April 19, 2024, 07:26:34 AM

Author Topic: T&T vs Sweden  (Read 22252 times)

Offline kappy

• Tantie whey yuh dey !!!
How will we fear against Sweden
« Reply #90 on: May 02, 2006, 01:32:15 PM »
Do yu think we have a good chance against a team tha seems to have the same concerns as us ... an inconsistent back line, good middle, but a much stronger front line.  Although Beenie has coached Ibrahimovic.  Ah think we go poison dem ....
Snake in de balliser

Re: How will we fear against Sweden
« Reply #91 on: May 02, 2006, 01:34:09 PM »
You mean fare not fear. 

We goin wit NO FEAR!

Offline kappy

Re: How will we fear against Sweden
« Reply #92 on: May 02, 2006, 01:36:24 PM »
right ....
Snake in de balliser

Re: T&T vs Sweden
« Reply #93 on: May 02, 2006, 02:28:28 PM »
sweden 2 tand t 0
by the way anybody have extra tickets for sweden game?

« Reply #94 on: May 02, 2006, 07:34:17 PM »
amm...

tnt

Offline Behbehman

Re: Sweden vs T&T who go win?
« Reply #95 on: May 03, 2006, 12:32:32 PM »
Boy Zlatan is a real hater
we hadda rest some hard jam on him to have any chance
a warm up game against Norway should be in d cards to practice playing against a European side

As my Dutch colleague here would always say to me...in football the ball is round.  Anything could happen.

Offline real-warrior

« Reply #96 on: May 03, 2006, 04:57:36 PM »
Trinidad of course but Ibrahamovic is someone we have to keep good eye on.
yeh das tru! but dog go take care uh he!

« Reply #97 on: May 04, 2006, 06:41:31 AM »
i think swedens defense isnt as strong as ours.

Trinidad of course but Ibrahamovic is someone we have to keep good eye on.
yeh das tru! but dog go take care uh he!

hadda watch out for larsson also,  sometimes he does come outta nowhere. if we stop ljungberg from making plays we good to go.

Offline kappy

« Reply #98 on: May 04, 2006, 12:34:11 PM »
all ah allyuh who feel we walking over Sweden I taking bets.

I go take tha bet and ah betting you USA going home with zero points... yuh taking that??  :P

Yuh notice Cap'n America run way quick quick when yuh post dat.  De fuggah wouldn't tek dah bet at all.   ;D ;D

TnT 1 vs Sweden 0 .... by the way USA go end up 2nd in the Group behind Czech Rep.
Snake in de balliser

SWEDEN'S WC SQUAD
« Reply #99 on: May 12, 2006, 01:49:32 PM »
Sweden's WC Squad for Germany

GK:
Andreas Isaksson
Jon Alvbåge
Rami Shaaban

Defenders:
Olof Mellberg (captain)
Mikael Nilsson
Erik Edman
Teddy Lucic
Kalle Svensson
Petter Hansson
Fredrik Stenman

Midfielders:
Nicklas Alexandersson
Kim Källström
Daniel Andersson
Tobias Linderoth
Freddie Ljungberg
Anders Svensson
Chippen Wilhelmsson
Johan Elmander (can play as Forward)

Forwards:
Zlatan Ibrahimovic
Henrik Larsson
Marcus Rosenberg
Marcus Allbäck
Mattias Jonson (can play as Midfielder)

Reserves:
Bengt Andersson
Christoffer Andersson
Kennedy Bakircioglu
Fredrik Berglund
Mikael Dorsin
Tobias Hysen
Daniel Majstorovic
Max von Schlebrugge
Alexander Östlund

Offline behind-de-bridge

How can T&T cope against Larsson and Ljungberg?
« Reply #100 on: May 17, 2006, 02:56:55 PM »
Watching these guys tonight, can we defence cope when we play Sweden?

Re: How can T&T cope against Larsson and Ljungberg?
« Reply #101 on: May 17, 2006, 02:58:47 PM »
i was more interested in half the england defence playing for assnal..who lorse  :rotfl: :devil: :devil:..but anyways sol campbell is a boss..de man like a rock and he fast....but we doh know and thats why we play the game

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #102 on: May 17, 2006, 03:14:54 PM »
boi Ibrahimovic is the real hassle for we. Trinidad 8/1 for the win. I feel ill put ah £10 on.

« Reply #103 on: May 17, 2006, 03:45:02 PM »
You don't ever approach a game with fear but with respect. Larsson and Ljungberg did not anything out of the ordinary. They are good players but we know what to expect from them. As the coach said we will have the best possible preparation. Sweden will be our first opponent and I'm certain that the coach knows what that team plays. All 3 game will be very difficult for us but I see know reason to panic.

« Reply #104 on: May 17, 2006, 03:45:56 PM »
Man markers. Avery John and Whitley, or Birchall through the middle.

« Reply #105 on: May 17, 2006, 04:06:19 PM »
Man markers. Avery John and Whitley, or Birchall through the middle.
Whitely and Birchall will be key in the defensive sectors...Carlos Edwards will be facing down Ljungberg... with that said... Carlos have the speed but the man have to put on some extra muscle for Freddie and Cole.

Our defenders central defenders unlike our wing backs dont have the speed so they will need to sharpen up their figurative machettes and make up for the speed factor with crunching, well calculated tackle.

simple as that.

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #106 on: May 17, 2006, 04:13:26 PM »
or we could give them food poisoning  :devil: has worked in the past  :D

« Reply #107 on: May 17, 2006, 05:16:25 PM »
deal with them easy..... dog and lawrence

Offline thane

« Reply #108 on: May 18, 2006, 02:45:05 AM »
it's good to be patriotic...but common ppl..... :rotfl:

Offline kappy

« Reply #109 on: May 18, 2006, 12:48:14 PM »
or according to the bbc ... we cud wok some obeah on dem ... :devil:
Snake in de balliser

Offline LICKS4SO

« Reply #110 on: May 18, 2006, 08:29:47 PM »
i think dem spanish kinda have we number..paragry will be tough

« Reply #111 on: May 18, 2006, 08:47:16 PM »
Men we have to real. Being real does not make you a waggonist. These players are so quick it's not funny. The fastest we have in the defence probably Avery John. What we to do is undersatnd these guys strenghts and their weakness. For Larsson, we cannot mark him to close we have to close himdown and force him to pass, but we cannot dive in, just stand him up. Let Ljungberg shoot from 20-25yds out, not inside the 18yds box. Try stop him from turning or from receiving the second ball on the run. It will be hard guys, really hard. It's not a fairy tale, the cinderella story ended when we qualified, now is everyone dancing at the ball.

Offline WARRIORKING

• Deep into weaponry
« Reply #112 on: May 19, 2006, 12:35:53 AM »
well i agree with one fella  freddie Ljungberg will give the most problems  with his powerful runs towards goal and his persistance.ibrahimovich should be controlable but its not gurantee cause he can make us pay if the defense slip up
My lyrical tendency`s equivalent to a critical felony
Precise behind bars like a criminal`s penalty
Pinnacle definitely, hold so much jewels in my miracle memory
It`s like I`m a physical treasury
I was born with a difficult destiny, not your typical mentally
Givin my vision through treacheries

Offline marcel

« Reply #113 on: May 19, 2006, 03:13:52 AM »

make the field small
sweden can not play in little spaces
they want to use the long ball to zlatan
if t&t can do that they make a chance

same with tjechie

Problems for Sweden (from bbc.co.uk)
« Reply #114 on: May 26, 2006, 04:13:48 AM »
Problems for Sweden 
By Nathan Mercer
BBC Sport in Gothenburg 

England scouts would have been encouraged by Sweden's faltering performance in Gothenburg on Thursday in their penultimate warm-up game before they travel to Germany.

The Swedes, who will be in England's group at the World Cup, played out a goalless draw with Nordic neighbours Finland.

It was met with murmurs of discontent from the 24,000 Swedish fans inside Ullevi. BBC Sport takes a look at how one of England's key opponents is shaping up.

TOOTHLESS IN ATTACK
The World Cup squad selected by coach Lars Lagerback appeared to signal a more offensive approach than in previous tournaments.

Yet without their star names of Freddie Ljungberg, Henrik Larsson and Zlatan Ibrahimovic for Thursday's friendly, Sweden looked toothless in attack and ponderous in possession.

The Swedish media has praised Lagerback's desire to attack teams and many saw it as a move away from the stubborn, workmanlike image that has been a corner stone of the Swedish style in years gone by.

And with young talents Johan Elmander, Marcus Rosenberg, Kim Kallstrom and Christian Wilhelmsson in the starting line-up, much was expected of their new breed of stars to fill the breach left by their nations' hereos.

But they showed precious little creativity going forward and were comfortably kept at bay by Roy Hodgson's tidy Finland team.

FITNESS
One problem Lagerback must contend with is the condition of his squad.

The Swedish league - Allsvenskan - only began in April and will not restart until after the World Cup in July, meaning many of the current squad are lacking in match fitness.

That, along with the strenuous seasons of those in the Premiership and the rest of Europe, has provided a tricky balancing act for Lagerback and his coaches in training.

Aston Villa and Sweden captain Olof Mellberg believes that the squad have yet to find their rhythm.

He told BBC Sport: "This week has been relaxed in training and we all come from different situations as some people have come from playing a lot of games and some have come from playing hardly any.

"So it was more important from an individual point of view. Some needed a game and some needed a rest so we didn't look too much at the score today."

THE IBRAHIMOVIC FACTOR
The Swedes are now left pinning their hopes on big names to inspire their talented youngsters.

And, just as England's eyes are on Wayne Rooney and his fitness, so Sweden's fortunes are being rested squarely on Zlatan Ibrahimovic's shoulders.

Lagerback has rounded on the Swedish media, branding them pathetic for their criticism and expectancy levels of the talisman.

And he was keen to relieve some of that pressure on Ibrahimovic by leaving him on the bench.

But despite calls from the fans for his introduction, Lagerback persisted with his new front-line pairing of Rosenberg and Elmander and when the change up front did come, it was former Aston Villa striker Marcus Allaback who took to the field.

But Ibrahimovic's absence only further reinforced his importance to the side instead of dampening the hype and expectancy surrounding him.

Former Tottenham left-back Erik Edman told BBC Sport: "We didn't play that well but we know we can do a lot better next time and of course we miss those players who were not playing.

"If you have three or four good players missing, it affects a squad like Sweden because it's not like England where you have 22 players who are all big names and players."

MOVEMENT AND TEMPO
Midfielder Niclas Alexandersson knows the pace England will play at after he had spells with West Ham and Everton, and he called on his team-mates to raise their tempo.

He told BBC Sport: "It was a slow pace and the tempo was a bit low. We need this game to get the tempo up. Most of the players have had a week or two where they haven't played a game so that's maybe why we were slow.

"The attacking will come but we were standing still playing today and there was not so much movement. To create more chances we need to have better movement."

CONCLUSIONS
Sweden's last match was against Republic of Ireland in March where they were outplayed and easily brushed aside 3-0.

Lagerback described that as the worst showing since he took charge eight years ago and Thursday's lacklustre draw will have done little to give him and his camp confidence ahead of their opening match with Trinidad and Tobago.

Sweden's final World Cup warm-up match is against Chile on Friday 2 June but on this showing England will have little to fear when the two sides meet in three weeks.

England,Paraguay and T&T smell Blood as Sweden experience Problems.
« Reply #115 on: May 26, 2006, 06:56:30 AM »

England scouts would have been encouraged by Sweden's faltering performance in Gothenburg on Thursday in their penultimate warm-up game before they travel to Germany.

The Swedes, who will be in England's group at the World Cup, played out a goalless draw with Nordic neighbours Finland.

It was met with murmurs of discontent from the 24,000 Swedish fans inside Ullevi. BBC Sport takes a look at how one of England's key opponents is shaping up.

TOOTHLESS IN ATTACK

The World Cup squad selected by coach Lars Lagerback appeared to signal a more offensive approach than in previous tournaments.

Yet without their star names of Freddie Ljungberg, Henrik Larsson and Zlatan Ibrahimovic for Thursday's friendly, Sweden looked toothless in attack and ponderous in possession.

The Swedish media has praised Lagerback's desire to attack teams and many saw it as a move away from the stubborn, workmanlike image that has been a corner stone of the Swedish style in years gone by.

And with young talents Johan Elmander, Marcus Rosenberg, Kim Kallstrom and Christian Wilhelmsson in the starting line-up, much was expected of their new breed of stars to fill the breach left by their nations' hereos.

But they showed precious little creativity going forward and were comfortably kept at bay by Roy Hodgson's tidy Finland team.

FITNESS

One problem Lagerback must contend with is the condition of his squad.

The Swedish league - Allsvenskan - only began in April and will not restart until after the World Cup in July, meaning many of the current squad are lacking in match fitness.

That, along with the strenuous seasons of those in the Premiership and the rest of Europe, has provided a tricky balancing act for Lagerback and his coaches in training.

Aston Villa and Sweden captain Olof Mellberg believes that the squad have yet to find their rhythm.

He told BBC Sport: "This week has been relaxed in training and we all come from different situations as some people have come from playing a lot of games and some have come from playing hardly any.

"So it was more important from an individual point of view. Some needed a game and some needed a rest so we didn't look too much at the score today."

THE IBRAHIMOVIC FACTOR

The Swedes are now left pinning their hopes on big names to inspire their talented youngsters.

And, just as England's eyes are on Wayne Rooney and his fitness, so Sweden's fortunes are being rested squarely on Zlatan Ibrahimovic's shoulders.

Lagerback has rounded on the Swedish media, branding them pathetic for their criticism and expectancy levels of the talisman.

And he was keen to relieve some of that pressure on Ibrahimovic by leaving him on the bench.

But despite calls from the fans for his introduction, Lagerback persisted with his new front-line pairing of Rosenberg and Elmander and when the change up front did come, it was former Aston Villa striker Marcus Allaback who took to the field.

But Ibrahimovic's absence only further reinforced his importance to the side instead of dampening the hype and expectancy surrounding him.

Former Tottenham left-back Erik Edman told BBC Sport: "We didn't play that well but we know we can do a lot better next time and of course we miss those players who were not playing.

"If you have three or four good players missing, it affects a squad like Sweden because it's not like England where you have 22 players who are all big names and players."

MOVEMENT AND TEMPO

Midfielder Niclas Alexandersson knows the pace England will play at after he had spells with West Ham and Everton, and he called on his team-mates to raise their tempo.

He told BBC Sport: "It was a slow pace and the tempo was a bit low. We need this game to get the tempo up. Most of the players have had a week or two where they haven't played a game so that's maybe why we were slow.

"The attacking will come but we were standing still playing today and there was not so much movement. To create more chances we need to have better movement."

CONCLUSIONS

Sweden's last match was against Republic of Ireland in March where they were outplayed and easily brushed aside 3-0.

Lagerback described that as the worst showing since he took charge eight years ago and Thursday's lacklustre draw will have done little to give him and his camp confidence ahead of their opening match with Trinidad and Tobago.

Sweden's final World Cup warm-up match is against Chile on Friday 2 June but on this showing England will have little to fear when the two sides meet in three weeks.

Offline kappy

« Reply #116 on: May 26, 2006, 07:15:07 AM »
hahaha ... the cracks are beginning to show ...  :devil: ... in Beenie we trust
Snake in de balliser

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
« Reply #117 on: May 26, 2006, 08:15:28 AM »
Folks all i have tuh say is dat we coming out we group and facing Germany second rounds...
Remember you hear id here first on SW.com

Offline Benjie

« Reply #118 on: May 26, 2006, 10:15:21 AM »
Isn't Ljungberg out the game against Us?

Offline fire

« Reply #119 on: May 26, 2006, 01:35:21 PM »
Small Mag, what is the source of the article?