April 25, 2024, 10:23:49 AM

Author Topic: railurope.com = Ripoff Artists????  (Read 1873 times)

Re: railurope.com = Ripoff Artists????
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2006, 10:27:23 AM »
Dre..i coulda tell yuh that RailEurope was a ripoff lol
i just use Rail europe to find the info i needed cause it was in English
even there seat reservations inflated
i buying everything through the DB site

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2006, 10:35:38 AM »
we live & learn yes. i check the price of a 4-day twin pass on bahn.de. it was coming up to be 240 euro for a 4 day twin, 2nd class. given the exhcnage rates, that would be $300 worthless US. so i went with RE. they had a free shipping deal.

now i need to make reservations.

http://www.bahn.de/-S:PtVORd:eTJR6NNNXAeGGtNNNXVM/p/view/international/englisch/travelservice/german_rail_pass.shtml

Offline TTFAn

« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2006, 12:31:17 PM »
I guess the bottom line is you have to do your own research.  I bought a 10-day Germany-Benelux pass from Eurail (not RE), since I plan to head to Amsterdam as well.  Using the fares posted on the DB site (disounts inlcuded), I should save at least US$100, maybe more if I don't assume I get all the discounted fares.