March 28, 2024, 03:20:35 AM

Author Topic: Haitian robbery" T&T cheated W/Cup spot.  (Read 57327 times)

Haitian robbery" T&T cheated W/Cup spot.
« on: May 25, 2006, 09:57:57 AM »
Haitian robbery" T&T cheated W/Cup spot.
By: Lasana Liburd.

Lasana Liburd looks at the controversial 1974 W/Cup campaign in the third edition of an 11-part series.

Port-au-Prince was as silent as a grave on December 4, 1973. On that afternoon, at the Sylvio Cator Stadium, fair play died and nearly two dozen Trinidad and Tobago footballers grieved its passing.
Haiti had just defeated Trinidad and Tobago 2-1 in a World Cup qualifying group match but even the home fans did not celebrate the final shrill of the whistle. The awkward silence was broken by the tears of star striker and policeman, Steve David, and some of his colleagues.
The visitors banded together and headed off the ground in silence. They ignored requests for interviews from the Mexican media and refused to shake hands with their Haitian opponents.
For the first time, Trinidad and Tobago had progressed to the final World Cup qualifying phase of the Concacaf zone but was on the verge of being eliminated in the most unjust manner. On five occasions, the twin island nation got the ball in the back of the Haitian net but each effort was mysteriously overruled by the match officials save for one David item.
No one left the hotel that night as each player kept his own counsel. The feeling of injustice was everywhere in the Trinidad and Tobago camp.
"This is madness, "said gifted midfielder Everald Cummings to no-one in particular.
The Trinidad and Tobago team of 1973, since nicknamed the "Classic Team", possessed arguably the most lethal offensive line-up in the history of local football with the likes of David, Cummings and Warren Archibald. But it was the personality and camaraderie within the camp that helped set the pace after two short lived qualifying series in the 1966 and 1970 tournaments.
In 1966, Trinidad and Tobago sparkled but was naïve to the nuances of international competition. Four years later, the local Football Association (FA) unearthed a gifted core of players from its schoolboy leagues but they were still diamonds in the rough.
As the 1974 tournament drew close, though, the boys had become men and were not going to be pushed around by more established football nations anymore. The first manifestations of their spunk, though, came within the umbrella of the FA and the repercussions were nearly catastrophic.
In 1969, a Trinidad and Tobago contingent traveled to Costa Rica for the Concacaf qualifying tournament only to become embroiled in a class war between players and administrators.
At the eye of the storm was diminutive attacker, Cummings, who went on to become one of local football's biggest names over three generations.
Born on August 28, 1948, Cummings grew up on Dundonald Street, Port of Spain where parents regularly ordered their children to go play in the Queen's Park Savannah for rare minutes of silence at home.
At the nearby British consulate, local children were allowed to visit on designated days to see video footage of football stars like England's Stanley Matthews while one could also glimpse a young Pele and Eusebio during international competition.
Cummings elder brothers, Philbert and Ellis, were already well known for their football skills in the community and he was anxious to carry on the legacy. At 15 years old, Gally won his first national cap and, two years later, North American Soccer League (NASL) club, Atlanta Chiefs, signed as a professional player.
On the football field, Cummings impressed with a powerful shot and clever movement with and without the ball. But he had become a handful to local administrators off the field as well as he sought to inject his knowledge of professionalism into all corners of the national set up.
In Costa Rica, the players stayed at a hotel with infrequent water supply and no air condition or elevator while TTFA administrators led by president Phil Douglin enjoyed more comfortable surroundings.
The final straw came when Cummings had to climb three flights of stairs with a bucket of water so his roommate, Wilfred Bound to score Cave could finish his bath. The next day, after another serving of tripe for lunch, he called a meeting in his room.
We eating here like we in the orphan home when those fellahs have menu cards, Gally told his teammates. "If these administrators eating t-bone, we should be eating fillet mignon because we are the ones bringing in the money and we are the ones who need the energy!
Faced by a possible player revolt, Douglin called in ex-TTFA president and Concacaf representative Eric James who quickly ordered Cummings, Kenny Joseph, Gwenwyn Cust, Archibald, Leroy De Leon, Cave and trainer Trevor Smith to take the next flight home. The TTFA did not carry out its threat, which would have forced the team to forfeit its remain fixtures and face international sanction, but the entire squad was banned from football at the end of the tournament.
As a sign of protest, Smith burnt his football boots near Roxy Cinema and vowed that he was finished with the local game. Burnt Boots became a biting columnist and once wrote that he would shoot his dog if it bit Eric James.
Cummings threatened legal action and the TTFA rescinded the ban but he was not called back for international duty until 1971 when his success in the NASL and the pleadings of coaches Ken Henry and Edgar Vidale prompted his reinstatement under new president Ken Galt.
The tumultuous period left casualties, though. United States-based midfielder De Leon, Trinidad"s best player at the last World Cup campaign, refused to participate in the 1974 series after a row with the TTFA over match fees.
There were no overseas players when Trinidad and Tobago played its first qualifier at home to Antigua and Barbuda on November 10, 1972. But plenty for local fans to get excited about with hattricks from 21-year-old striker, David, and his strike partner Sammy Llewellyn. The pair bagged one apiece in the return fixture at St John's too, which ended in a 2-0 win for the visitors.
Suriname was T&T's next opponent. In the 1970 series, the TTFA controversially waived its right to play any qualifying match at home. Four years later, Suriname similarly conceded hosting rights and lost 3-2 on goal aggregate to T&T who, for the first time, had progressed to the last qualifying round.
The professional players, De Leon apart, were recalled for the final push. Reluctantly, Cummings agreed to give up his role as a forward to take over De Leon’s playmaking duties.
The technical staff also had a new face as Englishman Kevin Verity was hired to take Trinidad and Tobago to the World Cup.
Tall, fast and skillful with a good shot off either boot, David became the fulcrum of Verity's attacking philosophy which hinged on depositing the ball into the channels—the space between the opposing central defender and full back—as quickly as possible. Cummings was the conductor with two hardworking central midfielders for cover while Warren Archibald and either Ray Roberts or Leo Twinkle Toes Brewster were to create space for David around the opposing penalty area.
David and Cummings, who quickly excelled in his new role, struck up an extraordinary relationship on the field.
"I only have to look at Gally, David told his teammates, and he knows where I want (the ball), when I want it and how I want it.
Haiti was the host for the final group stage between six competing nations. Only the winner would go on to the 1974 World Cup finals in Germany.
Trinidad and Tobago was in perfect physical shape but, with eight changes in its line-up since the earlier rounds, the squad failed to gel in time for its first outing against Honduras. The Central American team won 2-1 despite a goal from David—his sixth from five qualifiers thus far.
The host nation was next but Trinidad and Tobago dominated the contest and pummeled the Haitian defence with crosses and long throws from left back Winston Phillips.
Five times, T&T celebrated a goal and retreated to its own half only to be stunned by a late whistle indicating a perceived infraction.
"It was as though we were in a trance, said David. "We felt we could score at will so we just did not argue; we just continued playing every time they disallowed one of our goals.
"We were so sure that we could not lose to Haiti.
After the defeat, the players waited for news of an official protest from the T&TFF. Oliver Camps, now Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) president, was team manager at the time while FIFA vice-president Jack Warner was TTFA general secretary and Concacaf official and ex-TTFA president Eric James worked for the Haitian consulate in Trinidad.
None, according to Cummings, expressed their disapproval in writing to Concacaf.
Instead, Mexico protested the result which, they argued, affected the validity of the entire tournament. The El Salvadorean referee was subsequently banned indefinitely by FIFA but the world body ruled that the 48-hour deadline for a protest had passed and the result stood.
Nobody else will beat us in this tournament, Cummings told his teammates. Nobody!
Trinidad and Tobago played Guatemala, eight days later, and another David goal settled the affair 1-0. On December 14, it was the turn of the formidable Mexicans.
Verity took his troops to watch Mexico train and David was rattled.
Damn, look at them, David whispered to Archibald.
Archibald, a sublime left footed attacker, chastised his younger teammate.
Listen, they are the same flesh and blood as you, said Archibald. "If I get down the line and cut it back, can you put it in the goal?
"Sure, said David, who felt his confidence returning.
Well then, responded Archibald, that is all you have to do.
Trinidad and Tobago did the job with aplomb as they won 4-0" easily the country's most comfortable win against "El Tricolo". Cummings scored twice with one apiece from David and Archibald.
Verity's tactics on the day were spot on as he omitted Roberts and introduced Steve Khan to man mark Mexico's playmaker while Archibald was used alongside David upfront. Trinidad and Tobago soaked up pressure with goalkeeper Kelvin Barclay forced into some tremendous saves but Mexico had no answer for its opponent's clinical counter-attacks.
Cummings was sensational on the day. For his first goal, he fanned his right leg over the ball and flicked it around a Mexican defender with the heel of his left boot before ending the move with a firm drive. His second was a powerful free kick that took a cruel deflection off the wall.
It was Mexico's only loss of the tournament and, ironically, sealed Haiti's place atop the group. Verity returned to England before the final fixture, which Trinidad and Tobago won 4-0 against the Netherland Antilles with a David hattrick.
Once more, Trinidad and Tobago's individual skill caught the eye of Concacaf's judges as Cummings was named the zone's best player.
As a parting gift, Verity arranged a trial for David in the English First Division and he was signed by Leicester City but the memory of Haiti would haunt the "Classic Team" for years to come.
Still, Trinidad and Tobago had finally announced its presence to its North and Central American neighbours while the dubious defeat to Haiti meant world recognition and sympathy. Perhaps they would go one step further in 1978.

(1974 WORLD CUP QUALIFIERS)

Dec 17, 1973, Port-au-Prince, Stade Sylvio Cator, 17,358
T&T 4, Netherlands Antilles
Goals: Steve David (3), Siegfried Brunken Own Goal.

Dec 14, 1973, Port-au-Prince, Stade Sylvio Cator, 15,361
T&T 4, Mexico 0
Goals: Everald Cummings (2), Steve David, Warren Archibald.

Dec 10, 1973, Port-au-Prince, Stade Sylvio Cator, 15,361
T&T 1, Guatemala 0
Goal: Everald Cummings

Dec 4, 1973, Port-au-Prince, Stade Sylvio Cator, 12,816
Haiti 2, T&T 1
Goal: Steve David

Nov 29, 1973, Port-au-Prince, Stade Sylvio Cator, 12,816
Honduras 2, T&T 1

Nov 30, 1972, San Fernando, Skinner Park, 9,276
T&T 1, Surinam 1

Nov 28, 1972, Port of Spain, Queen’s Park Oval, 7,964
T&T 2, Surinam 1
Goals: Leo Brewster, Raymond Roberts.

Nov 19,1972, St. John’s, Recreation Ground, 2,750
Antigua & Barbuda 1, T&T 2
Goals: Sammy Llewellyn, Steve David.

Nov 10, 1972, Port of Spain, King George V Park, 6,510 (attendance)
T&T 11, Antigua & Barbuda 1
Goals: Sammy Llewellyn (3), Steve David (3), Leroy Spann (2), Raymond Roberts (2), Leo Brewster.

For your information:
Trinidad and Tobago used a 4-3-3 formation for the final qualifying phase although it was altered to a 4-1-3-2 for a crucial fixture with Mexico.
Coach Michael Laing began the final round with Kelvin Barclay in goal guarded by four central defenders due to a dearth of quality full backs at the time. Lawrence Rondon and Winston Phillips played at right and left back respectively with Selris Figaro and Russell Tesheira in the middle.
In midfield, Everald "Gally" Cummings had playmaking responsibility with Dennis Morgan and either Leon Carpette or Anthony Douglas providing muscle in the centre of the park while Steve David started at centre forward with Warren Archibald to his left and either free kick specialist Ray Roberts or Leo Brewster tucking in alongside him to his right.
Steve David's haul of 11 qualifying goals set a new national record which stood for 32 years until Stern John managed 12 in Trinidad and Tobago's successful 2006 World Cup campaign. David managed 11 goals from 9 fixtures while it took John 18 games to pull level.
Gally Cummings was the second Trinidad and Tobago player to be named MVP at a Concacaf series after Leroy De Leon in 1970.

Related News.

Fresh start" TTFA bow to schoolboys.

Humble beginnings.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2010, 07:01:04 AM by Flex »

Re: Haitian robbery… T&T cheated W/Cup spot.
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2006, 10:21:49 AM »
I am in shock.TT never protested the decision. The Mexcians had to do it for we????

I trying hard not to cuss here. Becz ah want to know where Lasana get this info from.

But if this true...Warner, Camps and James need a lash in dey ass.

Peace,

Offline trinimuse

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2006, 10:29:02 AM »
Dat must be make man real bitter.  If what Lasana report dey is true, Gally have even more of my respect and admiration.  Imagine being treated like dogs by yuh own federation in 1974 and coming back in de same federation, with de same Jack Warner to bring us to the brink of qualification in '89?

Dat man have country and football at heart and soul.  I even more glad after reading the article that the entire team getting a free Germany trip at the very least. 

They should get more.

« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2006, 10:38:57 AM »
I am seriously intrigued by this piece of research....seriously

It is ah real piece ah nastiness dat happen...our own TTFA general secretary workin for the Haitians??

No sports journalist...nobody questioned the lack of official protests????
Coops..whey yuh?

Moreover, I now know where 'burntboots' got his nickname from
Is too bad he shoot dat man years later...anybody know if he still in jail?

“I only have to look at Gally,” David told his teammates, “and he knows where I want (the ball), when I want it and how I want it.”
Can you imagine if Yorke and Stern had that kind of 'telepathy'...pressure for ALL dem world cup teams

« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2006, 10:58:06 AM »
Trust me this is a very accurate account of what happened and what use to happen in T&T Football. Well done Lasana

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
Jack. A fault
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2006, 11:28:42 AM »
Ladies and Gentlemen, boys and girls, my fellow forumites

After reading this report i can firmly agree with FAWK officials that J.A. Warner (determine the meaning as you like) has been swindling us for quite some time.

No one can convince me that Mr Warner didn't sell that match against the Haitians. I'm sorry but no one can get me to change that view.

He now speak about him having to put out a second morgage on his house... Bullcrap... when the Classic players had tuh eat shit he and camps dem men sipping on de finest shit

I know in another thread fellow forumites were saying that the JA are against us daiz y they want FOUL to release. Let me all inform you Mr Warner tried to have the JFA chairman removed because he disapproved of Warners tactics.

Dat book need to be released locally.

« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2006, 11:50:35 AM »
Good report dred, thanks.
Five of dem men from Point and I used to watvh dem play live and direct when they were in their prime. What ah JOY to watch. I will forever be saddened by that Haiti fiasco...74 was ours for the taking.

« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2006, 12:24:17 PM »
After the defeat, the players waited for news of an official protest from the T&TFF. Oliver Camps, now Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) president, was team manager at the time while FIFA vice-president Jack Warner was TTFA general secretary and Concacaf official and ex-TTFA president Eric James worked for the Haitian consulate in Trinidad.
None, according to Cummings, expressed their disapproval in writing to Concacaf.
Instead, Mexico protested the result which, they argued, affected the validity of the entire tournament. The El Salvadorean referee was subsequently banned indefinitely by FIFA but the world body ruled that the 48-hour deadline for a protest had passed and the result stood.

And all this time we solely blaming the Haitians when these individuals Oliver Camps, Jack Warner & Eric James were partly responsible for the injustice due to their inaction.

Is almost seem as if they were wined and dined by the Haitians and decided to sell we out!!  >:(

Brilliant & revealing article by Lasanna, no wonder Jack hate him!!  8)
« Last Edit: May 25, 2006, 12:27:31 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2006, 12:30:57 PM »
i would like to see those goals...
until then i find it unfair to say that the over ruled goals were bad decisions..cuz i never see de goals...

« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2006, 12:38:13 PM »
So what was the purpose of this article to take a shot at again  jack  and the ttff or talk about the hatian game day was  robbery. ???

« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2006, 12:43:21 PM »
I am seriously intrigued by this piece of research....seriously

It is ah real piece ah nastiness dat happen...our own TTFA general secretary workin for the Haitians??

No sports journalist...nobody questioned the lack of official protests????
Coops..whey yuh?

Moreover, I now know where 'burntboots' got his nickname from
Is too bad he shoot dat man years later...anybody know if he still in jail?

“I only have to look at Gally,” David told his teammates, “and he knows where I want (the ball), when I want it and how I want it.”
Can you imagine if Yorke and Stern had that kind of 'telepathy'...pressure for ALL dem world cup teams
        I already told this forum it will be too much writing/typing if i have to share my storeys/views with you all,i hope some day i'll be able to talk to someone who can do that for me,i get very emotional when i have to talk about this because those times were my time playing,just reading this post only brings back good memories but sad at the same time.
          If you read carefully you will see where there isn't much difference between Eric James and Jack Warner,i think one trained the other,a lot of things players doing and saying today could not have been done in those times,if you look carefully you will see how many guys got themselves in trouble.
           I'm glad Lasana is bringing back those times to open peoples eye to what we had to go through and still produced some of the best players and Football this country has ever seen,nothing being said in Lasana reports is hearsay i will endorse everything being said here,this country has a rich history is just that we had not been to the WC that's why i want to say thanks to the Warriors.

« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2006, 01:04:13 PM »

Dat man have country and football at heart and soul.  I even more glad after reading the article that the entire team getting a free Germany trip at the very least. 

They should get more.
       Who said those guys getting a free trip to Germany,from what i heard that whole thing fall through,i'm not calling any names but someone put a spoke in they wheel, please update me i might be wrong,can someone confirm these guys going to the WC.   

« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2006, 01:09:22 PM »
until then i find it unfair to say that the over ruled goals were bad decisions..cuz i never see de goals...

Trust me...dey were bad decisions...very bad decisions indeed!!!

« Reply #13 on: May 25, 2006, 01:44:56 PM »
32 years ago that happen, i wasn't even born and it hurtin bad

although we could have been one of the 1st Caribbean nations in the WC...the past is the past...2006 Germany is for the Soca Warriors and I am looking to them to bring the country some footballing joy it deserves

GO WARRIORS

« Reply #14 on: May 25, 2006, 01:56:22 PM »
Thanks to this forum.....i realise is a waste of time buying papers to read bout football news  ;D

Buh seriously when i read dat dis mornin i was amazed. Why wasnt that questioned??? I doubt the thought of questioning the quality of refeering enter their mind after the stipulated 48 hrs. Dat is madness........and someting definately was wrong from long time. Now....just look at the common factors...... ::)
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #15 on: May 25, 2006, 02:14:18 PM »

What more you need to see ? FIFA ban de man for life after that game. Isn't that enough to know that some was totally wrong with the result ? :busshead:

« Reply #16 on: May 25, 2006, 02:15:57 PM »

so WTF! what de hell you mean, "until then I find it unfair to say that the goals were bad decisions....cuz I never see de goals".... yeah yuh never see dem, but ah sure you have heard people dat saw the game or the goals say...not because they were trinbagonians...that they were all good. Yuh making it f%&kin look like until yuh see it...it doh really matter what has been written or better yet what some have seen wit dey one or two eyes...... long F%^KIN STEUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUPES!
« Last Edit: May 25, 2006, 02:17:32 PM by Tongue »

« Reply #17 on: May 25, 2006, 02:23:45 PM »
do you all tink if we had made that germany 74 if things would have been different now,you all think that our level of play and approach to the game would have been improved and that maybe we would have made other wc appearances.from readin that article,it definitly is worst than nov 19.

Offline chelsea64

« Reply #18 on: May 25, 2006, 05:44:14 PM »

Why do you think the referee and one of the linesmen were both banned for life?

Unfair my ar*e.
Come on the Chels.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #19 on: May 25, 2006, 05:44:44 PM »
Like Coops I saw everyone of those goals it was pure madness in the stadium. The game was bought by Duvalier.
I really hope everyone of those players get to go to Germany

« Reply #20 on: May 25, 2006, 06:32:22 PM »
I was a youth back then and was in a state of shock,when it was revealed that we had 48 hours to potest the result,that shit was blatent
It also showed me how inept the men who was running TTFF was then,them men wanted authority but had no idea of the rules

« Reply #21 on: May 25, 2006, 06:52:38 PM »

They should get more.
       Who said those guys getting a free trip to Germany,from what i heard that whole thing fall through,i'm not calling any names but someone put a spoke in they wheel, please update me i might be wrong,can someone confirm these guys going to the WC.   
As far as I know, dey still going. I will be on de same flight as dem.

« Reply #22 on: May 25, 2006, 07:03:50 PM »

« Reply #23 on: May 25, 2006, 07:32:58 PM »

They should get more.

niceness, Tallman see if you could get a couple interviews for the forum nah

« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2006, 08:32:01 PM »

They should get more.
      I don't want to put anyone's name here,but i have a reliable source(member of the team) and i just spoke to him,this is what i've gathered,things are very shakey,all they have so far is 9 tickets,the sponsor decided to cancel the deal because Jack tried to jump on the bandwagon,that's why i said someone put a spoke in their wheel,i talk with these guys all the time.

« Reply #25 on: May 25, 2006, 09:01:58 PM »
The Mexcians had to do it for we?  :rotfl:
VB you and me does think alike oui.

Eric James seem like ah smart man.  Jack and Camps we done know about.  Anything to do wit full football stadium and local football, dem done kill but dis jes makes people more vex.  Money pass or wha?  Steups.

Re: Jack. A fault
« Reply #26 on: May 25, 2006, 09:34:45 PM »
Ladies and Gentlemen, boys and girls, my fellow forumites

After reading this report i can firmly agree with FAWK officials that J.A. Warner (determine the meaning as you like) has been swindling us for quite some time.

No one can convince me that Mr Warner didn't sell that match against the Haitians. I'm sorry but no one can get me to change that view.

He now speak about him having to put out a second morgage on his house... Bullcrap... when the Classic players had tuh eat shit he and camps dem men sipping on de finest shit

I know in another thread fellow forumites were saying that the JA are against us daiz y they want FOUL to release. Let me all inform you Mr Warner tried to have the JFA chairman removed because he disapproved of Warners tactics.

Dat book need to be released locally.

Read the report a lil better youth... the rell asshole at that time was Eric James, Warner Camps and de rest was just the yes men.

After that fiasco James get run out by Warner and then Mr W start he dealings.

This was really a sad time for Trinis who followed the football.
 When yuh check the players and that team .... man at least the second rounds was their destiny

« Reply #27 on: May 25, 2006, 09:44:54 PM »
Good report dred, thanks.
Five of dem men from Point and I used to watvh dem play live and direct when they were in their prime. What ah JOY to watch. I will forever be saddened by that Haiti fiasco...74 was ours for the taking.

Pointman yuh remember in 72' Crawford win every heat in the Munich olympics and everybody in Trinidad know he woulda win de final .. then in de final he pull up lame ?

Then the next thing tuh happen tuh us was the WCQ in haiti/

The 70's was probably the best days of Trini sport, we was winning everything in the Caribbean, Football, Hockey, Netball, Lawntennis, Table tennis, bodybuilding, car racing, pigeon racing, monopoly....

« Reply #28 on: May 25, 2006, 10:13:50 PM »

The 70's was probably the best days of Trini sport, we was winning everything in the Caribbean, Football, Hockey, Netball, Lawntennis, Table tennis, bodybuilding, car racing, pigeon racing, monopoly....

3 card knock, spark tootee for butternut, snakes and ladders, ludo, synchronized swimming, rescue catch

Ms que un club.

« Reply #29 on: May 25, 2006, 10:48:48 PM »

3 card knock, spark tootee for butternut, snakes and ladders, ludo, synchronized swimming, rescue catch

copy dat ....bu'how yuh go mention all ah dem teams and individual sports and NOT menshun de best car drivers in de caribbean and ah eh talkin bout Tom Miller eedah....but dem sca-electric drivers....dem other caribbean island didden wha nutten wit dem nah!....gentlemen start your engines...... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: