April 28, 2024, 02:21:28 PM

Author Topic: T&T scores 3-2 win over Vienna.  (Read 31414 times)

T&T scores 3-2 win over Vienna.
« on: May 23, 2006, 01:20:31 PM »
Trinidad sunk by Earnshaw.
Skysports News.

Robert Earnshaw's double earned Wales a 2-1 victory over World Cup finalists Trinidad & Tobago in Austria. Stern John had given the Caribbean nation the lead on 32 minutes, but Earnshaw sent the teams in level at half time after a predatory finish.
The Norwich City striker then netted late on to hand Wales an ill-deserved victory over Trinidad, who will meet England in the World Cup.
Both goalkeepers enjoyed some early catching practice, with Trinidad's Kelvin Jack grasping an Earnshaw free kick.
Wales debutant Jason Brown was also called into action, keeping out a Chris Birchall drive and holding on to Carlos Edwards' 30-yard shot.
John Toshack's side appeared happy to allow the Trinidadians to dictate a pedestrian pace, although Wales had their moments.
The best of these arrived midway through the first half when David Cotterill surged towards the edge of the area to unleash a powerful shot which Jack did superbly well to push wide.
But first blood was drawn by Trinidad on 32 minutes when Birchall's free kick from the left was poked home by John's outstretched leg at the far post.
Wales responded within six minutes as James Collins knocked down Joe Ledley's punt into the box and Earnshaw nipped in to finish at the near post.
Brown's final action on his Wales baptism was to save low on the stretch from Dwight Yorke before the keeper was replaced by fellow debutant Glyn Garner at half time.
Just 10 minutes into the second half and a little piece of history was created when Gareth Bale became the youngest ever player to represent Wales when coming on as a substitute.
Wales lacked impetus in the second period, with their opponents pressing for a goal to lift morale ahead of the World Cup.
Densill Theobold was lively in Trinidad's midfield and he teed up John, whose shot was deflected over the crossbar.
Collin Samuel then headed wide from a Theobold cross, Birchall lashed a shot just wide and the veteran Russell Latapy curled a shot off target.
Garner then made an important intervention on his international bow when keeping out a Samuel shot, with Lewin Nyatanga removing the danger.
The Leyton Orient shot-stopper then made a more routine save from Birchall's thunderbolt before Wales pinched a winner against the run of play three minutes from time.
Bale burst down the left flank and into the box to pull the ball back to the near post where Earnshaw finished in scruffy fashion.
News from the 27th of May 2006.

‘Soca Warriors’ get Welsh test in Graz today.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

A Caribbean flavour is what this country’s World Cup footballers will look to invade Graz and the other cities they are carded to play their remaining matches on this current World Cup march with starting from today’s friendly international against Wales.
That was the message coming from veteran midfield ace Russell Latapy as he spoke on behalf of the “Soca Warriors” on the eve of their match with the Welsh at the UPN Arena from 6:15 pm (12:15pm TT time).
Latapy was among a pumped up bunch of men under Leo Beenhakker which had a 1 hour session at the match venue under cool conditions on Friday evening and he has promised an effort from the team to produce the kind of football that will raise eyebrows and leave good first impressions among those who will witness T&T’s first appearance at this level.
When asked about how the team was managing itself as the preparations intensifying and the possible mix of emotions being expressed among the members of the team, Latapy expressed his thoughts and spoke of his hopes for the coming weeks as the team continues to brave everything that comes with the build up to its first ever appearance on the grand world stage.
“Obviously because of the magnitude of the competition there will be emotions flying around but it’s dealing with things within yourself as a player and an individual and as a team as well is what is the key for us. We need to believe in ourselves as a team and be very confident in our own ability and try to impose the way that we play football which is with that Caribbean flavour and that Trinidad and Tobago flavour,” Latapy told TTFF Media.
“If we can impose our kind of football on the other teams then I think our chances of getting good results are a lot better. As a unit most, if not all the player understand that and we are working hard at getting things right (like) our tactical game, our individual game. If we can do this and be confident but not over confident, still keeping our foot on the ground and being prepared to work as hard as we can and leaving everything on the field for 90, 95 or 100 minutes then we should be alright,” he added.
The “Little Magician” was still on the sidelines as T&T’s session was completed and he got the chance to see the Welsh players entering the pitch with  head coach John Toshack for their session and he expects just the right test from the opposition.
“I think it’s an important game in terms of our preparations. If we get a good result it’s definitely going to help because winning is a habit and an attitude. But the general public should not read too much into that game (because) it’s a preparation game in terms of what we want to do and  how we want to play when we get to the tournament. There are a lot of things the coach will be working on there.
“I think the key to doing well in the tournament is peaking at the right time. We have still got maybe two-three weeks before our first game, although we are working hard to getting as fit and sharp as possible, it’s still a preparation game and ideally what we will like to do is peak at the first game and then carry it on for as long as possible instead of peaking now and having a fantastic result and then by the time we get there, then we are stale. It’s difficult to maintain that certain level for five or 6 weeks, if I had a choice to make, I would like us to be good tactically and get a good result (against Wales) but if we can peak and put everything in place and do everything the right way, I will be much happier with that,” the midfield general explained as he kept up with the scores and the win by the Brian Lara-led West Indies team over India back in Port of Spain.
“Latas” was pleased with the win by the Windies but “remains convinced that his team has a greater chance to expose T&T to the world” and he intends to play whatever role he can in this venture. The build up has attracted media attention from across the globe.
Beenhakker will see the return of LA Galaxy forward Cornell Glen from a hamstring injury to the team but he will start the game on the bench along with CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh midfielder Aurtis Whitley who may come off the bench in the second half. Not eligible for selection in this outing will be West Ham goalie Shaka Hislop who is resting a sore hamstring but is almost certain to be ready for next Wednesday’s friendly away to Slovenia. Midfielder Silvio Spann is not in the squad as he continues to nurse a hamstring problem.
The match will also allow Beenhakker to make as much changes as he works out his approach for the official Group B matches starting on June 10 against the Swedes.
Welsh manager Toshack said he intends to give Beenhakker’s men a good run even without experienced winger Ryan Giggs who is out with a damaged toe.
“It’s obviously a key preparation match for the Trinidad and Tobago team and we will go into the game with an approach to do well and get a result,” he said.
And Gillingham goalie Jason Brown will try to ensure that nothing gets past as he promised club teammates Brent Sancho and Ian Cox that they will be in for a hard run.
“My dad will be thrilled when we beat you guys because he’s from Jamaica,” Brown joked around. “No but really we think it’s an excellent chance to have a game against the Trinidad team that is heading off to the World Cup and we feel good about being able to help them get ready which means that we will have a good go in this match,” he said.
The games will be shown live on BBC 2 and channel 4 in T&T. The T&T team will arrive at the match venue approximately 90 minutes before kick off after the one-hour journey from the Hotel IM Park in Bad Radkersburg.
News from the 26th of May 2006.

T&T footballers expecting a worthwhile Welsh test.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Soca Warriors will be hoping for another warm reception and similar conditions when they run out onto the pitch at the UPN Arena in Graz for Friday evening’s training session on the eve of the friendly international against Wales.
Skipper Dwight Yorke and company will train at the match venue which is formerly the Arnold Schwarzenegger Stadium and has a seating capacity of 12,000 in the centre of the city.
T&T head coach Leo Beenhakker will oversee a morning session at the Thermen Arena before making the one hour journey to Graz from Bad Radkersburg for the 6pm session which will be opened to the media and other on lookers.
The team had another pair of sessions on Wednesday with the second one being used by Beenhakker to play a  scrimmage match among the players and LA Galaxy forward Cornell Glen was involved in actual movement with the rest of the squad for the first time since his hamstring injury and came out giving all signs that he is working his way well towards complete fitness.
Missing from Thursday’s session was assistant coach Mario Been who was out to view the Sweden versus Finland friendly which ended 0-0.
The match against the Welsh is the first of three internationals scheduled for the Soca Warriors in the Europe-leg of their build up for the World Cup and Yorke is anticipating the match up on Saturday.
“We are improving as  a team and playing against Wales will provide yet another good test for us before we go into the World Cup,” Yorke told TTFF Media.
“It will be a difficult test but right now it’s about seeing how far we are away from where we want to be come the first game against Sweden.”
The former Manchester United striker mentioned that he felt the booking of the fixture was well thought out as it in relation to what T&T has to face on June 15 in Nuremburg.
“There has been a lot of thought into what we have to do as a team after we qualified. We had four months to prepare ourselves and when you look at the Welsh team and the kind of players they have, it certainly coincides with the kind players Sweden and England have and I am sure it will go some way in getting us ready for the competition,” he said.
Yorke added that he was anticipating the clash with former United teammate Ryan Giggs but a toe injury has ruled the latter out of the fixture.
“I have been speaking to Giggsy and if he is (playing) it will be absolutely fantastic and there are players in the Welsh team who will give us a good test. It’s a game we will thoroughly want to win because winning breathes confidence,” the skipper noted.
There has also been much interest from the Welsh media in T&T duo Dennis Lawrence who plays for Welsh-based club Wrexham and Carlos Edwards.
“It’s an important warm up for us because after the match versus Peru and the couple weeks we have been together as a team, this is the first real chance to get some international action,” said Edwards. “There may be a few names in their squad who I have come up against before and even though they are out of the World Cup I can tell you they will pose quite a good test for us at this stage of our preparations.” Kick off time on Saturday is  12:15pm (T&T Time).
News from the 25th of May 2006.

‘Warriors’ working to get it right.

The heavens opened up and the rains came from the wee hours of Wednesday morning and lasted until dawn as if to say that the Soca Warriors must do all their activities on the football field as the weather conditions prevented the members of the squad for partaking in anything else on their off day.
Following Tuesday’s 3-2 win over Austria Vienna, head coach Leo Beenhakker held a one hour recovery session on Wednesday morning and as is the custom during training camps of this sort, following a media session, he gave Dwight Yorke and his teammates the remainder of the day off into Thursday midday. Outdoor activities like golfing, cricket as well as a trip into Graz had been planned but the miserable conditions left many a warrior indoors at the Hotel IM Park in Bad Radkersburg.
The consistent downpour however didn’t prevent the players from sticking around, kicking the extra balls around the pitch, testing the goalkeepers from all different ranges and meeting with the Press before hopping on their bikes back to the base.
The T&T squad has now been in camp for fourteen days preparing for its opening 2006 World Cup fixture against Sweden on June 10 and on the day that Cornell Glen and Aurtis Whitley were back among the main bunch for training, the inclement weather did in fact ensure that they got all the rest possible before Beenhakker starts the ball rolling ahead of Saturday’s friendly international against Wales.
Moreso, the players have never allowed anything to cross their culture and the playing of Bob Marley tracks by the soundman at the Thermen Arena at Tuesday’s match was not appreciated by the T&T contingent. Then try to picture Marvin Andrews and Dennis Lawrence arguing which of their favourite tunes should take up the playtime at the hotel. Andrews favoured Machel and Patrice Roberts’ “Band of the year” while Lawrence tried to imitate Winchester’s performance of “Don’t Stop”. Trying to compile their own CD on Wednesday evening, they both agreed that Maximus Dan’s “Fighter” should be the first on the compilation. Seeing the two of them with hands raised reacting to the sounds of T&T in this part of Europe could make any national follow their actions with pride.
In relation to the team preparations, still on the sidelines treating a hamstring twitch is Silvio Spann but Glen and Whitley came through the session well and Beenhakker is expected to have 23 players to select from for Saturday’s encounter minus Spann.
Coventry City striker Stern John has expressed concern over the possibility of injuries as the World Cup draws nearer but he also gave thumbs up to the build up so far.
“I think Tuesday’s game came at the right time. The opposition was no walk over. We are in a phase where we are still trying different team selections and it’s not that we are experimenting. We are trying to prepare to play three different teams at the World Cup. You will see from what we are doing in training, we have to play differently in our matches and we are trying to put that into practice now on the pitch. I don’t think conceding two goals is a major worry for us coming out of this match,” John told TTFF media.
“It’s always important for strikers to put the ball into the net when the chance come and you have to turn half chances into half chances because in the World Cup you will probably get two chances in a match and they must count. Your confidence gets bigger with goals and while you will not always score in every game, the main thing is to try and contribute as much to the team once we are out there on the pitch,” he added.
Midfielders Chris Birchall and Densill Theobald were two players along with Yorke who played the full 90 and both youngsters saw the opportunity as vital at this stage of the preparations.
“I think everyday we go out into training ,everyone is getting more used to playing with each other, The coach knows what he has to do to get us ready. We have a long time to play different formations and with different players. It’s good for any player to get 90 minutes to try and push on. At least it means your fitness is coming along. We got a few more important friendlies and if they can strive to get the best eleven getting 90 minutes then things will improve,” Birchall said.
Meantime, it has been reported that winger Ryan Giggs has been ruled out of the Wales squad for Saturday after damaging his toe in a 1-0 win over a Basque XI on Saturday. Manager John Toshack has called up Crystal Palace’s Rhoys Wiggins and Yeovil midfielder Aaron Davies to the squad which is missing a few more injured players.
News from the 24th of May 2006.

Strike trio leads T&T to 3-2 win.

Trinidad and Tobago's World Cup squad scored a 3-2 win over Austria Vienna in a training match at the Thermen Arena on Tuesday before an appreciative crowd of 900 odd fans. The "Soca Warriors" playing their first match of the European tour twice held two-goal advantages before Vienna came back to snatch two second half goals.
Coventry City striker Stern John, after going close a couple times earlier, broke the deadlock in the 25th minute with a left foot volley from inside the penalty box after Dennis Lawrence headed over from the right side.
Then two minutes later, the second goal came following a good build up which saw skipper Dwight Yorke threading wide to Carlos Edwards on the right who in turn switched the play over on the far side for Jason Scotland to hammer off the near post.
Vienna pulled a goal back in the 79 minutes after Leo Beenhakker made eight changes at half time, through Walzer Andreas. Substitute Kenwyne Jones regained T&T's two goal lead with a power header from Evans Wise' left side cross but there was still enough time for Parapatis Joachim to hit a penalty past Kelvin Jack in the final minute of added on time.
The game proved to provide just the kind of test Beenhakker and his men were hoping for at this time of the preparations as Vienna, though missing a few of their first team players, were not shy of having a go at T&T and even though goalie Shaka Hislop had little to do in the first half, Beenhakker would have been appreciative of the contest a few days before the biggest test from Wales at UPN Arena in Graz.
Actually, despite Hislop being mostly untroubled, it was Vienna who had the first couple looks at goal with Simkovic Tomas and Okotie Rubin causing Hislop to make stops inside the first ten minutes of the match. Scotland, who started alongside John, then saw his low effort blocked by Saurer Christoph in the 13th minute.
T&T’s attack came to life when defender Dennis Lawrence made his way forward for a couple set pieces. First up in the 22nd minute Carlos Edwards’ right side cross found Lawrence’s head but the ball would only crash off the crossbar before Scotland’s follow up was saved by the ‘keeper.
A minute later Lawrence was again involved, this time seeing his lunging header graze the upright following Scotland’s left side delivery.
John then broke the deadlock with a clinical finish and Scotland followed up to leave the visitors going into the dressing room with a 2-0 lead.
Beenhakker had indicated that he would make the changes at the break with only Yorke, Densill Theobald and Chris Birchall remaining on the pitch for the 90 minutes. LA Galaxy forward Cornell Glen remained on the sidelines but will make his first appearance in actual training with the rest of the team on Wednesday. Aurtis Whitley and Silvio Spann were also rested to recover from niggling injuries while Anthony Wolfe and Clayton Ince were not used on Tuesday.
The Austrians came out eager to get on the scoresheet after the break but T&T maintained control with Russell Latapy in the middle of the park and Jones prosing a handful for the Vienna defense before he powered his header home after missing from close ranger a few minutes earlier.
Goalie Jack was however unhappy to let up the two goals, the first one coming off a slight mix up in possession following a throw in and then the second being a penalty. All in all though, Beenhakker and his staff appeared to have taken the win in stride and will resume preparations with a session on Wednesday morning before Saturday’s game against Wales which kicks off at 12:15pm (T&T time).

T&T Line-Up:

Shaka Hislop (Kelvin Jack 46th), Marvin Andrews (Brent Sancho 46th), Dennis Lawrence (Ian Cox 46th), Cyd Gray (Atiba Charles 46th), Avery John (Evans Wise 46th), Christopher Birchall, Dwight Yorke (capt), Densill Theobald, Carlos Edwards (Russell Latapy 46th), Stern John (Collin Samuel 46th), Jason Scotland (Kenwyne Jones 46th).

Subs not used:

Clayton Ince, Cornell Glen, Silvio Spann, Aurtis Whitley.

Video & Photos.

See pictures of the T&T Team vs Austria Vienna, click here.

T&T vs Austria Vienna Video.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2006, 03:32:20 PM by Flex »

Offline kevinAckin

Re: T&T scores 3-2 win over Vienna.
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2006, 01:31:57 PM »
poor wolfe....at least he accustomed toting water....memba the protest in manzanilla when they had a water shortage an he get a baton in he head.....
maybe beenie heard of his water toting prowess and used that as the deciding factor to carry him to germany
« Last Edit: May 23, 2006, 01:33:31 PM by kevinAckin »

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2006, 01:34:04 PM »
poor wolfe....at least he accustomed toting water....memba the protest in manzanilla when they had a water shortage an he get a baton in he head.....
maybe beenie heard of his water toting prowess and used that as the deciding factor to carry him to germany

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2006, 01:35:11 PM »
first time i ever hear 3-2 being ah comfortable lead ;D

look at the lady warriors scores, that is comfy

« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2006, 01:36:48 PM »
Nice...
It is just a training match... I happy for de win and in Beenie I trust...

« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2006, 01:44:17 PM »
With 8 changes at half time ...... you could say it's a comfortable victory ......but at the same time one would expect the subs to continue with the momentum already built.

Nice work anyway.

If someone can help me understand.......what role Wolfe playing..... not even in a practice game he getting sweat  ???

« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2006, 01:47:27 PM »
Yet Wise is racking up assists while struggling to make the squad.

« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2006, 01:49:04 PM »
people....go easy on wolfe....i mean...no need to ridecule the young man......i for one said he should make room for wise....but getting kicks on him is not right.....well done tnt

« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2006, 01:50:04 PM »

same ting i thinking!! shaun is really something else!!

But then again, he saw the game and probably is the best person to make the call.

Nice to see that shaka started....ah love it!!

but it is funny to note that whitley and spann didnt get any sweat!!??!

what really going on with wolfe in truth?!!

Offline sprog

« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2006, 01:54:52 PM »
Sounding good some key things to note. Aside from the obvious which is that our strikers scored namely Stern i am pleased to hear that Edwards made a good delivery l;eading to a goal as well as Wise, he making it hard for Beenie to send him packing.

« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2006, 01:55:30 PM »
anyone know the story with Whitley ? a minor injury perhaps ? (sorry if I missed it in another thread)

« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2006, 01:57:28 PM »

yuh wicked star

« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2006, 01:58:34 PM »
Well changing 8 players has to affect the flow of play so not too worried about Vienna scoring 2. Again defense seems to be an area we are still trying to bolster up. Our wing men are producing and we have the striking power

Beenie do your do, that Dutch tactical mind working overtime. I know we will be ready. I hope we play Wales under mtach conditions, with 3 subs
only and let us really see how the team is gelling and or progressing

« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2006, 02:03:04 PM »
I go say this in fear of getting a ticket  ;D

but I confused here...i thought wise was on de back up list in case someone get injured.....

i know glen injured but was there a formal announcement that wise was included in the 23 now....if not how he playing?....I didn't even know he was on the travelling roster.....

Offline lord mello

« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2006, 02:12:51 PM »
comfy no way!! as they were playing the Austria youth team not a first league team!!

Offline kevinAckin

« Reply #15 on: May 23, 2006, 02:14:13 PM »

but I confused here...i thought wise was on de back up list in case someone get injured.....

i know glen injured but was there a formal announcement that wise was included in the 23 now....if not how he playing?....I didn't even know he was on the travelling roster.....

i think we are free to use whoever we want in friendlies and training matches.....
he is backup in the case that glen does not recover within the period prior to 24 hours before our first cup game against sweden
« Last Edit: May 23, 2006, 02:15:51 PM by kevinAckin »

« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2006, 02:31:28 PM »
Ince cant get ah run at all... I must say Jack must be our number one keeper, Shaka eh want nothing, I watched Shaka plenty this year and last year and his reaction time is very poor, England will kill him with outside shots and free kicks, he's also very clumsy. I just hope Jack can be consistent, because Jack is a BOSS keeper on his good day.

Glad for Evans Wise I hope he makes the team, we can still make a change to the squad 24 hours before the world cup. Wise came on for Avery, I guess he played a little defensive in this game.

« Reply #17 on: May 23, 2006, 02:38:16 PM »
He may have said it was comfortable cause the game probably was not a really challenge to the team. a 3-2 sometimes does not reflect the game what if Don Leo was working more on posession in this game, then the scored would be a good one if we had the majority of the ball.

Anyone find a clip or Highlights any where. I think we should pressure the TTFF to provide highlights to these games for us. What kind of media rep they have and we cannot get a video clip.

« Reply #18 on: May 23, 2006, 02:41:26 PM »

Licks, I eh wah you get no tickets. Here is the scene

Everyone have to pic a squad of 23 for World Cup. Beenie, selcted the 23 weeks ago. However, every national team have they 23 plus ALTERNATES. Wise was one of 5 alternates after the Grenada game. Before they left Trinidad thye cut Rougier and the 3 others . So it only have the 23 and he told WISE to meet him in Manchester. So we have 24 men training, so that come June 9th we could move in WISE and someones else go get the axe.

I backing Wise to be the lst man

« Reply #19 on: May 23, 2006, 02:45:48 PM »

Licks, I eh wah you get no tickets. Here is the scene

Everyone have to pic a squad of 23 for World Cup. Beenie, selcted the 23 weeks ago. However, every national team have they 23 plus ALTERNATES. Wise was one of 5 alternates after the Grenada game. Before they left Trinidad thye cut Rougier and the 3 others . So it only have the 23 and he told WISE to meet him in Manchester. So we have 24 men training, so that come June 9th we could move in WISE and someones else go get the axe.

I backing Wise to be the lst man

so wolfe going home BTW is wolfe the  leo's derick king

« Reply #20 on: May 23, 2006, 02:46:12 PM »

Shaun's reports always seem to be rose-tinted in T&T's favour which is why they can't beat forumitees here like Touches, etc who never cushion there reports!

Anyway we Maxing Up our preparations now so doh watch that score line too hard!  8)

« Reply #21 on: May 23, 2006, 02:49:02 PM »

Shaun's reports always seem to be rose-tinted in T&T's favour which is why they can't beat forumitees here like Touches, etc who never cushion there reports!

Anyway we Maxing Up our preparations now so doh watch that score line too hard!  8)

Leh we dont forget.. that is Shaun wuck.. thats is what he is paid to do and he does it well.. He must cushion.. We will do the rippin apart..

big up Fuentes..

« Reply #22 on: May 23, 2006, 02:50:03 PM »
If someone can help me understand.......what role Wolfe playing..... not even in a practice game he getting sweat  ???

Maybe Wolfe picked up some mysterious "injury" that now has him on the list of players that can be replaced up to 24 hours before the Sweden game along with Glen.  
Or perhaps Avery decided he needed a capable left winger to play with and bladed him down in training.

« Reply #23 on: May 23, 2006, 02:52:38 PM »
I guess thier full squad was playing in this game.

Austria  1:4  Croatia

changes or no changes  grenada , peru Austria Vienna  score on we . I want a shut out against wales
« Last Edit: May 23, 2006, 02:55:21 PM by triniman »

Offline Israel

« Reply #24 on: May 23, 2006, 02:53:44 PM »
kevinAckin yuh wrong dread....dat was funny but wrong nonetheless. :rotfl: :rotfl:

But on a serious note, i really feel Wise going to be on that squad for Germany. Beenie must be figuring out a way to tell somebody that they have to go home.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #25 on: May 23, 2006, 02:55:44 PM »
kevinAckin yuh wrong dread....dat was funny but wrong nonetheless. :rotfl: :rotfl:

But on a serious note, i really feel Wise going to be on that squad for Germany. Beenie must be figuring out a way to tell somebody that they have to go home.

yes wolfe

« Reply #26 on: May 23, 2006, 03:00:25 PM »
doh study the scoreline...it sounds like we played well even by the Austrian report. We were comfortably up 2-0 at half time and then made 8 subs. Unlike some of the bigger teams we do not have the depth for our full 23 to play at the same level. For any team it would be difficult anyway, but for us we just rely more on our top players more than others. So 8 subs bound to change our rhythm. And remember, their last goal was a consolation penalty after 90 minutes. The win was never in doubt, hence the comfort. The positives are that all 3 fit strikers scored and both carlos and Wise contributed crosses that lead to goals. The first 11 conceded naught.

Also, remember these matches are being played during some of the hardest training sessions. Fellas playing under a kind of fatigue they will not feel closer to the WC when session will include less running and fitness work. So all in all, it sounds fairly good to me. And for those with a good memory...remember Brazil lost to a Serie C side in their last warm-up before WC 1990..it was supposed to be a confidence bosting sweating to go into the WC...instead they lost 0-1...So take the win and know it could always be worse

« Reply #27 on: May 23, 2006, 03:01:15 PM »
I remember last week Jack and Beenie was saying that they would not send the "last man" home, but would have him travel with the team . They did not think it was cool to have a man training up on until the 11th hour and send them packing.

So who over getting cut, would still be with the team and get to view the tournamant. ( Nice idea), especially as is a first time thing.

Big up to the 24 in Training. I hope you all bust you tail off  for a selection. Hope WISER get a sweat too

« Reply #28 on: May 23, 2006, 03:02:09 PM »
I feel he go tell another player to give Wolfe ah hard jam.....

« Reply #29 on: May 23, 2006, 03:03:52 PM »
anyone know the story with Whitley ? a minor injury perhaps ? (sorry if I missed it in another thread)

Ful real, what was the story with Whitley?