What do you think about this banner?

Innocent sporting rivalry
1 (33.3%)
A little inappropriate, just fine the club and done
1 (33.3%)
Totally unacceptable, heads most roll (no pun intended), lifetime ban for fans
1 (33.3%)

Total Members Voted: 3

Author Topic: The Hooligan Thread  (Read 20127 times)

Offline Flash7

• Allez Le Rouge et Bleu!!
Re: Green Street Hooligans
« Reply #60 on: August 29, 2006, 11:18:03 AM »
looking at the movie trailer, it doesn't really seem like this movie has alot to do with football, more like football fans,
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOrvmGwfbpI
« Last Edit: August 29, 2006, 11:20:03 AM by Flash7 »

« Reply #61 on: August 29, 2006, 12:07:53 PM »
I still haven't seen Green Street to this day, I need to see this, my friends always make me laugh when they tell me about it :rotfl:

Offline ladywarrior

« Reply #62 on: August 30, 2006, 11:29:30 PM »
I saw it. I would have to say that it was entertaining probably more so because I am a fan or the game and just came back from World Cup.
It helped me understand the madness behind the "hooliganism."
More to do with territorial rights that the game itself.
The only thing to fear is fear itself.

Film: Green Street
« Reply #63 on: September 14, 2006, 11:12:51 AM »
I know I'm late but I just had to say that this film is sick I thought it was gonna be really silly typical just shove any ''hard'' looking English Guys in a film and have lots of fights, like football factory, I liked football factory but that was because it just made me laugh.
The end was emotional, I didn't expect the film to have a kind of happy ending at all.

It actually showed how people could influence you, I just wanted to ask people who have seen it

Do you think you could ever get dragged into a situation like that or have you? (I never have but could have been easily with the type people who were in my school, not football hooliganism though)
Did you think the man (Yank) was right for joining up after they saved his ass or was he just mentally weak?
In the end if it wasn't for being involved he probably wouldn't of know how to get his own back.

And overall what did you think of the film? for me:

Entertainment wise I could give it a 10/10
Educational (yes I thought it was educational) 7/10

Also was good because it showed that Football Hooligan are not all Working Class people, even though it was obvious most of them were working class or wc at one stage of their lives.

Oh yeah, I love to hear Black people with Northern English Accents especially being a Londoner :devil: :rotfl:

Offline ZionYouth

« Reply #64 on: September 14, 2006, 06:54:41 PM »
Evreybody talkin about dis movie ah might have tuh check it out,but did anyone see ''Goal'' yet, yuh know dat football movie, ah just buy it today, but i ent look at it yet...

« Reply #65 on: September 14, 2006, 06:56:01 PM »
Evreybody talkin about dis movie ah might have tuh check it out,but did anyone see ''Goal'' yet, yuh know dat football movie, ah just buy it today, but i ent look at it yet...

Green Street Is Massive. Go and watch it, Please.

Offline Phensic

« Reply #66 on: September 15, 2006, 11:28:56 AM »
Fellas this is a good one..You need to buy or rent this DVD, it is selling all over the States and should not be hard to find, this story and show is excellent, trust me...

Green Street Hooligans.

Boss! I checked out that movie lastnight on cable...riviting dread!  This was really interesting insight into that subculture if I can call it that. I liked how they played on the typical "Yank" sporting values vs a Britt, especailly around the word "soccer".  Great film!

« Reply #67 on: September 16, 2006, 11:28:27 AM »
I thought it was a good movie but apparently it's viewed as a joke by the English....at least the one's on the football forums I frequent.

« Reply #68 on: August 18, 2008, 11:52:04 AM »
anyone see the movie?

rise of the footsoldier

???

i heard it's along the same lines as green street hooligans.

« Reply #69 on: August 18, 2008, 12:04:01 PM »
There's your Famous! There's your Famous! There's your Famous G.S.E!

Boss f**king show...Saw it a while ago..and got my friends to watch it...they all liked it too...

Green Street Hooligans 2
« Reply #70 on: June 18, 2009, 06:23:34 PM »
Well my first thread about goal 3 was merged, but it's all good. I bring you Green Street Hooligans 2  ;D

Following the deadly climax of "Green Street Hooligans," several members of the West Ham firm and numerous members of Millwall end up in jail. The GSE quickly discover the brutality of life on the inside, as they are constant targets of the superior numbers and better-financed Millwall crew.

http://www.megavideo.com/?v=RLY9YUY2 Enjoy!!! MODS show some love with this one please.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2009, 06:27:07 PM by triniairman »

Re: Green Street Hooligans 2
« Reply #71 on: June 18, 2009, 06:54:52 PM »
Wow lol @firms...Seen that ,don t know what happened after they had to go save the thing ,missed that part .

The Hooligan Thread
« Reply #72 on: April 28, 2011, 07:59:21 PM »
Warrior Nation in Hooligan Documentary

Just watching this documentary on the hooligans in WC 2006 and see warrior nation pop up in the clip...not sure if it was posted before
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9WpaDXBDt4&feature=player_embedded#at=382

« Last Edit: August 25, 2014, 06:09:29 AM by Flex »

Re: Warrior Nation in Hooligan Documentary
« Reply #73 on: April 28, 2011, 08:02:39 PM »
came up after about 6 mins 20 sec

« Reply #74 on: April 28, 2011, 08:14:56 PM »
Who were the WN members on the clip? Anyone on this site? Ah see we had a rasta pace bowler representing...

« Reply #75 on: April 28, 2011, 10:09:23 PM »
Who were the WN members on the clip? Anyone on this site? Ah see we had a rasta pace bowler representing...

Yeh, ah remember dat day well. Dat was in Nuremberg when we play ah windball cricket match against de English supporters. De Mayor and all pass thru and take ah small lime.

De rasta who bowling is de one and only Brian Williams.

Some of de members in de clip are me, Feliziano, Controversial, Fli!, and Hyperhot J. Trinity Cross, what is yuh Indian pardna name again?
« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 04:16:38 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #76 on: April 28, 2011, 10:43:52 PM »
I leave wit d intetion of reaching dey and neva reach.

« Reply #77 on: April 28, 2011, 10:45:21 PM »

So which Hooligan is you?   ;D

« Reply #78 on: April 29, 2011, 01:40:29 AM »

So which Hooligan is you?   ;D

« Reply #79 on: April 29, 2011, 06:36:46 AM »
Tallman is the Rasta waving he rag walking out

« Reply #80 on: April 29, 2011, 07:20:35 AM »
so who won the cricket match??

« Reply #81 on: April 29, 2011, 07:42:30 AM »

Yeh, ah remember dat day well. Dat was in Nuremberg when we play ah windball cricket match against de English supporters. De Mayor and all pass thru and take ah small lime.

Some of de members in de clip are me, Feliziano, Controversial, Fli!, and Hyperhot J. Trinity Cross, what is yuh Indian pardna name again?

Stephen Mungalsingh

« Reply #82 on: April 29, 2011, 09:29:17 AM »
so who won the cricket match??

we buss dey tail twice.

Read more:
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=17394.0
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=17674.0
http://www.thewarriornation.com/content/view/58/36/

Stephen Mungalsingh

He wild too bad when he ready :rotfl:

« Reply #83 on: April 29, 2011, 10:07:27 AM »
especially with liquor in he system...lol

Hooligans Thread.
« Reply #84 on: November 12, 2013, 03:07:40 AM »
Just what T&T needs: hooliganism
By Christophe Brathwaite (Express).

Hooliganism, not secondary schools football was the real “winner” at the recent Big Five football final. Whilst sport commentator Andre Errol Baptiste and ex-FIFA referee Ramesh Ramdhan chose to focus and demonise the referee’s competency, the issue is bigger.

It is possible that the referee’s decision to award a goal to Presentation College of San Fernando could have been an error, but the abhorrent conduct of players, parents, supporters and team officials of the opposing St Mary’s College smacked of the hooligan behaviour that no sport should encourage.

There is enough lawlessness around the country for us to tolerate the smallest sign of it in sport and in student related activities in particular. After all, this defeats the purpose of friendly, but competitive rivalry between schoolboys.

Hooliganism is of not new to sport. It is a term used to describe “disorderly, aggressive and often violent behaviour perpetrated by spectators at sporting events”.

And, there is no better term to describe the events at the Big Five final: hurling of water bottles at match officials by the St Mary’s players; verbal assault of the referee by team officials; refusal of the St Mary’s players to receive their second-place medals; and verbal abuse of the linesman by parents, players, and supporters at  at the game.

It was Matthias Krug who wrote an editorial for CNN entitled Soccer violence: Referees under siege in which he reported these acts of hooliganism: in the USA a referee had been punched and later died; in Europe, a linesman had been beaten to death while his son looked on as a member of the opposing team; in Germany a match official had to be hospitalised after being attacked by spectators; and as recent as 2013 at a football game held in La Liga between Getafe and Deportivo La Coruna a referee was verbally abused by fans for the entire game because he sent off a home player.

All the while, in every instance there were small children who sat nearby listening to the verbal abuse and witnessing the unruly mobs’ display of primordial conduct unbecoming of human beings’ actions to one another.

This is not the objective of sport, recreation, and collegiate rivalry. The conduct of the St Mary’s players,  officials, parents, and supporters signals the prospect of this culture seeping into our schools and penetrating other activities within and between schools. It also points to the risk of a deepening of the lawlessness in the society once a new round of perpetrators has been recruited; descending to the depths considered by Krug may not be far fetched.

The sporting body responsible for football discipline at this level must act immediately. Indeed, governing bodies are expected by government to recognise their broader responsibilities partly by virtue of the recognition of their governing body status by the State.

Accordingly, whoever is to blame, the SSFL must send a clear message that this type of behaviour shall not be tolerated. It is their responsibility as the recognised governing body at that level to ensure a just and appropriate outcome.

Moreover, if this behaviour is left uncorrected, unchallenged, and unfettered the consequences will be twofold. First, it will send a message of acceptance to the present generation and second, it will confirm to future generations that aggressive behaviour from participants in and supporters of sport is the norm. The SSFL must levy sanctions on St. Mary’s and its supporters in the expectation that punishment will send a strong message to both parents and “syco-fans”.

Even before this, one wonders why the principal of St. Mary’s has not come out publicly and denounced the behaviour of his charges? Why has he not stood up and said this is not the behaviour that is expected of our students? In the absence of such a reprimand, parents of prospective St Mary’s students may reconsider their plans for sending their boys to this prestige school.

In Krug’s CNN report, he also disclosed that the Spanish Football Federation acknowledged that “parents have become some of the worst culprits in aggressive behaviour towards referees in Spain”. One of the techniques used to address such a problem was to move spectators further away from the touchline, thereby reducing the parent’s access to the referees.

But this technique fails to address the root of the problem. Given this country’s challenges with law and governance, corrective action cannot be cosmetic. We must insist on what is right and set the right examples when it comes to behaviour, ethics, and principles. How else are we to fight this society consumed by lawlessness? The police must get involved when disorderly behaviour and colourful language are put on display at public events.

There is no question that the law can be enforced at these sporting events. Grayson wrote in ‘Sport and the Law: A Return to Corinthian values” that, “all non-accidental injury causing acts during sport are contrary to the rules of the game and should be punishable by the criminal law”.

And Grayson is absolutely right. There is no place for unsanctioned violence on or off the field of play. In the celebrated case of R v Lloyd, the Court explained that, ‘sport is not a licence for thuggery’. The behaviour of the St Mary’s players, parents, officials and supporters was tantamount to thuggery and hooliganism, and must have broken the law.

Causation is irrelevant to the offence. There is no excuse for the acts of hooliganism. We must act to remove aggressive and disorderly behaviour from sporting events. Talent, creativity, discipline and fair-play must always win when schoolboys come out to play. These special characteristics of sport are supposed to encourage and define our cultural existence, not destroy it.

Christophe Brathwaite is an attorney at law who specialises in commercial, corporate, intellectual property, entertainment and sports law.

« Last Edit: August 25, 2014, 06:08:34 AM by Flex »

Re: Just what T&T needs: hooliganism.
« Reply #85 on: November 12, 2013, 03:48:17 AM »
Excellent article  :thumbsup: :thumbsup: if we have this at school level one can understand why the country is the way it is.

Offline dotless007

« Reply #86 on: November 12, 2013, 05:59:45 AM »
This is horribly biased and slanderous article. Not trying to justify the actions of the cic players staff and supporters, but this seems like some seriously one sided journalism. There was no mention of the pres supporters launching water bottles and other random shit at the cic technical area and into the cic supporters area. And also the reason the cic players didn't go for their medals in my opinion, having been there, was that the prizes were being given out in an area of the stadium that the cic players would have had to walk through the pres supporters in order to get there ( i think Jason Edwards made mention of this in his apology).

Where was this journalist throughout the years when teams like Mucurapo would have their supporters starting fights, and robbing cic supporters. Throughout my seven years there I can't remember a time when going to a mucurapo game didn't mean an inevitable fight/attack/ robbery on at least one of our players or supporters. Why was this never the subject or a full article written by a seemingly bitter cic hater.

« Reply #87 on: November 12, 2013, 08:11:20 AM »
This is horribly biased and slanderous article. Not trying to justify the actions of the cic players staff and supporters, but this seems like some seriously one sided journalism. There was no mention of the pres supporters launching water bottles and other random shit at the cic technical area and into the cic supporters area. And also the reason the cic players didn't go for their medals in my opinion, having been there, was that the prizes were being given out in an area of the stadium that the cic players would have had to walk through the pres supporters in order to get there ( i think Jason Edwards made mention of this in his apology).

Where was this journalist throughout the years when teams like Mucurapo would have their supporters starting fights, and robbing cic supporters. Throughout my seven years there I can't remember a time when going to a mucurapo game didn't mean an inevitable fight/attack/ robbery on at least one of our players or supporters. Why was this never the subject or a full article written by a seemingly bitter cic hater.

I understand where you're coming from, Giles. But to me, biased or not, the article was about curbing the violence. Your comments are appreciated as we now can see that the violence was actually worse than described in the article.
But we have to be less partisan, if possible, when addressing these issues. No team has a monopoly on bad supporters. But it is like a cancer that will spread surprisingly fast if we do not move to stop it now. Now that we have seen larger support groups enter the Pro League, we have to start to review matchday security.
As I mentioned in another post, there have been two incidents in the past few weeks at Ato Boldon involving Pro League teams. In one, a referee had his tyres slashed after a game and another time a car window was smashed.

« Reply #88 on: November 13, 2013, 11:08:30 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/lKiu_7GtnuQ&amp;feature=share" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/lKiu_7GtnuQ&amp;feature=share</a>

« Reply #89 on: November 13, 2013, 01:11:31 PM »

Christophe Brathwaite is an attorney at law who specialises in commercial, corporate, intellectual property, entertainment and sports law.