April 28, 2024, 03:17:39 AM

Author Topic: Whittley Set To Shine In World Cup  (Read 4469 times)

Whittley Set To Shine In World Cup
« on: May 18, 2006, 10:03:09 AM »
Terry Fenwick believes Trinidad & Tobago midfielder Aurtis Whitley could come home from the World Cup a wanted man. The former Tottenham defender and Portsmouth manager has first hand experience of Whitley having managed his club San Juan Jabloteh, in the Trinidad & Tobago league, over the past few seasons.

Fenwick has marvelled at the skills Whitley possesses and while he feels T & T will struggle in Germany, he would not be surprised if their star man made a name for himself.

Whitley has already spent time at Fratton Park with Portsmouth and Fenwick concedes he expects other clubs will soon begin to show an interest.

''He's the jewell of the Caribbean really,'' Fenwick told Sky Sports News.

''In my career I played with absolute superstars, Bryan Robson, Glenn Hoddle, Gazza - who was fantastic, but this guy has got every bit of skill they ever had.

''This guy does things with the ball I can't believe, if he was to turn it on we would get a zillion phone calls the next week from Europe, with clubs wanting to sign him.''

The future of current T & T incumbent Leo Beenhakker after the World Cup is far from certain and while Fenwick concedes that he would be flattered to be linked with the post, he is full of praise for the current coach.

''I think it would be lovely if it came about,'' he continued. ''But I'm enjoying the work I have been doing now with the local side.

''Leo's done a terrific job, got the most out of my players. I think he realises they've had quite a good grooming under me.

''He's got his own ways of doing things, he's got a wonderful record behind him and it would be a shame if he's not around after the World Cup.''

skysports

Re: Whittley Set To Shine In World Cup
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2006, 10:40:06 AM »
wow da man rel rel faith in whitley
and he sees him alot more than any of us

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2006, 12:12:00 PM »
Is the transfer money that CL go get is what have him happy like pappy. He might get a cut.

« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2006, 12:22:47 PM »
Otis is a jem of player. He plays the same way regards of the opposition......fearless. The man could play football. I sure he getting a contract after the World Cup.

« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2006, 01:02:32 PM »
I hope so... Whitley is our spark plug.

« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2006, 01:12:53 PM »
Allyuh talking bout gem and not seeing Fenwick posturing for the coaching job after Beenhakker leaves.  I doh want he atall

Offline vibetrini

« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2006, 01:13:48 PM »
Whitley to Lazio ... & with Nesta saying he wanna go back to Lazio, Serie A 2007 watch out!  ;D 

buh in all seriousness, i think Whitley go be a nice fit for Serie A type futbol.

« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2006, 01:31:51 PM »
Juventus go take him cause after they get demoted fuh match fixing they go have ah boss midfielder to take dem back up :devil: :devil:

Ah could see him in Juve colours :chilling:

« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2006, 02:10:44 PM »
in serie C na lol i gud

Offline Aymir

• JABLOTEH FOREVER
    • Jabloteh
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2006, 03:15:46 PM »
Otis is a jem of player. He plays the same way regards of the opposition......fearless. The man could play football. I sure he getting a contract after the World Cup.

but do you think that beenhakker gets the best out of him playing him in that defensive mid position?

he seems good at both and i know he will be asked to play both but is he better playing primarily offense or defense for the national team

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2006, 03:20:53 PM »
Juventus go take him cause after they get demoted fuh match fixing they go have ah boss midfielder to take dem back up :devil: :devil:

Ah could see him in Juve colours :chilling:

HYMC u too Brej!!  >:(

we eh goin nowhere but to the top of serie A again nex season!!! I personally wudn't mind seeing whitley in juve colours ;D

but capello is a fool with team selection he plays his first choice 11 week in week out thus givin others little play time. As much as i tink whitley cud/is in the class of puma & vieira capello wudn't give him much chance like he did wit tacchinardi (my fav juve midfielder) :(

my 2 cents scar

P.S. HYMC again!!!

Offline thane

« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2006, 05:31:08 PM »
jed underestimate whitely...my 3 picks to shine..is whitely,kenwyn and silvio...remember u heard it here first!!

« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2006, 06:20:24 PM »
jed underestimate whitely...my 3 picks to shine..is whitely,kenwyn and silvio...remember u heard it here first!!

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :beermug:

Thanks man...ah jus surprised U now get the post man write bout 3-4 years ago.....buh by the time yuh predict we in the WC, yuh go be right for 2010....

ah jus playin  ;D

« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2006, 06:43:21 PM »
Ah wonder how OBECTIVE Fenwick was with his scenario ?

« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2006, 07:47:50 PM »
They better doh put God out of their thoughts and give Fenwick ant wok. He done over stay he time in TNT.

« Reply #15 on: May 18, 2006, 08:06:53 PM »
Allyuh talking bout gem and not seeing Fenwick posturing for the coaching job after Beenhakker leaves.  I doh want he atall

everyone seems to have missed this point!!

Offline scarface

« Reply #16 on: May 18, 2006, 08:13:57 PM »
BTW in case no one else notice...whitley have one T!!!

Offline LICKS4SO

« Reply #17 on: May 18, 2006, 08:21:57 PM »
he go shine like ah 100 watt bulb........watt have 2 t's

Offline jimbo

• I iz a Piper!
« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2006, 01:49:42 AM »
Juventus go take him cause after they get demoted fuh match fixing they go have ah boss midfielder to take dem back up 

Ah could see him in Juve colours

Trinimassive yuh could real talk sh*t....... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: BUT WAIT NAH....YUH MIGHT BE RIGHT.. :o
« Last Edit: May 19, 2006, 01:55:56 AM by jimbo »
I an I iz u and u..seen

Offline scarface

« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2006, 09:25:57 PM »
Juventus go take him cause after they get demoted fuh match fixing they go have ah boss midfielder to take dem back up 

Ah could see him in Juve colours

Trinimassive yuh could real talk sh*t....... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: BUT WAIT NAH....YUH MIGHT BE RIGHT.. :o

:yapping:i shall ignore the insults of the ignorant  :notlistening:

« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2006, 10:07:47 PM »
Isn't Fenwick Whitley's agent?  Anybody can confirm?

I eh sayin de man not truly impressed wit Aurtis and we all know de kinda ability de man have.  But as a man say....allyuh think Fenwick bein objective?

If it is true dat Fenwick is Whitley's agent, den yuh might have to wonder how much of his testemonial is truth and how much of it is Fenwick tryin to hustle he player fuh big change...not to mention anglin fuh Leo wuk.

« Reply #21 on: May 20, 2006, 09:03:48 AM »
whittley's agent is ricky hill....i know terry very well...he really thinks highly of aurtis.....let meh tell allyuh something...terry fenick has a real stong feelings for tnt football and of course his jablother players....notice how many tnt players in de squad...all....no foreign players

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #22 on: May 20, 2006, 01:06:41 PM »
I wouldn't at all be surprised if he was to sign for a West Ham,Liverpool or even Spurs.