April 28, 2024, 04:11:24 AM

Author Topic: Soca Warriors star in Esquire magazine.  (Read 12735 times)

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
Soca Warriors star in Esquire magazine.
« on: May 21, 2006, 06:21:22 PM »
Soca Warriors star in Esquire magazine.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Following qualification for the 2006 World Cup this country’s football profile has risen over the past few months with much interest being shown in the “Soca Warriors” particularly around their big match ups against England, Sweden and Paraguay.
They have been on the wanted lists of several top media publications both television and print and so far while there have been precautionary measures to ensure that the extra promotional activities in no way affects the team’s preparations, skipper Dwight Yorke and his teammates have done a fairly good job of keeping the team and by extent the country’s image alive.
Among the latest attractions has come in the form of an eight-page pull out in the established men’s magazine -  Esquire. The BBC and the Daily Record has some of the players doing World Cup diaries while Scottish drink Irn-Bru has Jason Scotland involved in an advertising campaign. E-Bay and Italian-based company Panini SPA have also signed deals to use the Soca Warriors as part of its World Cup promotions.
Following initial set ups through TTFF international relations consultant Mike Berry, players Dwight Yorke, Chris Birchall, Jason Scotland, Kenwyne Jones, Brent Sancho, Dennis Lawrence and stand by Hector Sam were all featured in the June issue. With England’s Joe Cole on the cover, the Soca Warriors also grabbed a sub heading “ Trinidad and Tobago –meet the minnows taking on the three lions”.
“This is all part of the exposure the boys and by extent the country has gained through their qualification and the fact is that everyone wants to know more about Trinidad and Tobago especially as we’re the smallest nation ever to go to the World Cup,” Berry told TTFF Media.
The players were all outfitted in designer wear for the photo shoot with Yorke sporting a Paul Smith wool suit valued at £500, Missoni cotton shirt (£155) and Canvas trainers (£30). Jones’ Ermenegildo Zegna wool suit was priced at £699 and Hogan trainers at £185 while Sancho’s Giorgio Armani wool suit and trousers came up to £940. Birchall, Jack, Sam Scotland and Lawrence also sported suits and other accessories from Hugo Boss, Armani, Polo Ralph Lauren, Burberry London, Gap, Missoni, Umbro, Puma and Adidas in the range of £700 and up.
With their profiles also printed on the pages, among the questions put forward to Lawrence by Esquire was how would he celebrate if T&T defeated England and his response couldn’t have been better than: “Just the same as if we beat Mexico or anyone else. The England game is not the only game we’re interested in winning. We want to win all the games we play.”
Berry went on to add that this was just part of what the team was picking up after booking their tickets to Germany.
“It’s not just Esquire but you realize that a lot of publications are interested in the guys and it’s a whole different type of opportunities for them. Obviously the main focus is to get ready for the World Cup and play your hearts out which is what the team is aiming for with all the preparations across here. But at the same time there are numerous bonuses for those involved within the set up,” Berry said.

« Last Edit: May 22, 2006, 07:07:56 AM by Flex »

Re: WARRIORS STAR IN ESQUIRE MAGAZINE
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2006, 06:23:46 PM »
nice all dem lady posters go like this .

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2006, 06:31:32 PM »
dem is some real expensive threads ...they looking sharp

hopefully this mag is availiable in Canada so I can get it

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2006, 06:52:41 PM »
nice man das my kinda thing dey.

« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2006, 07:07:52 PM »
Apart from the top teams are the other World Cup teams getting this kind of exposure ?

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2006, 07:21:02 PM »
Nice pics..
thanks fuh posting

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2006, 07:21:49 PM »
I going and buy this magazine this week. Dat there is ah collectable item. To show de children. Even if we qualify for every other world cup after this, these kind of things not happening again.

Ah find Dennis Lawrence lookng real sharp, maybe is the height, (why they choose really tall girls to be models), but he kinda standing out from the rest.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once
gives Love.

« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2006, 07:52:37 PM »
I going and buy this magazine this week. Dat there is ah collectable item. To show de children. Even if we qualify for every other world cup after this, these kind of things not happening again.

Ah find Dennis Lawrence lookng real sharp, maybe is the height, (why they choose really tall girls to be models), but he kinda standing out from the rest.

no girl he from morvant. duhhhhhhh

« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2006, 09:53:41 PM »
Dennis Lawrence lookin like dat jacket squeezin he.......

« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2006, 10:32:09 PM »
Hmmm! Dey real Dan it up.

Re: Soca Warriors star in Esquire magazine.
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2006, 07:56:16 AM »
Is this correct ppl ? Yesterday I went to barnes and nobles and didn't see any picture of the soca warriors in the june issue. Talk to meh .

« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2006, 08:02:22 AM »
Is this correct ppl ? Yesterday I went to barnes and nobles and didn't see any picture of the soca warriors in the june issue. Talk to meh .

I'm thinking it may only be in the UK version of Esquire. Too bad, I was going to go grab one. Maybe somewhere in NY sells the UK version though. I know there's a lot of foreign magazine/newspaper places.

« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2006, 08:16:03 AM »
dem fellas looking sharp like me boy!  Ah glad dem men getting dis kinda exposure, ride the wave fellas...but stay focus on the task at hand.

VIBES IT UP!!!

« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2006, 08:34:18 AM »
Apart from the top teams are the other World Cup teams getting this kind of exposure ?

That's a good question that probably no one here can answer, but I get the feeling that the novelty effect & the "exotic touch" (for lack of a better term), that T&T puts on the World Cup, could potentially make us more marketable than some other teams......just my feeling

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2006, 09:26:37 AM »
   Poor Hector Sam, I still eh know how people have him delusional so. He will definitely NOT be on the team but I happy he get the big up nevertheless in the magazine yes. I am sorry that he was injured during our qualifying games though. However it should have been Scott Sealy to be on any magazine I am still in shock that he seems to be long forgotten now with Sam being on a magazine and and Mr. Anthony "Unseen" Wolfe being on the 23.

Poor Scott.

J.
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power."

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2006, 09:48:01 AM »
i always did like esquire magazine.   

« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2006, 10:09:23 PM »

I'm thinking it may only be in the UK version of Esquire. Too bad, I was going to go grab one. Maybe somewhere in NY sells the UK version though. I know there's a lot of foreign magazine/newspaper places.

Ok then . Ah never know it had different versions . Poor me .:D

Offline rodigan

« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2006, 10:27:48 PM »
its the uk version - joe cole on the cover... nice article...

no question the warriors are going to be the fan's favourites this year... lets just hope the football does up proud too...

Offline raj

« Reply #18 on: May 25, 2006, 01:09:16 AM »
we definitely on a different level now...

thanks for the pics

Offline citizenK

« Reply #19 on: May 25, 2006, 02:16:35 PM »
I buy the mag today. Guess what the title of the article is... "THE WARRIOR NATION"!

Nice little spread, no big story, but good little snippets about the players on each photograph.

They reporting that CB is "the first white player to start for national team in 20 years", instead of the usual 60.

Also, in response to the question "Who on the T&T team would you least like to share a room with and why?", Sancho says: "Probably Kelvin Jack, because he watches too much porn." Nice one :)

« Reply #20 on: May 25, 2006, 02:24:35 PM »

Also, in response to the question "Who on the T&T team would you least like to share a room with and why?", Sancho says: "Probably Kelvin Jack, because he watches too much porn." Nice one :)

Thais why Jack hands so shaky!!  :devil:

« Reply #21 on: May 25, 2006, 02:25:02 PM »
I buy the mag today. Guess what the title of the article is... "THE WARRIOR NATION"!

Nice little spread, no big story, but good little snippets about the players on each photograph.

They reporting that CB is "the first white player to start for national team in 20 years", instead of the usual 60.

brent that was cheap

« Reply #22 on: May 25, 2006, 02:38:44 PM »
Allyuh notice de 'verse Yorkie sportin dey?  Plus...I eh know wha kinda red shoes Theobald have on but dey look interestin too.

« Reply #23 on: May 25, 2006, 02:45:22 PM »
Allyuh notice de 'verse Yorkie sportin dey?  Plus...I eh know wha kinda red shoes Theobald have on but dey look interestin too.

Thais Hector Sam!

« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2006, 03:51:13 PM »

Thais Hector Sam!

you sure? i eh think so nah

« Reply #25 on: May 25, 2006, 04:01:13 PM »

Thais Hector Sam!

Perhaps....but las I check...Hector wasn't in de 24.  But maybe yuh right.

« Reply #26 on: May 25, 2006, 04:10:11 PM »

Thais Hector Sam!

yeah daiz not Theobald

« Reply #27 on: May 25, 2006, 04:13:28 PM »

Thais Hector Sam!

yeah daiz not Theobald

DAt is Theobold....Sam in Scotland rite now

« Reply #28 on: May 25, 2006, 04:20:47 PM »
cyber calpet time!  ;D

EVERY LAST ONE OFF ALLYUH NEED TO GO DOWN BY FERREIRAS ONE TIME

and Warrior til Death... yuh feel dey tek dem pics yesterday and release de magazine in de evening!! And how you know whey Sam is??! Dam dotishness!  ::) jesus!!

alyuh ent self read de article where it specifically say is HECTOR SAM

"Following initial set ups through TTFF international relations consultant Mike Berry, players Dwight Yorke, Chris Birchall, Jason Scotland, Kenwyne Jones, Brent Sancho, Dennis Lawrence and stand by Hector Sam were all featured in the June issue. With England’s Joe Cole on the cover, the Soca Warriors also grabbed a sub heading “ Trinidad and Tobago –meet the minnows taking on the three lions”."

jesus!! Ferreiras for allyuh... and ask for de Carib bottle-bottom special eh!

« Last Edit: May 25, 2006, 04:25:46 PM by FF »