April 29, 2024, 06:05:48 PM

Author Topic: ‘Warriors’ working to get it right.  (Read 2014 times)

‘Warriors’ working to get it right.
« on: May 24, 2006, 03:48:03 PM »
Warriors’ working to get it right.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

The heavens opened up and the rains came from the wee hours of Wednesday morning and lasted until dawn as if to say that the Soca Warriors must do all their activities on the football field as the weather conditions prevented the members of the squad for partaking in anything else on their off day.
Following Tuesday’s 3-2 win over Austria Vienna, head coach Leo Beenhakker held a one hour recovery session on Wednesday morning and as is the custom during training camps of this sort, following a media session, he gave Dwight Yorke and his teammates the remainder of the day off into Thursday midday. Outdoor activities like golfing, cricket as well as a trip into Graz had been planned but the miserable conditions left many a warrior indoors at the Hotel IM Park in Bad Radkersburg.
The consistent downpour however didn’t prevent the players from sticking around, kicking the extra balls around the pitch, testing the goalkeepers from all different ranges and meeting with the Press before hopping on their bikes back to the base.
The T&T squad has now been in camp for fourteen days preparing for its opening 2006 World Cup fixture against Sweden on June 10 and on the day that Cornell Glen and Aurtis Whitley were back among the main bunch for training, the inclement weather did in fact ensure that they got all the rest possible before Beenhakker starts the ball rolling ahead of Saturday’s friendly international against Wales.
Moreso, the players have never allowed anything to cross their culture and the playing of Bob Marley tracks by the soundman at the Thermen Arena at Tuesday’s match was not appreciated by the T&T contingent. Then try to picture Marvin Andrews and Dennis Lawrence arguing which of their favourite tunes should take up the playtime at the hotel. Andrews favoured Machel and Patrice Roberts’ “Band of the year” while Lawrence tried to imitate Winchester’s performance of “Don’t Stop”. Trying to compile their own CD on Wednesday evening, they both agreed that Maximus Dan’s “Fighter” should be the first on the compilation. Seeing the two of them with hands raised reacting to the sounds of T&T in this part of Europe could make any national follow their actions with pride.
In relation to the team preparations, still on the sidelines treating a hamstring twitch is Silvio Spann but Glen and Whitley came through the session well and Beenhakker is expected to have 23 players to select from for Saturday’s encounter minus Spann.
Coventry City striker Stern John has expressed concern over the possibility of injuries as the World Cup draws nearer but he also gave thumbs up to the build up so far.
“I think Tuesday’s game came at the right time. The opposition was no walk over. We are in a phase where we are still trying different team selections and it’s not that we are experimenting. We are trying to prepare to play three different teams at the World Cup. You will see from what we are doing in training, we have to play differently in our matches and we are trying to put that into practice now on the pitch. I don’t think conceding two goals is a major worry for us coming out of this match,” John told TTFF media.
“It’s always important for strikers to put the ball into the net when the chance come and you have to turn half chances into half chances because in the World Cup you will probably get two chances in a match and they must count. Your confidence gets bigger with goals and while you will not always score in every game , the main thing is to try and contribute as much to the team once we are out there on the pitch,” he added.
Midfielders Chris Birchall and Densill Theobald were two players along with Yorke who played the full 90 and both youngsters saw the opportunity as vital at this stage of the preparations.
“I think everyday we go out into training ,everyone is getting more used to playing with each other, The coach knows what he has to do to get us ready. We have a long time to play different formations and with different players. It’s good for any player to get 90 minutes to try and push on. At least it means your fitness is coming along. We got a few more important friendlies and if they can strive to get the best eleven getting 90 minutes then things will improve,” Birchall said.
Meantime, it has been reported that winger Ryan Giggs has been ruled out of the Wales squad for Saturday after damaging his toe in a 1-0 win over a Basque XI on Saturday. Manager John Toshack has called up Crystal Palace’s Rhoys Wiggins and Yeovil midfielder Aaron Davies to the squad which is missing a few more injured players.

Re: ‘Warriors’ working to get it right.
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2006, 03:58:25 PM »
Thanks Flex and of course Mr Fuentes. Nice article. I hope Spann recovers quickly. He has to go easy  just for enough time and not too long. It's a gamble. Rest the thigh too long and he gets eliminated because of subpar fitness (and he was already below his best recently) or train aggressively and risk a disastrous re-injury. Pressure!

« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2006, 04:42:58 PM »
Allyuh hear Stern talk about preparing 3 different teams?  I never even thought ah that.  Beenie is a real tactition oui!  So if you thing you know we line up you wrong. That is very encouraging.  Is almost like chess now but I guess that's what needed at this level. Go TNT!

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2006, 04:48:29 PM »
poor wolfe poor wolfe he is the odd man out i feel for him..

« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2006, 05:17:11 PM »

The heavens opened up and the rains came from the wee hours of Wednesday morning and lasted until dawn as if to say that the Soca Warriors must do all their activities on the football field as the weather conditions prevented the members of the squad for partaking in anything else on their off day.
Following Tuesday’s 3-2 win over Austria Vienna, head coach Leo Beenhakker held a one hour recovery session on Wednesday morning and as is the custom during training camps of this sort, following a media session, he gave Dwight Yorke and his teammates the remainder of the day off into Thursday midday. Outdoor activities like golfing, cricket as well as a trip into Graz had been planned but the miserable conditions left many a warrior indoors at the Hotel IM Park in Bad Radkersburg.
The consistent downpour however didn’t prevent the players from sticking around, kicking the extra balls around the pitch, testing the goalkeepers from all different ranges and meeting with the Press before hopping on their bikes back to the base.
The T&T squad has now been in camp for fourteen days preparing for its opening 2006 World Cup fixture against Sweden on June 10 and on the day that Cornell Glen and Aurtis Whitley were back among the main bunch for training, the inclement weather did in fact ensure that they got all the rest possible before Beenhakker starts the ball rolling ahead of Saturday’s friendly international against Wales.
Moreso, the players have never allowed anything to cross their culture and the playing of Bob Marley tracks by the soundman at the Thermen Arena at Tuesday’s match was not appreciated by the T&T contingent. Then try to picture Marvin Andrews and Dennis Lawrence arguing which of their favourite tunes should take up the playtime at the hotel. Andrews favoured Machel and Patrice Roberts’ “Band of the year” while Lawrence tried to imitate Winchester’s performance of “Don’t Stop”. Trying to compile their own CD on Wednesday evening, they both agreed that Maximus Dan’s “Fighter” should be the first on the compilation. Seeing the two of them with hands raised reacting to the sounds of T&T in this part of Europe could make any national follow their actions with pride.
In relation to the team preparations, still on the sidelines treating a hamstring twitch is Silvio Spann but Glen and Whitley came through the session well and Beenhakker is expected to have 23 players to select from for Saturday’s encounter minus Spann.
Coventry City striker Stern John has expressed concern over the possibility of injuries as the World Cup draws nearer but he also gave thumbs up to the build up so far.
“I think Tuesday’s game came at the right time. The opposition was no walk over. We are in a phase where we are still trying different team selections and it’s not that we are experimenting. We are trying to prepare to play three different teams at the World Cup. You will see from what we are doing in training, we have to play differently in our matches and we are trying to put that into practice now on the pitch. I don’t think conceding two goals is a major worry for us coming out of this match,” John told TTFF media.
“It’s always important for strikers to put the ball into the net when the chance come and you have to turn half chances into half chances because in the World Cup you will probably get two chances in a match and they must count. Your confidence gets bigger with goals and while you will not always score in every game , the main thing is to try and contribute as much to the team once we are out there on the pitch,” he added.
Midfielders Chris Birchall and Densill Theobald were two players along with Yorke who played the full 90 and both youngsters saw the opportunity as vital at this stage of the preparations.
“I think everyday we go out into training ,everyone is getting more used to playing with each other, The coach knows what he has to do to get us ready. We have a long time to play different formations and with different players. It’s good for any player to get 90 minutes to try and push on. At least it means your fitness is coming along. We got a few more important friendlies and if they can strive to get the best eleven getting 90 minutes then things will improve,” Birchall said.
Meantime, it has been reported that winger Ryan Giggs has been ruled out of the Wales squad for Saturday after damaging his toe in a 1-0 win over a Basque XI on Saturday. Manager John Toshack has called up Crystal Palace’s Rhoys Wiggins and Yeovil midfielder Aaron Davies to the squad which is missing a few more injured players.

I hope RF and Courtroom see this........................ not even we players like dem yardies

« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2006, 05:36:10 PM »

I hope RF and Courtroom see this........................ not even we players like dem yardies

???

« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2006, 05:50:12 PM »
Ah love Bob Marley and his message which is universal BUT

Is the SOCA Warriors NOT the Reggae Warriors

No Jakan Musick :devil:

Offline Rani5

• Soca Warriors!: Going for Gold
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2006, 06:11:36 PM »
 ???   Hey! Anyone notice that Birchall wearing like a glove on his hand?  :-\.. Did he hurt it? or is that his new uhh.... style?/trademark?  ???
*Necessity is the Mother of Invention*

« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2006, 05:32:41 AM »
dah glove ting Birchall wearing is ah new style actually, other pics taken on dat same day shows other team members wearing de glove ting on de same right hand as "Me Mum", it should be an adidas product, so i looking to see if ah could get one too, to wear when ah wearing meh national kit.... ;)