March 28, 2024, 03:34:34 PM

Author Topic: Canadian U-20's Defeat Brazil....  (Read 8759 times)

Offline Winnipeg Fury

Canadian U-20's Defeat Brazil....
« on: May 20, 2006, 04:40:17 AM »
Canadian Soccer Association • l’Association canadienne de soccer

Media Release • Communiqué

For Immediate Release – Friday, May 19, 2006

For more information please contact:
Earl Cochrane - (613) 237-4580 ext: 239
Richard Ivan - (613) 237-4580 ext: 242

Canada Defeats Brazil in Edmonton

Ottawa, Ontario – Canada’s U-20 National Team defeated Brazil 2:1 tonight in front of a boisterous crowd of 14,250 in Edmonton’s Commonwealth Stadium. The historical win was the first by a Canadian men’s team over the footballing giants from South America at any age level.

The Brazilians looked very dangerous at times but seemed to lack the predatory instinct around the penalty area tonight. They also didn’t seem to have an answer for Will Johnson, and at times Jaime Peters, and more often than not, ran into a resilient Canadian defence that bent on occasion but in the end stood firm.

In the 20th minute Canada almost opened the scoring when Jaime Peters got the better of his defender on the right flank then drilled a low rasping cross toward the near post. Will Johnson managed to get a touch but his shot was well blocked by a Brazilian defender then scrambled away by the Brazilian defence.

But Canada’s central defender, David Edgar, was gifted the perfect birthday present when he started things rolling for the Canadians just before the half-hour mark. Johnson picked out the Newcastle-based defender, who was unmarked inside the area, and the Kitchener native side-footed a superb volley into the roof of the net for his first goal for Canada.

The Brazilians grabbed a goal back just before the hour mark through first half substitute Diogo. The young Brazilian, who replaced the highly touted Kerlon midway through the opening half, found himself with the ball at his feet around the penalty spot. Diogo took one touch to shift the ball from his right foot to his left then slammed his shot toward Asmir Begovic’s left post. The Edmonton-native managed to get a hand to the shot but could not prevent it from rolling over the line for the equalizer.

Ten minutes later though, Johnson would again have an impact – this time the Heerenveen striker would bring the Commonwealth crowd to its feet.

Peters again got the better of the Brazilian left-back then delivered a cross to the far post. A Brazilian defender was well positioned to clear but instead guided his header back into the area. Johnson reacted fastest and met the ball at the penalty spot. The young striker drilled his left footed shot past an outstretched Muriel to pull Canada ahead for good.

But the final twenty-five minutes did provide Canada’s head coach, Dale Mitchell, with some uneasy moments. The scariest coming five minutes before time when a ricochet off Begovic’s hand looked goal-bound but Mississauga-native Stephen Lumley raced to the ball and managed to hook if off the line to preserve the victory for Canada.

“The result is a fantastic one,” said Canadian head coach Dale Mitchell during the post-game press conference. “No matter what happens over the next two games of the series, you’ll never be able to take away the fact that these boys beat Brazil this evening.”

“The way the team played and the chances that we created in the second half made for a tremendous night of soccer in Edmonton. I am really proud of the way we performed.

“The people of Victoria who have tickets for Monday’s game should count themselves very lucky.”

Both Canada and Brazil depart Edmonton tomorrow and will meet again in two days in Victoria’s Centennial Stadium; then again on May 25th in Burnaby’s Swangard Stadium.

Thursday, May 19, 2006 - International Friendly

Commonwealth Stadium – Edmonton, AB

Attendance: 14,250

CANADA – 2 (1)

BRAZIL – 1 (0)

Goals: CANADA – Edgar (25), JOHNSON (65); BRAZIL – Diogo (54)

Cautions: - BOURGAULT (53)

Expulsions – none

CANADA: 1 - BEGOVIC, Asmir (C) ; 3-O’CONNOR, Kent; 4 - BOURGAULT, Jonathan; 5 - LUMLEY, Stephen; 6 - EDGAR, David; 7 - PETERS, Jaime; 8 - NUNEZ, Cristian (12 - BALDE, Ibrahim, 89); 9 - ELLIOTT, Alex (18 - GALA, Gabe, 61); 10 - JOHNSON, Will; 16 - JACKSON, Simeon (15 - LOMBARDO, Andrea, 90); 21 -OWUSU-ANSAH, Kennedy

Head Coach: Dale Mitchell (CAN)

Subs not used:; 13 - CONTRERAS, Hector;; 19 - D’AGOSTINO, Mike; 22 - MONSALVE, David

BRAZIL: 1 - Muriel Gustavo Becker (MURIEL); 2 - Leyrielton Moura de Moraes (LEYRIELTON) (14 - Antonio Cleilson da Silva Feitosa (AMARAL), 81); 3 - Edivelton Feliciano Moreira (CAÇAPA); 4 - Edson Henrique da Silva (EDSON); 5 - Nilton Ferreira Junior (NILTON) (15 - Fernando Franciso Regel (FERNANDO), 69); 6 - Carlos Eduardo Dutra Oliveira (CARLÃO); 7 - Junior Felício Marques (JI PARANÁ) (C); 8 - Taianan Imberê Linhares Welker (TAIANAN) (16 - Ramon Gonçalves (RAMON), 69); 9 - Luis Adriano de Souza da Silva (LUIS ADRIANO) (18 - Renato Carlos Martins Junior (RENATINHO), 69); 10 - Kerlon Moura Souza (KERLON) (17 - Diogo Luis Santo (DIOGO), 41); 11 - Alberto Antonio de Paula (BETO)

Head Coach: Nelson Rodrigues (BRA)

Subs not used: 12 - Elisson Aparecido Rosa (ELISSON); 13 - Anderson Luis de A.R. Marques (ANDERSON);

Ticket Information & Broadcast info

May 22 @ Centennial Stadium presented by Sony – Victoria, BC – 14:00 PT - Sold Out

Live Webcast via canadasoccer.com - $6.95 PPV

May 25@ Swangard Stadium presented by TELUS – Burnaby, BC– 19:00 PT
$20.00-30.00 - Available through Ticketmaster at 604-280-4400 or visit ticketmaster.ca

Live on Rogers Sportsnet Pacific and Rogers Sportsnet West at 7:00 p.m. PT / 8:00 p.m. MT / 10:00 p.m. ET.

The Canadian Soccer Association • l’Association canadienne de soccer

www.canadasoccer.com <http://www.canadasoccer.com/>

Re: Canadian U-20's Defeat Brazil....
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2006, 05:14:22 AM »
I guess the only news we does get from Canada is good news.

Offline monty

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2006, 05:41:47 AM »
Congrats Canada!

Moving on... cricket today starting at 10:30 EST. Let we hope the rain doh fall.

« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2006, 07:04:23 AM »
Winney ah real glad I vould search de internet mehself and doh have tuh rely on YOU for de best post about dat game.

Ah go let yuh read dis report in case yuh miss de main points.

By de way..ah see yuh cyar talk shit about we again eh ..since we make de world cup.

Yuh get scarce like hell.  post more often nah?

Canadian U20s defeat Brazil 2-1
May 19, 2006
 Sportsnet.ca News
Oilers s win wild one over Yankees

Pistons step up in Cleveland

Gretzky close to 5-yr extension

Crawford to be crowned Monday

Owners fail to approve CFL cap

EDMONTON (CP) -- Striker Will Johnson scored in the 65th minute and set up a first-half goal as the Canadian men's under-20 team scored a historic 2-1 victory over soccer power Brazil in a friendly played Friday night.

It was the first time a Canadian men's soccer team has beaten Brazil, one of the world's dominant soccer teams. The Canadian senior men's team tied Brazil twice -- 0-0 at the 2001 Confederation's Cup in Japan, and 1-1 in a 1994 friendly in Edmonton in advance of the World Cup, which Brazil went on to win.

Defender David Edgar scored for Canada in the 25th minute.

Diogo Luis Santo scored for Brazil, which was missing six players who couldn't get out of club commitments at home.

Brazillian star midfielder Kerlon Moura Souza, known as Kerlon, was carted off in the 39th minute favouring his left ankle after getting tangled in collision with Canadian midfielder Christian Nunez near the left centre stripe.

Kerlon, who Premiere League powerhouse Manchester United is reportedly days away from spending six million pounds ($12.7 million Cdn) to acquire, took a slow walk back to the Brazillian bench with two medical staffers watching closely.

Kerlon's replacement, Diogo, tied the game 1-1 in the 54th minute.

Johnson, 19, who plays professionally for Heerenveen, the Netherlands, left-footed a missed clearing attempt for the winner in the 65th minute. Then in the 78th minute, he nearly widened the gap to two goals after speeding in off the same play, but he missed

the net.

Johnson figured in Canada's first goal after sending a curling free kick toward the net where the six-foot-four Edgar side-volleyed a shot to the top corner.

The three-game series -- meant to increase interest for the Canada-hosted world under-20 championship next summer -- continues in Victoria on Monday and Burnaby, B.C., on May 25.

The distinctive bright yellow Brazil jerseys dotted the crowd of 14,250 at Commonwealth Stadium in the first friendly since the German women's national team scored a 4-3 win over Canada last September.

Begovic, a Bosnian-born, Edmonton-raised pro with La Louviere, Belgium, made seven stops.

Edgar (Newcastle, England), and midfielder Jaime Peters (Ipswich Town, England) are the other Canadians playing professionally among 22 players in camp..

NOTES: The methodical Brazillians didn't use a ball for the first 10 minutes of warmups. ... Canadian coach Dale Mitchell kept his starting 11 on the pitch for the first 61 minutes before subbing out forward Alex Elliott of Vancouver.

« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2006, 11:41:02 AM »
I saw the game Canada was very impressive i must say they took the game to Brazil. The keeper ,Jamie peters David Edgar  and will johnson are the players to watch oh and i must mention Nunez . Simone jackson was ineffective up front  fury i hope    DE Guzman to change his mind there is also a player from ranger or Celtic that was missing forgot his name  ???

« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2006, 11:44:07 AM »
Im not suprised kerlon gets bruk up with that dribbling the ball on his head :rotfl:

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2006, 11:54:41 AM »
Im not suprised kerlon gets bruk up with that dribbling the ball on his head :rotfl:

lol u get me, i just waitin for him to play in the Prem.

« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2006, 12:50:52 PM »
fury yuh dumb ass,i heard that was brazil's side for the special olympics. ;)

« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2006, 02:58:19 PM »
Allyuh notice WF come back again to boast up the flipping Canadians; not once has he said any congratulatory words to the Warriors!!!!!!!!!!!

I saw the game; the canadians u=20 palyed a balanced game; the attack and the back were steady.  if this side develops into a force in CONCACAF, they will be competitive. Jamie Peters up front has speed and moves. They goalie  is a 'pappyshow'  man but he has potential.

Ah wonder how many of them have TNT heritage? CANADA should be thankful all immigrants come and contribute to their success; and look how the black immigrants carrying that team forward.

« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2006, 03:04:45 PM »
Allyuh notice WF come back again to boast up the flipping Canadians; not once has he said any congratulatory words to the Warriors!!!!!!!!!!!

I saw the game; the canadians u=20 palyed a balanced game; the attack and the back were steady.  if this side develops into a force in CONCACAF, they will be competitive. Jamie Peters up front has speed and moves. They goalie  is a 'pappyshow'  man but he has potential.

Ah wonder how many of them have TNT heritage? CANADA should be thankful all immigrants come and contribute to their success; and look how the black immigrants carrying that team forward.

Non of them have tnt heritage alberta i am almost sure of that.

« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2006, 08:01:00 AM »

Non of them have tnt heritage alberta i am almost sure of that.

allyuh Canucks eh easy at all eh triniman.

« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2006, 08:25:26 AM »
I thought no news is good news, I see your back Fury.... Welcome home..

« Reply #12 on: May 21, 2006, 02:27:53 PM »

well done canucks

« Reply #13 on: May 21, 2006, 02:36:26 PM »
" doh care where yuh come from as long as yuh is ah black man yuh ah Caribbean man" doh mind the nationality yuh have got the identity of a West Indian!!!!

Remember that WF and whomever who want tuh deny it but that Canuck team make up of whole heap ah man with Caribbean heritage; and they may one day  help Canada reach greater heights.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2006, 03:20:11 PM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #14 on: May 21, 2006, 03:15:55 PM »
Nice result. But T&T Under 20s beat Brazil with yorkie and co. Great predictor that was.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #15 on: May 22, 2006, 05:01:35 PM »
I saw the game Canada was very impressive i must say they took the game to Brazil. The keeper ,Jamie peters David Edgar  and will johnson are the players to watch oh and i must mention Nunez . Simone jackson was ineffective up front  fury i hope    DE Guzman to change his mind there is also a player from ranger or Celtic that was missing forgot his name  ???

Lensky from Glasgow Celtic is missing the series.  Canada is playing it's second game vs Brazil right now in Victoria.

« Reply #16 on: May 22, 2006, 05:18:11 PM »
winnipeg whats the deal on jonathan heard anything on him

« Reply #17 on: May 22, 2006, 05:48:39 PM »
so can someone tell me why they Didnt Specify which Brazil team it was?!?
u-20,u19,reserves,national team....which one????

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #18 on: May 22, 2006, 06:07:28 PM »
so can someone tell me why they Didnt Specify which Brazil team it was?!?
u-20,u19,reserves,national team....which one????

It's Brazil's U20 team.  This is a 3 game series in prepreration for the World U-20's in 2007.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #19 on: May 22, 2006, 06:22:12 PM »
winnipeg whats the deal on jonathan heard anything on him

Based on recent comments (Toronto Star) from Jonathan's dad, it sounds like he is waiting for an offer from Holland.

Very discouraging for Canuck fans, but we are still hoping he will chose the Maple Leaf.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #20 on: May 22, 2006, 08:23:35 PM »
Men’s U-20 Team

Monday, May 22, 2006

Brazil Defeats Canada 3-1 in Victoria

Victoria, British Columbia - After taking the lead in front of 4,415 spectators at Victoria’s Centennial Stadium on Monday, May 22, Canada was unable to hold off the Brazilians and were defeated 3:1 in the second of a three-game series.

The Canucks had previously defeated the South Americans 2:1 on Friday evening in Edmonton, Alberta.

On the foggy and damp afternoon, Canada in red lined up in a 4-3-3 formation and played with good possession and pressured the Brazilian defence early in the match.

“I was pleased with our performance,” said Head Coach Dale Mitchell. “We scored first and then held them to a draw until the 87th minute before they took the lead.”

“The next game in Burnaby will be exciting.”

Brazilian Renatinho had an early opportunity with a low shot from 30 yards out. Canadian keeper Asmir Begovic blocked the skipping shot then quickly collected the rebound.

Moments later, the Canadians were unable to capitalize on their own early free kick 35-yards out of the Brazilian net when David Edgar’s drive was easily stopped by Brazilian keeper Muriel.

Brazil took control in the latter part of the first half with Renatinho continuing to attack. He sent another shot through traffic that deflected just wide right of the net Canadian net.

In the 21st minute, a Diogo shot from the top of the penalty area sailed over the net.

In the 33rd minute, Will Johnson looked dangerous and marched up the left side only to be met by three Brazilian defenders who eventually broke up his valiant effort.

Mitchell made two substitutions heading into the second half sending in Andrea Lombardo for Simeon Jackson and Keegan Ayre for Jonathon Bourgault.

Brazil continued to search for the go ahead goal with Beto taking a shot from close range but David Edgar stood in the way and again blocked the ensuing shot taken from the rebound.

Canada again looked dangerous in the 51st minute as Lombardo fed Jamie Peters for a run up the right side. Peters then sent a cross to Gavin McCallum who was stopped at the goal line.

Three minutes later, it was Lombardo who gave Canada the lead when he received a long pass and found himself behind the Brazil defence for a tap that beat Muriel into the back of the net.

Brazilian captain Ji Parana evened the score on a penalty in the 67th minute following a clumsy challenge by Stephen Lumley in the Canadian penalty area.

Brazil took the lead in minute 87 after Nunez took an indirect free kick which Begovic initially stopped but Luis Adriano sent the rebound past the Canadian keeper’s right side.

Canada was forced to play short the final three minutes of injury time after Edgar was ejected in the 90th minute. Moments later, a back pass was misplayed by Lumley resulting in an interception by Ji Parana who then crossed to Luis Adriano. Adriano made no mistake and beat the shifting Begovic for their third and final goal of the match.

Both Canada and Brazil will depart for Vancouver tomorrow for the final game of the series on Thursday in Burnaby’s Swangard Stadium at 7:00 pm PT. Sportsnet Pacific and Rogers Sportsnet West will broadcast the match live and Rogers Sportsnet East and Rogers Sportsnet Ontario will broadcast the match on a one hour tape delay.

Monday, May 22, 2006 - International Friendly
Centennial Stadium – Victoria, BC
Attendance: 4, 415
CANADA – 1 (0)
BRAZIL – 3 (0)
Goals: Canada - LOMBARDO (54); Brazil - JI PARANÁ (67, PK), LUIS ADRIANO (87), LUIS ADRIANO (90+)
Cautions: - PETERS (6); LUMLEY (34), BOURGAULT (41), LOMBARDO (48); Brazil - DIOGO (16), CARLÃO (81)
Expulsions – EDGAR (90)

CANADA: 1-BEGOVIC, Asmir; 3-O’CONNOR, Kent (2-LORETH, Joey, 84); 4-BOURGAULT, Jonathan (14-AYRE, Keegan, 45); 5-LUMLEY, Stephen; 6-EDGAR, David; 7-PETERS, Jaime; 8-NUNEZ, Cristian; 9-ELLIOTT, Alex (17-McCALLUM, Gavin, 31); 10-JOHNSON, Will (C); 16-JACKSON, Simeon (15-LOMBARDO, Andrea, 45); 21-OWUSU-ANSAH, Kennedy
Head Coach: Dale Mitchell (CAN)
Subs not used: 11-BABINEAU, Olivier; 19-D’AGOSTINO, Mike; 22-MONSALVE, David; 12-BALDE, Ibrahim; 13-CONTRERAS, Hector; 18-GALA, Gabe; 20-TURNBULL, Masumi

BRAZIL: 1-Muriel Gustavo Becker (MURIEL); 2-Antonio Cleilson da Silva Feitosa (AMARAL) (14-Edivelton Feliciano Moreira (CAÇAPA), 74); 3-Anderson Luis de A.R. Marques (ANDERSON); 4-Edson Henrique da Silva (EDSON); 5-Fernando Franciso Regel (FERNANDO); 6-Carlos Eduardo Dutra Oliveira (CARLÃO) (15-Nilton Ferreira Junior (NILTON), 88); 7-Junior Felício Marques (JI PARANÁ) (C); 8-Taianan Imberê Linhares Welker (TAIANAN); 9-Renato Carlos Martins Junior (RENATINHO) (16-Ramon Gonçalves (RAMON), 74); 10-Diogo Luis Santo (DIOGO); 11-Alberto Antonio de Paula (BETO) (17-Luis Adriano de Souza da Silva (LUIS ADRIANO), 68)
Head Coach: Nelson Rodrigues (BRA)
Subs not used: 12-Elisson Aparecido Rosa (ELISSON); 13-Leyrielton Moura de Moraes (LEYRIELTON)

Ticket Information & Broadcast info

May 25@ Swangard Stadium presented by TELUS – Burnaby, BC– 19:00 PT
$20.00-30.00 - Available through Ticketmaster at 604-280-4400 or visit ticketmaster.ca

Live on Rogers Sportsnet Pacific and Rogers Sportsnet West at 7:00 p.m. PT / 8:00,  10:00ET

« Reply #21 on: May 22, 2006, 08:27:23 PM »
so i guess the last game is the tie breaker

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #22 on: May 22, 2006, 08:44:13 PM »
yeah that game in Victoria was good. Thanks to Palos and his "connections", my wife and I were able to be there with Palos.  ;D

The Canadian fans in attendance are screaming about the Mexican ref.  It seems eveytime we get a Latin ref, we get a game filled with diving and poor officiating.  Any thoughts ?

« Reply #23 on: May 22, 2006, 08:46:33 PM »
Remember the time we had a Canadian ref aganist Haiti...........same  crap!!!!

« Reply #24 on: May 22, 2006, 08:48:16 PM »
alberta ease of nuhlets focus on our under 20 team and let see if tnt can put on a display like that against brazil

« Reply #25 on: May 22, 2006, 08:51:21 PM »
Yuh cyar see the yampie in another eye without looking t yuh own eye.

p.s recall I said that this Canadian u-20 team has the potential to  be the core  for Canada's senior team. not only that they may take Canada to greater heights.

But le's not decry 'Latin' refs  when yuh own do  sh..t tih we before.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2006, 08:56:04 PM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #26 on: May 22, 2006, 08:57:53 PM »
Ah boi yuh have tuh check ah world cup  qualifier way back then boi. It hurt too bad.

Look ah like how the youths playing especially Jamie Peters.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #27 on: May 22, 2006, 09:15:51 PM »
Yuh cyar see the yampie in another eye without looking t yuh own eye.

p.s recall I said that this Canadian u-20 team has the potential to  be the core  for Canada's senior team. not only that they may take Canada to greater heights.

But le's not decry 'Latin' refs  when yuh own do  sh..t tih we before.

Where you at the match in Victoria  ? If not, you have nothing to add.

« Reply #28 on: May 22, 2006, 09:24:33 PM »
Look MrWF,

Her we go again;; I eh commenting on the game or the refeering but on you comments on blaming the ref. So before you assert  whether or not I have a right to an opinion be sure to  examine the intent of my statement .

Yuh come here flapping about the Canadain u20 victory man supporting yuh team. Me eh see yuh once in here when TNT  qulaify  for WC. yuh eh even hAVE THE DECENCY TO SAY CONGRATS TO WE wARRIORS BUT YUH COME IN HERE LOOKING FOR OLE TALK.

What happen yuh cyar get anyone to debate with yuh on th eVoyagers site? or yuh like coming in here and talking about Canada with TNT?

Anyhow keep talking 2010 them  same men with Caribbean heirtage will put Canada on the map.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2006, 09:29:52 PM by AlbertaTrini »

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #29 on: May 22, 2006, 09:33:19 PM »
Look MrWF,

Her we go again;; I eh commenting on the game or the refeering but on you comments on blaming the ref. So before you assert  whether or not I have a right to an opinion be sure to  examine the intent of my statement .

"My" comments on blaming the ref ?  Before you assert that I am making a comment, perhaps you should read my post properly.  I clearly stated "the Canadian fans at the match."  Obviously not me, which is clearly why I was asking Guest (who stated he was at the match).