April 24, 2024, 05:24:45 PM

Author Topic: Panama Analysis Weakness and Strengths  (Read 2154 times)

Offline KND

Panama Analysis Weakness and Strengths
« on: June 01, 2005, 07:29:51 AM »
Panama is probably the weakest team we will meet in this group. Becaused they are the least experienced and have the least football resources of the other 4 teams.

That said they are probably still a little bit better than us based on previous performances in this rounds as well as the last rounds. (remember they did eliminate Jamaica who is a much better team than we are.

I have seen Panama Play versus the US and Mexico on Tv and this is what I think.

First

They are very weak Tactically on the defensive side of the ball.
We need to isolate the defense and engage them in one on one by spreading the play from side to side and use the wings aggressively. Their defense is slow especially the right wing back.

Play high pressure (as long as we fit enough) and force them to hit it long. underpressure they tend to give the ball away.

surging runs from the midfield is a must, Their midfielders like to pass but do not track back.

Short passing interconnect play will be more effective than long balls, But their keeper is weak on crosses so our corners and free kicks must be rehersed and ready.

Second

On the Offensive side, We need to man mark the short man, everything going through him. We need a defensive specialist to do this work. Maybe Tiger or Birchald can do it. But who ever need to be commited for the 90 min duration. Medina can poison us if given time and space.
Also their forwards will run hard whole game and put pressure force mistakes and score given opportunites.
It will be difficult for panama to break down a good defense but we tend to break we self down with poor marking etc.

In short

If we cannot Beat Panama on Saturday we cannot go to Germany.

They key for us is to stay calm
Play the game and let it come to us.

Fight Hard whole game
Spread the play out
Use Dribbing Ability to create space behind the defenders
and Finish the Chances that come up
Stay safe in the back and do not get caught on the break.

I predict a 2-0 TnT victory with Stern and Andrews scoring goals in the first 30 mins of the game.

My Line up

---------------------------------Ince------------------------------

Atiba-------------Lawrence---------Andrews-----------A John

Edwards--------Birchald ---------- Tiger --------------Rojas

----------------Stern -----------------Yorke--------------

I moved Tiger to the middle to man Marke Medina from Panama who usually play either middle or left for panama.

Rojas can play a decent left wing as he can cross the ball and his defensive abilities will help us out.

Avery John to provide some speed in the back as Lawrence is slow and Andrews knee is not 100% so he will need coverage

I guess the White boy will start as reports have him playing well I never seen him play however.

Hopefully Yorke and stern can do the business.

This is it TnT, This is it

Re: Panama Analysis Weakness and Strengths
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2005, 07:44:05 AM »
No teams eh weak again KND.... Panama is a solid team, they maynot be the most skillful but they play heart and sole and the players have been together for a while now, so they gel good.

3-5-2 vs Panama.

Ince                             

Charles                    Andrews                  Avery

Edwards       Birchall                 Whitley             Tiger

Jones                               

John                 Yorke                 

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2005, 10:17:27 AM »
KND

Yuh post was going good until yuh type this line
Rojas can play a decent left wing as he can cross the ball and his defensive abilities will help us out.

Is ok I go excuse yuh as yuh in foreign and ent see the last how many ever TT games.

Other than that from the warm up games Sam starting 11 looking correct, although I would bench Stern Put Yorke upfront and chook in theobold in the middle.

Or play 4-4-2, put in lawrence in the back and take out John.

Dennis get better fellas.......he real improve.

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2005, 04:55:09 PM »
I likin yuh startin 11 too Sam. I woulda want to bench Stern but why if Yorke and Jones can play as well. Any pull stones, Beenie could make early changes and maybe Theobald & Glasgow could come on as  super subs.

Nuff said....

The Pope better doh dead Saturday, I cya go through dat again.

Panama doh feel no way but we need this One...

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2005, 08:13:25 PM »
that comment on the pope was funny...I real wait and watch through hours of that  hoping they go  show that match too. :D

Offline triniwings

« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2005, 10:59:08 PM »
ah yesss......finally back online....

Ah know I will get plenty stick for this lineup buh say wah... here is mine:

Ince

Atiba             Lawrence        Avery            Rojas

Edwards                   Birchall                   Theobold                Tiger

Jones                      Yorke

I maintain the argument of most here that Rojas has to be aware of his slack man-marking and provide some unpredictability for a change.  But once he does that, this lineup has better balance.  Say what you may Rojas is still more comfortable coming forward on that left side than Avery.  Let Avery stay in dee middle.  Avery cah help out no Dog and Giraffe with his pace from quite on dee left.  Dog should start but I fraid he knee, and he could be a liability in dee back with his occasional clumsiness and poor ball control.  One silly goal could cost us Germany and that is that.  Lawrence would win headers just as well, tackles well, and is far better with the ball at his feet.  Let us maintain team chemistry and total football.  That is when we look at our best.  Let Stern warm dee bench and come on 2nd half, as well as Whitley.

Wah alya tink?

« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2005, 12:01:42 AM »

Ince

Atiba             Lawrence        Avery            Rojas

Edwards                   Birchall                   Theobold                Tiger

Jones                      Yorke

Wah alya tink?

I think that might be the squad.  Men go ben on Rojas and Lawrence but that back 4 is exactly what we had for the Lima game and I doh think anything since was any better.  We really need Dwight to lead that attack and be aggressive.

« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2005, 04:48:18 AM »
Dog should start but I fraid he knee, and he could be a liability in dee back with his occasional clumsiness and poor ball control.  One silly goal could cost us Germany and that is that. 

What about 5 silly goals like Lawrence helped to give up against Guatemala?