challenges that football stars are expected to make.

For the past four weeks, Bahrain have been top of the table! It is unbelievable! Followed closely by Thailand and China. Italy, UK and Brazil follow, with the lowest scoring teams in the competition so far being Argentina (Huh????) and Romania.

Every week, those Bahraini boys perform well, to every challenge thrown at them. They have only won the individual challenges once, but come in the top three every time. End result, overall they've consistently held the top of the table with the most points.

Look at the top three countries, how weird is that?

Bahrain
Thailand
China
Italy
UK
Brazil
Argentina
Romania

This week, the challenge was fitness. And China won! The fitest person in all the boys was from Thailand! China won a prize of a shopping trip to Dolce & Gabbana and Versace, escorted and taken around Milan by Alexandro Nesta.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2006, 10:31:01 AM by redtrinigirl »
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

Re: Bahrain footballers are the best...
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2006, 09:53:05 AM »
too bad they are a sub par senior team that is only best at getting hot headed at the worst possible times...

what are the challenges based on? tackling people in the head?

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2006, 10:03:51 AM »
Boy you dotish  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

No, since I've been following, they've been tested on:

Ball control skills (chaired by Ronaldhino)
Advertising & Marketing (chaired by Thierry Henry)
Leadership & morals (chaired by Gary Neville)
Technical know how (dunno)
Fitness (Alexandro Nesta)

I joined in a couple weeks late, so don't know what the first two challenges were. But would you belive the one category that Bahrain won was the Leadeship & Morals???? Unbelievable. Let's hope the younger generation are a much needed improvement on the senior team. All the other youths said that they really liked one bahraini guy, so cool, down-to-earth, friendly, willing to help. But almost everyone disliked to hated the other one, who they felt was arrogant and treated everyone else badly. So I guess he came from the same people as those who were in the stadium that night huh?

gives Love.

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2006, 10:11:07 AM »
The title is some what misleading. I would suffice to say that in the Pepsi challenge involving youths, the Bahrain  youths are excelling in the skills presented.

To say  generally that Bahrainians footballers are the best is like me sayiny TNT won the world cup!!! after playing the game on x-box for aweek, TNT has won every game and claimed the title.

« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2006, 10:15:35 AM »
Red Trini Girl like u just like me and spend the whole weekend in front the tv, lol. Raining cats and dogs outside in any case.

Imagine the Chinese do it to the rest of the nations and win the fitness challenge!! It was a SERIOUS fitness challenge; the same routine the AC Milan team go through. Brazil came 3rd if i'm not mistaken The UK came about 7th. Saudia Arabia, Turkey and another arab nation brought up the rear.

The young brazilian impress me, although his teammate let him don. Imagine men couldn't do one pull up and he doing 16 ! Men bepping out at 30 push ups he doing 89 ! The challenges really showed the state of the art approach to fitness in football and the difference in nations approach to fitness. Those south asian teams emphasise those things, who remembers South Korea in 2002, running for 90 minutes EVERY GAME!?!?

I bet it had more interpreters than players yes, cuz everyone was speaking in their own language, it had about 7 or 8 languages. Sub-titles when the boys were giving interviews.  :D

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2006, 10:30:37 AM »
I was keeping one eye on the TV and one on my text book to be honest. But the one thing that stood out for me was the high quality of technical stuff to measure fitness levels.

See, this is the difference between those "big" countries and the smaller nations. For most local technical staff or coaches, fitness is running miles in training, doing sit-ups and push-ups, and then playing the game. Maybe some gym work to build muscles. The scientific approach taken by these foreigners is unbelievable.

Reminds me of a guy I know who's a physiotherapist, the amount of different qualifications he has. I never realised that it went that deep into medical and scientific things. But that's what T&T needs to compete these days. No longer can you rely on natural talent or stamina, and ah lil beats skills to pull through.

Serious work has got to go into the training aspect of football in T&T. I wonder if the TTFF investing some of those millions (and millions) they're getting into acquiring this sort of equipment and expertise for future use?

gives Love.

Re: Bahrain youth footballers are the best...
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2006, 09:34:43 AM »

Check out the Ronaldinho Segment, it tough, the young brazilian is the one who do the wrap around his t-shirt!

http://www.metacafe.com/watch/126244/ronaldinho_skills/

Re: Bahrain youth footballers are the best...
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2006, 10:08:12 AM »
the question is...how many of these youths actually going to become top level footballers?